More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.93

Awesome: 9.26%
Worth A Look: 25.93%
Average33.33%
Pretty Bad: 11.11%
Total Crap: 20.37%

7 reviews, 66 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

Birdman by Peter Sobczynski

John Wick by Peter Sobczynski

Blue Room, The by Jay Seaver

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Meet the Fockers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by U.J. Lessing

"Middle Aged Jews Save a Struggling Comedy!"
3 stars

Despite a recycled plot, and two halfhearted leads, Meet the Fockers is a funny movie. The comedy is distinctive and at times laughter is unstoppable. This is extraordinary considering that the screenplay is atrocious and random, and there are plot lines that never come to fruition. How did Meet the Fockers, a film with conceptual gags the Three Stooges would have rejected, turn out to be so funny?

In the original Meet the Parents, Jewish nurse Gaylord “Greg” Focker (Ben Stiller) struggles to overcome his religion, profession, and goofy name in order to make a good impression on his suspicious father-in-law Jack (Robert DeNiro), an ex CIA agent with an obsessive desire to snoop. Lots of mayhem ensues.

Now we have Meet the Fockers, where Jewish nurse Greg struggles to overcome his religion, profession, and goofy name in order to continue to make a good impression on his suspicious father-in-law, Jack. More mayhem ensues.

The actors, who have taken this ride twice, seem tired and queasy. Ben Stiller spends the movie emoting his customary angst-ridden expressions, which we’ve seen in Flirting With Disaster, Envy, Along Came Polly and There’s Something About Mary. He provides none of the smart character development he showed in Keeping the Faith. Robert DeNiro fares only a little bit better. While DeNiro’s Jack is intense and genuinely menacing, he’s still an unbelievable, one-dimensional, and psychopathic character that isn’t captivating.

So with Stiller and DeNiro being severely underused, who pulled Meet the Fockers out of the comedic gutter and into the realm of the hilarious? Who saved this movie?

The answer is simple: middle aged Jews!

Dustin Hoffman and Barbra Streisand are perfect as Greg’s parents, Bernie and Roz Focker. Both seem to have been waiting their whole careers to do unrestrained comedy, and they step into their roles with unparalleled enthusiasm.

As Greg’s father, Hoffman is a mensch. Bernie is the type of guy who would give you the disgusting, sweaty old shirt off his back whether you wanted it or not. Hoffman energizes every scene, whether he’s practicing Capoeira (an African-Brazilian form of martial arts), making love to Streisand, or attempting to save his rat terrier from being flushed down an RV’s toilet.

Streisand also bubbles as Greg’s mother. Roz is a sex therapist for the elderly. Her extremely perceptive nature causes her to pry into other people’s emotional secrets with the tenacity of Columbo. She is always sweet and concerned, but Roz’s affection is so overwhelming that she could nurture the bark off a tree.

Meet the Fockers is most successful when it is a Jewish comedy. Both Hoffman and Streisand capture the nurturing, affection and love that exist in many Jewish families, while revealing how that affection can undermine privacy and appropriateness. Their insightful performances provide the needed humor that Meet the Fockers so desperately needs.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=11362&reviewer=396
originally posted: 12/22/04 15:42:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/11/10 art A MESS! 1 stars
3/04/10 PAUL SHORTT CONTRIVED, VULGAR SEQUEL WITH A WASTED CAST 1 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 3 stars
10/16/08 Screwball Had some funny moments. I liked it. 3 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Same schtick as the first one, but a fairly decent sequel with serious star power. 4 stars
2/09/08 Samantha P pretty funny, i love the boob! Barbara Streisand and Dustin Hoffman were hilarious! 4 stars
2/04/08 Karen Smith Whatcha mean? Mine is green! 3 stars
12/29/07 Childs, Megan Have you noticed that the people who rated this film 5 stars probably have an IQ of less 50 2 stars
8/13/07 Annonomiss Surprised I liked the sequel this much. Not bad. See 1st one first, tho. 3 stars
6/08/07 Austin Wertman terrible 1 stars
6/07/07 Dave stick with Parents 1 stars
2/09/07 David Pollastrini very funny 4 stars
2/03/07 Some Guy Desperate, unfunny money-mongering (ie: what Weinberg said). 1 stars
1/23/07 Matt Mildly amusing, but a very pale shadow of the first. 3 stars
11/02/06 bobby tired jewish screenwriting, lame fart jokes, deniro was in this?? 1 stars
10/02/06 bullit16 meh ... good for a few chuckles 3 stars
8/09/06 Anastasia Beaverhausen An overpaid cast has a ball, audience suffers; just like "Ocean's 12" 2 stars
3/09/06 Dk As good as the excellent first 4 stars
11/29/05 Sully flat out horrible...didn't make it past the 30 minute mark b4 shutting off...it SUCKS 1 stars
9/13/05 bbbr impressive 5 stars
9/13/05 ray mero Only value here is seeing how they carry their age. De Niro has become a cartoon. 1 stars
8/26/05 EZ Should of been R, a little less sex jokes please there are 10 yearolds watching this 2 stars
8/16/05 ES Superior in almost every way to the original = actually funny 4 stars
6/11/05 Ionicera lame 1 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold I laughed a few times, but I was barely able to sit through the whole thing. 2 stars
5/29/05 JFK more of the same. first time was hillarious, now is nearly funny 3 stars
5/29/05 tony ok movie i would watch it again. but they should improve on the comedy a bit. 3 stars
5/23/05 Kelley Hoefle Great. It takes a lot to make me laguh and this movie made me laguh sooo hard. 5 stars
5/12/05 Beardog8 I feel embarrassed for the actors trying so hard to be funny 2 stars
5/07/05 edsandiego2 it's not that funny but Barbara is very good. 4 stars
4/27/05 louis funny, but i liked the first one better 4 stars
4/23/05 Heather Tarlecky This movie was the greatest 5 stars
4/22/05 Scott Lamont gratuitous cute baby jokes? These jokes are the film's best. 4 stars
4/10/05 Kristan anderson Better than the first. Story moves along well with few lulls. 5 stars
3/24/05 Helen Bradley Great show, excellent entertainment better than 'Meet the Parents' by a long way 5 stars
3/23/05 Victoria Ross Made me laugh. 4 stars
2/23/05 jade wiggett it rocks the best film i'v seen so far! 5 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig It will help if you are Jewish 2 stars
2/11/05 James overall it was a funnny movie 4 stars
2/08/05 Littlepurch Not exactly original but just hilarous, feel-good fun. Streisand rocked! 5 stars
2/05/05 Workman Focker wordplay and humping jokes--if you want something original don't watch a sequel 4 stars
1/24/05 Simba Better than the first one. preview made it look bad 5 stars
1/22/05 Rob McKeown Funny.. what I expected... worth a look... 4 stars
1/21/05 Jeff Woodman Staggeringly unfunny... 1 stars
1/17/05 ownerofdajoint A HOOT AND A HOLLER FOR REAL ! 4 stars
1/10/05 Brett Not sure why this is getting bad reviews, just saw it tonight and I thought it was funny! 4 stars
1/10/05 carmen greene bad,vulgar mostly porca comedia. 1 stars
1/08/05 Scarlett Waste Of Money 2 stars
1/05/05 your worst goddamn nightmare It's a little too long and the comedy certainly isn't as fresh 3 stars
1/04/05 Cobretti Horny geriatrics,humping dogs,swearing kids,and Focker/F word similarities. Wow thats funny 1 stars
1/04/05 Randy Hawk How many times can name Focker be funny and please stop all the humping jokes! 1 stars
1/03/05 dave sabine i kept waiting for something for a laugh inducing moment but alas 1 stars
1/03/05 Xavier Hernandez Not original. No surprises. No unforgettable ROTFLMAO moments like the first one had. 2 stars
1/03/05 chris. was good for a laugh...almost as good as the first, but...eh. 3 stars
1/03/05 UMER not exactly as good as the first-one but still is very good 4 stars
1/03/05 Janie Manning so funny.I am still laughing.We need more laughter 5 stars
12/30/04 Jenna Furr Actually, Scott W, there were FEW poopy jokes, but worst of all, they were all LAME ones! 3 stars
12/28/04 Karen Leatherland Didn't make me laugh 1 stars
12/28/04 Landshark There isn't a serious moment in this movie, and it still gets taken too seriously 4 stars
12/28/04 michelle I loved this shit!! 5 stars
12/27/04 Lord Richard boo-urns! boo-urns! 2 stars
12/27/04 ajay a few chuckles, but overall pretty crappy. go see Sideways instead. :) 2 stars
12/25/04 SnailWithoutAShell *LMFAOROF* THE BABY SAID "ASS-HOOOOOLE" ...HOW FUNNIE IS THAT? Save your money, Dont see it 2 stars
12/24/04 Kristina Williams and I thought the first one was lame 1 stars
12/23/04 kike too jewish 2 stars
12/19/04 Ray Just regular 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Dec-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 19-Apr-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast