More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.03

Awesome34.48%
Worth A Look: 11.49%
Average: 5.75%
Pretty Bad: 19.54%
Total Crap: 28.74%

4 reviews, 63 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Diary of a Mad Black Woman
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Elaine Perrone

"Review of a disgusted white woman."
2 stars

I hardly know where to begin enumerating the sins of Tyler Perry's Diary of a Mad Black Woman, a stunningly mean-spirited dramedy that is neither dramatic nor comical, and that is made even more insulting by its simple-minded and hypocritical pseudo-Christian smugness.

Diary is an unpleasant blend of Big Momma's House and Misery, populated with cartoonish characters and filled with flatulence jokes, puerile sentimentality, and ridiculous plot contrivances that lead to a message of "forgiveness" which, to all appearances here, one arrives at after one has gotten all the violence and revenge out of his or her system.

To the outside world, Helen McCarter (Kimberly Elise) and her husband Charles (Steve Harris) are a golden couple in Atlanta society. Charles is a wildly successful attorney, well respected in his profession, and he and Helen live in a country mansion, complete with swimming pool and tennis court, that makes Tara look like a summer cottage. Although he has cheated on her and verbally abused her for years, Helen is stunned when, on their 18th anniversary, Charles throws her bodily out of their home so that he can move in his mistress and their two children. Apparently having made no friends in all those years, Helen wanders around aimlessly in a U-Haul for hours until finally landing back in the ghetto, on the doorstep of her gun-totin', sass-talkin' granny, Madea (short for Mama Dear), played in drag by Tyler Perry, who takes on two other roles in the movie. Rounding out Helen's ghetto-dwelling clan are Madea's much-fartin', sass-talkin' brother Joe (Perry, again, in makeup); Helen's cousin Debrah (Tamara Taylor), a ragin' crack 'ho; and Debrah's sorrowful husband Brian (Perry, again, without makeup), who is raising their two children alone while their mother is off crackin' and 'hoin'.

Helen's mother (a sinfully wasted Cicely Tyson) is in a nursing home spoutin' platitudes and sayin' Amen.

In between the jokes about flatulence, masturbation, Viagra, and a relative who hallucinates that rabbits are chasing her when she smokes pot, hilarity ensues in the form of Madea and Helen going on cathartic rampages of property destruction and assault. One despicable sub-plot results in Helen viciously catapulting a paralyzed man, who she has forced to sit in his own excrement for three days, out of a wheelchair and into a hot tub, nearly drowning him.

Diary features a tepid romance between Helen and Orlando (Shemar Moore), a steel mill worker who is as much a cookie-cutter knight-in-shining-armor as Charles is a cookie-cutter evil monster. (With lines like, "I've got it so bad for you, I'd go to the store and buy you feminine products," Orlando really needs to work on his technique, though.) The two 30-somethings date for four months but never have sex, because he is a Christian and because all he really wants is to give Helen "intimacy." And we're supposed to buy this bullshit!

In the end, everyone finds Jesus and only Jesus, as they proudly shout out in a jaw-droppingly bigoted gospel lyric about needing "not Buddha, not Mohammed, but Jesus in your heart" and faith conquers all. It is actually a shame that writer Perry, who adapted his own play for the screen, chose to take such a simplistic and often-repugnant approach to what truly could have been a strong film about a woman finding empowerment and redemption through loss, grief, and forgiveness.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=11768&reviewer=376
originally posted: 02/25/05 12:21:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

11/16/14 Juan What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 4 stars
11/15/14 Victoria What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 3 stars
11/14/14 Darin Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 2 stars
11/14/14 Romeo Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 5 stars
10/24/14 Ella Insufficient funds <a href=" ">lumigan eye drop (bimatoprost ophthalmic solution) - 0.03 ( 3 stars
11/17/10 Jerome Cook Eric D snider is a racist. ever heard of queen latifah or will smith fucker? 5 stars
9/23/10 veronica Absolute garbage. 1 stars
8/22/10 Thomas Carte If 60 people say your not funny and 20 million say you are whos right ? 4 stars
8/14/10 Joe Thanks for something new. I'm so sick of "cookie-cutter" and "typical" movies in America!! 4 stars
8/02/10 Jamie If you condemn this movie, it seems to me you gotta throw out Frank Capra, Indian films too 4 stars
5/13/10 ashleigh tui all you people that think it's wrong?..well you are SO wrong this is by far the best movie! 5 stars
4/06/09 Nevaeh Was into it until the end, till that line about "Buddha...". Not cool to the rest of us. 1 stars
11/28/08 Shaun Wallner Interesting Movie! 5 stars
10/08/08 leonard. garbage. made me sick. 1 stars
9/22/08 Gabi Elise(not the WORST actress)&Moore:Hot! Who sang song n/restaurant when Helen ate alone? 1 stars
12/30/07 R. Marie If this is the best in black cinema, my people are in trouble 1 stars
11/07/07 VANESSA PORCHIA THE GREATEST MOVIIE I HAVE SEEN EVER 5 stars
8/26/07 K. Andreya This is a beautiful movie that gives hope to women and men w/ relationship issues 5 stars
8/20/07 D Movie sucks. If this is a "good" movie i'd rather watch a bad movie. 1 stars
3/31/07 David Pollastrini PRETTY DUMB 2 stars
12/17/06 uko5vxj@dmoz.org funny ringtones 3 stars
11/29/06 Elisa This is a must see!! It was great!!! 5 stars
9/24/06 lourosa it let people know that there is always calm after a storm 5 stars
8/22/06 angie r. i loved this movie!!! 5 stars
8/05/06 J. Lindsey This is by far, one the BEST movies in the black film industry. A def. must see!!!! 5 stars
6/17/06 Billy Just awsome, man 5 stars
6/07/06 George Alford Excellent movie 5 stars
4/04/06 katherine a fabulous film...get over your self if you don't like it. It has a great message! 5 stars
3/31/06 Chrissy Laughing is good for the soul... Loved it 5 stars
3/16/06 Ben Z Poorly done clishes peppered with pedantic platitudes but other than that it's still awful. 1 stars
3/14/06 andrew a fabulous film 5 stars
3/01/06 lesha Damn! Tyler Perry made a hit. 5 stars
2/22/06 toya it was a good movie it dhows what every day people go through in life 5 stars
2/20/06 Tanya It is a decent film could be better 3 stars
1/24/06 irsten I think the critics are comepletly wrong, funny how they like movies everyone hates lol 5 stars
1/12/06 Zanieta Cannon I believe that this movie is off da chain. Keep doin what you are doin tyler perry!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/04/06 JO this movie was so hilarious! tyler perry is a wonderful writer and definately NOT tacky. 5 stars
1/02/06 cody a very good movie that not only funny but had good story to boot, with great perf. 4 stars
12/08/05 Sandra Lawe very juvenile 1 stars
10/28/05 Susie This film is about family, forgiveness, and love. Very funny. "You will reap what you sow" 5 stars
10/19/05 Damon Gentry It was great!!! 5 stars
10/17/05 dekko What a mess. (hold it--"Ex-Black" House Wife? Eh?) 2 stars
10/11/05 Shekita Jamison the movie was GREAT! 5 stars
10/09/05 A Mad Ex-Black House Wife It was a comedy with a msg! Too each his own. Don't like, don't watch it. More crap Perry 5 stars
8/15/05 Bad Critic What the hell did I just watch? Literally one of the worst movies I've ever seen! 1 stars
7/21/05 Shena Johnson This movie really opened up my eyes to a true marriage, I think marriage can wait. 4 stars
7/17/05 R. Romero Really enjoyed this movie. No violaence. Just a good story about a housewife who got screwe 4 stars
7/09/05 Earthell Paul-Branch I can tell previous 4 reviews just don't have a clue 5 stars
7/07/05 jee ann I really liked the move 4 stars
7/02/05 Eric Rollins Diary of Mad Movie-fan who saw this Crap! 1 stars
6/30/05 Candy In order to appreciate the message in the movie, you must have experienced diverse cultures 5 stars
4/09/05 8th_Samurai humor is pretty lame 2 stars
3/09/05 S.R. Worth a look. Pretty darn good for the first movie time. Flip Wilson would be impressed. 4 stars
3/04/05 frances ignore the critics 4 stars
3/03/05 THERESA DENSON THOUGHT THE MOVIE WAS GREAT 5 stars
3/02/05 Erik The Movieman One of the worst movies ever made. Unbelievably Shitty! 1 stars
3/01/05 VANESSA PORCHIA THE BEST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN 5 stars
3/01/05 Fran Plair I loved this movie 5 stars
2/28/05 Delicious Great Movie 5 stars
2/26/05 Joy Venters SOUNDS GOOD 3 stars
2/26/05 Denise Shmar looks great 2 stars
2/26/05 Kristina Williams there's a HUGE line outside my theater to see this trash. 1 stars
2/26/05 mott the drupal rob schneider is my idol 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Feb-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 28-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Darren Grant

Written by
  Tyler Perry

Cast
  Kimberly Elise
  Steve Harris
  Shemar Moore
  Tamara Taylor
  Tyler Perry
  Cicely Tyson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast