More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.31

Awesome64.08%
Worth A Look: 19.42%
Average: 2.91%
Pretty Bad: 10.68%
Total Crap: 2.91%

4 reviews, 79 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Crazy Rich Asians by Peter Sobczynski

Meg, The by Jay Seaver

Island, The (2018) by Jay Seaver

Summer of '84 by Jay Seaver

BlacKkKlansman by Peter Sobczynski

Along with the Gods: The Last 49 Days by Jay Seaver

Along with the Gods: The Two Worlds by Jay Seaver

Mission: Impossible - Fallout by Jay Seaver

Stripped to Kill 2: Live Girls by Jack Sommersby

Ready Player One by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


True Romance
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Bluntman

"It'll make your day a 'white boy day'!"
4 stars

Watch out Bryan and Walt-

This is what happens when you work one too many hours at THE STASH!

Christan Slater plays screenwriter Quentin Tarantino's alter-ego Clarence, a comic store clerk who falls for a hooker named Alabama (Patricia Arquette) and then finds himself in a whole shit load of trouble. Gary Oldman plays Alabama's pimp, a white guy who thinks he's black. (Is Quentin sure that the pimp isn't his alter-ego?) The pimp kicks Clarence's ass and spits out lines during the beating like "He musta thought it was 'white boy day'". But Clarence comes to and kills the pimp and then accidentally steals a suitcase full of cocaine that belongs to a mobster (Christopher Walken) and splits town with Alabama.

This movie is a spoof of all the "cops and couples" movies, such as BONNIE AND CLYDE. It's a lot of fun, mainly because the actors seem to be having a blast. Brad Pitt has a brief cameo playing what appears to be the 'love child' of Jay and Silent Bob (he looks like Jay, but speaks like Bob).

This movie won't change your life, but it'll make your day a 'white boy day'!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1176&reviewer=45
originally posted: 10/20/98 12:44:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: ActionFest 2012 For more in the ActionFest 2012 series, click here.

User Comments

2/21/17 morris campbell great cast dull movie 2 stars
4/08/16 David Hollingsworth One of the most violent but awesome films of the 1990's! 5 stars
1/17/10 Dane Youssef Tarantino's most personal little flick. Worth seeing at least once in your lifetime. 4 stars
4/06/09 matt brad pitt smoking weed out of a honey jar. 5 stars
9/21/08 action movie fan exciting tense stand off thrill ride-very good 4 stars
5/18/08 jm Christian slater was crappy. Drexel stole the show,joel silver was hillarious 4 stars
11/26/07 reddye5 This is a great film. The above review does not do the film justice! 4 stars
10/08/07 KNurse one of the best movies ever made 5 stars
5/01/07 travis Easily one of the 5 best movies of the 90's 5 stars
12/30/06 AJ Muller Lucky enuf to see in theaters; ain't the best flick I ever seen, but damn sure my favorite. 5 stars
10/20/06 MP Bartley Too much cute 'look-at-me!' dialogue - but Scott keeps it charging along nicely. 4 stars
10/07/06 Ashley The best movie I have ever watched...it's a mix of drama, action, thriller, and romance 5 stars
12/10/05 havthat This is my favorite movie of ALL TIME, bar none. 5 stars
10/10/05 Monday Morning Bob, Lord of Evil, hits it right on the head. 5 stars
8/30/05 ES Likable with surprising appearances, a star studded romp that doesn't stink 4 stars
7/07/05 Isaac Baranoff Cool as hell! 5 stars
6/28/05 ed cool 5 stars
6/12/05 Hack-SAW Not too bad but, not the best I've seen... 4 stars
5/13/05 Jennifer Regan Great movie, definitelly worth watching 5 stars
2/13/05 Matt Fekete Greatest Love Story. ;-) 5 stars
1/24/05 Jeff Anderson This is one brilliantly directed, and awesomely written(QT's a genius)film! GREAT CAST!!!!! 5 stars
11/19/04 psycho black dwarf doesn't over-rely on its violence or love story - the dialogue stands out most! 4 stars
10/15/04 The Bride I'd fuck Elvis... Pure gold!!!! 5 stars
7/23/04 satanius It's best love story i've ever seen on film.And it's full of violence.Great match. 5 stars
7/15/04 Mike My fave film of all time 5 stars
1/22/04 Plop Rather crap. Offensive, dumb script, muddled plot and violence glorification galore. 2 stars
11/29/03 john great script and great cast - 5 stars
11/16/03 Cameron Slick I love this this movie, it's such a deep romantic action film. 5 stars
11/01/03 I Would This is not cool 3 stars
9/01/03 yhbnjh great 5 stars
8/19/03 AD sucked 2 stars
6/19/03 Vince Good shit, the Walken/Hopper scene takes the cake. 5 stars
5/13/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'fos!!!) 90% of the kudos goes to QT for his fucking great script. 5 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby More square than hip. Blandly plotted and not nearly as clever as it thinks it is. 2 stars
3/11/03 Tommy Linds Another great movie from Tarrantino. A great cast. A great story. Need I say anymore? 5 stars
1/14/03 Nancy Niedzielski Gary! 5 stars
11/14/02 Alex Harland An excellent range of actors! One of Tarrantino's finest! 5 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum This stuck with me like Chinese food 3 stars
9/04/02 Joe Zappa QT's brain has imploded with clips from his favorite movies, and it's actually really cool. 4 stars
9/02/02 movie guy GREAT 5 stars
7/27/02 sdjfsdkjf That ending didn't feel like Tarantino. They should have left Clarance dead. Loved Walken. 4 stars
4/15/02 hannah brill film gota watch it now 5 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Extremely violent and lots of fun........Patricia Arquette is gorgeous. 5 stars
1/11/02 Iain Anglin It's better to have a gun and not need it, than to need a gun and not have it. Great Movie 5 stars
12/09/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) The mayhem is okay sometimes, but it's mostly just cheesy as fuck. 2 stars
11/29/01 KMG Yawwnnnn 1 stars
10/09/01 jawsboy stupid shit, but also really fun and entertaining shit. Excellent performances from all. 4 stars
7/27/01 TLsmooth Great story and cast. If you don't like it, eat a dick. 5 stars
7/12/01 jacqui rollicking adventure killed by tiresome drug bust; charming leads; hopper/walken r perfect 4 stars
5/15/01 Brian It's just completely badass. 5 stars
5/04/01 ChiefAlDog egg. egg. egg. 5 stars
2/16/01 Michael Nicholls Sexually charged love story with lots of flying bullets 5 stars
11/09/00 penelope awesome movie 5 stars
7/16/00 Vinnie Vic Vega The only normal guy is played by Dennis Hopper. 'Nuff said. 4 stars
6/21/00 Mr. Blond Samuel L. Jackson gets his head blown off in the first 5 minutes! 5 stars
6/05/00 Jed This is quite possibly the worst tarantino film ever made. 1 stars
4/27/00 Trina Barnard Gary Oldman rocks 5 stars
4/15/00 Peter Roberts Arquette is adorable, Slater is charismatic 5 stars
1/02/00 Nice Guy Eddie absolutely incredible cast, check out the guy from Perfect Strangers! 5 stars
12/04/99 PervertedPixie Kooky Tarantino Flick. Has some cracking characters! 5 stars
11/27/99 the Grinch Along with Pulp, probably Tarantino's best movie. Chris Walken plays a mafioso! See it! 5 stars
10/27/99 weedhead Good amount of killing, Brad Pitt can burn some trees!!! 4 stars
8/10/99 The Graduate It's Quentin. Need I say more? 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg What's the big deal? Who cares if this is from Tarantino. He makes shit too! 3 stars
4/03/99 Scott Best underrated film ever. This movie has big shiny brass balls. 5 stars
3/14/99 Sam Vimes Best movie made. EVER 5 stars
2/09/99 Bob, Lord of Evil I liked it... I liked it alot.... 5 stars
12/29/98 Romeo A suck ass of a movie. Gary Oldman was the only one worth watching here. Paduy, paduy. 1 stars
12/13/98 Binky Just perfect. 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink One mean motherfucker of a movie! 5 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty A trip all the way, Tarantino is god to me! 5 stars
11/18/98 Lord Of The Dunce Slater was such the stud, and Arquette quite the piece. Great movie. 5 stars
11/17/98 Gray Whitten I need to find me a good woman like Alabama and read comics for a living. 5 stars
11/13/98 Sideshow Lemur You'll laugh. You'll cry. You'll be predisposed to acts of violence. 5 stars
11/13/98 Jules I just want to say: This movie was so cool. 5 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob This movie has everything from a little eyed joe, to a damned if I know! 5 stars
10/24/98 Timmy C Tarantino's unsung masterpiece 5 stars
10/23/98 Negative Creep Call me crazy but Clarence is my hero ;) 5 stars
10/20/98 {{{OZ}}} One of the greatest love story/road movie/shoot em up/gangster flicks ever. If the only one 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1993 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1994 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast