More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.03

Awesome: 11.86%
Worth A Look32.2%
Average: 16.95%
Pretty Bad: 25.42%
Total Crap: 13.56%

3 reviews, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Blues Brothers 2000
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmink Magazine (owes us money)

"Cast your doubts aside..."
4 stars

The Blues Brothers without John Belushi? How could they? Quite easily, and with surprising results.

The sequel to the 1980 cult success, The Blues Brothers, may be a patchy comedy, but it's one hell of a musical. With James Brown, Aretha Franklin, Steve Winwood, Junior Wells, Dr John, Eric Clapton, Koko Taylor, Bo Diddley and B.B. King - to name but a handful - what else could you expect?

Returning to the land of black suits and rhythm & blues, a trimmed-down Aykroyd resurrects the role that defined him, Elwood Blues. He's fresh outta prison, only to discover that his Brother Jake, like John Belushi, has died. Various misadventures then lead to the reunion of the Blues Brothers Band (a bunch of formidable musos in their own right), and later to an all-star jam, which is the stuff of musical legend. Aykroyd, who co-wrote this with Landis (the original Bros director), delivers some
wonderfully breathless deadpan monologues, while his new partner in crime, the excellent, all-singin', all-dancin' Mr Goodman (from Roseanne, Barton Fink), has the sense not to try to fill Belushi's shoes.

Blues Brothers 2000 (loaded with references to its prototype) does have some problems. Newcomers are unlikely to appreciate the jokes to the same extent as the initiated. The laughs and music are fairly sparse for the first half, and some will find the brief visit to the strip joint just too sexist to maintain a sense of humour about. But Blues Brothers 2000, plotless as it is, does have a heart - as witnessed in Elwood's growing bond with mini-Brother, the orphaned boy Buster (Bonifant).

With its clever choreography, striking colour and flawless soundtrack, it will probably lose something in its translation to video. So cast your doubts aside, this is one for the Saturday night big screen. ---Annette Basile

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=112&reviewer=14
originally posted: 08/26/98 13:13:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  
SNL Movies: For more in the SNL Movies series, click here.

User Comments

9/19/13 raouljohn Ther is no accounting for taste. I for one welcomed it! 4 stars
12/12/11 mr.mike A few laughs and WAY too many musical numbers. 3 stars
3/30/08 Pamela White one that makes you want to tap your feet 4 stars
2/17/07 ManBelushi How can you say that this movie was good? I WANT BELUSHI! 2 stars
1/01/07 Werebelushi Poor John Belushi. 2 stars
10/13/06 zaw The best sequel ever!!! 5 stars
5/31/05 John Aster Habig Just a little underpar on comedy, action, and music but it had alot to live up to 4 stars
1/23/05 Jeff Anderson Surprise, a worthy sequel to the original! The Battle of the Bands finale was MEMORABLE! 5 stars
8/16/04 Rusty Klichowicz FUnky movie, Cool characters. Great Music. Belushi is gone live with it. 5 stars
12/18/03 Made In America 122 GREAT MOVIE U MOTHER FUCKER'S! WELL WUT DO U KNOW 5 stars
10/29/03 Dean Rapp for the music 4 stars
10/14/03 Nikki Jean Theophobia i agree w\ AshFan: screw Buster and bring Jake back! shame on aykroyd! he knows bettr! 3 stars
10/13/03 KooKuKrazeeKitti this is my philosophy-u cant make a sequel 2 a john belushi movie w/out john himself 3 stars
9/22/03 MellCat_Slayer_de_Jake if john was still alive, seeing that he wasnt in it mustve broke his blues-slapped heart 3 stars
9/21/03 Kitty B. i feel SOO bad 4 John. noone can EVER make a sequal to a Belushi movie W\OUT John Belushi!! 3 stars
9/21/03 CAT BLUES aykroyds great but its notin with out jake 3 stars
8/31/03 Kitty B. the blues bros ain't NOTHING w\out JOHN A. BELUSHI!!!!! 3 stars
2/04/03 Turtle Relies way too much on silliness. If ever there's a Ghostbusters 3, let's hope its better. 2 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Without Belushi, it was the sound of one hand clapping. 2 stars
9/02/02 AshFan This movie was ruined by 2 syllables: Bus-ter! 2 stars
12/15/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) It's not about the comedy, but IT'S ABOUT THE MUSIC! 4 stars
10/29/01 Andrew Carden That Laundry-Mat Scene Was Extremly Funny and Classic! 5 stars
9/10/01 Maddie Shows you have NO CLUE about good music! Best music in a film, except maybe the first one! 5 stars
9/04/01 Henry Ginsberg Repetetive of the first film. 3 stars
6/19/01 Reini Urban uuh. 2 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright Urrgh.Sitting through this again I wouldn't wish on anyone ('cept my worst enemy,lol.) 1 stars
2/07/01 Turtle I wanted to see this so bad, and when I did, I couldn't get over how bad it was. 2 stars
1/15/01 Sklorsh After the greatness of the original, this horrible piece of garbage is a fucking insult. 1 stars
1/07/01 Mr Bill de Chicago Tired of this movie getting knocked. Good musical numbers, some laughs. 4 stars
9/27/00 Croweater The sequel that never should have been made. An insult to the original in many ways. 2 stars
9/17/00 Jed Duh of course the original will be better! But this movie isn't bad at all. 4 stars
3/27/00 Luke cool 5 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Dan Akroyd is the Yoko Ono of comedy. I cannot describe how tacky and sick this is. 1 stars
7/07/99 Dax Blues fans (that's me), watch it for the cameos and music. All others might want to pass. 3 stars
3/14/99 Love Donkey Deeply embarrassing tired mistaske 1 stars
9/23/98 Jason Rosenbaum Hands Down, the worst movie I have ever seen. 1 stars
9/06/98 Kid Pee-Pee I want to hurt someone. I really want to hurt someone. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! 1 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Goodman's third strike. 2 stars
8/17/98 Pythomas No plot, just performance - This is something you'd find at a Vegas or Six Flags show 3 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} Offensive to the memory of Belushi 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Feb-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 06-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  John Landis

Written by
  Dan Aykroyd
  John Landis

Cast
  Dan Aykroyd
  John Goodman
  Joe Morton
  J. Evan Bonifant
  Aretha Franklin
  James Brown



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast