More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.03

Awesome: 11.86%
Worth A Look32.2%
Average: 16.95%
Pretty Bad: 25.42%
Total Crap: 13.56%

3 reviews, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Blues Brothers 2000
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"John Belushi's probably spinning in his grave right now."
2 stars

This film could work as one of those shows you'd find at Six Flags or Las Vegas ... a musical number supplemented by a cheesy story.

As an official sequel to the 1980 smash hit The Blues Brothers, however, it's a big disappointment.

At least they didn't get some other actor to pose as Jake Blues. The late John Belushi OWNED that character. And just like John, the Jake character is dead when the movie begins, set 20 years after the original.

Elwood Blues (Dan Aykroyd) is out on parole and left to fend for himself. The orphanage he and Jake worked so hard to save is gone now. The old headmistress, now working at a hospital, is still swatting body parts, and when Elwood comes to visit, she introduces him to an orphaned kid. Elwood takes the kid with him, they team up with a titty-bar bartender (tittybartender? anyway, it's John Goodman) and round up the old band members for a road trip to Louisiana and a battle-of-the-bands competition.

Some of the blues/rock superstars who cameoed in the original BB reprise their roles here. Aretha Franklin owns a Mercedes dealership instead of flipping burgers at a diner. James Brown returns as the fiery preacher, this time at a rural tent revival. Also in on the fun is Blues Traveler, B.B.King, Steve Winwood, Jonny Lang, Eric Clapton, Travis Tritt (!), Erykah Badu and many other big names in the music biz. All the songs are well-performed and well-choreographed.

So how could a film like this go wrong? Well, for starters, there are some things you just don't do in a Blues Brothers sequel. While some moments of Blues Brothers I were quite unbelievable (Henry "Laugh-In" Gibson as a white supremacist? C'MON...), the writers here put in too much of a fantasy element. What was with the computer animation during the "Ghost Riders" performance? And that one policeman sailing into the sky and falling back down as an extra Blues Brother? And the voodoo witch that turns people into zombies and animals? All that weird shit left a bad taste in my mouth. Also, there was just not enough vehicles crashing into each other to make a proper Blues Bros. film, save for an umpteen-car pileup at only one point in the story. The ending ultimately falls flat on its Ray-Banned face.

Bottom line: while the musical numbers kick ass, the plot stinks as bad as John Belushi's rotting corpse. A pity.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=112&reviewer=9
originally posted: 08/26/98 04:19:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  
SNL Movies: For more in the SNL Movies series, click here.

User Comments

9/19/13 raouljohn Ther is no accounting for taste. I for one welcomed it! 4 stars
12/12/11 mr.mike A few laughs and WAY too many musical numbers. 3 stars
3/30/08 Pamela White one that makes you want to tap your feet 4 stars
2/17/07 ManBelushi How can you say that this movie was good? I WANT BELUSHI! 2 stars
1/01/07 Werebelushi Poor John Belushi. 2 stars
10/13/06 zaw The best sequel ever!!! 5 stars
5/31/05 John Aster Habig Just a little underpar on comedy, action, and music but it had alot to live up to 4 stars
1/23/05 Jeff Anderson Surprise, a worthy sequel to the original! The Battle of the Bands finale was MEMORABLE! 5 stars
8/16/04 Rusty Klichowicz FUnky movie, Cool characters. Great Music. Belushi is gone live with it. 5 stars
12/18/03 Made In America 122 GREAT MOVIE U MOTHER FUCKER'S! WELL WUT DO U KNOW 5 stars
10/29/03 Dean Rapp for the music 4 stars
10/14/03 Nikki Jean Theophobia i agree w\ AshFan: screw Buster and bring Jake back! shame on aykroyd! he knows bettr! 3 stars
10/13/03 KooKuKrazeeKitti this is my philosophy-u cant make a sequel 2 a john belushi movie w/out john himself 3 stars
9/22/03 MellCat_Slayer_de_Jake if john was still alive, seeing that he wasnt in it mustve broke his blues-slapped heart 3 stars
9/21/03 Kitty B. i feel SOO bad 4 John. noone can EVER make a sequal to a Belushi movie W\OUT John Belushi!! 3 stars
9/21/03 CAT BLUES aykroyds great but its notin with out jake 3 stars
8/31/03 Kitty B. the blues bros ain't NOTHING w\out JOHN A. BELUSHI!!!!! 3 stars
2/04/03 Turtle Relies way too much on silliness. If ever there's a Ghostbusters 3, let's hope its better. 2 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Without Belushi, it was the sound of one hand clapping. 2 stars
9/02/02 AshFan This movie was ruined by 2 syllables: Bus-ter! 2 stars
12/15/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) It's not about the comedy, but IT'S ABOUT THE MUSIC! 4 stars
10/29/01 Andrew Carden That Laundry-Mat Scene Was Extremly Funny and Classic! 5 stars
9/10/01 Maddie Shows you have NO CLUE about good music! Best music in a film, except maybe the first one! 5 stars
9/04/01 Henry Ginsberg Repetetive of the first film. 3 stars
6/19/01 Reini Urban uuh. 2 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright Urrgh.Sitting through this again I wouldn't wish on anyone ('cept my worst enemy,lol.) 1 stars
2/07/01 Turtle I wanted to see this so bad, and when I did, I couldn't get over how bad it was. 2 stars
1/15/01 Sklorsh After the greatness of the original, this horrible piece of garbage is a fucking insult. 1 stars
1/07/01 Mr Bill de Chicago Tired of this movie getting knocked. Good musical numbers, some laughs. 4 stars
9/27/00 Croweater The sequel that never should have been made. An insult to the original in many ways. 2 stars
9/17/00 Jed Duh of course the original will be better! But this movie isn't bad at all. 4 stars
3/27/00 Luke cool 5 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Dan Akroyd is the Yoko Ono of comedy. I cannot describe how tacky and sick this is. 1 stars
7/07/99 Dax Blues fans (that's me), watch it for the cameos and music. All others might want to pass. 3 stars
3/14/99 Love Donkey Deeply embarrassing tired mistaske 1 stars
9/23/98 Jason Rosenbaum Hands Down, the worst movie I have ever seen. 1 stars
9/06/98 Kid Pee-Pee I want to hurt someone. I really want to hurt someone. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! 1 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Goodman's third strike. 2 stars
8/17/98 Pythomas No plot, just performance - This is something you'd find at a Vegas or Six Flags show 3 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} Offensive to the memory of Belushi 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Feb-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 06-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  John Landis

Written by
  Dan Aykroyd
  John Landis

Cast
  Dan Aykroyd
  John Goodman
  Joe Morton
  J. Evan Bonifant
  Aretha Franklin
  James Brown



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast