More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 9.17%
Worth A Look: 25.69%
Pretty Bad: 11.01%
Total Crap: 20.18%

7 reviews, 67 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

Beyond Skyline by Jay Seaver

Agent Mr. Chan by Jay Seaver

Wrinkle in Time, A by Peter Sobczynski

Kill Order by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Meet the Fockers
[] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Worthless sequels are nothing new, but these fockers should know better..."
1 stars

This is where the state of American Comedy Cinema currently resides? A trio of actors who represent 18 Oscar nominations and 6 wins are now playing fourth, fifth and sixth bananas to dogs that hump cats, old people who hump each other, poopy jokes galore, and a CG baby who coos the word "asshole" every twelve minutes. One can only assume that thespians De Niro, Hoffman and Streisand were paid handsomely for their participation here - cuz it sure as hell couldn't have been the wretched screenplay.

Despite being fairly flimsy and consistently one-note, Meet the Parents succeeded because it had one workable thru-line: we just had to see how much punishment and humiliation Ben Stiller would have to withstand in the name of love. Meet the Parents was a virtual crescendo of well-timed comedic set pieces, plus there was just a little bit of sincere heart hidden beneath all the chaotic rubble.

Meet the Fockers is get-rich-quick, no-thought-required sequel-mongering at its most mercenary. Sure, there are a handful of stray chuckles to be found (delivered almost exclusively by Dustin Hoffman), but it won't take long before you find yourself pondering the fact that you just dropped ten bucks for a ticket to Dharma and Greg: The Movie. But even that would be a more promising prospect. A "Dharma" movie (undoubtedly due for release some time in 2022) would know better than the humiliate a group of talented actors like director Jay Roach does here. Fockers, indeed.

Plot synopsis in 5 easy words: Obnoxious Jews Meet Constipated Wasps. Imagine the hilarity when De Niro's taciturn blowhard comes face to face with a man who kisses people. Ponder the uproar as Ms. Streisand, making a movie comeback after nearly a decade, in full-on Coffee Talk Voice, thrusts her hips around while a dozen wheezing old geezers mutter a series of dick jokes. Contemplate a movie in which the word "Focker" is mined for skimpy larfs at least fifteen times, in which someone falling down signifies the end of practically every other scene, in which the "little dog humps something" gag is revisited at least four times, and in which a creepy CG-assisted toddler spends all his screen-time staring and making suck-suck noises at every breast he sees.

This is a movie that offers a Mission: Impossible-type lair within the bowels of a massive RV, a stunningly insensitive (and unfunny) subplot about the loose morals and stupidity of Mexicans, and more sniggering sex jokes than the entire Porky's trilogy. This is more American Pie than it is Meet the Parents - but c'mon, who really wants to see American Pie with Barbra Streisand as the sexy one?

One would be correct to assume that a movie starring Robert De Niro, Dustin Hoffman, Barbra Streisand and (the totally underused) Blythe Danner would, at the very least, be worth watching for the performances alone. Sorry, nope. Director Roach and screenwriters John Herzfeld & John Hamburg are content to let their expensive cast wander around aimlessly. De Niro gets to scowl and lecture; Hoffman gets to hug and hoot; Streisand takes the easy way out by channeling the hoary old yenta persona, and star Ben Stiller just kind of fades right into the scenery.

This movie has no drive, no grace, no story worth focusing on. It's a barely-connected series of skits in which four great actors deliver scant variations on their one-note personae. It's shrill and obvious and desperate. And the thing has the balls to run an interminable 115 minutes. Whatever happened to brevity being the soul of wit and all that jazz? Snip this thing down to 80 minutes and you might be able to find a pulse.

I digress. This movie's bound to be a big box-office smash, and no amount of disdain on my part can prevent that. Indeed, even the packed screening house was pretty much awash in laughter for much of the Focker's running time. So either I'm wrong and those folks are right. Or maybe it's just depressingly easy to make an American audience laugh...especially when you trot out a cadre of stooges this well-known and (previously) admired.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 12/23/04 18:04:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell the first one was better 3 stars
7/11/10 art A MESS! 1 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 3 stars
10/16/08 Screwball Had some funny moments. I liked it. 3 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Same schtick as the first one, but a fairly decent sequel with serious star power. 4 stars
2/09/08 Samantha P pretty funny, i love the boob! Barbara Streisand and Dustin Hoffman were hilarious! 4 stars
2/04/08 Karen Smith Whatcha mean? Mine is green! 3 stars
12/29/07 Childs, Megan Have you noticed that the people who rated this film 5 stars probably have an IQ of less 50 2 stars
8/13/07 Annonomiss Surprised I liked the sequel this much. Not bad. See 1st one first, tho. 3 stars
6/08/07 Austin Wertman terrible 1 stars
6/07/07 Dave stick with Parents 1 stars
2/09/07 David Pollastrini very funny 4 stars
2/03/07 Some Guy Desperate, unfunny money-mongering (ie: what Weinberg said). 1 stars
1/23/07 Matt Mildly amusing, but a very pale shadow of the first. 3 stars
11/02/06 bobby tired jewish screenwriting, lame fart jokes, deniro was in this?? 1 stars
10/02/06 bullit16 meh ... good for a few chuckles 3 stars
8/09/06 Anastasia Beaverhausen An overpaid cast has a ball, audience suffers; just like "Ocean's 12" 2 stars
3/09/06 Dk As good as the excellent first 4 stars
11/29/05 Sully flat out horrible...didn't make it past the 30 minute mark b4 shutting SUCKS 1 stars
9/13/05 bbbr impressive 5 stars
9/13/05 ray mero Only value here is seeing how they carry their age. De Niro has become a cartoon. 1 stars
8/26/05 EZ Should of been R, a little less sex jokes please there are 10 yearolds watching this 2 stars
8/16/05 ES Superior in almost every way to the original = actually funny 4 stars
6/11/05 Ionicera lame 1 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold I laughed a few times, but I was barely able to sit through the whole thing. 2 stars
5/29/05 JFK more of the same. first time was hillarious, now is nearly funny 3 stars
5/29/05 tony ok movie i would watch it again. but they should improve on the comedy a bit. 3 stars
5/23/05 Kelley Hoefle Great. It takes a lot to make me laguh and this movie made me laguh sooo hard. 5 stars
5/12/05 Beardog8 I feel embarrassed for the actors trying so hard to be funny 2 stars
5/07/05 edsandiego2 it's not that funny but Barbara is very good. 4 stars
4/27/05 louis funny, but i liked the first one better 4 stars
4/23/05 Heather Tarlecky This movie was the greatest 5 stars
4/22/05 Scott Lamont gratuitous cute baby jokes? These jokes are the film's best. 4 stars
4/10/05 Kristan anderson Better than the first. Story moves along well with few lulls. 5 stars
3/24/05 Helen Bradley Great show, excellent entertainment better than 'Meet the Parents' by a long way 5 stars
3/23/05 Victoria Ross Made me laugh. 4 stars
2/23/05 jade wiggett it rocks the best film i'v seen so far! 5 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig It will help if you are Jewish 2 stars
2/11/05 James overall it was a funnny movie 4 stars
2/08/05 Littlepurch Not exactly original but just hilarous, feel-good fun. Streisand rocked! 5 stars
2/05/05 Workman Focker wordplay and humping jokes--if you want something original don't watch a sequel 4 stars
1/24/05 Simba Better than the first one. preview made it look bad 5 stars
1/22/05 Rob McKeown Funny.. what I expected... worth a look... 4 stars
1/21/05 Jeff Woodman Staggeringly unfunny... 1 stars
1/17/05 ownerofdajoint A HOOT AND A HOLLER FOR REAL ! 4 stars
1/10/05 Brett Not sure why this is getting bad reviews, just saw it tonight and I thought it was funny! 4 stars
1/10/05 carmen greene bad,vulgar mostly porca comedia. 1 stars
1/08/05 Scarlett Waste Of Money 2 stars
1/05/05 your worst goddamn nightmare It's a little too long and the comedy certainly isn't as fresh 3 stars
1/04/05 Cobretti Horny geriatrics,humping dogs,swearing kids,and Focker/F word similarities. Wow thats funny 1 stars
1/04/05 Randy Hawk How many times can name Focker be funny and please stop all the humping jokes! 1 stars
1/03/05 dave sabine i kept waiting for something for a laugh inducing moment but alas 1 stars
1/03/05 Xavier Hernandez Not original. No surprises. No unforgettable ROTFLMAO moments like the first one had. 2 stars
1/03/05 chris. was good for a laugh...almost as good as the first, 3 stars
1/03/05 UMER not exactly as good as the first-one but still is very good 4 stars
1/03/05 Janie Manning so funny.I am still laughing.We need more laughter 5 stars
12/30/04 Jenna Furr Actually, Scott W, there were FEW poopy jokes, but worst of all, they were all LAME ones! 3 stars
12/28/04 Karen Leatherland Didn't make me laugh 1 stars
12/28/04 Landshark There isn't a serious moment in this movie, and it still gets taken too seriously 4 stars
12/28/04 michelle I loved this shit!! 5 stars
12/27/04 Lord Richard boo-urns! boo-urns! 2 stars
12/27/04 ajay a few chuckles, but overall pretty crappy. go see Sideways instead. :) 2 stars
12/25/04 SnailWithoutAShell *LMFAOROF* THE BABY SAID "ASS-HOOOOOLE" ...HOW FUNNIE IS THAT? Save your money, Dont see it 2 stars
12/24/04 Kristina Williams and I thought the first one was lame 1 stars
12/23/04 kike too jewish 2 stars
12/19/04 Ray Just regular 3 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  22-Dec-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 19-Apr-2005



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast