More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.15

Awesome: 16.26%
Worth A Look30.89%
Average: 24.39%
Pretty Bad: 8.94%
Total Crap: 19.51%

5 reviews, 93 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Friday the 13th Part III
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Mel Valentin

"Eye-popping fun for the whole family (well, not really)."
4 stars

"Friday the 13th: Part 3," the inevitable sequel to "Friday the 13th: Part 2" (with another eight profitable sequels to follow), is, sadly to report, the only film in the series filmed in 3-D. Films shot in 3-D, of course, promises more jump scares than its flat, two-dimensional alternative. The only problem, however, is in ensuring that a 3-D film is shown as intended, theatrically with 3-D glasses. Seen without the benefit of the 3-D experience, "Friday the 13th: Part 3 (in 3-D)" is, of course, far from memorable (e.g., directing, acting, storyline, etc.), except for diehard fans of the "Friday the 13th" series. Luckily, this review covers the 3-D theatrical version (seen at a midnight showing, with a surprisingly large, highly appreciative crowd), and not the 2-D version available on video or DVD, which will likely remain unwatched.

After reprising the last several minutes from Friday the 13th Part 2 (the first film to actually feature Jason Voorhees hacking and slashing his way into the hearts of horror fans everywhere), the second sequel segues into Jason's latest murder spree, first targeting a local convenience store owner, Harold Hatcher (Steve Susskind) and his shrewish wife, Edna (Cheri Maugans). Since the last film, Jason seems to have developed a keener fashion sense, exchanging the denim overalls and white canvas sack he used to cover his head with khaki pants and an untucked dress shirt (the audience doesn't see Jason's deformed face until late in the film, well after he's acquired his trademark hockey mask. Jason's encounter with Harold and Edna sets the tone for the remainder of the film: the characters are separated and hunted down, dispatched only after multiple fake outs meant to increase suspense and deliver the knockout blow when it's least expected (well, not really).

Cue a 70s-era van full of 20-something actors pretending to be teenagers on vacation. Despite passing the convenience store and eyeing two body bags (surprisingly, with a killer on the loose, the local police seem to be oblivious to the idea of setting up roadblocks and attempting to ensure the safety of the local residents or vacationers), the teenage vacationers continue on their way to their lakeside, summer cabin. The cast of mostly disposable characters includes the obvious heroine (and "last girl"), Chris Higgins (Dana Kimmell), her one-time boyfriend interested in obtaining exactly one thing from her, Rick (Paul Kratka, 10-15 years too old for the role of the sex-obsessed boyfriend), Debbie (Tracie Savage) and Andy (Jeffrey Rogers), the obligatory horny couple fated for grisly ends, Shelly (Larry Zerner), a sadsack prankster who enjoys faking his own death, his date for the weekend, the bland Vera Sanchez (Catherine Parks), and a stoner couple, Chili (Rachel Howard) and Chuck (David Katims), straight out of a Cheech and Chong flick. It’s also hard to imagine how the other straight-edge types would end up hanging out with stoners in the first place.

The central characters also have to contend with a local motorcycle gang (actually, only three members are seen) that seems to have wandered in from a local production of West Side Story. The "gang" led by the tough-talking, chain-wielding Ali (Nick Savage) and his two mates, Loco (Kevin O'Brien), and the spandex- and bandana-wearing Fox (Gloria Charles). Each, in turn, finds himself/herself in a barn near the summer cabin. They're just that more fodder for Jason Voorhees (played here by Richard Brooker), the nearly indestructible serial killer whose murderous sprees seem to be motivated primarily by proximity to his victims or, of course, any who engage in or think about sex. Given Jason's deformed physical appearance, his reaction to something he's obviously never going to get isn't surprising.

The storyline then follows the otherwise generic formula familiar to fans of the series (and slasher flicks in general), initial “kills” followed by languid, deliberate pacing for the next hour, an interloper or two dispatched by Jason to quicken the pace, with Jason finally turning on the disposable characters in the last half hour, (hopefully) dispatching the characters with some flair or inventiveness (and gratuitous gore). Eventually, of course, only one or two characters remain to take Jason on in a bloody fight to the death (not for Jason, of course). If any characters survive, it’s due to a combination of ingenuity and sheer luck (Jason also becomes all thumbs in pursuing his last victim, and given that Jason never jogs or runs, the last character standing has an above-average chance of surviving through the final fadeout). And yes, this third entry in the series marks the first time Jason dons a hockey mask (how Jason gets the mask, though, can be only described as a major disappointment).

Given the 3-D in the title, it shouldn’t come as a surprise that director Steve Miner throws everything (well, almost everything) at the camera, including poles, various household and farming implements, and one that’s better left for viewers to experience for themselves. Miner and his writer, though, seem to have no problem pilfering a “kill” and a late jump scare involving a canoe on the water from the first film (a pattern, apparently, that holds for the remainder of the series), lowering the entertainment value a notch. On their own, the “kills” aren’t particularly inventive and, if the “Fangoria” magazine one character picks up late in the film is any indication, self-parody was already in place from the second sequel forward. Still, genre fans fortunate enough to see "Friday the 13th: Part 3 (in 3-D)" on the big screen will be delighted. Seen with a large, interactive crowd (i.e., crowds willing to talk back to the screen), the overall experience will be that much more enjoyable. Now, if only we could convince the producers of the (rumored) "Freddy vs. Jason" sequel to film it in 3-D. Horror fans can dream, can't they?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1140&reviewer=402
originally posted: 10/09/05 11:07:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/21/13 Marwan Barazi I love this series. For me it is a landmark in the horror cinema of the eighties 5 stars
12/11/12 Jamie Best of the series, by far!! 3 stars
8/06/12 keith miron Repetitive, but never boring 3 stars
10/25/10 art I TAKE IT BACK,THIS {FRIDAY THE 13th 3D} IS MY FAVORITE! 5 stars
9/28/10 PAUL SHORTT DREADFUL AND BADLY ACTED 1 stars
1/18/10 art MY FAVORITE FRIDAYS WERE PART"S one AND two,3 was a DISSAPOINTMENT! 1 stars
12/13/09 art THE BEST FRIDAY"S WERE ONE,TWO AND THIS ONE {THREE}. 4 stars
11/30/09 Edward Great Beginning middle is mediocre end is awesome 4 stars
10/30/09 art IF YOU HAVE SEEN ONE,FRIDAY THE 13th FILM,you HAVE SEEN THEM ALL! 2 stars
7/23/09 art FRIDAY THE 13TH ONE AND TWO are THE BEST,this {3Dsequal} is when it went downhill! ] 1 stars
7/11/09 hunt a pretty good friday the 13th 3 stars
11/22/08 Shaun Wallner Scary Film! 4 stars
10/18/08 AshleyRockO Great film. A lil dated, but still very well made for what it is. 5 stars
4/16/08 art WHEN I SAID FRIDAY THE 13TH WAS THE BEST SLASHER FILM I LIED IT STUNK JUST LIKE PART TWO AN 1 stars
5/04/07 john I think they're all cheesy but part 3 is my favorite. I love the opening credits, so 80's. 4 stars
2/17/07 David Pollastrini one of the best in the series 5 stars
11/05/06 MP Bartley 3-D and the disco credits have dated horribly, but the cheapness gives a grim, nasty edge. 3 stars
9/26/06 RogerEbert Love those Friday the 13th films 5 stars
1/17/06 Anthony Feor How about no 2 stars
11/24/05 cr scary and jason get his trademark hockey mask, but the acting sucks, heroine sucks! 2 stars
10/21/05 cypress Jason needs to go to hell, oh wait, he did and that didn't even work 2 stars
10/14/05 Darren O Another solid entry, though somewhat cheesy. Dana Kimmell is the best FRIDAY heroine. 4 stars
10/13/05 ram1brn some people just dont know when to quit should have stopped at 1 1 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot Lame sequel lacks even the gritty edge of 1 and 2... 1 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington Soooo scary! The knife is coming out of the T.V. I'm gonna have Nightmares!!! 1 stars
6/28/05 R 3-D!! HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! 1 stars
5/27/05 tony pretty darn slow! But is good in 3-D 3 stars
10/12/04 kevin watts BEST OF THE EARLY FILMS 4 stars
7/31/04 delmar dartt like to have sent in mail of all of the movies 3 stars
7/17/04 Joe If this movie were a science expariment, it would be Chyrnobyl 1 stars
7/02/04 American Slasher Goddess Creepy and scary, another good entry in the series 4 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark It's just a rehash of the first two, but it's still a lot of fun. 4 stars
4/16/04 A Reader Dreadful and unoriginal movie, but great 80's nostalgia, and Dana Kimmell is a MAJOR babe. 3 stars
4/08/04 phoenix Awesome. Scary and atmosperic. They needed to cut down on the 3d effects. 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ DON'T BOTHER...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
2/17/04 Ramey Unbelievably 80's- Pretty good installment- TERRIBLE music. 4 stars
2/06/04 c.r Jason in 3d cool, but a lot bad acting and weed smoking was fine! 3 stars
1/14/04 Hüseyin Demiray I saw this film 1983 at cinema and I was very good ,Now,I get vcd. I love this film 5 stars
12/13/03 G.K. good 3 stars
12/13/03 American Slasher Goddess Scary and creepy third installment in the series. 4 stars
12/13/03 J Finally, Jason gets his hockey mask, and one the movie best chases. 5 stars
12/13/03 Vinylspinr I saw in 3D. If you can find it playing for a buck or two...it might be worth your time. 2 stars
12/13/03 Samuel a good movie, basically the same as part 2 tho 3 stars
12/13/03 Jason X This movie kicks ass!! 4 stars
12/13/03 Karie pretty scary!!! 4 stars
12/12/03 The Killer each of these films are worse than the last... 3 stars
12/12/03 Doofus good movie! 4 stars
12/12/03 Captain Spaulding The same as part 2 basically, but i liked part 2 so i like this one!! 5 stars
12/10/03 Samuel horror_blood you mutherfucking faggit, you bad mouth me on every review i do, burn in hell! 3 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Scary and creepy third installment in the series. 4 stars
11/02/03 J Finally, Jason gets his hockey mask, and one the movie best chases. 5 stars
10/30/03 Vinylspinr I saw in 3D. If you can find it playing for a buck or two...it might be worth your time. 2 stars
10/16/03 Erik Van Sant The hockey mask is born! Better than the second film and a killer opening song. 5 stars
10/08/03 Double G JAson Finally got his hockey mask! 5 stars
10/01/03 horror_blood Without 3-D, this is still worth a look. And shut up Samuel Justus you Scream loving fag. 4 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus why do ppl like these movies? they are the same over and over!! 1 stars
8/29/03 darren THE LAST OF THE SCARY ONES-BEST FINAL CONFRONTATION 4 stars
7/22/03 Double G This movie is the best Friday the 13th ever, starting after P3 they get more gay every time 4 stars
4/08/03 s truss not bad 4 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Gets the job done well enough -- but needed more damn nudity! 3 stars
11/28/02 Kyle Yeah. 2 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum The best of the series, but that's like picking your favorite cancer 4 stars
8/16/02 Shaun fun 4 stars
7/29/02 Titi I dont think the movie was THAT bad! 3 stars
7/15/02 Peschi420 "in my opinion, this is one of the greatest horror films ever made' 5 stars
6/12/02 jeff fucking loved it 5 stars
6/02/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi oh mommy, oh daddy....i am a big ol baddie :'( 1 stars
4/25/02 maximal01 Wow..adolescense in the woods messes up good looks, 'cuz JASON'S FACE IS UGLY AS FUCK! 2 stars
4/13/02 Chutemaster Anyone that has seen this in 3D will find it very entertaining. 5 stars
4/04/02 cat Not since Jaws 3D have I wanted to shoot myself so much. At least include glasses with it. 2 stars
1/16/02 David A. Predictable but entertaining. Great fun on a Saturday night with pizza. 4 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 Probably my favorite one, the motorcycle gang is funny 4 stars
11/05/01 Jake Dana is sassy! Can't be alive!! Jason chases well in this, not like 4 when he's anywhere. 3 stars
10/26/01 Sthenno Piece of cheap Shlock Shock, but Dana Kimmell makes the shit fun! 2 stars
10/01/01 Phoenix A study in stupid, stupid acting, stupid special effects, and stupid direction. 1 stars
9/16/01 Mr. Hat Better than later sequels. 3 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Jason kills stoned hippies...one of my favorites of the series. 5 stars
8/03/01 Chris K. This film ripped-off Mario Bava's TWITCH OF THE DEATH NERVE (1971), which IS BETTER! 1 stars
4/14/01 LiL I mean, come on, eyeballs popping out of head?! 1 stars
2/26/01 cheers bar bob verry good 5 stars
1/15/01 Sklorsh Worst movie in this series....and that's really saying something. 1 stars
12/05/00 Justin Who ever said that Dana Kimmell "Sucked all ass" can go fuck there fagotty ass selves. 5 stars
8/19/00 Rich Corle Great film. Could have been gorier and scarier 5 stars
8/13/00 Bender Not the most entertaining in the series, but it has the most scares along with Part 2. 4 stars
8/12/00 Justin Entertaining and suprisingly scary, the 3d is cheesy, but here Jason gets the mask! SWEET!! 4 stars
5/01/00 Bender In my opinion this and Part 2 are the scariest and best in the series 4 stars
4/13/00 SwatchDog Average acting, but has its chilling moments. Dana Kimmell was great, that Shelly guy funny 4 stars
3/02/00 Kyle Broflovski THAT'S how he got the mask?? Okay...whatever...thank you...fuck you... 1 stars
1/18/00 Jedi15 Well, Jason finally gets his hockey mask. Whoopiee. Horse shit! 1 stars
10/05/99 rob This is the one that ruined it. That stupid hockey mask killed it. 1 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury No tits!? Oh well.. no wait the girls in this one were good looking... for 80's chicks.. 3 stars
2/15/99 Raheem Destiny Yo man! I be liking this shit yo! Slice that white bitch up some more yo! 5 stars
10/30/98 Negative Creep He gets His Hockey Mask from the funny kid in this one! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1982 (R)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1983 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast