More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.28

Awesome: 17.39%
Worth A Look: 20.65%
Average42.39%
Pretty Bad: 11.96%
Total Crap: 7.61%

7 reviews, 50 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Citizenfour by Greg Ursic

Women Who Flirt by Jay Seaver

Snowpiercer by Rob Gonsalves

Rosewater by Jay Seaver

World of Kanako, The by Jay Seaver

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Hitch
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by U.J. Lessing

"Fresh Prince Eye for the Straight Guy"
3 stars

Will Smithís latest romantic-comedy, Hitch, asserts that men are simple-minded, oafish, accident-prone, not nearly as smart as women, and freaking adorable! Why Hitch borrows its foundation from the numerous daytime commercials where men fail to properly use cleaning supplies, Iím not sure, but at least Will Smith is allowed to be charming without packing a machine gun, laser, or explosive device.

Smith plays Alex ĎHitchí Hitchens, whose career is to assist helpless males catch the women of their dreams. No mention of his salary is made, but judging by his fancy, upscale apartment, heís making a first-rate living. Hitch works through referrals only and is not interested in helping guys achieve one-night stands. Instead, he creates situations in which women can see past his male clientsí goofy, obtuse exteriors and glimpse the sweet, romantic, gooey mess that lies inside them. Despite his vocation, however, Hitch is jaded about his own love life and chooses not to get attached.

Problems arise when Hitch flips for gossip columnist, Sara (Eva Mendes attempting to channel the ghost of Jean Arthur). Sara is smart as a whip and is just as jaded about her own personal relationships. To further complicate matters, Sara is trying to get the scoop on Allegra Cole (Amber Valletta), the celebrity that Hitchís newest client is trying to date. With so much going on, itís no wonder that when Hitch is around Sara, he loses his cool and turns into Jim Varney.

Will Hitch and Sara hook up? Will Sara discover what Hitch does for a living, and will she accept him for who he is? Will Hitch be able to help his newest doughy-boy client Albert (Kevin James) get together with the luscious Allegra Cole? Will they all live happily ever after? If youíve ever seen a romantic comedy before, you know the answers to all these questions.

The film is enchanting when Hitch is doing his job. Will Smith is captivating when heís acting as a confidant and giving sage advice to hapless men. We can all relate to how frustrating the ambiguities of dating can be, and we all wish we had a self-assured friend like Will Smith guiding us through the process.

Itís a shame that the romantic interludes donít offer the same delight. Director Andy Tennant proved he had no inkling about how to do a romantic scene in Anna and the King, and together with writer Kevin Bisch, they create amorous moments that have the same effectiveness as old episodes of The Love Boat. The audience is forced to patiently wade through these scenes to get to the more likable male bonding.

Itís ironic, isnít it, that the strongest romantic chemistry in the movie is between Kevin James and Will Smith? They are charming, flirtatious, and share genuine feelings for each other. Perhaps a braver screenplay would have had these two dump their boring girlfriends, move to Vermont and get married. Too bad. Instead, Hitch ends with a drawn-out ending that will make you long for the credits.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=11675&reviewer=396
originally posted: 02/14/05 12:35:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/04/14 Jamie Love this movie, fun and feel good, but what's with this review? 5 stars
2/26/14 Monday Morning Pretty good, but maybe 20 minutes too long. 3 stars
2/04/14 kfdaqisbmhl USA 4 stars
2/04/14 fqbdlnmdjpg USA 2 stars
11/13/13 nfsrydu USA 4 stars
11/08/13 ryonqanxsdl USA 4 stars
3/19/10 PAUL SHORTT LONG-WINDED, FAR FETCHED AND UNAMUSING DESPITE ITS WARM HEARTED PERFORMANCES 2 stars
10/23/09 Rachel Laughed until I cried with this movie. Definitely worth a look. 4 stars
5/07/09 true Love Smith, hate when a director ruins a movie trying to make it "different" 1 stars
12/01/08 Shaun Wallner Well made. 3 stars
4/07/08 pineapple Didn't like it so much. I don't see why everyone has such high ratings. 1 stars
9/14/07 Tracy very funny movie, loved Will in this. 5 stars
12/15/06 Stanley Thai A good, funny comedy. It's a bit too long, I think... 3 stars
4/03/06 robbo once it settled down brilliant 5 stars
2/27/06 Steven Lewis An O.k. romantic comedy from action star will smith 3 stars
2/07/06 Anthony It was funny and good 4 stars
1/16/06 Frank Rountree Not bad, good story, and a good job by all the actors and actresses 3 stars
1/05/06 Barry Too bad the heroine is such an unethical bitch. 2 stars
1/02/06 Ry Also better than I though, good movie 5 stars
10/17/05 Josh Hitch rocked my socks off! 5 stars
9/22/05 Indrid Cold All I know is that I lauged a lot more than at "The 40 Year Old Virgin." 4 stars
9/13/05 bbbr funny and worth watching 5 stars
8/26/05 Brian Wilshire Funny, insightful script helps likeable stars present a film to recommend to everybody. 5 stars
8/13/05 ES Better than I thought it'd be= good for a date 4 stars
7/29/05 Nobody I thought it would be just another chick flick, but it's actually pretty funny 4 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Apathy thy name is Hitch. 2 stars
7/14/05 Matthew Rudawsky Cute, but veeery predictable. A few nice ideas and mostly good acting. Worth a look... once 4 stars
7/04/05 Steven shit,fell asleep till the last 5 mniutes 1 stars
6/19/05 Brian It was pretty stupid, but Kevin James was funny as hell. 2 stars
6/17/05 ELI It was cute, just the ending wedding was REALLY retarded.... 4 stars
3/24/05 Kathy terPlugg Ridiculous stock characters, cliched situations. Groan!!!!! 1 stars
3/21/05 R.C.F. Kevin James saved most comedy-factor that's missing here overall, too slow towards the end 4 stars
3/14/05 Rebecca Great movie, had me in hysterics 5 stars
3/06/05 I.P.Freely Great!!! 5 stars
3/05/05 Leesha Lots of laughs amid the sappy (yet enjoyable) love stories. 4 stars
3/03/05 jeff funny but not that funny. kinda slow. 3 stars
3/03/05 HORAN THE MAN!!!!! EHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!! 5 stars
2/28/05 Jim Amiable fluff 3 stars
2/27/05 Gray wow a black guy teachs a white guy how to be cool how original 1 stars
2/25/05 L.G. Best Romantic Comedy Ever, it's a Pick Me Up, Loved it, Great Cast and Script 5 stars
2/24/05 Mary JD Great movie... had me laughing most of the time! would recommend 5 stars
2/20/05 Jennifer Tower LOVED IT!! So cute! 5 stars
2/20/05 Steve Michaud Engaging, entertaining, and funny; for once, a romantic comedy done right 4 stars
2/19/05 Denise Duspiva funny 3 stars
2/18/05 Eileen Lammers I laughed all the way through this one! It is a joy! 5 stars
2/18/05 Fahad Pinto It was ok, not the best, but not bad either. 3 stars
2/15/05 Obi Wan Great Job by Will Smith! Very funny and definately a great date movie! 5 stars
2/14/05 Will Smith Aw, hell no! 1 stars
2/14/05 Kristina Williams when will people see that he acts the same in EVERY movie? Dammit. 1 stars
2/12/05 Kenneth Flickstein Will Smith shows off well in this chick flick for guys. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Feb-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Mar-2005


Directed by
  Andy Tennant

Written by
  Kevin Bisch

Cast
  Will Smith
  Eva Mendes
  Kevin James
  Michael Rapaport
  Adam Arkin
  Amber Valletta



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast