More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.16

Awesome: 5.43%
Worth A Look: 6.52%
Average: 21.74%
Pretty Bad: 31.52%
Total Crap34.78%

6 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Elektra
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"Assassin Elektra kills her own movie franchise"
1 stars

Much was made of Hollywood whipping boy Ben Affleck getting his cameo cut from this film. After watching "Elektra," I now know that Affleck could not have made the film any worse.

Okay, forget everything you saw in "Daredevil," the film makers sure did. Elektra (Jennifer Garner) is a hardened, yet still adorable, assassin. She has the ability to bend the rules of time and physics, jumping from one place to another in the blink of an eye. This is very important because the film makers have her do it dozens of times in the course of the ninety-seven minute film.

Elektra sits in a rented house waiting for her agent McCabe (Colin Cunningham) to call with her next assignment. She meets neighbors Mark (Goran Visnjic) and his teen daughter Abby (Kristen Prout), but remains all guarded and secretive as she relives painful memories from her childhood. The targets, of course, turn out to be Mark and Abby, but Elektra develops emotions and decides to help them escape from some new assassins sent by a mysterious group called The Hand.

The Hand is led by the always underrated Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa. His leadership is threatened by Kirigi (Will Yun Lee), who will get control of the group if he offs Elektra. He takes some middling super villains (with names like Typhoid, Tattoo, and Stone) with him and they go after our heroic trio.

Deep breath. The Hand and the forces of good have been fighting a war since the beginning of time to control...the planet? I am not sure, since this war is not being covered by "Dateline." Elektra's blind sensei Stick (an uncomfortable looking Terence Stamp) is called in to help, and all sorts of computer generated action ensues.

Damn, that's a lot of plot for a lousy movie. Just when I was lamenting the familiarity of the new round of superhero movies, "Elektra" comes along, plays with convention, and completely mucks it up.

The camera work is okay, although I thought the computer used to render the special effects should have got director credit. I have no idea why whenever a villain is killed, they poof into a cloud of green smoke, I imagine that is what the script looked like when first read. The cinematography is awful. I thought about checking my DVD/TV connection, the picture is too dark and looked like someone spread a layer of apple butter over the camera lens. The musical score was not noticed, and the editing was too hurried, since they were trying to cover the weak story with lots of action.

Jennifer Garner has charisma to burn, but it is not onscreen here. Visnjic basically plays his "ER" doctor bit, there is almost no back story to any supporting character in this film. Prout is cute, but is also given nothing more to do than pout. The group of super villains would have been cool if played by a cast along the lines of "Daredevil"'s Colin Farrell or Michael Clarke Duncan. Instead, they show up and do their little choreographed stuntwork before being poofed out.

Since this film made about a third the money of what "Daredevil" made (and that film is considered a flop!), I do not think "Elektra 2" is coming anytime soon. Rest easy, Ben Affleck, your little woman proved she could make a film as bad as you can.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=11450&reviewer=325
originally posted: 05/05/05 05:29:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.

User Comments

4/05/09 Alfonso Turnage I loved this movie . . . it is one of the best female led super-hero movies 5 stars
3/10/09 MJ Not as bad as some people say. 3 stars
10/18/08 AshleyRockO I liked this film. Jennifer Garner looked good in it to. 4 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner This movie has some great scenes in it. 5 stars
7/08/08 Random I hope this director doesn't get the chance to ruin any more comic book adaptations 2 stars
6/21/08 David V Terrible movie. Actually makes Daredevil look good. 1 stars
6/17/08 Jenn Really boring. Really Flat. Really bad. 1 stars
12/14/07 Jason Elektra was an O.K martial arts flick, with better dialoge than others. Great on PSP. 3 stars
7/17/07 MaDmAN She died on her first night out in Daredevil, so they gave her her own movie? 3 stars
6/17/07 Edison Kirsten prout Is so dam hot haha lol 5 stars
3/31/07 David Pollastrini Jennifer Garner is hot in this! 2 stars
3/21/07 dude really bad 1 stars
1/31/07 action movie fan lame movie-very disappointing 2 stars
12/05/06 Stanley Thai It's an average film. Not too good but not too bad either. 3 stars
7/15/06 bullit16 Very, very blah 2 stars
5/23/06 Josh Standlee Why did Elektra want to save Abby? I would have killed that little shit in a heartbeat! 3 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Excrement defined. It only makes you appeciate Daredevil a little more. 1 stars
3/03/06 Tanya could have been better 3 stars
2/12/06 Indrid Cold Really makes you wonder why they can't just spend just a little more money on THE SCRIPT. 2 stars
1/25/06 LP Quagmire Bring on the sequel! 5 stars
10/25/05 Sugarfoot You mean this wasn't the porno version of Daredevil? Well there goes my rental dollars. 1 stars
8/19/05 ES worse than Daredevil, if that's possible 1 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Liked it , then again I liked Daredevil too, so go figure. 3 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma I don't care how hot some bitch that can't act looks like in a red suit, this movie sucked 2 stars
6/05/05 spacecowboy this was one of the most disgusting pieces of shit i've ever watched. i want my time back. 1 stars
5/19/05 Cindy Sheeks At least it had a woman super hero for a change. Unfortunately, the movie stunk. 2 stars
5/10/05 Carol Pretty dull 2 stars
5/05/05 Christy Schultz I didn't think it was that bad, but then again I really like Jennifer Garner 4 stars
5/02/05 Dan I'm open to a wide range of movies, but this...ugh. 2 stars
4/26/05 E-FUNK The only recognition it gets... is that it was better than Daredevil, but that means shit. 1 stars
4/09/05 Consuela Sanchez C'mon Jennifer Garner! You seem only slightly better than Ashley Judd at picking roles. 2 stars
3/26/05 Denise ok 2 stars
2/26/05 Brandy It was pretty good, but I wouldn't want to see it twice. 4 stars
2/22/05 ALDO i thought daredevil was Total crap....this makes it look like a master piece 1 stars
2/16/05 Melody Arneil A super hero movie that lacks heart and soul 3 stars
2/12/05 Gabriel Jolivet a poor movie, really not worth the time. 1 stars
2/08/05 whatevr This movie makes no sense! 2 stars
2/05/05 COlleen GOldrick I liked it 4 stars
2/04/05 craig varney electra never got plugged in 2 stars
2/02/05 Lynde Foy Besides Garner half naked this movie offers nothing 1 stars
1/27/05 JesseL Not a good kung fu movie or super hero. Adequate though. 3 stars
1/23/05 Carrielle IT SUCKED!!! 1 stars
1/21/05 Sas Much better than I thought it would be. liked the tattoo guy. 3 stars
1/21/05 MaX I love garner, but dis movie was too slow, great concept though! 4 stars
1/21/05 keithers.. Why don't you make a movie called Gadners Ass...and it would the same thing.. 2 stars
1/19/05 Steve Michaud A sub-par Marvel movie entry, seriously lacking heart or emotional depth 3 stars
1/19/05 e elektra is an advantageously made film. the actors are terrific.the film had good sequences 4 stars
1/18/05 Gray ripoff of leon with kung fu thrown in + some cool villians 3 stars
1/18/05 Whatevr Don't screen near an open flame 1 stars
1/18/05 Aaron Smith Just awful. Bad plot. Bad action. 2 stars
1/15/05 Roy Smith Again Embarrassing. The final fights are retarded. 2 stars
1/15/05 BrianWilly Action scenes questionable, but good drama and heart 5 stars
1/15/05 Darren Shea No memorable performances, decent action.Worth it if you're a comics fan and it's a matinee 3 stars
1/15/05 malcolm nice action sequences, but too far between them. sappy for a movie about an assassin. 3 stars
1/15/05 Nick Riess for kids 2 stars
1/14/05 Dunce Stinker! Should have just adapted Elektra: Assasin comic w/ Claudia Black & Nick Nolte 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Jan-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 18-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Jan-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast