More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.13

Awesome: 17.07%
Worth A Look: 25.2%
Average29.27%
Pretty Bad: 10.57%
Total Crap: 17.89%

4 reviews, 99 user ratings



Halloween II (1981)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"The conclusion of a very special two-part episode of 'Halloween.'"
3 stars

“Halloween II” picks up exactly where “Halloween” left off, so closely that Part 1 might as well have ended with “To Be Continued.” It follows the aftermath of Michael Myers’ rampage on Halloween night 1978, with survivors being taken to the hospital, victims being mourned, Michael killing again, and so on.

It’s an interesting variation from what most other slasher films would do, which is to have the movie end with the “death” of the killer, and have the next one pick up a few years later, after everyone has moved on. Even “Friday the 13th” parts 2 and 3, which take place immediately after each other (and immediately after the first), show no sorrow on the part of the survivors over their fallen peers. They simply move ahead to the next murder venue, have some sex, and get killed.

Not that I’m going to accuse “Halloween II” of having a great deal of heart or compassion. It’s still a slasher flick, albeit a slightly more credible one than most of the films it inspired. It is still about a guy who kills people pretty much for no reason, though reasons are occasionally ascribed to him by screenwriters who feel they must earn the money they’re being paid.

This time, the obsessive and morose Dr. Loomis (Donald Pleasence) informs us that while in the mental hospital from which he escaped, Michael became acquainted with witchcraft and other things that make Halloween an extra-special day for him. We also are told, via a 5-second flashback and one direct statement, that Michael’s interest in killing Laurie Strode (Jamie Lee Curtis) is that she is his natural sister. Why he wants to kill his sisters is not explained, though anyone with sisters will probably understand.

And why did he kill all those other people, too? Just cuz, I guess.

At the film’s beginning, the town learns of the murders Michael has just committed. The deaths are reported on the radio before most of the town’s cops have heard about them, which is either a tribute to the resourcefulness of the American media, or bad writing, one or the other.

Laurie, wounded in the first film, is taken to Haddenfield Memorial Hospital, where she is attended by a drunk doctor and hit on by a soft-looking teen-age ambulance driver. With the exception of a little boy who is in and out quickly, Laurie is the only patient in the entire hospital. (The nursery is full, though, so I don’t know where all those new mothers wandered off to.)

Michael makes his way to the hospital, stopping off at a random house just long enough to kill a random person and satisfy the audience’s bloodlust, as nearly 13 minutes have passed already and no one has been killed yet.

Meanwhile, Dr. Loomis is actively involved in screwing things up further. He and the cops chase an innocent kid who happens to be wearing a mask similar to Michael’s into traffic, where he becomes a bystander sandwich between two cars. Loomis expresses mild regret; the cops remain weak and malleable.

Back in the hospital, there’s a French-looking jackass who hits on a nurse, slips into a hot tub with her, then gets killed by Michael. There’s also a fat security guard who never looks at the surveillance cameras who meets his doom, and a few others here and there.

Laurie, doped up on medication, whimpers a lot in this movie. She also cowers in corners quite a bit. I’m always glad when movies have strong, dynamic protagonists.

Director Rick Rosenthal (working from John Carpenter and Debra Hill’s script) creates several long, quiet moments where tension is supposedly building. But since the outcome of each of these scenes is predictable -- Michael will appear and kill the person -- there is little point in dragging things out.

One thing the people who make these movies never seemed to learn is that if we don’t care about the characters, we’re not going to care if they die. There’s no suspense in wondering whether someone whose name we don’t even remember is going to be killed.

Anyway, there are some effectively subtle instances where Michael appears without a loud smash on the musical score. One especially memorable one has him in the background of a shot, through a window. It’s possible you wouldn’t even notice him, and it’s delightfully creepy if you do.

It seems a little cheap to have a sequel that merely completes the story you SHOULD have told in Part 1, as it makes the whole thing look like a two-part episode of a gory TV show. But as sequels go, this one’s not bad.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1127&reviewer=247
originally posted: 09/01/01 06:22:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/13/17 morris campbell bloody & boring avoid it 1 stars
12/11/12 Jamie One of the worst sequels ever. Lame cash in. 1 stars
8/29/12 Antonia Valenzuela Thrilled to see the horror continues 5 stars
8/29/12 Alex Figueroa I liked it. Not as good as part 1 though. 3 stars
8/24/12 Joshua Simms The only good Halloween sequel, avoid the rest. 4 stars
2/09/12 David Hollingsworth A horror sequel that is actually quite fun 4 stars
6/21/11 art halloween and friday 13 are overrated,bloody valentine-april fools day are tops! 1 stars
6/16/11 Moose Rapper Not nearly as good as the first though the gore is pretty good 2 stars
11/10/10 art I"M only going to say this once,FRIDAY THE 13TH bURRIES halloween! 1 stars
10/28/10 PAUL SHORTT UNNESESSARY AND EXPLICITELY BLOODY SEQUEL 1 stars
8/26/10 art i did not write that july post,that was some imposter!,RZ's HALLOWEEN"S ROCK! 1 stars
8/24/10 Joseph Fantastic sequel, but not as good as the original 5 stars
7/10/10 art I WAS being SARCASTIC when i praised THE RZ verison,FRIDAY the 13th BURRIES halloween! 1 stars
6/21/10 Sarah Shit sequel. 3 was better. 1 stars
12/28/09 art IT TRIES TO BE LIKE THE GREAT FRIDAY THE 13TH!,HOW PATHETIC! 1 stars
10/08/09 art THEY SHOULD HAVE STOPPED AFTER THE FIRST HALLOWEEN! 1 stars
9/01/09 dweezil zappa great flick, blood scares and a hot jamie lee 5 stars
6/22/09 art ACTUALLY IT"S BETTER THAN THE ORIGINAL!J 2 stars
3/18/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess Lame sequel to a horror masterpiece. 2 stars
6/12/08 DK Toshy recycled version of the first movie. Feels more like a tired retread than the remake 1 stars
4/16/08 art VERY FORGETTABLE 1 stars
7/23/07 Nick I like this movie, not as good as the first, better than any Friday the 13th however 4 stars
6/22/07 David Cohen A sad letdown from a brilliant first movie 3 stars
2/17/07 David Pollastrini better than III 5 stars
5/16/06 blarginbadigalnohif Good sequel 4 stars
11/24/05 cr a pretty good follow up were the classic halloween left off and few good kills not as scary 3 stars
10/16/05 Darren O A respecatable sequel that delivers though stacks too many bodies and underuses Jamie Lee. 4 stars
8/04/05 ^podo pretty good sequel 4 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington Not great. 2 stars
2/12/05 J Nothing special 3 stars
12/21/04 Lucas Stensland Decent 3 stars
8/05/04 Cynthia Hall Halloween was the best movie ever made and i think you people have no clue 5 stars
7/24/04 Phoenix II Very good sequel. The nurse had Hard-On-Inducing tits. 4 stars
7/19/04 Benjamin Petrofsky The music changed for the worse. 3 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark One of the best sequels ever made, even though the revamped music is awful. 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ OOOO... I like!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/29/03 john for a sequel to one of the horror movies ever made this one is great 5 stars
11/25/03 Thiago Good sequel. Nearly not as good as the first, but still really cool sequel. 4 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Very good second installment in the series. 4 stars
10/16/03 Erik Van Sant Pretty cool that it stays on the same night as the original. Myers is kinda awkward though. 4 stars
7/22/03 Double G It was not bad or good, but it had an ok ending 3 stars
5/14/03 c.r my 3rd favorite sequel,scary 4 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Pretty good sequel 4 stars
1/25/03 M.C. Great movie,Imagine yourself being a Haddonfield native on the night he came home,Nuff said 5 stars
1/01/03 Michael Myers H2 is a great addition to the series. 4 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Uninventive and mechanically executed. 2 stars
10/31/02 harrry potter fabulous 5 stars
10/30/02 Sal Bitsvonka Boooring...not as good as parts 1,4, 5, or 7, but better than 3, 6, and 8 2 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum If it ain't broke, don't make a lousy sequel to it 2 stars
8/17/02 Scott It's a sequel. Don't expect perfection above the first (except Godfather P2) great deaths 4 stars
8/16/02 Joe Calio A worthy sequel...but not as great as the original. 4 stars
8/16/02 Shaun consider 1 and 2 just one long movie 4 stars
7/07/02 Eddie "T-Bone" Stabone Boring and aimless, not nearly as raw or atmospheric as the original 2 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi Particularly violent, i particularly liked it 4 stars
4/16/02 Jake For the 1981era, this is one of the best horror movies! Great cast, music and ending! 4 stars
4/04/02 cat Just as good as the first. Michael is the only killer for me. 5 stars
3/31/02 Film Guy This movie is no Halloween, but yet it does scare you from time to time 4 stars
3/06/02 Alan Smithee Amazing Grace/Sit on my face/Don't make Me cry/I need your pie! 2 stars
2/03/02 Erik North Good, but not great--the explicit blood and gore were SO unnecessary 3 stars
2/03/02 Stuart Richards Good, but not as suspenseful or suprising as the original. 4 stars
12/13/01 ben wasden Halloween II is okay, but it can't touch the original. 3 stars
11/23/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A bit more better than the frist and saves the whole trilogy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/05/01 Jake Some systematic death sequences but a creative sequel with good acting and cool loud music! 4 stars
11/01/01 dr loomis all suck after 1 & 2 5 stars
10/31/01 Henry Ginsberg This movie goes nowhere.The only good bit is treadmark tit shot. 1 stars
10/29/01 Connoisseur pathetic ending. he gets shot in both eyes and still walks around. 2 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat Even better than the original! 5 stars
10/11/01 Alejandro Pena It was a bad ass movie 4 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix Inferior to the first, but still an effective slasher movie. 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Even more suspenseful and heart-pounding than the first one! 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Sticks with the same atmosphere as the original. Lacking in some departments but worthy. 4 stars
8/02/01 Elgyn One of the best slasher flicks - the hospital setting makes the movie! 5 stars
5/24/01 Erik North Okay sequel--but the explicit blood and gore was NOT necessary. 3 stars
4/29/01 ddfa dsaf 5 stars
4/13/01 LiL This movie wasn't up to my standards. It was okay, but it could have been better 3 stars
3/22/01 Sthenno A complete loss of plot takes the possibilty of it being a good film.Well done but unneeded 3 stars
3/13/01 Jake Part 2 is pretty good, well acted and scary. 4 stars
11/01/00 Buffalo #1 was a better film, but #2 is AT LEAST as scary.The 2 best horror movies ever? 5 stars
7/29/00 Bender Close to being as scary as the original. Its bloodier too. 4 stars
4/30/00 Non crap! 2 stars
4/30/00 Yo Momma Ahhh...beautiful shite! 1 stars
4/21/00 John Carpenter my best movie ever.I'm a pedophile.Where's my balls? 1 stars
3/24/00 Aaron Schweighardt Halloween 2 is a very creepy film which is almost just as good and scary as the original. 5 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers The scarry thing is Mike can't be stopped! But not as good as the first. 3 stars
3/02/00 Kyle Broflovski It's a SEQUEL, dammit...nothing more, nothing less... 3 stars
2/13/00 Andrew I thought it was an excellent seqel, and an excellent and hugely entertaining movie. 4 stars
2/06/00 Steve Layne As good as the first one, but not better 4 stars
1/29/00 Ed Baxter It is great for what it is, granted it's not the original, hence the category-sequel ! 5 stars
10/31/99 Lindsey Not that great of a movie. 2 stars
5/14/99 ras_jose@yahoo.com moronic mess-avoid at ALL costs! 2 stars
5/04/99 Lucas Jackson This movie is good,theres lots of killing,but it is not scary or thrilling 3 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury Sadism at full force. This movie is the shit 5 stars
3/03/99 Rachel it was ok. i'd rather see h4. 3 stars
12/20/98 mike generally a competent sequel...it just looks worse compared to the 1st 4 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink The first one was surprising, this one is sleep-inducing 1 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Arrrgh! I just watch it and see all the things that would've made it better! 3 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo I liked it nearly as much as the first. Still excellent. 4 stars
10/15/98 {{{OZ}}} Cramped in the hospital scenes. H20 had the same problem. Okay for a sequel. 4 stars
10/15/98 Bluntman First half hour is fine, but the film's thrills get closterphobic in the hospital portion. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Oct-1981 (R)
  DVD: 14-Aug-2007

UK
  N/A (18)

Australia
  29-Apr-1982 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast