More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.78

Awesome35.29%
Worth A Look: 27.06%
Average: 25.88%
Pretty Bad: 3.53%
Total Crap: 8.24%

2 reviews, 73 user ratings



Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"They don't make 'em like this anymore. On purpose."
3 stars

The first horror movie I ever saw. It made me shit my pants in terror.

I saw this at a sleepover when I was 11. It freaked me out, but I got through it, and I remember that all the kids cheered because I was afraid and I had conquered my fears. If that doesn't warm the cockles of your heart, I don't know what will.

Anyways, I saw this movie a few years later, and it didn't seem all that scary anymore. Like the later "Elm Street" movies, you can see how it's starting to lean more towards comedy. I mean, Zsa Zsa Gabor's in it. It can't be all THAT serious. So, I guess serious horror movie purists wouldn't much care for this one. But it's good enough. I think it's the high point in the series for me, to tell the truth. It's not out-and-out scary like the first one, but it's not stupid like the later ones. It has its shocks, and it has its laughs.

Robert Englund must hate Wes Craven. Is there any role that he can play anymore that WON'T make us think of Freddy Krueger? All through "Urban Legend", I kept thinking that he HAD to be the killer, just because he had been Freddy. He's fun in this movie. Unlike Jason, he has a personality, and a sense of humour. As for "Freddy vs. Jason", coming soon, supposedly, I just can't see it working, unless they get a "Jay and Silent Bob" thing going with the two of them. Hmmm...

Overall, this movie has some really creative deaths that are fun to watch, and it has absolutely no lasting impact. Just like an 80's horror film should.

Compared to today's post-modern horror flicks, it seems kinda cheesy. But for what it's trying to do, it succeeds.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1150&reviewer=27
originally posted: 01/30/99 07:01:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/24/17 David H. The best of the sequels, with great effects and characters you actually about! 5 stars
1/15/15 the truth Entertaining yet uneven; beginning of the end w/ 'funny Freddy' and emphasis on back-story 4 stars
4/16/11 art FREDDY KRUGER would KICK jason and micheal myer's ASS! 3 stars
1/19/10 Stanley Thai This film so good because it explores more in the mythology that is fresh. 4 stars
9/17/09 art FREDDY/AND THE NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET EXPRESS WAS COMING TO A HALT,and this film shows it! 1 stars
3/09/09 blarginbadigalnohif great sequel brought down by the scene in the hospital where they discover their powers 4 stars
9/24/07 bidhya M LOVING IT!!!!!....... 5 stars
6/08/07 LITTLE CODY THE BEST SEQUEL IN THE SERIES WITH LOTS OF SCARES, LOVE THE PIG SCENE. 4 stars
2/08/07 David Pollastrini the best of the sequels 5 stars
4/02/06 Dillon The last dark Nightmare until number 7. 3 stars
3/11/06 Dillon The last truly dark Nightmare movie 3 stars
12/29/05 chris f great movie 5 stars
11/24/05 cr good visual effects , good story , very good acting, and scary . This film is very worthy 4 stars
10/16/05 Darren O Great special effects, but Freddy's one liners cheapen Craven's original vision 3 stars
8/25/05 Eden Nice idea but isnt scary. Freddy has too many cheesy lines. 3 stars
7/18/05 Brandy Harrington How fuckin' lame can ya get. 2 stars
6/11/05 Manu Ginobli I like it. 4 stars
6/02/05 me me me Saw this movie today... Man, if this is "awesome", I am God 1 stars
3/15/05 brody two hooks up 5 stars
11/18/04 chris nightmare series highlight 4 stars
11/05/04 Freedy God what was i thinking 1 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Spectacular special effects, I loved it! 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Pretty CHEZZY... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
12/22/03 Samuel great film!! 3 stars
11/27/03 movie guy A GREAT FILM i loved it 5 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Definitely the best sequel of the whole series. 4 stars
10/30/03 Moparman The BEST Sequal of the series hands down. "Welcome to Primetime BITCH!" 5 stars
10/16/03 Erik Van Sant Hands-down the only great sequel of the series. Where's the fuckin bourbon?! 5 stars
8/29/03 DARREN GREAT FX -BUT FREDDY TAKING CENTER STAGE IS SOMEWHAT REPREHENSIBLE 3 stars
8/04/03 Stefan Halka Awesome sequel! Freddy's one liners are hilarious. "Welcome to prime time, Bitch." 4 stars
7/22/03 Double G Much better then the 2nd and I thought I like numoro 2 4 stars
6/14/03 Alice Why Wes? WHY ??? 1 stars
4/06/03 Dave The second best sequal after 5 and surprisingly entertaining even if it's a bit retarded. 2 stars
3/21/03 c.r a very scary and cool horror movie! 4 stars
2/21/03 c.r Almost as good as the first one 4 stars
10/29/02 Charles Tatum The best sequel 5 stars
9/01/02 movie guy GREAT 5 stars
8/16/02 Shaun best of the sequels, even slightly better than the first. 5 stars
5/15/02 Blake This movie was a 100 out of 100 baby! 5 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 Very entertaining, best sequel, except for part 7 4 stars
11/02/01 Jake Noone over 12 should think this is cool or scary. Lame to the core! Not funny either. 1 stars
10/07/01 jawsboy shitty music.great kills and atmosphere! ok acting &story. weird ending,better than 2,4,5&6 4 stars
9/30/01 Gary I liked it alot...entertaining and has a mean streak 4 stars
8/12/01 Andrew Carden Kind Of Like An MTV Music Video...Bad. 2 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Freddy as a giant dickworm! PRICELESS!!! 5 stars
7/10/01 JT This movie was quite imaginative, and very entertaining, but it does not take the crown. 4 stars
6/29/01 King Jackass Not bad! 5 stars
6/08/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Excellent effects, cast, and dream sets. The best of the sequels. Comes close to topping #1 5 stars
5/18/01 Javier J This movie was really funny! Oops I forgot it was suppose to have been scary! 1 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart Of the series, I would rate this as my second favorite. Still not a great movie though. 3 stars
4/14/01 LiL This was fucking fantastic!!!! I liked it so much, but the first just beat it 5 stars
3/21/01 Movie Police Maybe tonight you'll be gone! lame and dippy..not worthy of eye site.'He's gone its over'! 1 stars
3/20/01 Tony Andruss nancy should have lived but other than that an awesome movie. 5 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi On par with the first...claustrophobic and sinister...fucking KILLER FX, for the time. 5 stars
12/02/00 The Evil Penguin the scariest of them all 4 stars
11/25/00 Natalie Fox I liked it. 5 stars
11/12/00 ted benton best movie 5 stars
11/02/00 Donna Hanson I loved it 5 stars
10/06/00 Bender Enjoyable third entry in the series. Although not really scary its still entertaining. 4 stars
9/06/00 TIGGER! Very good Feddy movie. 2nd best out of all. Heather was great. 4 stars
8/17/00 Rich Corle Awesome movie that feeds my craving for horror! 5 stars
8/04/00 Mike This one, Part 1, and 7 are my favorites...But they should NEVER have killed Nancy =( 5 stars
5/02/00 Gus Van Sant good shite! 5 stars
5/01/00 yo momma good shite! 5 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski Actually the best of this series...very imaginative...campy only when need be... 5 stars
2/06/00 Steve Layne the 3rd best in the series 4 stars
12/18/99 SID I really enjoyed this one. Most of the "Nightmares" are crap, and this is one of the best. 5 stars
11/22/99 Phreezer For a sequal... Good.. Gives new meaning to the words "get your head out of the boob toob" 5 stars
12/20/98 mike very well done....the best sequel of the series 4 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Entertaining in a cult-ish sort of way. 3 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Just misses the hallowed 'F.A.' rating. I'm not sure why. 4 stars
10/20/98 {{{OZ}}} This episode kicked ass. On a par with the original. 5 stars
10/18/98 Johny Along with the first this is my favorite of the series 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1988 (R)
  DVD: 13-Apr-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1988 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast