More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.7

Awesome: 27.14%
Worth A Look: 28.57%
Average35.71%
Pretty Bad: 4.29%
Total Crap: 4.29%

2 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Child's Play
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Effective little horror movie, retardedness aside"
3 stars

So how to write a sincere 'critique' of a movie about a killer toy? Well, if you're willing to accept the sheer ridiculousness of the premise, and you're a horror fan, it's worth a rental, as long as there are no NUMBERS next to the title. The sequels to this one are especially noxious, even for horror movies.

A killer dies in a toy store, so his spirit is naturally sucked into a doll. (Hope I die in a Victoria's Secret.) A cute kid gets the doll, then people begin dying horrible deaths. One especially caveman-like police takes the case, leading up to a crazy car-chase and Chucky's temporary destruction. It's all pretty cut and dry, but will it please the horror crowd?

For the most part, yes. There is the normal amount of "theatrical release" blood. This is an important distinction in horror movies. Generally, horror movies intended for theatrical release imply more gore than is actually shown, while an unrated or director's cut will give you considerably more visceral thrills. There are the obligatory gag lines that Chucky offers after killing another wide-eyed moron, and some of the scenes actually come off rather well.

What prevents Child's Play from entering the modern classics of horror area is quite simply the sheer stupidity of trying to get scares from a ugly vulgar doll. I WISH Chucky had tried his shit on me. I mean, tiny weapons aside, how strong could he really be?

B-Actors Chris Sarandon, Catherine Hicks and Brad Dourif show up and manage not to giggle too much, which obviously wasn't enough for the Academy, but they pull it off.

Not bad for preteen fans of the genre, as a sort of training for more powerful horrors to come. Pretty fun, pretty stupid. Will be gone from your mind quicker than this review, but hey--It's a HORROR movie about a HAUNTED DOLL--You rented it, you deal with it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1154&reviewer=128
originally posted: 10/19/99 17:06:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

2/20/10 PAUL SHORTT SCARY HORROR WITH GOOD SPECIAL EFFECTS 3 stars
1/01/10 Dane Youssef Clearly the best ever about a killer doll. Everyone & thing is perfect. Hauting & horrific. 5 stars
8/10/09 the dork knight Starts out prettys eerie, with the doll never talking. ...Then he never STOPS. 3 stars
3/28/08 Renzo classic 80's horror/comedy 5 stars
8/13/07 Steven Can't take chucky seriously because he always makes you laugh HAHA 4 stars
6/26/07 little cody a little flim about a mean doll that transfer his soul into a boy, a cult classic. 3.5/5 3 stars
5/04/07 action movie fan good suspenseful eerie shocker-dolls are always sinister 4 stars
3/16/07 David Cohen Lot's of blood, zero characterization, endless sequals, the "doll" angle doesn't save it 2 stars
3/09/07 dude it was okay 3 stars
12/29/06 David Pollastrini great action, great gore 5 stars
10/08/06 Bitchflaps Not bad, not great. 3 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Unique concept, decent film, but another medieocre popcorn flick. 3 stars
4/02/06 JRE what the hell? 2 stars
3/04/06 omar pretty scary but not horrifying. best part of the movie is the theme at the end 4 stars
12/21/05 sophia it was really good + it was creepy it gave me da heeby jeebys. 5 stars
12/21/05 miss patience 5 the best dang chucky movie ever besides bride of chucky 5 stars
11/29/05 Rebecca I love it well at first it freaked me out i stayed up for nights hey i was only 9 years ol. 5 stars
11/26/05 cr a scary little flim about a mean ass doll, a good story and movie! 4 stars
4/24/05 psychokiller this movie is a legend!, chucky should be given an academy award! violence is the greatest! 5 stars
4/19/05 Jennifer I love Chucky! He is so cute; I love how he kills everybody! 5 stars
11/23/04 Daveman Spawened four awful sequals, but the original is a surprisingly competent slasher film. 3 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz If you like horror, this is a must see. 5 stars
7/13/04 Alfred Guy The best of the Chucky movies. Killer dolls are always creepy. 4 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern Now this was fuckin' SCARY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/15/04 Sugarfoot It's not scary but it is somewhat entertaining... 3 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Creepy and taut. One of the more original horror movies that came out in the late 80's. 5 stars
10/31/03 The Bride Of Chucky I LOVE CHUCKY AND I RELATE TO HIM 5 stars
10/27/03 Samuel Origional, and very scary! 3 stars
10/07/03 anthony one hell of a sick horror movie 4 stars
7/03/03 Lush Surprisingly disturbing and menacing for a film about a talking doll. 3 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby It does its job well enough, though it's not as fun as it should be. 3 stars
8/16/02 Scott Nice, stylish, makes ya juump and I burned all my sis's dolls afterwards. =D 4 stars
8/16/02 Shaun its creepy, its eerie, its entertaining 4 stars
4/18/02 kevin brayer fuck you this movie is good, u just have to undertsand it cock 3 stars
4/02/02 erika I LuV CHUCKY! I DONT CARE WHAT HE DUZ HE'S HELLA BAD! 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. "Piss off, Chuckie!" (Anyone who knows where that quote is from gets a gold star) 4 stars
9/16/01 travis chuck rocks 5 stars
8/06/01 badfish Dont fuck with the Chuck! 5 stars
6/29/01 King Jackass Pretty good, but could have been better. 4 stars
6/28/01 Geebo If anything, pretty funny. 4 stars
4/18/01 Megan its an awesome movie! haha 5 stars
4/01/01 Andrew Carden It was imaginative, but not used the right way. 3 stars
12/12/00 damion gray this the best childs play ever maded 5 stars
11/05/00 Jon sooper dooper crapola 1 stars
9/11/00 Bender The only one in the series that has any real suspense. But the others are still enjoyable. 4 stars
8/12/00 Justin Still scares the hell out of me, scary intense and fun a great ride 5 stars
7/23/00 Tyler Peterson Better than the sequals but still pretty shity. 2 stars
5/01/00 Gus Van Sant pure shite!Almost as good as my psycho movie! 1 stars
4/30/00 Negative Norm wonderful shite!See it if you love shitty movies! 1 stars
3/17/00 David Rogers Pretty dull until the first kill, then suspense, then dull, then suspense. 4 stars
3/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Considering the oft-sucky spectrum of 80's horror, this is a cool enough diversion. 4 stars
10/22/99 bullit17 Don't take it too seriously and you'll enjoy it. 4 stars
10/19/99 The Bomb 69 i thought it was funnier than scary 4 stars
7/24/99 Elvis (The King) Presley Goes good with cheeseburgers. Pass the onion rings. Thank you, thank you very much. 5 stars
1/02/99 Spazmatazz it shoulda been a comedy, I swear 4 stars
11/28/98 Mr.Pink COOL when I saw it the first time, slightly less now, but still... 4 stars
10/21/98 Brunetta Lots of fun. Good Guys make good movies 4 stars
10/20/98 {{{OZ}}} Posessed dolls are always scary. See Twilight Zone for evidence. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1988 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1988 (M)


Directed by
  Tom Holland

Written by
  Don Mancini

Cast
  Catherine Hicks
  Chris Sarandon
  Alex Vincent
  Brad Dourif
  Dinah Manoff
  Tommy Swerdlow



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast