More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.22

Awesome: 19.32%
Worth A Look: 23.86%
Average29.55%
Pretty Bad: 13.64%
Total Crap: 13.64%

5 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


I Spit On Your Grave (1978)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"It's an odd film."
2 stars

A sick sick film, but one that I think deserves respect

In '78, when released, people said it was sick and that it glorified rape. This is wrong, it is a feminist gore fest that shows a woman taking control and exacting revenge on her rapists.

It is not a good film, but it has been given unfair criticism.

It is poorly acted and directed, sure.

Also it contains one of the most uncomfortable scenes ever on celluloid. It's a bathroom scene where the woman is having a bath with one of her rapists (he doesn't remember her). She gets some scissors and under the water she cuts his cock off, with blood frothing to the surface.

It shocked me but I was compelled to watch because I wanted the girl to get her revenge on each of them for what they did , and I wanted them to die. Strange effect for a pro rape film... Strange effect anyway.

It aint a good film, but it has it's message, and should be treated with some respect.

But I will only give it 2 stars as I still can't decide on whether it is trash or arthouse horror.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1133&reviewer=23
originally posted: 10/15/98 20:41:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

7/08/11 moose rapper Monster A Go-Go thinks this movie is "Ho-Hum" lol 5 stars
4/18/11 action movie fan decent very graphic rape revenge film predictable but worth it 3 stars
2/28/11 art a DRIVE-IN CLASSIC! 5 stars
1/08/11 mr.mike Works for genre fans. 4 stars
11/14/10 Yo I never ever want to see this film again. 2 stars
4/17/10 Durwood Weak, fakey rip-off of Deliverance. In real life, country folk have high moral values. 1 stars
10/20/08 Monster A Go-Go The title is the best thing about this notorious but ho-hum revenge flick 3 stars
7/23/08 DM Issues of morality aside, objectively considered, this is a uniformly terrible movie. 1 stars
6/29/08 BNorm Greatest last line of dialougue in film history: "Suck it Bitch!" that's classic 5 stars
3/04/08 Jen Cherry Pretty sad 2 stars
2/17/08 ravindra its just too hot 5 stars
12/20/07 Kirk Must see list for trailer park trash folk!! 1 stars
11/29/07 art AN EXCELLENT slasher movie superb 4 stars
7/11/07 Total Crap I love revenge movies. just like Last House, but with better killings. 4 stars
11/29/06 David Pollastrini good gore with a little irony. 4 stars
6/11/06 jj The move let you that after something bad happon to you you can recover. 4 stars
4/18/06 Dave Vicious unbelievable film. 1 stars
3/27/06 ALBERT love that axe! 2 stars
2/06/06 dupadoit it blows 1 stars
6/21/05 Bruce Lee good 4 stars
3/17/05 Mark Smith Extremely Scary 4 stars
11/09/04 Naomi Great revenge!!!!! Payback is hell !!!!!!! 5 stars
10/16/04 sdsd good 4 stars
7/03/04 Mainlandheathen@yahoo.com Camille Keaton is very sexually erotic in this movie. 5 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark Disturbing rape sequences, but Camille Keaton's performance makes it all worthwhile. 4 stars
5/17/04 intelligent single woman this really affected me years ago when I first viewed it--great movie for revenge on men! 5 stars
5/04/04 Joseph Cicala A movie you hate to love... but you can't help it 4 stars
1/26/04 Eric The best porno ever!!!!!! 5 stars
10/17/03 Sugarfoot I spit on this shit! 1 stars
8/29/03 DARREN ONLY THE SICKLY DEPRAVED SHOULD ENJOY ANY OF THIS REPREHENSIBLE TRASH 1 stars
7/24/03 Max Totally repulsive, the worst movie ever made!!! 1 stars
4/13/03 Zargo great fun, but i don't see it as anything feminist or shit like that 5 stars
3/02/03 STG3 Christopher Norman Kulik Watch Millenium Edition on DVD, listen to the commentaries; Ebert doesnt know shit!!! 5 stars
3/01/03 becky The bathtub scene is one of the best in movie history...my girlfriends and I went nuts!!! 5 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Surprisingly involving; great full-frnotal nudity!!!! 4 stars
12/22/02 Pigwidgeon A servicable antidote to right-wing fratboy whining about "feminazis" 3 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Ebert is right- the absolute worst film ever made 1 stars
8/02/02 artemishia hey, Horrorluver, robert ebert doesnt know shit! this movie kicks ass! 4 stars
4/29/02 Sugarfoot A perverse pleasure to watch the woman get revenge on the guys 3 stars
4/03/02 Edfink Lombardo Disturbing to the point of discomfort...This film never should have been made...Total shit 1 stars
2/06/02 twh repulsively interesting 3 stars
6/23/01 Horrorluver AN INSULT TO HORROR FANS! THE WORST MOVIE EVER!!! ROGER EBERT EVEN SAID SO!!! 1 stars
6/13/01 King Jackass The first 70 minutes or though suck, but once she gets her revenge it gets better. 2 stars
2/27/01 Mike tunesdj.com Many cult classics are poorly directed, and acted, but as far as one of the BEST this rates 5 stars
2/25/01 Jacob Myers I watched this with my mother 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy So bad...so good... 3 stars
2/14/01 Bully very good 5 stars
2/07/01 m Violent? Of course. Exploitation? Nah! 4 stars
12/29/00 Maggie it was so disturbing! why the hell would someone make a movie like this? i had nightmares!! 2 stars
11/21/00 Arthur A film that kicks ass, a very insperational film 5 stars
11/15/00 MiS^DeMeAnOr bad bad acting, slow movies, but i halfway enjoyed watching her get her revenge! 3 stars
6/16/00 DAVID This may of been bad film making but i still enjoyed the movie and didnt take it seriously! 3 stars
4/17/00 Bob Bobson this movie sucked ass!!! 1 stars
1/06/00 william christiansen this is one unforgettable movie that rates closely with Caligula....YYYYYeck!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
12/10/99 Hutson Olsen I Spit on Your Grave is an imperative watch for all those who enjoy scum in filmdom. 5 stars
11/22/98 little jerry Has the peculiar effect of being a trash film that turns on you.Impressively directed. 5 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Both from a historical and social perspective, this trash-a-thon still holds up! 4 stars
10/15/98 {{{OZ}}} As an adrenaline revenge fest, it certainly get's you going. It's awful, but trashy fun. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1978 (R)
  DVD: 08-Feb-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1978 (X)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast