More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.48

Awesome30.9%
Worth A Look: 28.65%
Average: 12.36%
Pretty Bad: 13.48%
Total Crap: 14.61%

12 reviews, 106 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Hard Candy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Cut this thing down to size and you've got one dickens of a thriller."
4 stars

SCREENED AT THE 2005 SUNDANCE FILM FESTIVAL: The specter of pedophilia is raised in "Hard Candy," an intense, well-acted film that deals with its alarming subject matter in an audacious way. Like it or hate it, there's no denying it hasn't been done quite like this before.

Our suspect is Jeff (Patrick Wilson), a handsome 32-year-old who meets a 14-year-old girl named Hayley (Ellen Page) on the Internet, followed by an in-person conversation at a coffeehouse. She seems every inch a giggly, flirtatious teenager, flattered and giddy to have a cute older man so interested in her. They go back to his house to listen to some MP3s of a cool new band that he has downloaded: He has done his homework.

At his house, though, the tables turn and it becomes apparent that Hayley -- in truth a precocious, intense girl bent on revenge -- has entrapped Jeff. She knows what he is and she plans to execute a particular bit of cruelty on him that will deter him from approaching an underage girl (or perhaps anyone) ever again.

As proud as the movie is of this development -- the sequence is the film's piece de resistance, at least in terms of editing and suspense-building -- I don't want to spoil it for you. Use your imagination, though. Whatever you'd consider doing to punish a pedophile, it's probably close to what Hayley has in mind. (If you've come up with something worse, then I am frightened of you. Please do not contact me.)

The movie, written by Brian Nelson and directed by David Slade, both in their feature debuts, is largely a two-character psychological thriller, Jeff and Hayley playing cat-and-mouse in his stylish, well-appointed home. Patrick Wilson more than redeems himself for his flat performance in "Phantom of the Opera" with this turn, which is rawly emotional but not over-the-top. Jeff is so likable, and his plight so desperate, that we question whether he is even guilty of what Hayley has accused him of. There are moments, in fact, when we sympathize with him more than with his would-be victim.

Ellen Page, a striking young actress who would seem to have potential, is a problem at first because the film seems to take itself too seriously to jibe with Hayley's dark sense of humor; her remarks are cheesy and supervillain-esque. But in time the balance adjusts and the tone of the movie begins to work with Hayley's attitude, not against it. Slade faces the difficult task of keeping things interesting despite having only two characters, and he manages it with solid acting and sharp camera work.

Still, at 103 minutes, the film is too long. A movie this simple, this uncluttered, this narrowly focused ought to clock in at around 80 minutes, don't you think? The emotional and psychological points reached by the characters meet their zenith long before the film has ended, and there's not much more for the story to do after that. Cut this thing down to size and you've got yourself one dickens of a thriller.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=11287&reviewer=247
originally posted: 04/04/05 16:27:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2006 South By Southwest Film Festival For more in the 2006 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2006 Florida Film Festival For more in the 2006 Florida Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2006 Philadelphia Film Festival For more in the 2006 Philadelphia Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/25/15 David Hollingsworth An intense, and squirm-inducing modern classic. 5 stars
4/10/15 stanley welles compelling, well-written and admirably performed 4 stars
4/16/14 Charles Tatum Page doesn't quite ring true. 4 stars
12/04/12 Mason Very Very original! direction is superb and original plot 4 stars
10/17/12 Jacqui Intelligent, thought provoking, rivetting. Ellen Page is amazing. 5 stars
8/25/12 Faraz hard movie to watch 4 stars
8/15/12 Robin Utterly grim and pointless. We get it, pedophiles are bad people. See 'Freeway' instead. 2 stars
6/09/12 liker of good movies Wothless 1 stars
3/16/12 PAUL SHORTT DISTURBING BUT ENGROSSING PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER WITH SOME GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
11/10/11 matthew thompson dalldorf Don't forget AUDITION! 1 stars
11/10/11 Thompson ...or 'Freeway.' 1 stars
4/19/11 matthew Stick with 'Death And The Maiden' 1 stars
1/11/11 Moose Rapper "Hayley was impossibly smart..." To bad the wasn't. 1 stars
3/22/10 nathan b great directing, acting and editing makes up for its lacking plot. 4 stars
3/13/10 brian That's one heapin' steamin' helpin' of vigilante justice there. 5 stars
9/28/09 jpwcpa Hayley was impossibly smart, and impossibly strong, for a 14-yr-old 2 stars
9/02/09 SpaceGoat Self-indulgent, ghoulish and sadistic, the target audience clearly being man-haters. 1 stars
7/08/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess Something every moralist will want to masterbait while watching. 1 stars
6/20/09 jeanne Ellen Page was incredible. It goes around, it comes around... 5 stars
3/28/09 GRAPELGANGER Awesome movie... great ending 5 stars
3/26/09 mariah the ending was awesome 4 stars
1/09/09 Lori good movie but pretty odd and nasty 4 stars
1/09/09 Anonymous. ellen page is awesome. she can be this freak, and she can be juno... 4 stars
10/29/08 Matt C. Wow. So many reviewers who feel Hayley was too cruel to the pedophile/murderer. Great film/ 5 stars
9/26/08 Timothy Kirkland Smart writing, cast of 5 people, very off center 4 stars
9/14/08 Claire ok, did you even watch the movie?? she DIDNT cut his balls off!!! stop complaining. 4 stars
9/07/08 Rod Good acting, rubbish directing, dodgy plot, not worth sitting through 1 stars
9/06/08 m Brilliant movie. Great acting - Ellen Page can be a monster. She doesn't cut his balls off! 5 stars
8/11/08 Heather A 14-yr-old who can do surgery? Gimme a break! Totally unbelievable! 1 stars
7/13/08 Paul's2¢ Two pervs - one who doesn't kill, one who doesn't cut. Vigilante hot air for simpletons. 3 stars
7/01/08 Chris Don't like torture movies (like Hostel - yuck!) and this stinks too, despite good acting. 1 stars
6/12/08 DK A great film, understanding of tension is apparent in Slade's direction. 5 stars
4/30/08 art THIS IS ONE SICK MOVIE 1 stars
4/30/08 dan i think this film was wierd, i thought it was pretty gd but didnt think he deserved 2 die 4 stars
4/09/08 Michelle The ending is lacking. Maybe flashbacks of the girl that was killed would help tie it? 3 stars
4/07/08 bob total shit, with shit ending, and he moved pretty well concidering his balls where cut off, 1 stars
3/29/08 Lawrence Peabody Excellent performances make up for the flimsy plot; a flawed but memorable thriller 4 stars
2/03/08 Joseph Becker A movie that makes one ask who is the problem? The "pedofile", or those quick to judge. 4 stars
1/14/08 David Pollastrini could of used some gore but great and scary 5 stars
1/13/08 TreeTiger Craaaap-o-la 2 stars
1/05/08 Cheryl who's more messed up? . the prick teasing torturing chic or the prick teasee 5 stars
10/20/07 eleanore compelling-- original 4 stars
10/14/07 mr.mike edge of your seat suspense , marred by an unconvincing ending 4 stars
8/07/07 Chris Hansen You're not on Dateline.....bitch!!!! 5 stars
7/24/07 fools♫gold God, does this pick up! Perfect length, and explains the perfect amount! 5 stars
7/18/07 DETMURDS The "Left" must have hated this movie,...let kids be kids is what I say here! 3 stars
7/10/07 Michael its was supensefull and not as cliché as mxt movies now a days. 5 stars
5/28/07 Beverly Such an unusual plot. Left me thinking for hours, for days. Ellen Page is a phenomena. 5 stars
5/17/07 Diane I agree with the film critic. Manipulatingly provocative yet badly written, & overdirected. 1 stars
5/16/07 Mackelby I had a hard on from the very beginning, but could never really get off to this. Tease... 3 stars
4/17/07 bob Interesting...would have liked more explanation as to how 'Haley' knew what she knew..... 4 stars
3/23/07 TreeTiger It stunk really bad - stay away from this steaming pile of hot pooh..!! 1 stars
3/12/07 Patterson At some point, the rants become tedious and lose their inherent creepiness.Way too overdone 3 stars
3/07/07 Stanley Thai A very good and disturbing film. 4 stars
1/18/07 MP Bartley Has its moments but too studied, overwritten and overdeliberate to be truly provocative. 3 stars
1/01/07 Maggie Wow. A must-see. 5 stars
12/27/06 Agent Sands Amongst the top form of comeuppance films, torture endurance films, & battle of wits films. 5 stars
12/23/06 K. Sear Wow, there is actually such a thing as a movie that desperately NEEDS a twist ending. 1 stars
12/21/06 ALDO FINALLy A CURE for pediphiles...They will never look at children the same way again 5 stars
12/15/06 T. McGregor This had me squirming in my seat. Fantastic performance from Ellen Paige. 4 stars
12/09/06 malcolm vague; hard for me to believe a 14 y/o can be that malicious and conniving 3 stars
11/30/06 Joanie incredible 5 stars
11/20/06 Carson This movie is brillant. Ellan Page is going to be huge. 5 stars
11/19/06 Bevan It's intense for the most part and against the conventions of most mainstream films 4 stars
11/16/06 Elveran A movie about two disturbed people. And a pointless story about how cool torture is. 1 stars
11/14/06 chelsea wow i can't really find words to describe it wow 5 stars
11/09/06 DarkEnchantress it sucked! Im into blood and thrillers, but this just was not worth shit! 2 stars
11/09/06 Bitchflaps Redundant offal masquerading as a "provocative psychological thriller" *yawn* 1 stars
11/07/06 Indrid Cold I'm ashamed to admit it, but Ellen Page is freaking adorable. 4 stars
11/02/06 Dissappointed Castration didnt happen! WORST ENDING EVER! NOT JUSTIFIED/VERIFIED! Missed chance 2B Great! 1 stars
11/01/06 TeenGuy My fav. movie EVER, makes me wanna do it... 5 stars
10/31/06 ES Good watch, but I can see Ellen Page getting on audiences' nerves rather quickly 4 stars
10/20/06 Henry Una excelente película que incomoda, particularmente a nosotros los hombres 5 stars
10/13/06 lauren I really didn't know how to think but it left me thinking for hours 4 stars
10/12/06 Yazzluv I thought it was pretty good...I loved the color palet and the dialog 4 stars
10/10/06 Danny Intense. Very intense indeed. 4 stars
10/09/06 peta press Hate to state the obvious; this is a Nazi film, anti-paedophile instead of anti-semitic!! 5 stars
10/08/06 Giselle ortiz Exelente 1 stars
10/02/06 Drdanny If it makes you squirm, it's doing its job. 4 stars
9/25/06 Rich Very well executed, thought provoking twists and turns that keep you unbalanced. 4 stars
9/22/06 Joe K One to get you talking. Maybe it shows what should happen to all pervs? Loved it! 5 stars
9/20/06 action movie fan intense and scary--haylaey is the predator-- 5 stars
9/17/06 Oilfinger Preposterous sadistic rubbish, utterly unbelievable, with a miracle recovery that reeks 1 stars
9/17/06 Duncan Wrong issue to use for a cheap thriller.... 1 stars
8/13/06 Brian O'Neill Extremely original thriller/horror film with two brilliant performances. Forget Saw II. 5 stars
8/01/06 Jimmy0h I was in a cold sweat!!! 5 stars
7/30/06 c0oki3z Weird but okay.. 4 stars
7/04/06 mike b excruciatingly engrossing 5 stars
6/22/06 vicki Its total crap 1 stars
6/18/06 Don Paco A glorification of torture for the PC crowd: torturing is OK, as long as it's done by girls 1 stars
6/05/06 mary this movie is too boring to be disturbing and too much suspension of belief is required. 1 stars
6/03/06 San Lamar oh my god 5 stars
5/06/06 martha philpotts tremendously thought provoking 5 stars
5/02/06 Ole Man Bourbon Amusing at times, but not much to it. 3 stars
5/02/06 David Awful-- awful boring that is. Could have been done in about five minutes max. 1 stars
4/29/06 Sabrina Unsatisfying and insults the audiences intelligence 2 stars
4/28/06 Kenneth D. Robin this may be one of the worse movies that I have ever seen. It makes very little sense 1 stars
4/25/06 brendan can someone tell todd the word is 'penchant' not pension. using it twice irritates 3 stars
4/23/06 Mase Orignial daring filmmaking. A movie to squirm to and think about 5 stars
4/14/06 Ronald Pottol intense! 5 stars
4/13/06 Roldan Din Pretentious! Pseudo-intellectual at its peak! 2 stars
3/29/06 Jennifer nelson incredible 5 stars
4/12/05 Elliot Brilliant and compelling 5 stars
2/08/05 J. Cantor A MUST SEE! 5 stars
1/24/05 Chris Gonsalves Freaky N' Cool 5 stars
12/14/04 SANJA EXELENT WRITER 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Apr-2006 (R)
  DVD: 19-Sep-2006

UK
  16-Jun-2006 (18)

Australia
  13-Jul-2006 (R)



[trailer] Trailer


Directed by
  David Slade

Written by
  Brian Nelson

Cast
  Patrick Wilson
  Ellen Page
  Sandra Oh
  Jennifer Holmes



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast