More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.36

Awesome69.31%
Worth A Look: 13.86%
Average: 4.95%
Pretty Bad: 6.93%
Total Crap: 4.95%

3 reviews, 83 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Omen, The (1976)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Nasty, biblical violence with cool music and some great deaths!"
5 stars

One of the classics of seventies horror, alongside The Exorcist, The Shining, Carrie and ... Barbarella, The Omen is a nasty little nugget that offers us this cute little tyke who also turns out to be the spawn of Satan!! Stylish and dark, this one has been all but forgotten about, thanks to its weak sequels and many ripoffs. If you're a fan of horror, yet you only want the newer ones, do yourself a favor: Listen to this old man, and rent The Omen.

Gregory Peck is this American ambassador whose wife gives birth to a baby boy. From that moment on, hell breaks loose. Director Richard Donner proves he used to make some of the most entertaining movies around, until his sequel-whoring became rampant. This is a guy who directed Superman, The Goonies, Lethal Weapon, Maverick, Ladyhawke and Scrooged! (Flip Side: Conspiracy Theory, The Toy, Lethal Weapon 2, 3, 4, Assassins and Radio Flyer)

The creepiness is poured on pretty thick, and we're treated to some of the most shocking deaths ever offered in a mainstream horror movie. (Love that pane of glass!) It's a pretty stylish affair, and we're sucked in as the pretty stupid ambassador and his equally clueless wife (Lee Remick) begin to suspect that these random and horribly violent deaths may indeed have something to do with their creepy little kid. They come around eventually, when the 666 tattoo on the kids forehead is discovered. Turns out he's not really their kid, but he belongs to someone named Jackal or something. All in all, pretty creepy.

A finely-acted and damn well-directed horror movie. Set many standards for the 'religious-horror' genre, and still stands as a solid scarefest. It's not as primally upsetting as The Exorcist, but there's something in there to shake you up a bit, especially for the gentiles, maybe. Head to the dusty old horror section of your local Video Mecca and snatch it. Do NOT stand in line and have second thoughts about getting some crappy new release, trust me. The Omen is a full plate of some hardcore shocks and gore.

The Devil shows up as a little boy, complete with creepy babysitter and evil dog-protector. It can be forgiven for the waffly ending, since Damien: Omen 2 is actually pretty good as well. Movies like this make priests yearn for a nice warm synogague, I bet.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1158&reviewer=128
originally posted: 10/20/99 08:34:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell effective horror piece love the last scene 4 stars
1/26/15 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING, EFFECTIVE HORROR 4 stars
11/05/12 Marty Disappointed. Cool decapitation scene but movie not scary enough. 3 stars
1/06/10 art A REVERSE THAT,THE OMEN DID IT BETTER THAN rosemary's baby! 3 stars
7/19/09 art ROSEMARY"S BABY did it better. 1 stars
11/17/08 action movie fan good religeous shocker-well made eerie, with excellent effects-great score too 4 stars
2/04/08 Pamela White Think suspense great thriller without the gore 5 stars
10/13/07 Pal Joey anyone who doesn't like this classic is scarily stupid 5 stars
9/09/07 Talon Fantastic film, a psycological suspense thriller with a morbid atmosphere. 5 stars
9/02/07 anouka The Omen deserves its classic status. And that ending, followed by THE SMILE, brilliant 5 stars
5/02/07 Tracey Chambers not scary. but creepy. good movie. 4 stars
4/08/07 Chris Redmond The most chilling musical score in cinema history. Surpasses even Jaws and The Exorcist. 5 stars
2/16/07 Shahreen Akhter it was not scary at all 2 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Belongs to the 10 scariest movies of all time. An all-time classic, to be remembered. 5 stars
1/07/07 Quicksilver Wonderful movie, with awesome deaths and a haunting operatic score (AAVEE SATANNNII!) 5 stars
12/13/06 mig One of the great classics of 70's horror! 5 stars
6/16/06 Ole Man Bourbon Born of a jackyl!@!!!!!!!1111 Awesome. 5 stars
6/16/06 CAROLINE GEORGE A GOOD WATCH 4 stars
6/11/06 myself I will watch it again 5 stars
6/10/06 Shahreen Akhter this is the only movie that scared me 5 stars
6/05/06 Sandra Rodenas 3 stars
6/04/06 michael great horror flick, just wonder how good the new one will be 5 stars
6/03/06 bob totally creepy 1 stars
5/03/06 Dave Kicks ass on many levels, The whole movie keeps you on the edge of your seat. AWESOME 5 stars
4/03/06 Reklc Classic!!! 5 stars
3/22/06 Larisa Moreno A true classic, horror film - very creepy! 5 stars
11/26/05 cr a classic horror picture with class,the story of revelations, even scarier 4 stars
10/24/05 Brent Stevenson good but very scary!!! 5 stars
3/28/05 William This movies scared the $^#@ out of me. I needed another horror movie just to bring me down 5 stars
3/04/05 Littlepurch Great acting, some cool deaths and scenes that are acutally scary! Go 70s! 5 stars
2/12/05 H.P. Lovecraft Excellent movie. 5 stars
11/01/04 ODH One of the best horror films I have ever seen. 666!!! 5 stars
10/26/04 Debbie Phenomenal biblical truth portrayed on film by top actors 5 stars
10/24/04 johnny mettlach a classic horror story with a great musical score and strong performances 5 stars
10/04/04 LIAM JACKSON outstanding film. damian is really cool. 5 stars
9/04/04 T.B. A another famous horror film like the exorcist 5 stars
7/29/04 rishab jainani it's a good movie..awesome 5 stars
12/07/03 john sensational! 5 stars
10/14/03 Erik Van Sant True horror in every sense of the word. Donner's next great film was 'The Goonies'. 5 stars
10/01/03 Samuel Justus Great 70's Horror! I'd like to see a remake..SOON! 4 stars
8/07/03 Alice Great 5 stars
7/09/03 Sid Mindblowing 5 stars
7/08/03 King Richard Scared the poop out of me. Much better than the shit that comes out today. 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby An effective chiller. 4 stars
4/05/03 LIAM JACKSON outstanding film. damian is really cool. 5 stars
12/06/02 Justine Lewis I Love it But I love Damian omen 5 stars
12/05/02 Kyle A classic. Very chilling! 5 stars
11/17/02 Nevz wierd 5 stars
10/29/02 jimmy johnson good film 5 stars
10/24/02 Charles Tatum Scary as heck 5 stars
9/02/02 Erik North Classic 1970s horror film--unsettling as Hell, literally! 5 stars
8/18/02 Scott GREAT movie! damian will always scare the living shit outta me! 5 stars
8/07/02 I Can't Swim Music never more suited to the film; also loved Gregory vs. Mrs. Blaylock! 5 stars
6/23/02 Graham McDonald Some people have compared it to the Exorcist, but it's faaaaaaaaaar mor compelling and even 5 stars
6/14/02 daniel biasatti beautiful, stylish, classic 5 stars
5/24/02 Jeremy Whitman Flamin heck, this is a Top notch flick you flamin git 5 stars
4/25/02 andrew stephens it is the best movie i had ever seen in my life 5 stars
3/04/02 R.W. Welch Far-out yarn manages to sustain a singularly ominous aura. Skip the sequels. 4 stars
2/12/02 Nevz Truly Evil 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. Exciting, but not really scary. It's entertainment 5 stars
11/27/01 KMG Gregory Peck is da bomb!!!! 4 stars
10/31/01 Brook it starts off kinda borring but gets better 3 stars
10/15/01 Andrew Carden Badly Made, Unscary, Boring, Unexciting, and Stupid Exorcist Rip-Off. 1 stars
9/28/01 Matthew Bartley Better than the Exorcist 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk The best Richard Donner film ever. Still creepy after all these years. 5 stars
6/02/01 Erik North Similar to THE EXORCIST--but even more disturbing 5 stars
5/20/01 Stewart Worth renting for Jerry Goldsmith's loud but chilling musical score alone. 4 stars
4/30/01 HOmer Simpson It's a god horror movie 4 stars
3/23/01 viking pseudo Biblical claptrap 1 stars
2/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Disturbing and horrible...on par with The Exorcist... 5 stars
12/31/00 sean mackey really good scary movie 5 stars
11/05/00 Dani Richardson Its the greatest horror film ever. Nothing else comes close 5 stars
8/25/00 Joep awesome movie worth seeing! 5 stars
8/19/00 Elvisfan Haven't seen it in awhile but I bet it still holds up pretty well 5 stars
7/25/00 homer simpson it does not get any better than this!! 5 stars
2/26/00 jake mostov a big piece of crap! 1 stars
1/13/00 k.tomkowski one of the best hooror movies, maybe the best, super script 5 stars
10/23/99 The Bomb 69 predictable 3 stars
2/02/99 Matthew Bartley The most terrifying thing is the camera guy developing his eerie photos 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Exciting, tense horror film 4 stars
11/12/98 Lord Of The Dunce Spooky as all fuck. A great seventy's classic. 5 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob A great film, it's pretty much like watching home movies of my childhood! Great ending! 4 stars
10/20/98 {{{OZ}}} 70's horror always had Gregorian chant soundtracks, but this was still an awesome film. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jun-1976 (R)
  DVD: 20-Jun-2006

UK
  N/A (18)
  DVD: 17-May-2001

Australia
  12-Aug-1976 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast