More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.73

Awesome: 19.18%
Worth A Look: 12.33%
Average: 20.55%
Pretty Bad: 17.81%
Total Crap30.14%

2 reviews, 61 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Home Alone 2: Lost In New York
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"What a bag full of crap."
1 stars

Many movies over the past few years have stood out as examples of poor writing, ridiculous budgets, and a complete bankruptcy of anything resembling taste or art. Some of these titles: Speed 2, Batman & Robin, Sphere, and this weak excuse for keeping the cash flow going ranks right up there. Just a limp and feeble waste of mass in every possible respect.

Home Alone 2: Lost in New York is a non-movie. It is a remake that tries to be a sequel simply by changing locales. Well, it succeeds in many things, like being a completely humorless affair in which all the jokes are telegraphed from 2 miles away, the cute Macauly from the original is now a creepy-looking weiner, and Tim Curry embarresses himself really just a whole lot.

Everything about this movie seems artificial and forced. I guess that's what happens when you make an entertaining (but dumb) little family comedy, and it becomes a huge smash hit. So what's a Hollywood hack (in this case, it's John Hughes and Chris Columbus) to do? Snatch the same weak TV actors as parents (Catherine O'Hara, John Heard), throw it into, say a hotel instead of a house (pure genius - Orson Welles would be proud), and tack on the same fall-down gags and forced sappy scene with some creepy old person. Ick.


The main draw of these movies seems to be the cartoonish way that the robbers (thespians Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern) always get clobbered. Guess what? Two grown men getting hit in the balls fifteen times isn't funny. Unless you're five. Or perhaps mentally slow. This sequel took the worst parts of an already weak original and amplified them 10 times. It's an annoying piece of money-grubbing crap. And this from the guy who made Ferris Bueller's Day Off! I weep.

Home Alone 2 is the opposite of aspirin. An empty, sad, loud, obnoxious, vapid shell of a manufactured Hollywood product. I'd rather get beat up by a 12-year old than see it again.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1121&reviewer=128
originally posted: 11/13/99 20:11:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/09/13 Jex Lexell Briones nice movie 4 stars
9/08/12 Johnny Red Get out of here you nosey little pervert! This film is so bad its good. Hilarious 3 stars
10/10/11 ashley rexrode i watch this every year but i can only get into around christmas!!! 3 stars
12/27/10 Luke Basically a copy of the original film, still kinda funny at first, but gets repetitive, bor 3 stars
1/01/10 Dane Youssef Some nice things about it, but Hughes makes it too much into a re-make. Culkin shines still 3 stars
1/07/09 Bethany Cox Best Home alone movie! Almost fell off my bed!Tim Curry was priceless as always! 4 stars
11/21/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 4 stars
8/22/08 PAUL SHORTT WHATEVER STEAM GAINED IN 'HOME ALONE' WAS LOST IN THIS TEPID SEQUEL REHASH 2 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White cute but not as good as the first 3 stars
12/15/06 Stanley Thai Still, a good film but not better than the original. 3 stars
11/05/06 Time Frankly speaking, it's a fine moive with good education in friendship,moral and regret. 5 stars
8/14/06 Sepi53 partly funny, but but 2 stars
11/26/05 cr a fun sequel with more laughs and of course better booby traps, a worthy follow up 3 stars
9/12/05 Total Crap I grew up watching this movie, so i can't say i hated it. Funny though. 3 stars
5/28/05 Quigley almost everything in this film is fake or would never happen. but it is still dang funny 4 stars
4/12/05 scott einig funny, but totally fake 4 stars
1/27/05 Jeff Anderson Movies like this & absoute greed are what suck the life out of Xmas. PATHETIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/08/04 Evan That nail-in-foot thing was painful to watch 2 stars
7/21/04 James Bond Just like Space Jam 2 stars
6/03/04 Sean Scanlan Overated 2 stars
5/21/04 Seymour Oh come on people! It is a kids movie! 2 stars
5/15/04 abha its a perfect movie with lots of fun 5 stars
4/04/04 Chris Redundant and stupid are the two words that best describe this movie 1 stars
12/10/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
10/12/03 Mike Home Alone 2 is the biggest pile of crap since Roseanne Barr had the shits. 1 stars
9/27/03 Frank Macalister Great movie best eva. we know a shower that can feed uncle franks cock 5 stars
8/01/03 Double G Underated Movie, Monster W. Kung can go suck his mom's hairy cock. Pigeon Lady sucks though 5 stars
7/27/03 Monster W. Kung An insulting retread of the first film with much less quality and no laughs whatsoever. 1 stars
3/08/03 Matt Thiel Kevin's age was 8 in Part 1; 10 in Part 2. But Part 2 is set 1 year after Part 1! Idiots... 3 stars
3/06/03 I VOMIT ON TODDLERS! The kiddies need a bath because I had to watch this stupid movie with them. 1 stars
3/05/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/20/03 Dave Culkin is charismatic and convincing. Fun movie even if it rehashes a lot from the first. 3 stars
12/25/02 Marty T AMAZING, PERFECT QUALITY AND SUCH A MOVIE 5 stars
12/22/02 Peter Foreskin What a piece of shit movie. Culkin is the worst child actor ever fuckers. 1 stars
11/29/02 Kevin It was truly enjoyable...pushovers who disagree...you're just agreeing with the "critics." 4 stars
11/25/02 Chris McRae Way Better than the first, with great cinematography. One of my favorite moves of all time. 5 stars
10/28/02 Arjuna Perera CRAP! 2 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 Just like the first movie, it's gotten better and better over time. 5 stars
9/28/02 Phil This would've made a great stand-alone flick, but the tiring re-hashing killed it. 3 sucks. 3 stars
9/10/02 STEVE stick with the 1st and 3rd. 2 stars
6/22/02 qtpie so beeter then the first one 5 stars
4/10/02 daniela spear it is an amazing and funny movie 5 stars
3/23/02 BRADLEY ELSKEN THE ORIGINAL WAS GOOD,BUT THIS ONE ROCKS!IT IS NOT CRAP 5 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Basically a rehash of the first in a different setting. No great shakes...see it or don't. 3 stars
4/01/01 Andrew Carden Some nice New York City locations, but that's about all. 3 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L One of the better sequels. Really good if you like the first one. 4 stars
2/16/01 James Sadistic and plainly boring. Not funny at all. 2 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Not better than the original, but still really fun. 4 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin more superior than the original 5 stars
7/23/00 Tyler Peterson A simplistic sequal that isn't funny and features a hell of a lot of violence. 1 stars
6/01/00 danilo another Culkin classic! Even better than the first 5 stars
5/12/00 Steve Layne Even better than the really good original. 4 stars
4/03/00 Steve Extremely entertaining. The best in the series. 5 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Improved over the first, but they recycled most of the first (in theory) jokes. 3 stars
10/29/99 Karahde Khan The most overviolent movie I've ever seen, just because it's intended to look inocuous. 1 stars
3/14/99 Viral Messiah Pretty crappy. 2 stars
3/12/99 Ah Dooey Watchable for the kids, yes... Hey! Shuddup! I kinda liked it... blah.... 2 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Wow, it happened again...go figure...ARRRGH! 2 stars
10/13/98 Johny Movie Pitch - "Same as the first film, but this time we hit Pesci with heavier objects!" 2 stars
10/11/98 J-Guy open mouth. insert penis. this movie blows! 1 stars
10/10/98 {{{OZ}}} Even though it was a blatant money grab, this was still a watchable film. For the kids. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1992 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1992 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast