More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.93

Awesome: 9.26%
Worth A Look: 25.93%
Average33.33%
Pretty Bad: 11.11%
Total Crap: 20.37%

7 reviews, 66 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Raja Natwarlal by Jay Seaver

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Meet the Fockers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Barbara Streisand is a Mother Focker"
3 stars

So after watching the comedic value of the word "Focker" be milked dry for about the hundredth time in MEET THE FOCKERS, my Dad leans over and whispers the best variant which somehow didn't make it into the film. "So does this mean that Streisand is a mother focker?" Why yes, Mi Pater, I suppose it does. Oddly enough, however, Streisand in full-on yenta mode isn't the biggest overactor of the piece (in fact she's surprisingly quite tolerable). No, that distinction belongs to Dustin Hoffman

Really, what need be said about MEET THE FOCKERS? Is there one original or suprising idea in the script? no, not really. Does it deviate in the slightest from the formula already established and exhausted by its predecessor? nope. But, when all is said and done, does it deliver the yuks? Chances are if you liked the first one, you'll find the second one worth your while.

Picking up two years after MEET THE PARENTS, we find that Gaylord "Greg" Focker (Ben Stiller) and girlfriend Pam (Teri Polo) are planning for a fall wedding after a seriously prolonged engagement. Why the big hold up? Simple, really. Greg doesn't want his WASP uber-conservative soon-to-be in-laws Jack (Robert DeNiro) and Dina (Blythe Danner) to meet his whacked-out liberal Jewish parents Bernie (Dustin Hoffman) and Roz (Barbara Streisand). Nevertheless, the meeting of families is inevitable, and so they make the trek down to Florida in Jack's high-tech RV (loaded with more surveillance equipment than a spy sattelite) toward the inescapably uncomfortable meeting with the more than a little too candid Fockers. And of course, Jack's new baby prodigy grandson is along for the ride to provide the gratuitous cute baby jokes. The two families meet, all kinds of hijinks, confrontations, and miscommunications occur, everyone gets mad at each other, but it all turns out okay in the end.

Despite some retarded bits of humor (are we really expected to believe that a cat could flush a dog down a toilet, or that an infant can communicate extensively in sign language or operate a remote control?), some mawkish moments of "Awwww" filler, and some damn near grating peformances by Hoffman and DeNiro - well, I must confess that I laughed out loud a whole lot more than I expected to. Now, maybe that's because I've been in American Fork, Utah for the last five days and am getting so damn bored out of my mind that ANYTHING seems more entertaining than it really is. But the purpose of MEET THE FOCKERS was to make me, the ticket-buying consumer, laugh. And laugh I did. There are some particularly amusing subplots, such as Greg possibly having a son from his teenage indiscretion with the sexy Latina housekeeper Isabel (Alanna Ubach) sixteen years prior. And his engagement party speech while under the influence of a Sodium Pentathol injection administered by Jack is one for the books. The jokes aren't all winners, but the ones that hit make up for the ones that don't.

As far as completely pointless, redundant, superfluous sequels go, MEET THE FOCKERS could have been a lot worse. Quite frankly, I'd rather see Stiller's talents (inconsistent as they may be) put to use in a film like this than, say, ZOOLANDER 2 - MORE ZOOLANDISH

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=11362&reviewer=258
originally posted: 12/28/04 19:04:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/11/10 art A MESS! 1 stars
3/04/10 PAUL SHORTT CONTRIVED, VULGAR SEQUEL WITH A WASTED CAST 1 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 3 stars
10/16/08 Screwball Had some funny moments. I liked it. 3 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Same schtick as the first one, but a fairly decent sequel with serious star power. 4 stars
2/09/08 Samantha P pretty funny, i love the boob! Barbara Streisand and Dustin Hoffman were hilarious! 4 stars
2/04/08 Karen Smith Whatcha mean? Mine is green! 3 stars
12/29/07 Childs, Megan Have you noticed that the people who rated this film 5 stars probably have an IQ of less 50 2 stars
8/13/07 Annonomiss Surprised I liked the sequel this much. Not bad. See 1st one first, tho. 3 stars
6/08/07 Austin Wertman terrible 1 stars
6/07/07 Dave stick with Parents 1 stars
2/09/07 David Pollastrini very funny 4 stars
2/03/07 Some Guy Desperate, unfunny money-mongering (ie: what Weinberg said). 1 stars
1/23/07 Matt Mildly amusing, but a very pale shadow of the first. 3 stars
11/02/06 bobby tired jewish screenwriting, lame fart jokes, deniro was in this?? 1 stars
10/02/06 bullit16 meh ... good for a few chuckles 3 stars
8/09/06 Anastasia Beaverhausen An overpaid cast has a ball, audience suffers; just like "Ocean's 12" 2 stars
3/09/06 Dk As good as the excellent first 4 stars
11/29/05 Sully flat out horrible...didn't make it past the 30 minute mark b4 shutting off...it SUCKS 1 stars
9/13/05 bbbr impressive 5 stars
9/13/05 ray mero Only value here is seeing how they carry their age. De Niro has become a cartoon. 1 stars
8/26/05 EZ Should of been R, a little less sex jokes please there are 10 yearolds watching this 2 stars
8/16/05 ES Superior in almost every way to the original = actually funny 4 stars
6/11/05 Ionicera lame 1 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold I laughed a few times, but I was barely able to sit through the whole thing. 2 stars
5/29/05 JFK more of the same. first time was hillarious, now is nearly funny 3 stars
5/29/05 tony ok movie i would watch it again. but they should improve on the comedy a bit. 3 stars
5/23/05 Kelley Hoefle Great. It takes a lot to make me laguh and this movie made me laguh sooo hard. 5 stars
5/12/05 Beardog8 I feel embarrassed for the actors trying so hard to be funny 2 stars
5/07/05 edsandiego2 it's not that funny but Barbara is very good. 4 stars
4/27/05 louis funny, but i liked the first one better 4 stars
4/23/05 Heather Tarlecky This movie was the greatest 5 stars
4/22/05 Scott Lamont gratuitous cute baby jokes? These jokes are the film's best. 4 stars
4/10/05 Kristan anderson Better than the first. Story moves along well with few lulls. 5 stars
3/24/05 Helen Bradley Great show, excellent entertainment better than 'Meet the Parents' by a long way 5 stars
3/23/05 Victoria Ross Made me laugh. 4 stars
2/23/05 jade wiggett it rocks the best film i'v seen so far! 5 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig It will help if you are Jewish 2 stars
2/11/05 James overall it was a funnny movie 4 stars
2/08/05 Littlepurch Not exactly original but just hilarous, feel-good fun. Streisand rocked! 5 stars
2/05/05 Workman Focker wordplay and humping jokes--if you want something original don't watch a sequel 4 stars
1/24/05 Simba Better than the first one. preview made it look bad 5 stars
1/22/05 Rob McKeown Funny.. what I expected... worth a look... 4 stars
1/21/05 Jeff Woodman Staggeringly unfunny... 1 stars
1/17/05 ownerofdajoint A HOOT AND A HOLLER FOR REAL ! 4 stars
1/10/05 Brett Not sure why this is getting bad reviews, just saw it tonight and I thought it was funny! 4 stars
1/10/05 carmen greene bad,vulgar mostly porca comedia. 1 stars
1/08/05 Scarlett Waste Of Money 2 stars
1/05/05 your worst goddamn nightmare It's a little too long and the comedy certainly isn't as fresh 3 stars
1/04/05 Cobretti Horny geriatrics,humping dogs,swearing kids,and Focker/F word similarities. Wow thats funny 1 stars
1/04/05 Randy Hawk How many times can name Focker be funny and please stop all the humping jokes! 1 stars
1/03/05 dave sabine i kept waiting for something for a laugh inducing moment but alas 1 stars
1/03/05 Xavier Hernandez Not original. No surprises. No unforgettable ROTFLMAO moments like the first one had. 2 stars
1/03/05 chris. was good for a laugh...almost as good as the first, but...eh. 3 stars
1/03/05 UMER not exactly as good as the first-one but still is very good 4 stars
1/03/05 Janie Manning so funny.I am still laughing.We need more laughter 5 stars
12/30/04 Jenna Furr Actually, Scott W, there were FEW poopy jokes, but worst of all, they were all LAME ones! 3 stars
12/28/04 Karen Leatherland Didn't make me laugh 1 stars
12/28/04 Landshark There isn't a serious moment in this movie, and it still gets taken too seriously 4 stars
12/28/04 michelle I loved this shit!! 5 stars
12/27/04 Lord Richard boo-urns! boo-urns! 2 stars
12/27/04 ajay a few chuckles, but overall pretty crappy. go see Sideways instead. :) 2 stars
12/25/04 SnailWithoutAShell *LMFAOROF* THE BABY SAID "ASS-HOOOOOLE" ...HOW FUNNIE IS THAT? Save your money, Dont see it 2 stars
12/24/04 Kristina Williams and I thought the first one was lame 1 stars
12/23/04 kike too jewish 2 stars
12/19/04 Ray Just regular 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Dec-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 19-Apr-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast