More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.79

Awesome: 18.57%
Worth A Look: 8.57%
Average: 17.14%
Pretty Bad44.29%
Total Crap: 11.43%

4 reviews, 46 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Four Rooms
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"And finally there's me, walking out the door, right fucking now."
2 stars

Has there ever been a bigger waste of time and talent?

Let's jump in headfirst. Each Room (from the title) is a short film directed by a different director with it's own little story. They are all strung together by a single character, Ted the Bellhop (Tim Roth).

Right here is my first problem.

I normally like Tim Roth. But from the moment I saw him, and knew the direction he was taking the character, I started to loathe him. He plays Ted as a sort of Keaton/Chaplin/Lewis hybrid. He's mugging, doing doubletakes, and reduced to stupid reaction shots. It doesn't work.

The first two of the segments don't work. The first ("The Missing Ingredient") is directed by Alison Anders (Gas Food Lodging) and features Lili Taylor, Madonna, Valeria Golino, and Ione Skye as witches trying to revive a long dead witch. Right. A little bit of nudity (although to be honest, the only person who should see Ione Skye naked would be Lloyd Dobler) would be the only thing to keep a viewer interested. Too bad Anders can't frame an of her shots worth a damn. Fast forward city.

Second Segment comes from director Alexandre Rockwell (In The Soup) and features Jennifer Beals. High point is Beals rattling off the countless slang terms for dick.

Third segment: Paydirt. Robert Rodriguez brings us "The Misbehavers," the best of the four stories. Ted is stuck babysitting the two little hellraisers of Antonio Banderas and Tamyln Tomita. Funny stuff.

The last segment ("The Man From Hollywood") immediately loses points because writer/director Tarantino acts here, too. Ack. Unbilled Bruce Willis cameo. It's basically your vintage Tarantino, all about rapid fire dialogue and pop culture references that he'll drive into the ground. It's not bad, but not as good as Rodriguez's effort before it.

So let's review: Tim Roth, Diane Court's breasts, Jennifer Beals, Tarantino acting...bad. Robert Rodriguez...good.

Mixed bag, this movie here, but the final two segments can't salvage the sinkers that the first two make it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1175&reviewer=7
originally posted: 03/11/99 15:50:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/22/13 PAUL SHORTT A GIMMICK OF A COMEDY 1 stars
1/29/13 TAYLOR Dafuq I just watch? 4 stars
12/16/09 matt Tim Roth is the new Peter Sellers... who knew? uneven but enjoyable 4 stars
11/26/08 Leo T Worst Madona film ever...and thats sayin somethin !! 1 stars
5/05/07 Eddie First time here on your site. I am delighted to find your wonderful website online. Would y 5 stars
4/26/07 Sharon I just want to say thank you for taking the time & effort for put this web page together! P 1 stars
2/10/07 Coleman One of the best locations I've come across lately!!! Definately a permanent bookmark! Pleas 1 stars
2/10/07 Marsha I just want to say thank you for taking the time & effort for put this web page together! V 5 stars
1/30/07 Katrina I just want to say thank you for taking the time & effort for put this web page together! P 3 stars
1/29/07 Chuck I really enjoyed this page. I will be linking and I will be trying to read and research all 2 stars
1/26/07 Betty One of the best locations I've come across lately!!! Definately a permanent bookmark! Pleas 3 stars
11/30/06 Joe Great looking site so far!! I'm just starting to look around it but I love the title page! 2 stars
10/29/06 G.A Clements All four was funny and had a good time watching. 5 stars
7/11/06 David Cohen Four pretentious directors try to "out-art" each other, the winner, nobody 2 stars
5/25/06 Jeff Anderson Just okay & not as bad as the critics say. The Robert Rodriguez segment is the best. 3 stars
8/06/05 Zack Three great directors! Three great short films! Hilarious comedy! 5 stars
5/30/05 D ROX PRODUCTIONS AN AMAZING COMEDY 5 stars
1/19/05 nappyjonz constistantly sub-par 2 stars
1/18/05 tatum Very disappointing 2 stars
7/02/03 James Stephens A continental breakfast of flick-dom...Four Rooms, and no coffee. 2 stars
5/21/03 y2mckay Room 1 saved only by Ione Skye's rack, Room 2 sucked, but Rooms 3 & 4 were great. 3 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Only Banderas and Roth manage to shine. 1 stars
7/02/02 Danielle Ophelia Guilty pleasure at best. Aims for hip & quirky...but lands on uncomfortably silly. 2 stars
4/18/02 selim the conqueror love tim roth but films been a waste of talent n money.worth a look if ya like badmovies 4 stars
4/02/02 El Talboto Tim Roth was cast perfectly, the music was excellent and I left with a good feeling. 5 stars
10/01/01 Mike I laughed-what more does one want from a comedy? 4 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk This movie fucking sucks. I am most bitter when let-down by masters of the craft. 1 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Quentin Tarantino's last 20 minutes are simply the best minutes. 3 stars
5/08/01 Evil Overlord Rodriguez bit is great. Rest sucks, and the finale was NICKED from Tales of The Unexpected! 2 stars
3/25/01 Eric Quite funny but the premiss hardley holds it together. watch it like 4 short films!!! 5 stars
2/01/01 jordan why do people like this? 2 stars
10/31/00 Terrie Smith Sorry but this is the one of the worst pieces of filmmaking I've seen in years. Painful. 2 stars
4/15/00 malcolm Don't misbehave! 5 stars
1/18/00 Foxdvd This movie is under-rated. It is not a deep movie on purpose 5 stars
12/04/99 PervertedPixie I found it just derangedly funny! then again I always had a sick sense of humour... 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg JUST PLAIN EMBARRASSING, HAMMY SHIT! What are all these talents doing here? 1 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Under-rated. 4 stars
5/03/99 The Bomb 69 First two sucked, last two rocked!!! 3 stars
4/28/99 the DUDE This movie was so fucking funny-Every room was great-last two I laughed so hard. 5 stars
3/03/99 two-squirt jerk the third part was so funny it almost made me cum the rest was so-so 4 stars
1/12/99 demon_shredder First half sucked hard but the second half was fucking awesome. 5 stars
11/24/98 Fred Why does nobody else like this fuckin movie???? 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce I'd rent this just to keep Jennifer Beals in gainful employment. We owe it to her. 1 stars
10/26/98 Brian Admittedly bad,I wanted to like it.Rodriguez and Tarantino turn in decent,if subpar efforts 2 stars
10/23/98 Negative Creep Rent this, Fast Fwd to the Last room. Tape that and put it in your Tarantino Collection ;) 2 stars
10/20/98 Johny The first two bits are awful, last two can't save it 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1995 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1996 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast