More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome57.05%
Worth A Look: 24.36%
Average: 8.33%
Pretty Bad: 2.56%
Total Crap: 7.69%

6 reviews, 120 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Dark City
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"First came darkness, then came the strangers."
3 stars

Another example of style over substance.

Dark City is quite possibly the most visual film I've seen in a very long time. The art direction, the sets, the overall design and effects are stunning, and for once, it seems like those particular effects actually benefitted the story: they augmented it, rather than overshadowed it.

Except the story is lame.

It's weak, weak, weak. The performances are fine, although Rufus Sewell's lazy eye sometimes freaks me out. Jennifer Connelly, dear lord, she needs to be in more movies. And naked. William Hurt seems a little confused, but at least he's not the total bore he was in Lost In Space.

But again, the story's a mess, and it hurts the film overall.

If the visual thing is what you're interested in, by all means, see this movie. It is astounding. But the rest of the film can't hold a candle to those.

Riff-Raff's in it!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=118&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/08/98 02:02:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell intriguing visionary sci-fi cribs a bit from the outer limits 4 stars
1/17/15 Dane Youssef A unique vision of epic grandeur. It has to be seen, to be experienced. Let it fill you. 5 stars
3/17/14 Lyle Deep. Like a kiddie pool. Story makes no sense. A mishmash of stolen ideas and styles. 2 stars
3/01/13 sean one of my top 3 movies of all time. simply brilliant. repeated viewings required. 5 stars
8/21/11 Chris Stopper Edward Hopper meets David Lynch 5 stars
2/02/11 Dr.Lao The most creepy, haunting, nightmarish movie I ever enjoyed 5 stars
8/18/10 AJ Muller Just a classic, truly visionary and fantastic. 5 stars
4/22/10 H.C I found this much more enjoyable than the Matrix. It was scary, thought-provoking, 10/10 5 stars
3/30/10 Jean-Noel G One of my favorite movies. Less dumb than, say, transformers. I understand some won't like 5 stars
1/16/10 Brian Welch The reviewer mistakenly believes that his stupidity is shared by others 5 stars
11/23/09 Jeff Wilder Underrated. Watch it a few times to truly understand it. 5 stars
11/07/09 inchoate Edward Hopper meets Raymond Chandler; what's the prob ? 5 stars
8/23/09 One Have just seen it twice on DVD. It's a powerful movie, if you do get it. 5 stars
6/20/09 Thomas Rob gonsalves is obviously an idiot, this is one amazing film 5 stars
3/02/09 roffe Bizarre, great film. Doh, it is meant to be dark. Not flawless, but intriguing and unusual. 4 stars
1/09/09 Des D A very fine film best enjoyed soot free but definitely not for tree swingers. 5 stars
11/26/08 Leo T worst movie since First Knight 1 stars
8/19/08 zubidoo Roger Ebert picked this movie over Saving Private Ryan? Are you effing serious? 2 stars
7/24/08 chris f very oveer rated 3 stars
4/05/08 Adam Panto The spiral narrative starts at the center tight, spinning to the climax at the outside edge 5 stars
1/07/08 Michael Sluder I like it better each time I see it. And not many movies can pull that off. 5 stars
11/20/07 D Outstanding and Extremely Creepy 5 stars
8/25/07 emma terrible, extremely unrealistic, i defy you!! analyze it carefully & you will understand. 1 stars
6/16/07 mb Empty Dark With A Bit Of Likeableness 3 stars
5/28/07 Mark Louis Baumgart Complex andl pretty unique film despite the intellectually lazy trying to pigeonhole it. 5 stars
5/15/07 Nabi Makes the matrix seem naive. Brilliant performances with lots of intrigue and shock. 5 stars
3/31/07 fools♫gold For the first time in years, it actually took me two tries to fall in love with it! 5 stars
3/17/07 man no match for the Matrix 4 stars
1/13/07 del Rob and Carrot...you're both completely clueless. Stay that way. 1 stars
12/23/06 Carrot_Glace A cheap BLADE RUNNER rip off, BLADE RUNNER is WAY better.... 1 stars
11/20/06 Derek K Best Film Ever! Underrated and Brilliant! A Must See Sci-Fi Mystery! 5 stars
5/30/06 doga capanoglu dont miss 5 stars
5/07/06 Reklc Intriguing, haunting, dark in short excellent! 5 stars
4/30/06 Vicious Very original, predating the matrix with the artificle reality concept. Great art style too 5 stars
4/19/06 chris f an exellent sci fi flick very enjoyable and very interesting 5 stars
10/02/05 Nicole Fantastic movie...there is not enough good sci-fi! 5 stars
8/11/05 ES The end is so worth it, Better than the Matrix? you bet=cool on 5 stars
7/18/05 lucius gabriel mind blowing 5 stars
6/11/05 Joe Criteser One of the best sci-fi films I've ever seen. Period. 5 stars
5/26/05 Jake Brilliant! Better than the Matrix, and I love that Movie! 5 stars
5/01/05 Anthony G Wachowski niggas trying to take from the white man! 5 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold If the Wachowskis ripped them off, at least they made a way more entertaining movie. 3 stars
2/23/05 Rock-Steady The original masterpiece. Suck a dick wachowski fagboys! 5 stars
2/09/05 Jeff Anderson THE MOST VISUALLY AWESOME FILM OF MY LIFE! Sutherland & Connelly give smashing performances 5 stars
11/13/04 Moira Memorable, hauntingly atmospheric, just great! 5 stars
9/13/04 Phil Richards This movie rocked, but my Mom didn't like it. She didn't understand. 5 stars
9/05/04 DM Not very thoughtful, but gee, it sure is nice to look at 4 stars
7/21/04 Patjng nice... very nice.. 5 stars
7/18/04 Gray mesmerising and haunting 5 stars
7/12/04 X One of the best 5 stars
7/12/04 bobber liked it, better than most crap on the screen 4 stars
7/04/04 Luiz Gilberto de Oliveira Messias Better than Matrix, this underated movie is one the best sci-fi than i saw in my life. 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Even though Tim Burton should've directed this, at least Keifer Sutherland's in it!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/11/04 T^im It mostly rules, but not perfect... 4.5 stars 5 stars
11/18/03 Lenka Bunova It is just perfect! 5 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston This was the first DVD I ever bought, my wife my son, everyone but me hates it, I love it. 5 stars
7/28/03 KevinProv It's what sci-fi was meant to be. Not just flash, but substance and thought as well. 5 stars
3/19/03 Jack Sommersby Great visuals; sorry-ass script. 2 stars
2/14/03 john The Matrix Hollywood ending was pathetic and didn't probe the questions this movie did. 5 stars
12/14/02 Zefram Mann Mindbendingly cool shit from the guy who brought us The Crow. 5 stars
10/18/02 Jiz Fuck Matrix, Dark City came first. Who ripped off who? 5 stars
10/02/02 John McNew A mind-bending, eye-popping, suspenseful, and exciting sci-fi masterpiece! My favorite! 5 stars
9/23/02 Vitality1 I really loved this movie. A good scifi movie from the last decade...for once! 5 stars
8/05/02 Lexy Z. A sci-fi movie that evokes thought? Weird, but worth it. 5 stars
4/30/02 Col Mind blowing - the best of sci fi - a landmark film 5 stars
4/13/02 oldgoatmon Poor mans matrix. Seems people like to say they like it more cause not many have seen it. 3 stars
3/29/02 Jim Cool and creepy 5 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee One of the best sci/fi-thrillers of all time. All hail Jennifer Connelly!!!! 5 stars
1/28/02 Andrew Carden Bizarre, but Excellent Thriller. 5 stars
12/29/01 Mad Max Fuck blade runner. This rocks the socks off blade runner! 5 stars
12/02/01 Monica O'Leary I loved the film - I have always liked Kiefer Sutherland's acting - he is a versatile actor 5 stars
10/18/01 officer412/l the most underated film of all time. pure genius 5 stars
10/04/01 Phoenix Underrated and offbeat, Dark City was a unusual and stimulating experience for me. 4 stars
8/21/01 P.Rodriguez loved the concept of the movie, just like blade runner the ending(DCUT)Leaves U wondering 5 stars
7/28/01 Steve Creepy atmosphere, very different, highly underappreciated, ending a bit Outer Limits-ish. 5 stars
6/30/01 Matthew T. A suberb hybrid of science fiction annd film noir. A true cinematic accomplishment! 5 stars
6/25/01 Matt Dorsey On par with the best sci-fi movies, such as Blade Runner, Dune, Matrix. See this. 5 stars
6/22/01 Jasmine Roger Ebert sucks Proyas's dick. 1 stars
6/13/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Underrated personified 5 stars
5/20/01 Milan Todorovic Alex Proyas is a genious!! 5 stars
4/12/01 YelloMiata@AOL.COM I think I played a video game version on my NES in 1988. 3 stars
3/31/01 Jesse L Twisty plot and not too bad! 4 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung Minor flaws, but overall a very nice movie experience. 4 stars
1/30/01 R.W. Welch A shade too dark and overwrought to be watchable 3 stars
1/29/01 Soggy Bottom Boy very satisfying experience, best sci-fi movie of the turn-of-the-century. 5 stars
12/24/00 joh best mindfuck I ever saw 5 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin a Good movie with a mind-bending plot 4 stars
9/27/00 mephetic By far the best movie I've ever seen. 5 stars
9/25/00 The Bomb 69 totally underrated and original, kudos!! 5 stars
8/20/00 effendi the best sf, metaphysic and played movie ever made 5 stars
7/31/00 Trevor Vos why don't movies like this win oscars? 5 stars
7/01/00 Purple Monster I enjoyed this more than "The Matrix". 5 stars
6/13/00 DAVID Awsome movie and this movie was underrated!!! 5 stars
4/16/00 JDC Are we more than the sum of our memories? Not sure, but this film made me think about it. 5 stars
3/21/00 Peter A visual masterpiece, need to see multiple times. 5 stars
1/02/00 Nice Guy Eddie Excellent even on multiple viewings... great imagery and atmosphere... 5 stars
11/20/99 Alyssa Excellent and unpredictable. Watch it more than 3 times and you still say, "Wow." 5 stars
11/19/99 the Grinch Very creative way to celebrate passover, TAJ. I can relate to your Connellyisms... 5 stars
11/19/99 The Velvet Edge So tell me, TAJ - how do you feel about Jennifer Connelly? Freakboy... 4 stars
9/24/99 KK A great movie that hardly anyone knows about. 5 stars
8/10/99 Ted Wetzel A very unoriginal movie that rips off everything from Batman to Star Trek's Borg. 3 STARS. 4 stars
7/21/99 Eric Helps to watch this multiple times; storyline needs to be simple to fit the POINT. 5 stars
6/14/99 Lashan Lynn This was an increadble movie! Very, VERY dark! 5 stars
6/02/99 Greg Richard Very underrated film, thought it was excellent 4 stars
4/15/99 JDC Great movie, derivative ending. Powerful images too. 5 stars
4/07/99 unstrung suprised the hell out of me, realy. this movie had a pretty good storyand looked very nice 4 stars
3/15/99 Go Swans The best film ever, visually 5 stars
2/19/99 Mr Film Great concept... Very entertaining. 4 stars
2/18/99 Bishop Not bad, overhyped though. Ebert's best film of 98'. 3 stars
1/11/99 Johny One of the 3 best films of 1998 5 stars
1/05/99 Movie Geezer quite a challenge---a very deep film 4 stars
1/03/99 Dasha Why is everyone complaining about the storyline? The movie was great! 5 stars
12/31/98 Chaplin1 Visionary work...WAY underrated! 5 stars
12/20/98 Bats Rufus Sewell: ooh, aah, neat, pretty (and the movie was out of the ordinary, too) 4 stars
11/07/98 grunter Mix two parts Brazil & one part Truman Show; visuals too morphic, conventional ho-hum end 4 stars
9/20/98 MR HOLLYWOOD One word "AUSTRALIAN" , please keep clear of this depressing,dull thing!!! 1 stars
9/16/98 Trav Not bad at all for a "Sydney" movie. : 4 stars
9/06/98 J Lyons Love Jennifer Connelly. Wish she was in a good movie. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Rufus Sewell is a crank, but otherwise this rocked. 4 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} It's aussie, so it has to be better than most 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Feb-1998 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Aug-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast