More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.42

Awesome70.78%
Worth A Look: 16.23%
Average: 3.9%
Pretty Bad: 1.95%
Total Crap: 7.14%

3 reviews, 136 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Stand By Me
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"I ran all the way home..."
5 stars

Walking talking Jesus!

The absolute best Stephen King adaptation ever. Unless, of course, Apt Pupil kicks ass.

But this is not really a horror story like most King novels. Based on the novella "The Body" from King's Different Seasons (which also gave us The Shawshank Redemption and the upcoming Apt Pupil), it's the story of four friends and the first time they really saw a dead body. It's a buddy movie, a road trip movie, and a coming of age story all rolled into one. Plus you've got a youthful cast that works well together.

It's not really about finding that dead body, though, is it? No. It's the trip they take, the journey, that's the story. There are things that happen to them along the way, little asides and stories that make the movie great (the barfing scene is arguably the funniest of the last several years), and when they do finally see that body, their lives change. Instantly.

This is the best movie Rob Reiner ever made (and Corey Feldman, Wil Wheaton, River Phoenix and Jerry O'Connnell ever appeared in, for that matter).

If you haven't seen it, you're missing out.

If I could only have one food for the rest of my life? That's easy. Cherry Pez. Cherry flavor Pez. There's no doubt about it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1168&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/20/98 00:59:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/26/16 Ken Chef ADogg is a stupid cocksucker who doesn't know jack shit about great movies! 5 stars
9/04/15 David Hollingsworth A timeless coming-of-age classic that never ages. 5 stars
4/08/15 LadyBakon Great movie! 5 stars
4/17/11 mr.mike Very good , if somewhat overrated. 4 stars
10/08/10 Carlyy Good old movie, funny and good story line i enjoyed it 4 stars
9/29/10 hannah amazing 5 stars
4/20/10 PAUL SHORTT EFFECTIVE, AFFECTIONATE AND WELL ACTED 3 stars
3/28/10 abawl A movie worthing watching once a while 5 stars
3/19/10 Jamb i love this film 5 stars
11/03/09 Brayden Jackson excellent film. Watched it years ago and still enjoy it now. 5 stars
4/09/09 Dane Youssef One of the greatest of all time. Beautiful American coming-of-age story about all of life. 5 stars
3/10/09 brian Not many things make me wish I were 12 years old again. This one comes close. 5 stars
12/04/08 Shaun Wallner Great story! 5 stars
7/25/08 Jessica it is a great movie 5 stars
5/08/08 mad scone fukin animal 4 stars
5/07/08 Tammy i love chris!!!!!!!! river is sooooo hot! 4 stars
5/05/08 Tyler this movie is excellent i watched it in english at school now im doing a review on it. 5 stars
3/05/08 katie honestly, the people who are saying this movie "sucks" can't even spell right. 4 stars
2/11/08 joel A fantastic movie- Loved every second of it- very moving 5 stars
9/20/07 ana gomez freakin awsome 5 stars
8/22/07 PIXIEDAWG AWESAME FILM, WANNA SEE IT AGAIN 5 stars
6/15/07 megan innocent ace n sad n i think chris i fit 5 stars
5/29/07 Hugh What a fantastic film! Really effected me, makes you realise the important things in life. 5 stars
5/22/07 Stephan The film is great and shows real friendship.We worked on it in school. 4 stars
5/10/07 Sian Omg, river phoenix is soooo hot! I cant belive hes dead! 5 stars
5/03/07 Iris the Clever It's a great movie... i liked it... the first 100 times my english teacher played it... 4 stars
5/01/07 sik of homwork y does evry1 haf 2 wach it in eng? its a decent movy so wats it doin ? 4 stars
3/14/07 Quigley Great story with great acting from the pre-teen gang. The leech scene will haunt me 5 stars
3/11/07 Faz it is a MADASS MOVIE cause i had 2 watch it 4 english and man i thin chris is HOT! 5 stars
3/07/07 Fresh Prince Verns a fat idiot wich makes it a good movie 4 stars
3/05/07 www.bchere.piczo.com one the broingest movie ever, i was forced to by it by my eng teach who lik to c me suffer 1 stars
3/05/07 action movie fan so so story quite dull not good period recreation 2 stars
2/03/07 rah its ma fave movie best movie eva 5 stars
2/02/07 William Goss Reputation aside, whiny canned nostalgia that so very rarely rings true. 2 stars
2/02/07 KEEFA mint as anythin, dnt dis it u plebs!! 5 stars
1/03/07 Lucy a really amazing movie. 4 stars
12/06/06 David Pollastrini very faithful adaptation 5 stars
12/04/06 dog head i think the movie is good 4 stars
10/27/06 naomi hosking most amazing, moving film.River you are soo beatiful 5 stars
10/16/06 Jennifer stand by me was real funny and great 4 stars
8/02/06 steven taylor painfully unfunny 1 stars
7/29/06 Lizzie none 2 stars
1/09/06 olivia brillant and intriging film really sucks you in 5 stars
1/08/06 Gerry Dunne Based on the S King book which gave us The Shawshank Redemption. 2 brill movies from 1 book 5 stars
12/21/05 John Dog I agree. It's one of the best movies ever created. 5 stars
12/19/05 Irene FUK OFF TO WHOEVER THINK IT SUX!! -> *STAND BY ME* is DA BEST MOVIE EVER !!! 5 stars
11/21/05 Intensive Care Stand by Me is an awesome movie (River is soooo hot!!) 5 stars
9/06/05 keara franklin the best film i've ever seen. it changed my life,so did you river 5 stars
8/29/05 Kenneth Clark Watch it if you've got nothin' better to do on Saturday afternoon 3 stars
8/05/05 james i dont know 5 stars
8/01/05 Danny One of my all time favs. 5 stars
6/23/05 mr arch a bit load of balls 1 stars
6/22/05 emma cool beans 5 stars
6/17/05 Manu Ginobli patty this movie doesn't suck a huge cock, you do. 5 stars
3/05/05 patty jenkins IT SUX HUGE COCK 1 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig One of the best retro-boys life movies ever 4 stars
2/09/05 New England Patriots = Dynasty Best film of the 1980's 5 stars
2/07/05 Jeff Anderson Good cast & well directed by Rob Reiner, but film doesn't live to the book. A GOOD TRY!!!!! 3 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules The best Steven King movie 5 stars
1/18/05 ROGER BROUGHTON LOVED THIS MOVIE, HAVE SEEN IT AT LEAST A DOZEND TIME 5 stars
12/01/04 richard betts nice nice nice 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey yes. 5 stars
11/12/04 silent bob one of the greatest movies i have ever seen, a true classic 5 stars
11/09/04 Tayler Gordon Loved It!!! 5 stars
10/08/04 -=spongebob=- i film that makes you want to be 12 again 5 stars
10/01/04 River Phoenix Matt Elwell of Dawlish smellz 5 stars
9/28/04 Butter G IF YOU HATE THIS MOVIE, YOU JUST SHOULD GO TO HELL.U DONT GOT A HEART IF YOU DONT LIKE THIS 5 stars
7/14/04 Meghan Hating this moive is like hating air! You cant live without it! It's the best movie ever!! 5 stars
5/18/04 Brammie U gotta c this movie!!! they're all SO hot! soundtrax cool and the actings even better! 5 stars
5/03/04 carlos eduardo muñoz !!es la mejor pelicula de la historia!!.... 5 stars
2/02/04 Gabriela One of the most beautiful movies I´ve ever seen. 5 stars
1/24/04 Elena The ORIGINAL coming of age story. It will make you cry with its seething realism 5 stars
11/05/03 American Slasher Goddess A moving touching drama. 5 stars
10/12/03 Darryl Anyone who can't find something worthwhile here truly doesn't have any feelings! 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese something about it, i cant put my finger on it. 3 stars
2/18/03 Mr Hand a truly great guy movie 5 stars
11/23/02 Kyle Nothing not to like about this. Awsome. 5 stars
11/01/02 Kate It's great, watch it!! 5 stars
10/18/02 Charles Tatum Finally, an overrated director does an underrated writer good 5 stars
9/26/02 movie guy THE BEST MOVIE 5 stars
9/03/02 P.Rodriguez 2nd best movie ever 5 stars
4/24/02 Shawna This is my favorite movie in the whole world. I just watch it over and over again.I LOVE IT 5 stars
4/15/02 Madelina Definetely worth all the fuss... from boyhood to manhood! 4 stars
3/17/02 titansuga This is an alright movie with a really not hard to get message 4 stars
3/10/02 Rebecca The cast was great, mainly river :( 5 stars
2/26/02 K y L e Never - ever - will get old. 5 stars
2/05/02 Andrew Carden It Was OK...It Really Had No Realistic Substance. 3 stars
1/28/02 Del Whoever said this movie stinks is full of it 5 stars
1/15/02 Chris Delehanty great film 4 stars
8/22/01 Tree If a 15-year-old movie is still right up there as one of the best ... it's worth seeing. 5 stars
8/21/01 P.Rodriguez Come On Chopper Seek Ball. God They Don't make em like this any more. 5 stars
8/18/01 Nikki A classic ... my favorite movie - shows us what we lost when River Phoenix passed away. 5 stars
8/04/01 Shelly Abid this was the cuteset movie worth seeing a couple times 5 stars
7/10/01 M Classic 5 stars
6/09/01 R.W. Welch Effective boyhood nostalgia piece with above par writing. 4 stars
5/06/01 Big Nasty AWESOME!!!!!!!! Greatest Film ever, the language could have been better,but still good. 5 stars
3/15/01 Richard Wright Very watchable and has moving passages but was all the swearing really necessary?! 4 stars
3/01/01 Dave P This guy chefadogg doesn't know what he is talking about. Stand By Me is a great movie 5 stars
2/17/01 jezabell boring, but meaningfull, has modernday potential 3 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi This movie is one reason I let Hollywood live. Maybe it can be equalled someday. 5 stars
1/14/01 Avenger Girl Nothing much wrong with this movie.Superb viewing 5 stars
12/15/00 Gadi Glogowski A Must See Movie 5 stars
12/05/00 MCAT0072M It was great one of the best movies I have ever seen if not the best. 5 stars
11/02/00 kelly scott The best movie i've ever seen. This is on par with The Lost Boys. 5 stars
10/31/00 Jacky Mackenzie I think that is the best movie I have ever seen 5 stars
10/05/00 Philip Maunders The Greatest film of the 80's 5 stars
9/13/00 Matthew Bartley What a shocker that Adog didn't like it. He wouldn't know a good film if it was up his ass 5 stars
6/13/00 Bender Outstanding mix of Comedy and Drama the ending is very touching. 5 stars
5/07/00 Ashley I love this movie!! 5 stars
3/18/00 Jeremy This is my favorite movie ever. I make it a point to watch it once a month 5 stars
3/17/00 sarah forte kick ass movie - River rules 5 stars
3/13/00 Jessica I thought it was really good. corey was hot 4 stars
2/22/00 gillian prior If you've never seen it, you're missing out! 5 stars
2/14/00 Sam Cholico enjoyed the movie, it brought back many memories, very nostalgic 5 stars
12/04/99 PervertedPixie Sentimental and nostalgic, but uttery lovable. Phoenix is so pure. 5 stars
11/22/99 Dave A real classic 5 stars
11/05/99 Anthony Ellis A truly memorable and moving film. 5 stars
11/01/99 Tony Chef ADogg is an idiot who doesn't know shit! 5 stars
10/31/99 diva j This is by far one of my favorite movies of all times. 5 stars
10/06/99 sophia962 proving yet again that Stephen King is the greatest writer since Shakespeare. 5 stars
9/24/99 Courtney Harman I thought it was pretty good 4 stars
9/23/99 Philip Aaron Rogers It's a great movie, and it's quite moving. 4 stars
9/22/99 Peter One of the greatest movies 5 stars
9/05/99 Eliza I watched "Stand By Me" every day for a month once and I still wasn't tired of it. Love it! 5 stars
7/27/99 emperor great adaptation 4 stars
7/24/99 fakeplasticpsycho fantastic 5 stars
7/15/99 Chef ADogg "Nowhere" is the ultimate coming of age drama, J-Dogg. 1 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg The ultimate coming of age drama, this one never gets old. 4 stars
5/10/99 Beachlovr9 Very good flick 5 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam Save Ferris. Fun movie 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson The barf is cool. 4 stars
3/30/99 H33eather sweet story 4 stars
3/10/99 Go Swans King's Different Season films are the best. Here's hoping for Apt Pupil (his best story) 5 stars
2/20/99 Piz I agree, boyish comraderie makes for some good films. 5 stars
10/19/98 {{{OZ}}} Vern ruled all hell. This was a great movie. Coming of age classic. 5 stars
10/19/98 Roxy A good warm film, best in a while. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1986 (R)
  DVD: 22-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1987 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast