More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.75

Awesome: 6.82%
Worth A Look: 15.15%
Average34.09%
Pretty Bad34.09%
Total Crap: 9.85%

12 reviews, 60 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ocean's Twelve
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Fine, but let's stop at twelve, OK? It's getting crowded."
4 stars

I have a friend who hated "Ocean's Eleven" because he thought it was pretentious, nothing more than a bunch of big-shot Hollywood celebrities saying, "Look at us having fun! Don't you wish you could be like us?" I find his bitterness puzzling -- "Ocean's Eleven" only begins to tell the story of the things that enrage him, Josh Groban and Alex Trebek being two others -- but I can see where he's coming from. Still, I enjoyed that film and (to a lesser extent) its sequel precisely BECAUSE they're chock-full of charismatic famous people having a good time. If the performers are having fun, the audience usually will, too.

There's a little more to "Ocean's Twelve" than millionaire actors sitting around and laughing, though I admit that seems to be the central idea. The director is Steven Soderbergh once again, and he infuses nearly everything he does with creativity and energy. He puts the camera in interesting places, and moves it and his actors around in unusual ways. The visuals are playful and slightly retro, recalling (as did the first film) a Rat Pack-era Las Vegas full of swingin' coolness.

The setting this time, however, is Amsterdam and Rome and various points in between. Danny Ocean (George Clooney) has reassembled his team of con men and thieves because the victim of their last heist, casino owner Terry Benedict (Andy Garcia), has made it clear that if the money they stole is not repaid (with interest!) within two weeks, dire things will begin happening to them. He knows all their identities, which spooks them a little, considering the lengths to which they went to avoid detection.

So they're together again by necessity: They need to do another huge job in order to pay back Benedict. They attempt a small-ish job in Amsterdam as a warm-up for the big finale -- stealing a highly valuable Faberge Egg -- but are thwarted by a mysterious thief called the Night Fox, who gets there first and subsequently issues a challenge: a race to see who can steal the Faberge Egg first and best. Complications like this, our heroes don't need.

There is also an international law-enforcement agent named Isabel Lahiri (Catherine Zeta-Jones) on their tail; the fact that she is Rusty's ex-girlfriend adds more complications to an already-complicated situation.

All eleven of the first film's characters have returned, a feat that, in Hollywood, ranks up there with robbing the Bellagio in terms of difficulty and precedence. But let's be honest: Eleven people is too many for a film, and adding a twelfth -- especially when it's the cold, robotic Catherine Zeta-Jones -- only makes it more crowded. I'm not even sure why Bernie Mac showed up for the sequel, for example, so limited is his screen time. Poor Don Cheadle gets exactly one great moment -- a profanity-laden conversation with a recording-studio engineer in which all the profanity is bleeped out by a ringing phone -- and then is relegated to the back burner.

The standout is Matt Damon, whose character of Linus is anxious and unsettled, constantly trying to prove himself of value to the team. George Clooney, Brad Pitt and Julia Roberts play only mild variations of themselves, but Damon plays a real character, and a funny one at that.

"Ocean's Twelve" is essentially more of "Ocean's Eleven," which is generally what audiences want in sequels, I suppose. It is funny, but not AS funny; it is surprising, but not AS surprising; it is good but not AS good.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=11326&reviewer=247
originally posted: 12/16/04 08:18:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/09/10 Serge I think it was just a filler between 11 and 13 3 stars
3/28/08 Renzo Sucks! 1 stars
6/06/07 gr117 Great soundtrack & location shots- too bad the "plot" sucked 2 stars
3/16/07 Donny M Julia Roberts Scene Stupid 3 stars
1/23/07 Matt Thirteen Oceans of unadulterated crap. Gave up after 30 mins. 1 stars
12/01/06 Candice I love this movie. 5 stars
9/13/06 Agent Sands You have to be a hardcore fan of heist movies to really enjoy it the way I do! What a ride! 5 stars
7/25/06 Sully tripe. Damon was great, everyone else was boring. ending was ridiculous! 1 stars
7/08/06 CTT The cast definitely has a better time than the audience 3 stars
5/07/06 Charlene Javier Not as bad as everyone says it is... 3 stars
2/16/06 Indrid Cold Much of the chemistry and laughs of the first one, plot somewhat weaker though. 4 stars
11/25/05 Jacques the Man Actually, this is the most entertaining film I've seen all year. 5 stars
8/28/05 Lisa Brady terribly unbelievable 2 stars
8/01/05 Beth Kerrick Was disappointed it wasn't as good as the original. Not bad, but not great. 3 stars
7/14/05 Matthew Rudawsky Julia Roberts as herself was clever, but I wouldn't bother seeing the rest a 2nd time 3 stars
6/29/05 chimera Uninspired disaster 1 stars
6/25/05 Mr Fluffy Script not as tight as Eleven but directorially it's still up there with it. 4 stars
6/23/05 Adonis Fuentes Dumb dance sequence through the lasers 3 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands You have to be a devout fan of heist & con flicks to really enjoy it. What a ride! 5 stars
5/25/05 Casey Becher A typical, disappointing sequel 2 stars
5/22/05 Charlene Javier Great inside jokes! 3 stars
5/18/05 mysterio Very boring movie. 2 stars
5/13/05 edsandiego2 I find it very entertaining. 4 stars
5/12/05 Beardog8 Love Soderbergh, but this was a let down from all involved. 2 stars
4/29/05 Phil M. Aficionado 40 minutes in, I decided this was not worth watching. What exactly was the point? 2 stars
4/28/05 Uncle Salty Worthless, %90 soundtrack, %10 movie 1 stars
4/24/05 Dan Ok movie, original one was better and always will be. 3 stars
4/23/05 Quigley we would need shovels - no, tractors! - to heap the bullcrap higher. Brad, we've had enough 1 stars
4/23/05 Monster W. Kung Crappy and uninteresting, and the twist sucks like a hoover. 2 stars
4/14/05 Scott Lamont Very anoying and hard to follow, even harder to swallow. 3 stars
4/07/05 brody what a bootleg film 1 stars
3/26/05 Denise good 4 stars
2/12/05 Sylvia Belle I enjoyted this one very much 5 stars
2/12/05 Kelly Self-indulgent, Ego-driven BORE of a Movie. The "aren't we awesome" posturing fell flat. 2 stars
2/12/05 John Jankowski very very average.. 3 stars
2/02/05 Casey Becher A pathetic attempt at a sequel. Sometimes it's better to stop while you're ahead. 3 stars
1/16/05 Feliciano this is what a real boring movie is, a movie with actually nothing interesting. 1 stars
1/09/05 Agent Sands FOR PEOPLE WHO LOVE HEIST MOVIES!!!!!!! SURPRISINGLY EQUIVALENT TO "ELEVEN"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/08/05 Elizabeth S Star cameo provides the movie's best moments; pretty charmless. 2 stars
1/05/05 redhand a terrable movie, pointless 1 stars
1/05/05 malcolm excellent, witty dialogue; but ending was a cheat 3 stars
1/03/05 Danno the Movie Manno Should have given Bruce Willis a bigger role 1 stars
12/28/04 efrain as one magazine put it: PEOPLE MAGAZINE COMES TO LIFE. 4 stars
12/28/04 Mike V What a boring, glitzy, empty, mess of a movie. 2 stars
12/20/04 Koitus Ugh! Cheesy details on "how the 12 did it." Identified criminals identities "too" easily. 2 stars
12/18/04 Lisa totally crappy 1 stars
12/17/04 Jack Ocean's 12 is a piece of crap. Soderbergh apparently wants to sully his reputation. 1 stars
12/17/04 Carl Utterback Amusing diversion if you liked the characters (and actors) from Ocean's 11. 4 stars
12/15/04 Elizabeth Bates Great Film!!!! 5 stars
12/15/04 Elizabeth Boring and uninspired, save for a few humorous bits. 2 stars
12/15/04 Mikester Vincent Cassel rocks ! 4 stars
12/13/04 KingNeutron I enjoyed it, espec. the "JR lookalike" subplot. ;-) 4 stars
12/12/04 rich a little too cute on itself and not enough PLOT 2 stars
12/12/04 Scott like The Village--you find out the "secret", but wish you hadn't 3 stars
12/12/04 ajay some funny moments, but overall... boring. 2 stars
12/12/04 Andrew If you don't like Ocean's 12 your too self conscience 5 stars
12/12/04 Kristina Williams celebrity whorefest 2 stars
12/11/04 Bob Kolk Not since Lost in Translation have I had a stronger urge to get up and leave a theater. 1 stars
12/11/04 John Very good movie 5 stars
12/08/04 Ray Big deal 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Dec-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 12-Apr-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Dec-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast