More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.73

Awesome40.63%
Worth A Look: 20.31%
Average: 14.06%
Pretty Bad: 21.88%
Total Crap: 3.13%

4 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Coach Carter
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Kelly Palma

"Samuel L. Jackson brings Class and Cool to this MTV movie."
4 stars

Coach Carter is a little bit Lean on Me, a little bit Hoosiers, with a dash of Remember the Titans thrown in for good measure. Coach Carter is a sports flick with heart and soul and a good message to boot. Honestly I really wasn't expecting much from an MTV flick -- but this blew me away. This movie made me cry more times than I want to admit and in the end you really cared about what happened to the "real" kids the story was actually based on.

Director Thomas Carter (who previously directed Save the Last Dance) brings the true story of Coach Carter to life in a surprisingly good movie.

Samuel L Jackson portrays the title role, Ken Carter who accepts the job of boys basketball coach for his old alma mater Richmond High in California where once upon a time he was the star athlete.

What Coach Carter finds when he gets there is a team in disarray. Coach Carter has each player sign a contract to uphold good grades, a dress code on game days, community service, attending classes and acting in a gentlemanly manner and having respect for themselves and others. Most of the players sign the contract and after a rough start soon things are going swimmingly -- the team is undefeated!

But then the shoe drops and Coach Carter enforces the contract. He finds out the players haven't been attending their classes and over half the team is failing at least one class. Coach Carter locks the gym and cancels all practices and games until the entire team's grades improve dramatically.

The parents are outraged and in a showdown between the School Board and room of rowdy parents Coach Carter stands his ground and re-emphasizes his message that any one of the players could get into college and have a future after high school.

At the end is my favorite piece of dialogue. All throughout the film Coach Carter asks - What is your deepest fear? What follows is one player's answer:

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine as children do. It's not just in some of us; it is in everyone. And as we let our own lights shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

What happens at the end truly pulls at your heartstrings and Coach Carter realizes he has helped the team to become MEN.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=11449&reviewer=88
originally posted: 01/16/06 05:12:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Palm Springs Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Palm Springs Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

7/14/17 Mel Gibson poor movie, sorry I watched most of it 1 stars
7/07/11 Liam Walker Agree with @Talie Fuimaono brilliant acting by Samuel L 5 stars
4/26/10 Jeff Wilder Not much new in terms of story. But Jackson's performance is very good. 3 stars
2/11/09 ceddy How can you not like it,,, it was the best movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/19/07 sj133 sucked to the core 1 stars
10/30/06 Talie Fuimaono Love it it awwwsome!!!! very inspirational and awsome actin by Samuel L Jackson!!! WICKED 5 stars
8/15/06 Sharon such a good movie inspirational and made me cry and laugh and wanna play basketball 5 stars
5/04/06 samya i love this moie alot it teach me a lesson 5 stars
4/05/06 Allan Johnson The team lost the last game.Nice piece of realism 5 stars
4/02/06 JRE really really really really really really good 5 stars
12/14/05 DANNiiRUSS0-- ALL0W ME T0 RE' iiNTR0DUCE MYSELF iiT WAS THE SHiiT !! 5 stars
12/06/05 Jimena Pena very inspirational! 5 stars
10/22/05 janine the cute movie i ever seen 5 stars
10/14/05 eddiejohns Very inspirational. All teachers should follow suit 5 stars
9/26/05 Tiffany Rick Gonzalez is so Cute!!! 5 stars
9/20/05 Veronica i love this movie, the best yet. u can try to top it but you cant 5 stars
9/11/05 Jazz It was a breath taken film, if you are looking for an insperational film, this is it!! 5 stars
9/05/05 Holly one of the best movies i have ever seen-very inspiration 5 stars
8/19/05 Jordan This was an awesome movie. It really hits you hard and it hits close to home for many. 5 stars
8/17/05 kelsie the best movie in the hole entire world 5 stars
8/16/05 B It is a fantastic movie 5 stars
8/15/05 Marty Battafarano Very good message 5 stars
8/01/05 Beth Kerrick My kids, ages 15 and 12, and I enjoyed this movie. Go Coach Carter for making the grade! 4 stars
7/27/05 Tasha I absolutely LOVED it 5 stars
7/25/05 Suke How many times can you draw from the same well? 2 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Stand By Me wannabe borefest 2 stars
7/18/05 olie mcclary Iloved the movie could not take my eyes off the screen 5 stars
7/13/05 Brittany awesome 5 stars
6/25/05 Dan good movie. 4 stars
6/17/05 Julia Good storey, and surprising 5 stars
2/20/05 lj inspiring 4 stars
2/03/05 jjj ashanti didherthing 5 stars
2/02/05 lisa w I knew nothing about the movie going in, and it was GREAT!! Highly Recommend 5 stars
2/02/05 Brigette My opinion on this movie is that it is alright.It was worth watching but it could bebetter 4 stars
2/01/05 r durham I really enjoyed this movie.It kept my attention all the way through. 4 stars
2/01/05 Lil J I love this movie my favorite part was when Cruz gave his speech i LOVED it and the movie 2 5 stars
1/29/05 malcolm the first hour was pretty damned ordinary as far as sports films go, but it got better. 4 stars
1/23/05 Steve Michaud Cliched and derivative, but it's well-intentioned and its message is sincere 3 stars
1/18/05 PG #32 Good movie, Jackson is amazing, a little bit too dramatic for my taste, worth my time 4 stars
1/15/05 mott the drupal is this story about the directors life? 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Jan-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 21-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-May-2005


Directed by
  Thomas Carter

Written by
  Mark Schwahn
  John Gatins

Cast
  Samuel L. Jackson
  Robert Ri'chard
  Rob Brown
  Ashanti
  Debbi Morgan
  Rick Gonzalez



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast