More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.96

Awesome: 15.15%
Worth A Look: 24.24%
Average25.25%
Pretty Bad: 12.12%
Total Crap: 23.23%

3 reviews, 81 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"What the hell? A 'Friday the 13th' flick that doesn't suck?"
3 stars

Part four in the “Friday the 13th” series is called “The Final Chapter.” It should not be confused with part nine in the series, which is called “The Final Friday.” It should also not be confused with the previous three films, which are all vastly inferior to “The Final Chapter” -- which, despite its false-advertising title, is actually not a very bad movie.

I know; I’m just as surprised as you are. A new director (Joseph Zito) was called in, and he displays some signs of competence. Not style or panache, mind you, but competence. Some shots are actually kind of cool, and it appears there was a good deal less cocaine circulating around the set than in past “Friday the 13th” endeavors.

Some legitimate actors were called in, too. Not John Gielgud or Robert DeNiro, but Corey Feldman and Crispin Glover, anyway. (For the record, Corey Feldman was known as the “John Gielgud” of ‘80s actors named Corey. Corey Haim was the “Jason Bateman” of ‘80s actors named Corey. Jason Bateman was the “Ricky Schroder” of ‘80s actors on “Silver Spoons.”)

And the characters ... well, there are some, which is unusual. I mean, there are always people in the movies, and those people generally have names. But it would be a stretch to call them “characters.” “Bodies” would be more like it. In the past, we’ve never cared who Jason killed, because everyone was either bland or annoying.

This time around, we have a few people who are somewhat interesting. Feldman plays a little kid named Tommy who is fascinated with the Jason legends, leading to some creepy possibilities (which are squandered in subsequent films, but that’s not “The Final Chapter’s” fault). And Crispin Glover is actually -- yes! -- FUNNY as a teen who is unlucky at love, and then he gets some action, and then he gets killed. I really, really hoped he would live.

Now for the bad stuff....

The film opens mere moments after Part 3 ended ... except that Part 3 ended in the morning, and it’s nighttime now. (Honestly, I don’t think they’re even WATCHING the previous movies before they make new ones.) Cops and paramedics are cleaning up the aftermath of Jason’s latest slaughter. Jason himself lies dead in the barn where he was killed several times in Part 3.

Later, he busts out of the morgue, the rumors of his death apparently having been greatly exaggerated. He kills some morgue attendants (including one who exclaims, humorously, “Holy [deity] jumping Christmas s***!”). Then it’s back to Crystal Lake for him, his homeland, his Mecca, his own private Idaho.

At the lake, we meet a small family. Mrs. Jarvis is divorced from her husband but maintains her pride and dignity and jogs every morning with her teen-age daughter, Trish, who is approximately five years younger than she. Trish’s little brother is the aforementioned Corey Feldman. They are a happy family. Surely one or more of them will soon die.

Across the way, some amorous teens (is there any other kind of teen?) have rented/borrowed/stolen a cabin for the weekend. They do their thing. People are killed.

OK, so the plot is utterly the same as the previous films, up to the finale, which is at least original, if not at all believable. There is also a large amount of nudity, and when the teens aren’t nude, they are wearing the Daisy Duke shorts that made episodes one and two so disturbing.

With a hint of good acting, a glimmer of character development, and an overall more-professional look than its predecessors, “The Final Chapter” is not bad. It’s not scary, either, which prevents it from being good. But at this point, we’ll take whatever we can get.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1139&reviewer=247
originally posted: 08/04/01 03:49:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell lets hope so pure crap 1 stars
9/28/10 PAUL SHORTT MORE MINDLESS PREDICTABLE SLAUGHTER 1 stars
12/29/09 art FOR THE RECORD,THEY SHOULD HAVE STOPPED AFTER FRIDAY the 13TH PART 3! 1 stars
11/03/09 art FRIDAY THE 13TH RUN"S CIRCLE"S AROUND john carpentersPATHETIC halloween! 1 stars
7/11/09 hunt a awesome friday the 13th 5 stars
6/26/09 art THIS ENTRY is THE PIT"S!,the 1980 original BURIES all the sequal's,esp.T the recent remake! 1 stars
4/16/08 art FRIDAY THE 13TH WAS THE BEST THE BEST OF THE WORST 2 stars
2/17/07 David Pollastrini 6 more sequels after the final chapter! 4 stars
11/15/06 MP Bartley Slow burning, but the best since the first. Creepy ending too. 4 stars
3/05/06 Jaime Moore Not Scary at all.And most of the Acting isn't that good. 3 stars
1/17/06 Anthony Feor Too bad it really isn't the final chapter 1 stars
12/10/05 cody a good sequel better than part 3, good acting and cool cast (corey feldman),entertaining 3 stars
10/14/05 Darren O Easily the most routine and mechanical of the entire series. 2 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot For me this was the lamest one, mainly because even the killings were dull. 1 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington It it really the end of Jason?!?!? 2 stars
6/28/05 R HAHAHAHA!! ohh, these movies are funny.. 1 stars
6/11/05 Manu Ginobli Any movie with Crispin Glover is good 4 stars
5/27/05 tony It should've ended here. But good overall movie 3 stars
10/12/04 kevin watts NOT AS GOOD AS EARLIER FILMS 3 stars
7/02/04 American Slasher Goddess The most overrated of the series, the only thing that saves it, is the last 15 mins. 3 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark This is one of the worst of the series... the tired formula is just about dead. 2 stars
6/03/04 J Same old Jason 4 stars
5/27/04 hsu paul had one big problem 4 stars
4/08/04 phoenix The best of all the sequels, even Part 3. Corey Feldman as Tommy rules. 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ C0000000000000000000000000000000000L... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/10/04 Littlepurch This didn't just have a weak plot, it had NO PLOT.Serously, NOTHING! It's quite incredible! 2 stars
2/17/04 Ramey The Climax is great. Good kills- Nudity- Decent Acting & Own Stunt Work From Kimberly Beck! 4 stars
12/13/03 G.K. actually, a good film 4 stars
12/13/03 Jor.Armstrong Suprisingly good film. Not funny good, but actually movie good. best "Friday 5 stars
12/13/03 American Slasher Goddess Overrated and more juvenile then usual but the last 15 mins make up for it. 3 stars
12/13/03 Jacob more along the genre of action than horror 3 stars
12/13/03 Samuel A very good horror flick, Jason can't be beat not even by Feddy which has been proven! 4 stars
12/13/03 BEast_master pretty good! 3 stars
12/12/03 billy bob pretty cool movie! 3 stars
12/12/03 The Killer decent... 3 stars
12/12/03 Captain Spaulding Awesome flick!! 5 stars
12/12/03 KOMOHA pretty good! 3 stars
12/10/03 Tommy horror_blood is immature, I've noticed he talks to Samuel Justus on every page i went to... 5 stars
11/11/03 Jor.Armstrong Suprisingly good film. Not funny good, but actually movie good. best "Friday" 5 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Overrated and more juvenile then usual but the last 15 mins make up for it. 3 stars
11/02/03 J A really good action movie! Even doe it's supposed to be horror. 4 stars
10/16/03 Erik Van Sant Corey Feldman and Crispin Glover star...awesome. Watch for Crispin's radical dance moves. 5 stars
10/14/03 J.B. Crispin Glover is called a "dead fuck" - funnier than this film is scary. 2 stars
10/08/03 Double G Made the NES game! 5 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus I wish this was the Final Chapter! too bad huh? 1 stars
8/29/03 darren ROUTINE AND MECHANICAL-BUT NICE FX 3 stars
7/22/03 Double G Even though they made a NES game for this movie, i didn't like it much. I like the game tho 3 stars
6/08/03 jonny v I fyou like slasher movies, this one fits the bill. Should ha ve been the Final Chapter 4 stars
5/22/03 Andrew Carden Feldman & Beck Make This Routine Slasher Flick Worth Watching. 4 stars
4/06/03 Dave The best film in the series, even though that doesn't say much. 2 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum I flushed twice and still this movie keeps floating to the top 1 stars
8/16/02 Shaun chilling 4 stars
6/25/02 Brandon Not the Final Chapter, but thats ok, F13 just keeps going & going! 5 stars
6/02/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi pppfff....yer im sure dis is da final chapter... 2 stars
4/25/02 maximal01 Corey Feldman should've got fucked and skewered by Jason. Only the FX make this watchable. 3 stars
3/09/02 Chowie the final chapter? michael myers shits all over jason 1 stars
12/01/01 travis all these movies in this seris is crappy 1 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 not bad... 3 stars
11/05/01 Jake Are you a dead fuck? After the corkscrew yes. So many coincidences & mistakes in this movie 2 stars
10/29/01 Sthenno I changed my mind. This movie sucked, what was with the dog jumping out of the window? 1 stars
10/26/01 Sthenno What the hell? It was better when I first saw it,. Sluggish directing and no plot. 2 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is a masterpeace! it has the story, motion and a creepy ending but it is'nt the last one 5 stars
9/16/01 Mr. Hat It's so much the same I don't even remember how it ended! THAT pisses me off. 2 stars
9/07/01 Michael Thornton It was one of the better films of the series. It was sure better than part 5! lol 4 stars
9/05/01 Stephen Pytak Try watching it in French on the DVD. Funny as hell. 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Are you serious? You actually think there isn't a Part 5? 2 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Corey Feldman's finest...a tie as the best of the series along with part 6. 5 stars
4/14/01 LiL jessie, are you for serious?! 1,2,3,4,5,6,7and8 were all pieces of shit! 1 stars
2/21/01 jessie these movies are great!!the best ones are 1,2,and 4 is.the movie was always best in the woo 5 stars
1/28/01 Barrett Kaelin More comedic than other enteries. Also, best looking women. 4 stars
9/04/00 TIGGER Absolute shite! Wouldn't see it again if someone paid me! 1 stars
8/13/00 Bender This is when the series lost some of its scariness, but its still entertaining. 4 stars
8/12/00 Justin Boring, anti climactic (it was supposed to be final) but the end is kinda cool if demented 3 stars
5/19/00 Matt Moseley I think this movie could have been better more deaths ,more nudity 4 stars
4/29/00 Ehh... c-r-a-p!G-o-o-d c-r-a-p! 5 stars
4/13/00 SwatchDog Corey Feldman hahaha.. Decent murder techniques but a thumbs down on the 'scares' factor 3 stars
3/23/00 Billy bob gandhi Anyone who looks at this is a fucking imbosile 1 stars
3/02/00 Kyle Broflovski The FINAL CHAPTER??? Uh, yeah, okay...and I got this tower in Paris for sale... 1 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury The second best of the series. F13th 4: Wife Beating 101 5 stars
10/30/98 Negative Creep New direction for the film series. Jason goes to the other side of the Lake!!! Wooo! ;) 3 stars
10/17/98 CaptNish Two Words....Corey Felman....aw yeah 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1984 (R)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1984 (R)


Directed by
  Joseph Zito

Written by
  Barney Cohen

Cast
  Erich Anderson
  Judie Aronson
  Peter Barton
  Kimberly Beck
  Tom Everett
  Corey Feldman



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast