More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.2

Awesome: 4.49%
Worth A Look: 23.6%
Average: 11.24%
Pretty Bad: 8.99%
Total Crap51.69%

4 reviews, 65 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

Birdman by Peter Sobczynski

John Wick by Peter Sobczynski

Blue Room, The by Jay Seaver

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Friday the 13th Part 5: A New Beginning
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"So bad its good"
4 stars

This is the same review for parts 1-8

Jason Vorhees kills kids having sex basically, in all manner of ways, with loads of weapons.

He wears a hockey mask (from Part 3 onwards), he always gets killed and comes back.
He is basically a psycho zombie.

The script always is bad, Acting bad (see roles from Corey Feldman, Kevin Bacon etc..) most people started acting here.
The films are the same.

The location and people may change.... The plot and outcome doesnt..

BTW Part 8 is great to see Jason in the city.

All made for a marathon video watch.

Some do suck worse than others (Mainly 1,2 &3) but they get funnier the higher the number gets..

See them as a whole film.. They are bloody funny. (Mainly for all the wrong reasons.. They never are intentionally funny except for a couple of scenes in parts 8 & 9 )

DOWN A BEER EVERTIME A NEW WEAPON IS USED... DAMN FUN

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1138&reviewer=23
originally posted: 10/16/98 01:42:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/24/14 The Big D The best plot and coolest characters of the series--will the real Jason please stand up? 4 stars
4/01/12 My sweetness Brainless 80's fun... Always good for some laughs... I miss these movies 4 stars
9/28/10 PAUL SHORTT GRUESOME, UNIMAGINATIVE AND DISGUSTING 1 stars
12/29/09 art BY RIGHT"S, FRIDAY THE 13TH PART 3D should have been the LAST! 1 stars
11/07/09 art THE FIRST TWO FRIDAY THE 13TH FILM"S WERE GREAT!,IT WENT DOWNHILL AFTER THE FIRST TWO! 1 stars
7/30/09 art THE ORIGINAL FRIDAY THE 13TH WAS THE BEST,IT WENT DOWNHILL AFTER THAT! 1 stars
2/17/07 David Pollastrini Didn't see that twist coming! 4 stars
11/15/06 MP Bartley Dire comic relief, awful writing, acting and characters and terrible macho posturing. 1 stars
1/17/06 Anthony Feor Is Jason really back.....of course he is or there wouldn't be a movie 1 stars
11/24/05 cr scary,gory,and nudity, but the copycat killer does cut it and annoying characters 2 stars
10/14/05 Darren O At least it tried to be different. Nice final confrontation, but too many bodies. 3 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot A New Beginning nobody wanted... 1 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington JASON IS BACK FROM THE DEAD! 1 stars
6/28/05 R riiiiight... 1 stars
5/27/05 tony Predictible and chezzy. Not even a horror movie 1 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark Unfairly maligned, this is one of the better films and adds a new twist to the series. 3 stars
6/03/04 phoenix What no Jason? Still pretty affective though, with Tommy a interesting character. 4 stars
6/03/04 J Some nice scence, but the kills are.... well they can do better! 4 stars
3/30/04 American Slasher Goddess Passable stuff,but one of the weakest entries,though. 3 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Very clever... I think?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
2/23/04 Spastiqua Pretty awful - except for that wicked Violet chick who does the robot. She was cool 2 stars
2/17/04 Ramey One Of The Worst Installments- Good Nudity Doseage Though. Otherwise Crap! 2 stars
1/26/04 Eric With Matthews as Tommy it would have been alot better 2 stars
12/13/03 Samuel not very good at all 3 stars
12/13/03 Jason X I dont know what ppl have against this movie, i liked it 3 stars
12/13/03 Takara not much... 3 stars
12/12/03 Captain Spaulding incredibly Ignorant!! 1 stars
12/10/03 horror_blood I Blow cocks, cause thats what i'm good at!! It just tastes so damn good!! 1 stars
11/11/03 Jor.Armstrong Comedic Genius. Wasn't the little black kid "Willis" on "Different Strokes" 5 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Dumb and fun. But the Jason wannabe concept just dosen't work. 3 stars
11/02/03 J The movie is freaken bad including the chainsaw part. The nudity is not neccesary. 4 stars
10/16/03 Erik Van Sant Lame concept that pissed off fans and fell flat on its fuckin face. Worst of the series. 2 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus why?????? who likes this shit ? ! ? 1 stars
8/29/03 darren AN UNNEFFECTIVE MONTAGE OF QUICK CUTS AND OFF SCREEN KILLS-BUT NICE SENSE OF HUMOUR 3 stars
7/22/03 Double G The 1st time I say this movie I liked it, the 2nd time I hated it, so i dunno. 3 stars
7/19/03 jason is awesome you "SUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" this was an awesome entry i to the friday series with some of the best kills so fuck you!!! 5 stars
5/22/03 Andrew Carden Not As Bad As They Say; Not Scary or Funny...but Interesting. 4 stars
3/17/03 Kyle HORRID. STAY THE FUCK AWAY. 1 stars
11/03/02 Zanti Sensational wet shirt scene with Melanie Kinnaman; worth the entrance fee just for that!!! 4 stars
10/31/02 heather it is a great and fun movie.It makes you jump 4 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Let's all make a new beginning and stop renting this damn series 1 stars
9/19/02 Tar Mac Danny Steinmann must have intended to destroy the series with this total shit!!! 1 stars
8/16/02 Shaun worst in the series, but good kills 2 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 Wow. A maniacal, white-collar paramedic killed about a dozen kids. <yawn> a waste of tape. 1 stars
1/20/02 moira very dissapointing, like all sequels do, it goes off track 2 stars
12/06/01 Sthenno Why is this even allowed to be shown on cable?Nothing redeeming about it,a piece of garbage 1 stars
10/09/01 HM3 If your're a fan of slasher movies with no suspense, how could you not like this? 4 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This one had a twist and the ending only raises more questions???????????? 4 stars
9/18/01 Justine Chouinard Well, to tell you the truth, this movie wasn't my favorite at all. I didn't like it. 1 stars
9/16/01 Mr. Hat The prey are dumber than ever, especially the survivors. This sucked yack scrotum! 1 stars
9/12/01 anti_virez I admit "NEW BEGINNING" Sucked, But it does have it moments. Cool 'Bloodied-JASON' shots 3 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Utter piece of shite! 1 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart YAY...the best out of the series!!! Has the highest body count. (Go ahead, count em) 4 stars
4/14/01 LiL What the fuck happened to the final chapter? 1 stars
1/17/01 RUSSELL FURR PART 5 DOMINATES ALTHOUGHT ITS NOT JASON ITS STILL DAMN GOOD 5 stars
8/12/00 Justin the worst of the series ( and that says a LOT) stupid ending fucks with a killer franchise 1 stars
6/26/00 Eat Me, Jason I wrote my college thesis on the crappiness of Part 5; every shot can be dissected 1 stars
5/25/00 SID I take comfort in knowing what the worst movie series in history is. 1 stars
5/14/00 Bender What a hoot! Not neary as scary as the first 3, but just as entertaining and better thn P4 4 stars
4/13/00 SwatchDog No Jason, no Scares but there's plenty more to see including a chick doing a robo dance! 4 stars
3/02/00 Kyle Broflovski You got your kids killed while fucking, and assorted impalings...jolly good fun... 2 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury The BEST! LoL! There were priceless moments in this one. YOU ARE ALL HIGH! 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce This was crap. K-Dog, you're high. 1 stars
10/30/98 Negative Creep SUCKĄ 1 stars
10/17/98 Johny I think this was the once I hated most, but who remembers one from another 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1985 (R)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1985 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast