More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.31

Awesome: 5.88%
Worth A Look: 17.65%
Average: 11.76%
Pretty Bad: 30.88%
Total Crap33.82%

1 review, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddy's Revenge, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"The average type of shlocky sequel."
1 stars

Wes Craven, creator of the original box-office smash sits here only as a producer. This schlock piece of hack work by nobody director Jack Shoulder, is a waste of both Craven's money and ours. "A Nightmare on Elm Street 2," additionally subtitled "Freddy's Revenge" follows five years in "screen time" since its predecessor (however, only one real year since the original).

A teenage boy (Mark Patton) and his family move into the same house that Langenkamp's did in the original. With no air conditioning, it isn't very long before he's dreaming about Freddy, down in the furnace, turning up the heat. Here, Krueger uses the body as a flesh substitute to commit violent murders. And only with the help of his girlfriend (Kim Myers) can he overcome the horror, again to be left with an awkward and silly ending.

My question is what are these people who write this stuff smoking when they wrote it? All plausibility and atmosphere is ruined by pure idiocy like when Patton bumps into his jerk gym teacher at some kinky-transsexual bar. Leatherclad and all, the teacher brings him to the P.E. room to do push-ups and shower off. Um yeah, okay, maybe not! Everything remains at this level.

More often than not, this sequel is embarrassingly interrupted by plain dumb occurrances like having the family bird burst into flames, or having the mom and girlfriend walk in on Patton as he cornily dances on his bed to poor '80s music and walks around with a wooden object sticking out as if it were his penis.

The only piece of worthwhile information we are given about Krueger's history that will undoubtedly come up in additions sure to follow, is a little more origin: he kidnapped 20 children and brought them to the plant where he worked, and burned them alive. The movie is (as promised?) gruesome and gory, however so fake. A low-budget is fairly obvious with the bad effects, and nothing is very shocking nor scary.

The acting, so as to give it a label, is extremely non existent. Myers looks like a young Meryl Streep minus any acting ability, and Patton is as unexperienced as they get. He screams "gay" all over! I think Freddy was just an excuse he used in order to escape sex with her. (After all, he only ditched her to hide out at the hunkiest jock's house!!)

Final Verdict: D-

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1149&reviewer=172
originally posted: 07/30/00 13:15:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/15/15 the truth The scariest, most risk-taking 'Nightmare' has best Freddy makeup & best FX seq. in series 4 stars
3/21/14 Filmcritic95 It's really not that bad. It's worth seeing. 4 stars
1/19/10 Stanley Thai This is one of those films that COULD have been good but was effed up in the writing stage. 1 stars
10/28/09 art FREDDY KRUGER BURRIE"S JASON AND MICHEAL MEYERS! 4 stars
9/17/09 art IT WILL TAKE A SECOND SEAT TO THE ORIGINAL NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET! 2 stars
3/09/09 blarginbadigalnohif lol wut? 2 stars
6/08/07 LITTLE CODY A SCARY ,FREAKY ,AND GORY SEQUEL THATS IS BORING UNTIL THE POOL PARTY. 2 stars
11/10/06 American Slasher Goddess Despite Freddy still being scary; this is bad and it defies the logic of the original. 2 stars
3/11/06 Dillon Too uninspired. The bare minimum when it comes to horror sequels. 2 stars
2/23/06 VMANIC1 Stupid runaway schoolbus ending was enough for me. I didn't bother seeing Elm st. 2-5. 3 stars
12/29/05 chris f not bad 4 stars
11/24/05 cr scary and freaky,with cool evil looking freddy, party scene was only entertaing scene, dull 2 stars
10/14/05 Darren O More like a possession flick, with a winy wimp in the lead role. Nice opening and closing. 2 stars
8/25/05 Eden Crap sequel, what's with the gym teacher scene? 1 stars
7/18/05 Brandy Harrington Wow! Lame! 1 stars
6/02/05 me me me Though it's probably the worst of the sequels, at least there is tension and scary moments 1 stars
11/18/04 chris pity people are so pussy about the gay subtext 2 stars
11/05/04 Freddy they hardly ever showed my face fucking non wes craven director 1 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Disappointing, considering the first film 2 stars
8/15/04 X ! @ # ? Crap sequel to a great movie. 1 stars
7/04/04 Samuel Freddy was scary here, now the only way I can enjoy him is his funny one-liners. 4 stars
3/24/04 Ken Stryker Fear The Balls, Mr.Gym Teacher 2 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Meh... Could've been worse!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Underrated sequel. Freddy Krueger when he was still scary. 4 stars
10/16/03 Erik Van Sant A little too homoerotic for my tastes..but the pool scene rocks. 4 stars
9/01/03 cody it scary, but it steps over line in many areas of horror and sex 2 stars
8/29/03 DARREN A LAME POSSESSION FLICK-ONLY THE FIRST AND LAST NIGHTMARE SEQUENCES ARE "NIGHTMARE" WORTHY 2 stars
7/22/03 Double G I actually liked it 3 stars
4/06/03 Dave A sequal so bad, it's offensive the worst in the series next to Freddy's Dead. 1 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby The very definition of a needless, pointless sequel. Excruciatingly bad. 1 stars
12/20/02 Colin Totaly Cuts Freddys Guts Out [pardon the pun] 1 stars
10/29/02 Charles Tatum Lackluster and uninvolving 3 stars
8/16/02 Shaun when you realize the sequels after this are better,this film seems worse 2 stars
7/15/02 Kyle If I were Wes Craven, I would disown this almighty piece of shit. 1 stars
6/09/02 Gummibear X I love every Elm street movie but this one, this is the worst Elm street film ever. 2 stars
6/09/02 Chris What rubbish! The worst in the series, really embarassing. Story doesn't work. Avoid it! 1 stars
6/09/02 Chris What rubbish! The worst in the series, really embarassing. Story doesn't work. Avoid it! 1 stars
5/15/02 Blake We wanted a sequel and we get THIS!!!!!!??? 1 stars
1/01/02 Amanda It was Gay!! 3 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 a couple good bits...but not enuff. hey, the chick plyed Seinfeld's girlfriend! 2 stars
11/10/01 Be@TMa$Ta shittest of the series! leather-man P.E Teacher says it all! 1 stars
10/07/01 jawsboy gruesome, dark and eerie with an ok freddy, but also gay, cheesy, boring and un scary. 3 stars
8/12/01 Andrew Carden I A Very Boring Sequel. 2 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Feminine Freddy Falls Flat... 2 stars
6/29/01 King Jackass An insult to nightmare fans! 1 stars
6/08/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Complex story about homosexuality... I MEAN, Freddy's back and wants young boy. Just WRONG! 3 stars
4/14/01 LiL This movie is pretty shit. Stupid plot 2 stars
3/20/01 Tony Andruss jessie is a queer. ron should have been the hero and lisa is kinda cute.cool after a while. 4 stars
2/24/01 Heidi Miller i love this movie 4 stars
1/17/01 Gary no way is this good..but i love freddy 2 stars
11/14/00 shark bite I want Jessie...i think he is hott 5 stars
10/25/00 Bender I'll never understand why a lot hate it. Its almost as scary as the original. 4 stars
9/06/00 TIGGER! This movier isn't that good, but if your a devoted Freddy fan, you should see it 2 stars
8/25/00 Eric If sequels suck, this most be the proof! 1 stars
8/17/00 Rich Corle great, IF you give it a chance (view 3 to 4 times) 5 stars
8/04/00 Bender Underrated and the 2nd best in the series. 4 stars
5/02/00 Pansy Jessie has a nice ass! 5 stars
5/01/00 yo momma good shite 5 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski The tongue-thing was original...the rest was shite... 2 stars
2/06/00 Steve Layne Just as good, if not better than the first one 4 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink A couple of great sequences (e.g. tongue scene), but still...... 3 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob It's ballet for the blind. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1986 (R)
  DVD: 13-Apr-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1986 (R)


Directed by
  Jack Sholder

Written by
  David Chaskin

Cast
  Mark Patton
  Kim Myers
  Robert Rusler
  Clu Gulager
  Hope Lange
  Robert Englund



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast