More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.16

Awesome: 38.71%
Worth A Look51.61%
Average: 0%
Pretty Bad: 6.45%
Total Crap: 3.23%

1 review, 25 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Untamed Heart
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"You just wished on a planet."
4 stars

A baboon heart?

Make no mistake, this movie's unabashedly gonna pull on the ol' heartstrings. And, just like me, you'll fall for it like a dummy. Oh well.

Caroline (Marisa Tomei) is working in a diner with a mysterious busboy named Adam (Christian Slater), who doesn't talk hardly at all. She never shuts up, but he sits at home and reads. One night, walking home from work, she gets attacked, but Adam saves her. They fall in love. One problem: he's got a big scar in the middle of his chest, and he thinks its from the fact that when he was younger, he had a baboon's heart transplanted into his body because his own heart was too weak. He needs a new transplant, but he doesn't want to get one: he feels that the heart gives him great strength and makes him ferocious when he needs to be, like the animal the heart actually came from (this came from a story told to him by the nuns who raised him).

You know what's going to happen. It's doomed love from the start (as all romances seem to be), and someone's going to end up with their heart broken.

But surprisingly, it works.

The premise is kind of goofy, but the actors work in their role. I liked Tomei here more than I did in My Cousin Vinny, and while I've never been a real Christian Slater fan, I actually didn't mind him here. They've got real chemistry together. There's also Rosie Perez as a friend and coworker, and she's minimally annoying.

Not a bad date movie.

"You are like sand in my underwear." "Ouch."

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1178&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/22/98 00:18:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/04/15 Anne worth watching; a fable with heart. 4 stars
2/24/15 stanley welles a well-acted and touching guilty pleasure 4 stars
10/13/10 PAUL SHORTT HOKEY ROMANTIC SOB-STORY 2 stars
7/04/08 Zhenya "The greatest thing you ever learn is to love ... and to be loved in return". Simple. 5 stars
10/18/04 joy after watching this film, I'm in love with christian slater. 5 stars
5/29/04 Linda Perfect to watch just after a messy break-up 5 stars
8/18/03 Emma fantastic!!! 5 stars
8/08/03 3man A decent tear jerker. Tormei is beautiful. 4 stars
3/23/03 R.W. Welch Deftly done romantic weeper with near perfect performances by both leads. 4 stars
3/09/03 Jack Sommersby Manipulative yet never shameless. Tomei and Slater work magic. 4 stars
2/08/03 Vitality1 Makes me cry every time I see it. Soooo good 5 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim Gotta agree w/little girls, this one is a keeper. Slater so lovable I'd marry him, if ... 5 stars
6/12/02 Catherine This is a wonderful movie. I cried hours after the film. The actors make the movie great. 5 stars
10/09/01 linda I wouldwould give Christian Slater my heart in a heartbeat 5 stars
7/17/01 Piz kind of generic but very warm and well put-together. Tomei and Slater are a good match. 4 stars
7/10/01 M I just loved it! 5 stars
5/16/01 Craig My favorite movie of all time!!! 5 stars
5/07/01 Gracy Lionheart The movie is a bit silly, but I really enjoyed it. 4 stars
2/16/00 muti siahaan (mutis@usa.net) Slater andTomei are awesome. But story is bit silly. See it if you're falling in love 4 stars
2/15/00 Richard Wright Utter rubbish. A sick inducing bit of manipulative cinema. CS is horribly miscast too. 1 stars
8/23/99 Rich H. Sweet, Sad and a little bit Silly but - See it! 5 stars
2/20/99 Piz cutesy fairy tale type teen movie that is watchable once. 4 stars
11/14/98 Hamburger James Any man should grovel to drink Marisa's bathwater. 4 stars
11/13/98 Jules Boo fucking hoo... 2 stars
10/23/98 Negative Creep Call me a sap, but I love this flick. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Feb-1993 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1993 (M)


Directed by
  Tony Bill

Written by
  Tom Sierchio

Cast
  Christian Slater
  Marisa Tomei
  Rosie Perezz
  Kyle Secor
  Willie Garson
  James Cada



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast