More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.29

Awesome58.73%
Worth A Look: 23.81%
Average: 9.52%
Pretty Bad: 3.17%
Total Crap: 4.76%

1 review, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Day, A by Jay Seaver

Pork Pie by Jay Seaver

Stronger by Peter Sobczynski

Battle of the Sexes by Peter Sobczynski

Simran by Jay Seaver

Leatherface (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers by Jay Seaver

Abracadabra by Jay Seaver

Dead Shack by Jay Seaver

Lowlife (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Gremlins
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by 2Proud2Beg

"'A classic that no one has matched yet...'"
5 stars

Coming to this site as a new reviewer, I could not believe that this movie had not been reviewed yet! I remember the first time I saw this movie as clearly as the last - and I STILL love it just the same...

What happened to all of the classics? Growing up as a kid of the late 70's - early 80's, I fell in love with the movies of that time. I'm sure everyone remembers these classics - Poltergeist, ET, Empire Strikes Back, Something Wicked This Way Comes, Goonies, and OF COURSE, GREMLINS.

Now, for me, GREMLINS is the one I keep coming back to for more. I remember how shocked I was - how thrilled - the first time I watched that movie with my dad. It was gross, funny, disgusting, and engrossing. All at once. I had never seen such a thing before. I could sit and watch this movie with my family (although I would not recommend it for ages under 8), and be entertained. And my DAD was entertained. And now, at the ripe-old age of 25, it STILL entertains me.

Now, Joe Dante tried to recreate the magic in GREMLINS 2. And although I still loved that one, it wasn't anywhere near the level of the first movie. And Small Soldiers was the same way - elements of GREMLINS galore - but no where near the quality or uniqueness of that film.

Nowadays, it seems that studios are more intersted in trying to make it TOO gross (R Ratings material), or they feel the need to dumb it down for the "kids". Now, these movies were not "DUMBED" down for me. Goonies wasn't dumbed down so that I could understand/enjoy it. Raiders of the Lost Ark wasn't dumbed down. Even Something Wicked This Way Comes (which is SHOCKING to know that it was a DISNEY film) has a seriously dark overtone for it's time - and still does.

All in all, this is one of my favorite movies from the 80's. Highly entertaining, highly addictive. I can't wait for my DVD to arrive...The VHS tape is getting a little scratchy...

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1169&reviewer=161
originally posted: 09/24/99 08:40:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2016 Boston SciFi Film Festival For more in the 2016 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/07/14 David Hollingsworth Joe Dante knows how to make a classic horror comedy 5 stars
12/11/12 Nellie I prefer 'The Burbs' to this. 1 stars
9/28/12 roscoe good, but toom too long to get going. The gremlins could've been used more. 4 stars
2/20/10 PAUL SHORTT JUVENILE, VIOLENT AND NASTY 2 stars
9/20/09 Barry Numpton I thought Ewoks multiplied in water... they all drowned. 1 stars
1/15/09 Anonymous. stupid. and fun. but i wouldn't consider it a "classic." 3 stars
11/14/07 Kyle L This movie still holds up, I love suburban adventures and this one is tops! 5 stars
7/04/07 Bob loves to lick nob All the gruesome stuff the PG rating was a joke. Still it is pretty good. 4 stars
3/20/07 Vip Ebriega Belongs to the 100 best films of all time 5 stars
2/25/07 AJ Muller Great fun; scared the HELL out of me as a kid, and I loved every second of it. 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Another good cult classic 4 stars
3/10/06 Dk On a fun o meter of 0 to 10 this is easily a 12. 5 stars
12/03/05 cr a good movie and it was scary was child, get out my kitchen 4 stars
8/19/05 Darkhawkvers2 I liked this movie, Stripes was the BEST leader 4 stars
2/07/05 Jeff Anderson Look, I like Joe Dante & his films(I ALWAYS HAVE), but this film is beneath him. 2's BETTER 2 stars
12/02/04 Green Gremlin Heaps of fun !!! 5 stars
11/12/04 gizmo fan i think billy is so cute!!! gizmo is gorgeous! 5 stars
8/14/04 N.P.D. Better than the sequel (no surprise there). 4 stars
7/28/04 DM A whole lot of fun 4 stars
7/08/04 John one of the quintessential 80's movies - fun! 5 stars
6/22/04 American Slasher Goddess A truely unique movie and a great horror comedy. 5 stars
1/17/04 J Gremlins is one the best horror-comedies ever! 5 stars
7/25/03 AD love this since i was 4 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice You just gotta love it !!! 5 stars
5/17/03 Turtle A great horror/comedy combo. A true classic! 5 stars
4/13/03 Mr. Do Yeah, fun and scary at the same time 5 stars
3/24/03 Spiderfan729 Easily makes my top 15; Some reason, no one else seems to like it... I love it! 5 stars
1/01/03 Jim Horror/black comedy is MUCH darker than the sequel 5 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Scariest Xmas flick since "Black Christmas" 5 stars
9/26/02 Morally Sound Remember . . . There just might be a Gremlin in your house! 5 stars
8/26/02 Film Dude A movie you have to see as a kid to fully appreciate 5 stars
4/28/02 R.W. Welch Mildly entertaining and not entirely witless critter show. Moves well. 3 stars
1/02/02 zoochwal Not as good as I remembered. The DVD has very little extra except trailers. My 3 kids hated 3 stars
11/13/01 Crystal Genovese It was pretty good, but I wouldn't let my kids watch it. 3 stars
9/18/01 Tim I think that this is one of the greatest movies of all time!! 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Childhood fave...still cool after all these years. 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg funny plot 4 stars
4/13/01 Andrew Carden Gremlins was king of disappointing. Extremly confusing most of it. 3 stars
4/10/01 mariessa awesome 5 stars
3/15/01 Richard Wright Amusing hybrid of horror and comedy that wears it's welcome out by the end. 3 stars
12/26/00 Turtle Scary, funny, and completely uncontrollable! A definite classic! 5 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin not as good as its sequel, but good 4 stars
11/04/00 Jed Not really scary but what is. Before Pokemon T.F.M this is the only "Great" monster movie. 5 stars
9/13/00 Matthew Bartley Shows why CGI will never equal puppetry and imagination 5 stars
4/24/00 Thor-Leo A classic, utterly hilarious 5 stars
3/12/00 maanst muffins 5 stars
1/31/00 Gremlin Fucker Gremlins fucked my goat!! 5 stars
12/31/99 shawn-marie This is an all time best movie ever! 5 stars
11/29/99 Crystal Fleming Fun movie 5 stars
10/27/99 Rebecca Morse First dirve-in movie-scared the shit out of me, but I still like it 4 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan It has had a warm corner in my heart since my childhood. I love it. 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Too violent for the little ones, but it's a guilty pleasure. 4 stars
4/20/99 jimmy jam I hate this fuckin' movie... 1 stars
3/17/99 Go Swans Could be the greatest Christmas film ever. I'm not kidding. 4 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob A Christmas Card from your Uncle at the asylum. Pop reference city! 4 stars
10/20/98 J-Guy scared the piss out of me when I was little, it wasnt THAT great, though. decent. 4 stars
10/20/98 {{{OZ}}} Whatever happened to Zach Galligan? This ruled. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1984 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1985 (PG)


Directed by
  Joe Dante

Written by
  Chris Columbus

Cast
  Zach Galligan
  John Louie
  Phoebe Cates
  Hoyt Aton
  Corey Feldman
  Judge Rheinhold



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast