More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.1

Awesome: 21.5%
Worth A Look30.84%
Average: 14.02%
Pretty Bad: 3.74%
Total Crap: 29.91%

3 reviews, 89 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Dr. Isaksson

"Shit in a Shatner Mask"
1 stars

How can I describe my feelings for this film in a way that you could understand? Being a huge fan of the first "Halloween" all I can say is that "Halloween 4 The Return of Michael Myers" is a film that I truly despise but yet, whenever I catch it on cable I love to watch it. It probably ranks in the top 5 of the stupidest fucking sequels in a world filled with horrifically bad sequels. I honestly think this is worse than "Jaws The Revenge". And I'll try and prove my point.

Well first off, the film begins with two scared paramedics who have to transfer a patient from one asylum to another. But that patient is Michael Myers! Oh scary! But wait! He's been in a coma for 7 years after Halloween II. There's only one problem with this scenario. Michael Myers EXPLODED in the second one and burned to ASH!!!!! I mean, come on people, HE BLEW UP and toppled over and burned! But since everyone got all pissed cause Halloween III didn't have him in it and the Akkad family wanted to cash in on this killer. So, amazingly, all Mikey has suffered from the explosion is a few burns and such. So now when we do see him for the first time here he is bandaged from head to toe. Even his head is wrapped up completely. How convenient. So the paramedics take him out of the ridiculously dark hospital. (so dark that I wonder anyone working there had ever heard of a fluorescent light) and load him into the back of the ambulance. Of course he wakes up suddenly and pushes his finger through the skull of the male paramedic. Now, that's a lot of strength for someone who's been in a coma for 7 years and even in the original Halloween Mike was just an average guy with average strength who just happened to be a psycho killer. So where his superpower (AKA Jason Voorheis), came from I'll never know. Nor do I give a shit because this crap gets worse.

So we enter the life of a little girl named Jamie Lloyd (Danielle Harris). Jamie is Laurie Strode's daughter but Laurie I guess is dead or something. Whatever. Jamie is in foster care with a family and has a half sister named Rachel (Ellie Cornell). Jamie has been suffering from nightmares about the bogeyman (or as Jamie calls him "The Nightmare Man!") and Rachel is sick of this new sister coming in and spoiling her teenage fun. Rachel has plans for Halloween to go out with a guy named Brady who she has the hots for. But Jamie is ruining it with her psycho tendencies. Geeze what a brat. Her mom is dead and her uncle is killing people, just get over it Krispy Kreme! Oh yeah and all of this is happening on Halloween night so Jamie must go out and get a clown costume and literally walks into Michael while at the local five and dime. How the fuck did Mike get in that tiny store and supposedly get another Shatner Mask without anyone seeing him? How did he know who his niece was? How did he know where she was going to be that afternoon? Oh so many questions, No reasonable answers.

So Michael is on the loose and wants to kill Jamie. But for some reason he didn't want to do it at the store so he takes off. So what does Rachel and Jamie do? They go trick or treating! Rachel catches Brady, the guy she wants to hook up, getting it on with the town slut and has a Dawson's creek moment with him and after some worthless dialogue, Michael shows up. During these events Dr. Loomis (A half senile Donald Pleasence, who's probably just in this for the check) is once again trying to find Michael and stop him before he can kill his niece Jamie. OH YEAH, I know, Dr. Loomis exploded in Halloween II also but he just suffered a little burn on his face and hand. Why Loomis even bothers to try and shoot Michael is unclear because you can't kill evil. Loomis should know better by now. He's gone on and on about how evil is undestructable but the sequels must go on.

So many things in Halloween 4 were not clearly thought out and I can and will go through a few scenes which have no semblance to sense. How the hell can Michael get into the house that Jamie and Rachel are in without anyone noticing? They have police guarding the place yet he's already inside and killing them off before they can even eat a donut. Brady, Rachel and Jamie on the other hand can't get out because the lock is made of metal and apparently a shotgun blast at point blank range can't open a METAL lock on a door. So they end up finding an escape though an upstairs window and climb out onto the roof. Michael quickly catches up to them and a slightly exciting scene occurs but that's about as good as this gets and of course he fails to kill them and disappears again.

Then there's a few more chase scenes and Michael just appears in every single place Jamie and Rachel run to. He's apparently gained the ability to transport himself to any area he chooses and quickly kills off anyone who is standing within 2 feet of him. Beam him to the next killing Scotty! Of course there has to be some angry townsfolk in this film. A group of fat, hillbillies grab their guns and go after Myers only to shoot some guy who was whacking off in the bushes. Oh poor Ted Hollister! Life is so unfair. Yes, this is the best that the screenwriter could come up with! There are more problems that are too stupid to go into detail so I'll just list them.

1. Michael Myers' mask has big uneven eyebrows.
2. The guy driving the pickup with the bunch of gun toting rednecks is obviously deaf because he doesn't hear all of his drinking buddies getting thrown off the back.
3. Never trust the police cause they can't seem to protect 3 people in a house.
4. That little girl should have never talked to an old crazy Dr. who reeks of Ben Gay and Vodka. "Where's Gilda!"
5. Jamie ultimately gains the evil power to kill at the close of this film yet in 'Halloween 5' she's a terrified victim again.
6. Why can't Alan Haworth play the theme of 'Halloween' correctly? It sounds like a kid banging on a toy piano.
To sum this crap up.
7. Just never.. ever go trick or treating when you're uncle's in town.

Geeze... "Halloween 4" is neither scary nor interesting and even the music sucks. Still, if I catch this on AMC I'm gonna watch because I am a masochist for "Halloween" sequels or as I like to call them, "Shit in a Shatner Mask."

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1129&reviewer=296
originally posted: 02/29/04 09:44:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/21/17 morris campbell a nice try one is still the best friday the 13th sux 3 stars
12/11/12 Jamie Boring. 1 stars
10/31/12 KeVin Has such a Halloween ambience that you can smell the wet autumn leaves and just go with it! 4 stars
4/06/12 SEAN DUTRA good and likeable but thin. uses atmosphere and suspense. my favorite sequel 4 stars
7/10/10 art FRIDAY THE 13TH BURRIES ALL THE halloween flick's! 1 stars
6/21/10 Sarah Shit. III was better and should've ended there. 1 stars
1/25/10 art FRIDAY the 13th's JASON VOORHEES makes you FORGET ABOUT MICHEAL MEYERS! 1 stars
10/24/09 art THE ENTIRE HALLOWEEN FRANCHISE IS OVERRATED! 1 stars
7/25/09 art REGRETTABLY,HALLOWEEN SERIES WILL ALWAYS TAKE A BACKSEAT TO THE FRIDAY THE 13TH SERIES! 1 stars
7/02/09 Fuck You Tasteless Plaebians You are all fucking retards. Absolutely terrible. 1 stars
2/17/07 David Pollastrini 'bout time he got back! 5 stars
8/09/06 Doreen AWESOME!!! 5 stars
5/16/06 blarginbadigalnohif The best HAlloween movie 5 stars
1/04/06 kr my favorite halloween movie, believable actors, and it is a great follow up to the 1st one 4 stars
11/24/05 cr a great sequel to the first halloween and very suspenful and great chase scenes 4 stars
11/15/05 Jeff Pallo Halloween 4 is the best sequel since Halloween 2 !!!! 5 stars
10/26/05 Waka Waka FRIGEN SHWEET 5 stars
10/16/05 Darren O A decent sequel that uses atmosphere and suspense well, though stretches plot credibility 3 stars
7/19/05 Brandy Harrington Gay. 1 stars
12/21/04 Lucas Stensland Eh 2 stars
11/17/04 peter dunlop absolutely brilliant 5 stars
11/17/04 MEGAN BATSON I THINK IT IS A EXCELLENT MOVIE AND IT IS SCARY BUT I LIKE THE ONE HALLOWEEN H20 5 stars
7/31/04 jmsynth Slow to start, but great suspensful last half-hour 3 stars
7/24/04 Phoenix II Pretty good, and I agree with every word the American Slasher Goddess say. She rocks! 4 stars
7/08/04 Denise it continues the fun of halloween 4 stars
7/02/04 American Slasher Goddess The best sequel besides Part 2 4 stars
6/25/04 josh puckett it cool 5 stars
6/19/04 Jesse Hertz It was perfectly directed 5 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark Better than most of the sequels, but the series should have ended at Halloween 3. 3 stars
5/18/04 crisis this movie is so good it makes me see michale in my dreams. 5 stars
5/13/04 Me Loved it when he squeezed the fat guys face off 4 stars
4/16/04 A Reader Liked "Halloween 3" better, but Ellie Cornell anchors this film, and is lovely to look at. 4 stars
4/09/04 kevin watts horrer very horrile 1 stars
3/26/04 Amy A must see for any Michael Myers fan 4 stars
3/18/04 rachel burke its a little repetitive die already 3 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Not bad... Go Michael Myers! Go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/17/04 kevin watts BAD MOVIE,WORSE SEQUEL.MICHAEL,FREDDY,JASON ETC. 1 stars
3/10/04 kelly its cool but halloween 3 stinks cause it got nuthing to do with michael myers 4 stars
12/26/03 Sara Good, but could have been better 4 stars
11/29/03 john it has its moments but it also makes you long for the first two movies in the series 3 stars
11/28/03 Sara I think this film is like all the other's,there all briliant and michael myer's rock's. 5 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess A huge improvement over 3, it's the second best sequel after 2. 4 stars
10/18/03 Littlepurch Having not seen ay of the other films, i found this one just weird! Pleasence was good tho 3 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Best sequel of the series. Danielle Harris carried this movie. Worst design for Myers mask. 4 stars
9/01/03 cody the strongest halloween sequel besides part 2 and it is scary and awesome 4 stars
7/30/03 Jake Laughable, this is one of the weakest movies I have ever seen. "No! No! No!" - Dr. Loomis. 1 stars
7/22/03 Double G This was a good return for Micheal Myers, but a bad story. 3 stars
6/09/03 Gary D good for a fourth entry 4 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Bland, lame, and stupid. 1 stars
1/25/03 M.C. They couldnt' have thought of a better way to bring Myers back, Awesome Film, must have DVD 5 stars
8/17/02 Scott Forget #3 ever happened. watch this. 4 stars
8/16/02 Joe Calio Feels empty without Jamie Lee...but not a total loss...the film is moody & creepy at times. 4 stars
8/16/02 Shaun after H3, this movie is more than welcome 4 stars
7/08/02 RAJIV BROTHERS 5 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi probably the worst one in the series (except for 6) 2 stars
5/26/02 Charles Tatum The best "Halloween" sequel, which ain't saying much 3 stars
4/16/02 Kelly "Jamie's an orphan! Jamie's an orphan!" Shut up brats! I don't care. The movie sucked! Bad! 1 stars
4/04/02 cat I will praise all Halloween's til the day I die (even the crappy one with the baby) 5 stars
3/31/02 Film Guy This movie is no Sequel, this movie is a piece of trash 2 stars
2/28/02 Chowie Lets kill the bastards who made this almighty piece of shit 1 stars
2/03/02 Stuart Richards The best of the sequels, with characters you acually give a fuck about!!! 5 stars
12/15/01 Peter Herman more suspense than other sequels 5 stars
12/13/01 ben wasden Michael Myers' return is unfortunately pretty dull 1 stars
11/23/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Best one! yet! good script, kick ass acting and best of all Michael is still alive!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/31/01 Jake The director made Free Willy 2 as well as this crap! Thats why it's worse than imaginable! 1 stars
10/31/01 Henry Ginsberg It really wasn't that bad.Especialy when compaired to the other halloween sequels. 3 stars
8/12/01 Al Vap Yeah, Im having a heart attack at how bad this movie is! makes the F13TH series look good!! 1 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) The ending almost gave me a heart attack, + the music in the credits!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Kinda creepy. Danielle Harris is excellent...Myers mask is only complaint. 5 stars
8/02/01 Elgyn Very good sequel. Cool mood & atmosphere. 4 stars
7/10/01 JT Brilliant comedy 4 stars
4/13/01 LiL This movie didn't have what it takes. Stupid storyline, wheres Jamie Lee Curtis? 2 stars
3/26/01 Frank Why are they all talking like hillbillies?How did Michael get in the locked house?A chimney 1 stars
3/22/01 Sthenno An absolute failure!Bad script,acting,& plot holes you could drive a truck through!Awful! 1 stars
3/13/01 Jake This was a dull movie with unscary seens. Also bad acting -music and story. 1 stars
3/09/01 melay I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CO 5 stars
12/12/00 ashi toledano excellent 5 stars
12/05/00 Max This movie ruled it was my seconed favorite. 5 stars
6/26/00 AaronZombie Great sequel! Not the best, but far from the worst(Halloween:H20). 5 stars
6/08/00 Bender Don't try that Halloween shit with me. One of the better of the series 4 stars
6/03/00 Josh Smith Much, much, much better than I expected. Up there with the original 4 stars
3/02/00 Kyle Broflovski Oh...he's back!! And...same-old same-old. *stoned smile* Okay 3 stars
12/08/99 dog they should have put Michael in prison 4 stars
11/10/99 Gary Durso Some scary scenes.....see it! 4 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury Copys from F13th in some of the deaths but is a great movie. 4 stars
3/03/99 Rachel I thought this was by far the best Halloween sequel. 4 stars
12/20/98 mike it's ok...better than 3, 5 and 6 anyway 3 stars
10/15/98 {{{OZ}}} Rare for a third sequel to not completely suck ass, but this doesn't. 3 stars
10/15/98 Bluntman It has the mood, but the material stinks. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Oct-1988 (R)
  DVD: 25-Jul-2006

UK
  03-Nov-1989 (18)

Australia
  09-Feb-1989 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast