More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.75

Awesome: 6.82%
Worth A Look: 15.15%
Average34.09%
Pretty Bad34.09%
Total Crap: 9.85%

12 reviews, 60 user ratings



Ocean's Twelve
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Too smart for itís own good"
2 stars

The thing that made Oceanís Eleven so enjoyable was the fact that you had a hip cast and an intelligent script and direction by Steven Soderbergh. In this second installment, itís all more of the same, only this time it tries to outsmart the audience through all kinds of stuff that instead of leaving the audience in oohs and aahs, leaves them scratching their heads instead.

After pulling off successfully the 160 million dollar heist from under Terry Benedictís casino, all 10 partners of Danny Ocean have parted their separate ways but then suddenly everyone gets visited and pinched by Benedict, and he gives them 2 weeks in order to return him his money back plus interests. Thanks to this, Danny (George Clooney), Rusty (Brad Pitt) and the rest of the gang scramble to Amsterdam in order to pull off some jobs, until they realize theyíve been put by some French fuck called Francois Tolour (Vincent Cassel), who challenges Danny to steal the famous Faberge Egg. In the meantime, Rusty once again shadows and ultimately tries to avoid along with the rest of the gang his former flame Isabel Lahiri (Catherine Zeta-Jones) whom happens to be an Interpol agent looking for them and Tolour (even though she doesnít know what his name is).

The problem that I have with the movie is that it tries to outwit itself out of every single possible fuck-up that Danny and his Gang have done a bit too much for its own good. Perhaps the most ridiculous scenes involve Tolour and his ďkarate dance with the random laser security systemĒ and Lahiriís constant cat-and-mouse chase with old flame Rusty. Whereas in the original Rusty showed a lot of wit and intelligence, here he appears like a fucking clown, outdone most of the time by Lahiri. In fact Lahiriís over-ambition of nailing every single one of the gang comes off as irritating as it is sly. There can only be so many instances where you can outsmart the audience of put a joke on them, but when it goes to excesses it just pisses people off since they end up making the audience look like assholes.

And then the worst was when Dannyís wife Tess (Julia Roberts), tries to pass off AS Julia Roberts, with a Bruce Willis cameo thrown in for supposedly good measure. Can you be more unoriginal? I honestly thought of this as an insult to the audienceís intelligence. I felt pissed off when this happened, and if this was the filmmakers notion of fun and playing with egos, it doesnít translate very well on the screen, since itís preposterous, stupid and insulting.

As for the rest, the film looks nice, with Steve Soderbergh putting his polished production values and sets, and the acting is all right but nothing worthy to talk about.

In the end, this is a disappointing sequel for a movie that ultimately didnít need one. Compare to the first movie, this movie is quite a disappointing film and ultimately feels more like a cash-in rather than a fully legit sequel 2-5

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=11326&reviewer=235
originally posted: 05/10/05 08:20:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/09/10 Serge I think it was just a filler between 11 and 13 3 stars
3/28/08 Renzo Sucks! 1 stars
6/06/07 gr117 Great soundtrack & location shots- too bad the "plot" sucked 2 stars
3/16/07 Donny M Julia Roberts Scene Stupid 3 stars
1/23/07 Matt Thirteen Oceans of unadulterated crap. Gave up after 30 mins. 1 stars
12/01/06 Candice I love this movie. 5 stars
9/13/06 Agent Sands You have to be a hardcore fan of heist movies to really enjoy it the way I do! What a ride! 5 stars
7/25/06 Sully tripe. Damon was great, everyone else was boring. ending was ridiculous! 1 stars
7/08/06 CTT The cast definitely has a better time than the audience 3 stars
5/07/06 Charlene Javier Not as bad as everyone says it is... 3 stars
2/16/06 Indrid Cold Much of the chemistry and laughs of the first one, plot somewhat weaker though. 4 stars
11/25/05 Jacques the Man Actually, this is the most entertaining film I've seen all year. 5 stars
8/28/05 Lisa Brady terribly unbelievable 2 stars
8/01/05 Beth Kerrick Was disappointed it wasn't as good as the original. Not bad, but not great. 3 stars
7/14/05 Matthew Rudawsky Julia Roberts as herself was clever, but I wouldn't bother seeing the rest a 2nd time 3 stars
6/29/05 chimera Uninspired disaster 1 stars
6/25/05 Mr Fluffy Script not as tight as Eleven but directorially it's still up there with it. 4 stars
6/23/05 Adonis Fuentes Dumb dance sequence through the lasers 3 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands You have to be a devout fan of heist & con flicks to really enjoy it. What a ride! 5 stars
5/25/05 Casey Becher A typical, disappointing sequel 2 stars
5/22/05 Charlene Javier Great inside jokes! 3 stars
5/18/05 mysterio Very boring movie. 2 stars
5/13/05 edsandiego2 I find it very entertaining. 4 stars
5/12/05 Beardog8 Love Soderbergh, but this was a let down from all involved. 2 stars
4/29/05 Phil M. Aficionado 40 minutes in, I decided this was not worth watching. What exactly was the point? 2 stars
4/28/05 Uncle Salty Worthless, %90 soundtrack, %10 movie 1 stars
4/24/05 Dan Ok movie, original one was better and always will be. 3 stars
4/23/05 Quigley we would need shovels - no, tractors! - to heap the bullcrap higher. Brad, we've had enough 1 stars
4/23/05 Monster W. Kung Crappy and uninteresting, and the twist sucks like a hoover. 2 stars
4/14/05 Scott Lamont Very anoying and hard to follow, even harder to swallow. 3 stars
4/07/05 brody what a bootleg film 1 stars
3/26/05 Denise good 4 stars
2/12/05 Sylvia Belle I enjoyted this one very much 5 stars
2/12/05 Kelly Self-indulgent, Ego-driven BORE of a Movie. The "aren't we awesome" posturing fell flat. 2 stars
2/12/05 John Jankowski very very average.. 3 stars
2/02/05 Casey Becher A pathetic attempt at a sequel. Sometimes it's better to stop while you're ahead. 3 stars
1/16/05 Feliciano this is what a real boring movie is, a movie with actually nothing interesting. 1 stars
1/09/05 Agent Sands FOR PEOPLE WHO LOVE HEIST MOVIES!!!!!!! SURPRISINGLY EQUIVALENT TO "ELEVEN"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/08/05 Elizabeth S Star cameo provides the movie's best moments; pretty charmless. 2 stars
1/05/05 redhand a terrable movie, pointless 1 stars
1/05/05 malcolm excellent, witty dialogue; but ending was a cheat 3 stars
1/03/05 Danno the Movie Manno Should have given Bruce Willis a bigger role 1 stars
12/28/04 efrain as one magazine put it: PEOPLE MAGAZINE COMES TO LIFE. 4 stars
12/28/04 Mike V What a boring, glitzy, empty, mess of a movie. 2 stars
12/20/04 Koitus Ugh! Cheesy details on "how the 12 did it." Identified criminals identities "too" easily. 2 stars
12/18/04 Lisa totally crappy 1 stars
12/17/04 Jack Ocean's 12 is a piece of crap. Soderbergh apparently wants to sully his reputation. 1 stars
12/17/04 Carl Utterback Amusing diversion if you liked the characters (and actors) from Ocean's 11. 4 stars
12/15/04 Elizabeth Bates Great Film!!!! 5 stars
12/15/04 Elizabeth Boring and uninspired, save for a few humorous bits. 2 stars
12/15/04 Mikester Vincent Cassel rocks ! 4 stars
12/13/04 KingNeutron I enjoyed it, espec. the "JR lookalike" subplot. ;-) 4 stars
12/12/04 rich a little too cute on itself and not enough PLOT 2 stars
12/12/04 Scott like The Village--you find out the "secret", but wish you hadn't 3 stars
12/12/04 ajay some funny moments, but overall... boring. 2 stars
12/12/04 Andrew If you don't like Ocean's 12 your too self conscience 5 stars
12/12/04 Kristina Williams celebrity whorefest 2 stars
12/11/04 Bob Kolk Not since Lost in Translation have I had a stronger urge to get up and leave a theater. 1 stars
12/11/04 John Very good movie 5 stars
12/08/04 Ray Big deal 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Dec-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 12-Apr-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Dec-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast