More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.63

Awesome66.67%
Worth A Look: 31.58%
Average: 0%
Pretty Bad: 1.75%
Total Crap: 0%

3 reviews, 39 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Real Genius
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"May I say, sir, I admire your taste in footwear."
4 stars

Don't eat that. Eating that can cause very large breasts. Oh my God, I'm too late!

This is one of the few Val Kilmer movies I know that doesn't make me ill.

Mitch (Gabriel Jarret) is a genius. He's young, though. He's sent to college to study physics and other things that I have no understanding of. He ends up rooming with Chris (Kilmer), another genius. But Chris has a bit of a wild side. The two of them end up working on a project for Dr. Hathaway (William Atherton) involving lasers and the defense department. Chris is more interested in having fun, and Mitch is really interested in Jordan (Michelle Meyrink), the girl who talks a mile a minute and never sleeps.

This is quite simply a damn funny movie, and it's got a certain amount of charm to it, too. There's something about a giant Jiffy-pop exploding inside a house that makes me laugh.

Kilmer is, quite simply, awesome in this movie. I've really only liked him in one other film, Top Secret!, but this movie actually doesn't chafe me the way other Kilmer movies do (like, say, The Saint). Gabe Jarrett seems a little weak, but it was his feature film debut, so I'll cut him some slack (he went on to small parts in The Karate Kid Part III, Apollo 13 and The American President).

A quality rental, definitely check it out.

I never sleep, I don't know why. I had a roomate and I drove her nuts, I mean really nuts, they had to take her away in an ambulance and everything. But she's okay now, but she had to transfer to an easier school, but I don't know if that had anything to do with being my fault. But listen, if you ever need to talk or you need help studying just let me know, 'cause I'm just a couple doors down from you guys and I never sleep, okay?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1162&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/20/98 00:31:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/05/13 matthew thompson dalldorf Classic collage-satire 5 stars
3/13/10 PAUL SHORTT GOOFY NO-BRAINER 2 stars
11/24/09 Jeff Wilder One of the most intelligent comedies of the 80s, 5 stars
9/27/07 Slick This is one of the most brilliant and one of the best movies that has ever been made 5 stars
6/10/07 Josephine Jones One of the fun nies "nred pays you back movie". I've ever seen 5 stars
3/29/07 carlene great movie! 5 stars
8/28/05 D Buckley I wish movies were still like this. 4 stars
8/12/05 ALDO What geeks are really like. Probably the best synth score ever. 5 stars
2/08/05 Jeff Anderson The REAL GENIUS is in the acting, directing, & the writing. Definitely ONE FOR THE AGES!!!! 5 stars
12/25/03 jamie g a good laugh 5 stars
12/07/03 Mike This is a "lost gem" from the 1980's. It's too bad Val Kilmer doesn't do more comedies. 5 stars
9/12/03 John Goings Great film that physics geeks can quote from heart! 5 stars
6/24/03 sneaker The reason why I still read New Scientist to this day despite being a comic artist-Great!!! 5 stars
5/11/03 brenda bridges I fell in love with Crhis Knight the first time I saw this movie. It is great! 5 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Some of it's klunky; the majority is amazingly sharp-witted. Kilmer is sensational. 4 stars
1/14/03 Vitality1 A classic. Val Kilmer is hilarious - even if he can't hammer a spike w/his penis. 5 stars
11/05/02 Senator Blutarsky The movie that inspired me to become a physicist! 5 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum Hilarious, "you're laborers...labor!" 5 stars
10/03/02 Jason "in the immortal words of socrates, 'I drank what?" -Chris Knight 5 stars
7/28/02 Coleen I love 80's movies and this was no exception but what ever happened to Gabe Jarrett 4 stars
7/25/02 Stan What ever happened to Michelle Meyrink? 5 stars
7/23/02 X-Lander Quintessential 80's teen comedy!! Michelle is HOT!! 5 stars
7/10/02 Tasha Took the 80s by its preppy little neck and gave a nice geeky squeeze!!! A+ 5 stars
12/28/01 Jimmy James one of my favorite movies! 5 stars
7/22/01 Dean Maynard Great Movie. Great Soundtrack! 5 stars
7/11/01 a One of the best films I've ever seen... DEI! and FEIF! 5 stars
5/31/01 Mr. Icy Hallway Slider It's a great movie if you ignore the popcorn ending! 5 stars
5/07/01 Pete Wrigley Watched it and PCU everyday my 3rd sophomore year. 5 stars
5/03/01 Katie Bear One of the greatest movies ever made - Val Kilmer & Gabriel Jarret are my heroes!! 5 stars
3/09/01 c a young Val Kilmer at his very best!!! 5 stars
12/02/00 Angela Murtagh My Favorite Movie of all Time...It is an awesome movie and Val Kilmer did a great job! 5 stars
11/30/00 Geoff One of the best comedies of the '80's, with a very timely Cold War message about science. 5 stars
11/25/00 TigerShark Intelligent plot based on reality, and damn funny too! One of my favorites 5 stars
10/30/00 Marilyn Joel's mom This film is one of the greatest nerd films of all time. Jordan is my role model. 5 stars
8/26/00 Jeff Lane The only movie next to Star Wars I have seen more than 15 times..the best 80's cult movie! 5 stars
7/27/00 Katie One of the BEST 80's movies out there. SEE IT, SEE IT, SEE IT! 5 stars
7/05/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
3/31/99 big joe Deserves more praise for it's look at issues facing students 4 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob An 80's classic comedy of subversive defiance. The Animal House for Tech School students! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1986 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1986 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast