More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome54.74%
Worth A Look: 30.53%
Average: 1.05%
Pretty Bad: 8.42%
Total Crap: 5.26%

4 reviews, 71 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Northern Borders by Jay Seaver

Arbor, The by Charles Tatum

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Exorcist III, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"15 years later, Father Karras' Mom is STILL sucking cocks in hell!"
4 stars

I don't think many people have seen this film, and I think even fewer realize that it was written and directed by William Peter Blatty, author of the original Exorcist. So, while it's not quite as chilling as the first story, It is at least a quality sequel and not some crappy knockoff by a third party made solely for the $$$

Fifteen years after the original "Exorcist", Lt. Kinderman and Father Dyer from the first movie are still friends. Lee J. Cobb and William O'Malley have been replaced respectively by George C. Scott and Ed Flanders (no, not the bible-geek from "The Simpsons"). Kinderman is investigating a series of gruesome, ritualistic murders that he discovers are related to the Exorcism case 15 years earlier. The killer is targeting friends and family of those involved in the original exorcism. It appears that Legion has taken over the body of a serial killer (Brad Dourif), and he's taken poor Father Karras' soul along for the ride (played by Jason Miller, the only returning original cast member).

While the nemesis in this film is not as convincingly full-on evil as Linda Blair was in the first, he is still plenty fucking creepy. The film does a masterful job in places of scaring the bejesus out of you, and takes some fresh approaches to setting up the frights. One scene in a hospital shows ten minutes of basically nothing going on, only to make you jump out of your skin when the payoff finally arrives because it's so unexpected . . . even though you were expecting SOMETHING.

The pacing is uneven in places, and some of Kinderman's dream/vision sequences are just a little too out there to be taken seriously. Also, the killer's explanation of how he moves from body to body is pretty fucking convoluted. Overall, though, the story is decent and the cast is quite good. Scott and Flanders have a good rapport between their charactes, constantly jabbing at each other like old friends do. Dourif is creepier than usual, thanks to his enhanced deep demonic voice. The final showdown is a bit too much hollywood pyrotechnics, but delivers a satisfying result nonetheless.

This movie is a tiny buoy of light, bobbing above the surface in a sea of crappy horror movies that deliver lots of blood but precious little scares. Rent it as a double feature with the original, and you'll be guaranteed a sleepless night. Viewing of the Exorcist II, however, is not required or recommended.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1144&reviewer=258
originally posted: 07/29/01 17:06:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/22/08 Shaun Wallner Scary Film! 5 stars
9/02/08 Kim Better than the first! 5 stars
7/18/08 we are legion, for we are many... Brad Dourif is absolutley brilliant. Dialogue was haunting. My favorite horror hands down 5 stars
9/04/07 tank1229 One of the best holy shit moments ever 5 stars
7/15/07 Naomi Sxhwartz Great 4 stars
3/17/07 Anthony C The Best Horror Movie ive seen yet! Very Scary,A Awesome Story. 5 stars
3/09/07 Sugarfoot I actually liked this better than the first, although i'm a huge George C. Scott fan. 5 stars
12/13/06 mig Really great film, way under-rated. 5 stars
10/22/06 Neil Great movie, though ending dipped somewhat 4 stars
10/12/06 Bob Very Scary 4 stars
10/12/06 MP Bartley Unexpectedly eerie. Also contains one of THE most frightening jump scenes ever. 4 stars
10/11/06 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
7/12/06 ian afford scott & dourif excellent,nearly poo'd my pants at hospital scene !! 5 stars
3/19/06 mr. mike "heretic" was more entertaining 3 stars
11/03/05 M One scene will haunt me forever! 4 stars
9/26/05 Omar Excellent 5 stars
3/26/05 Roderick Fitzgerald Great performances, dialogue, atmosphere, and direction. A magnificent sequel! Brilliant! 5 stars
11/01/04 ODH Very underrated horror flick, a worthy sequel to the original horror classic 4 stars
9/21/04 Brian Eason Much better than the original Exorcist, which was dull and not scary at all. 5 stars
9/03/04 David Fowler Near perfect version, by Blatty, of his own novel. Scott is brilliant! 5 stars
8/24/04 sdfr it was a good movie. lots ppl hated it, i dunno why.. 4 stars
8/13/04 tank1229 good lord this movie scared the s**t out of me 5 stars
7/17/04 Nix Turn up the sound. Evil is lurking. 5 stars
7/02/04 anthony delmar Very Creep and Intense 5 stars
4/11/04 American Slasher Goddess Worthy third entry to the classic original. 4 stars
2/18/04 Brian An absolutely gripping piece of horror that scares not with blood and guts but pacing 5 stars
1/29/04 Matt Angner A Quality Sequel to The Exorcist 4 stars
12/27/03 J Not scary, but worth watchin'! ** 1/2 out 4 5 stars
12/16/03 Mr. Hyde When I think about it...I look over my shoulder... 5 stars
11/27/03 John well written and extremly scary you'll jump out of your seat in THE SCENE 5 stars
11/04/03 Lars Kelsen Well-crafted second sequel helmed by the original shocker's creator. 4 stars
10/25/03 Sammy I started watching this movie..... it is accually pretty good!!! 5 stars
10/14/03 Ian too slow 2 stars
7/20/03 PJ Makes Exorcist II look like Police academy 7 5 stars
6/09/03 Bobby Galeana Jr. Too boring? Too boring? What the hell is wrong with you? 5 stars
4/09/03 Ross Bernard Not close to as disturbing or scary as first, but that one scene in the hall freaked me out 4 stars
7/20/02 ! Alot better than shit part 2, u can just see Blatty directed it.. 4 stars
2/14/02 Brian Yes, it's scary, but more importantly it's spooky. The difference is "atmosphere". 5 stars
1/17/02 David A. Best Exorcist movie. It was a supernatural crime drama, inspired by the Zodiac Killer in CA 4 stars
11/12/01 jawsboy pretty creepy flick, hurt somewhat by some dumb scenes. the hospital scene really caught me 4 stars
10/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) The freakiest of the 3. 4 stars
9/22/01 Pop will eat itself wonderfull 5 stars
8/13/01 Adam Great movie, needs to be looked at as a great horror movie! 4 stars
8/12/01 Andrew Carden The Worst Of All 3. Too Boring. 1 stars
8/08/01 Me Amazing film making 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Goddamn, if this isn't one of the scariest movies I've ever seen. Dourif is phenomenal. 5 stars
7/20/01 wizzman Incredible film! Exorcist III is what horror is and what it should be. 5 stars
6/01/01 Gary gets the job done... 4 stars
5/18/01 Alexander Absolutely BORING, TEDIOUS & STUPID. Why bother. 1 stars
4/28/01 The Jedi Droid The scariest fucking movie I have ever seen..... 5 stars
4/25/01 Gary Bradley Superb and very frightening 5 stars
3/19/01 Roxanna Bellarishna I have not seen it but it will be the best film that I have ever seen. 5 stars
2/10/01 the dude THIS MOVIE IS FUCKING AWESOME, AND WHOEVER SAYS IT ISN'T DOESN'T APPRECIATE TRUE HORROR!!!! 5 stars
1/13/01 Christopher Revilla's mother sucks cocks in hell! FUCKING AWESOME! 5 stars
1/03/01 SeBiShOr2k A must be seen which could teach people what life really is... 5 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla this film should've been called "tribute to George C. Scott", a total fucking waste of time 1 stars
11/18/00 Gary Bradley Agreed. Not only better than the original, but a superlative horror film on all counts. 5 stars
11/01/00 Buffalo A bit slow, but Jesus (statue), that one scene was one of the scariest I've ever seen! 4 stars
10/13/00 Terrie Smith Hell of a lot better than the second film; Scott & Dourif make it worthwhile. 4 stars
9/18/00 Patient X Awesome!A marvelous sequel! 5 stars
6/08/00 Aaron Boring, but i've seen worse. I actually liked part II. 2 stars
4/30/00 Matt I'm gonna give it a bad rating just to screw with the ratings! 1 stars
1/20/00 Jedi15 Better. MUCH better. After the shitty Exorcist II, it had to get better. And it DID. Great! 5 stars
12/29/99 Christian Some faults, but EXCELLENT. 5 stars
8/27/99 sparky Not as good as the original, but does have some truly great scares! 4 stars
8/24/99 imallsticky@netscape.net Sometimes what a film DOESN'T show is scarier. 4 stars
8/23/99 Warrick Smith Brad Dourif is brilliant, George C. Scott alternately witty and intense. better each view. 5 stars
8/16/99 Bob (ajohan21@aol.com) Horrifying; well-acted; a fantastic film 5 stars
7/04/99 Steve Farrell Criminally underrated and ignored. 4 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Pants. 1 stars
5/24/99 Allie excellent suspense 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Aug-1990 (R)
  DVD: 10-Oct-2006

UK
  23-Nov-1990 (15)

Australia
  14-Feb-1991 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast