More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.42

Awesome72.73%
Worth A Look: 13.64%
Average: 3.41%
Pretty Bad: 3.41%
Total Crap: 6.82%

3 reviews, 70 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lion King, The (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Stare by Jay Seaver

DreadOut by Jay Seaver

S He by Jay Seaver

We Are Little Zombies by Jay Seaver

Lion King, The (2019) by alejandroariera

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Heathers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Eskimo."
5 stars

The perfect 80's film, and it has the legs to still do it today.

I can't imagine anyone who hasn't seen this film, but I know you're out there, so here's the tale. Winona Ryder is Veronica, a recent addition to The Heathers - a group of 'popular' gals who basically run the school. None of the Heather's are particularly pleasant, in fact they're downright ornery, but they're cool so people deal.

Christian Slater is Jason Dean, a rebel with a bunch of causes, none of them for publication. When he hooks up with Veronica he orchestrates the demise of the Heathers, via a series of staged 'suicides', but when the school starts to see the dead Heathers as martyrs, the plan has gone a bit awry.

So what's good about this film? Every God damn thing. It's hilarious. It's dramatic. It's angst. It's satire. But mostly it's compelling viewing and a shot at the late 80's mega-trend of political correctness.

Daniel Waters has written a teenage classic, and Michael Lehmann has directed it right on the money. Slater's usual 'teenage Jack Nicholson' schtick is perfect for the role. Winona's 'geek come good' routine is also on the mark. And everyone else is a cartoon character - a stereotype.

As a whole, this film is a masterpiece. It took the John Hughes sacharine ssweet teen angst angle and turned it inside out and up it's own ass. It made teen angst dark, and some say it's the movie that forced Hughes into his current Home Alone 8/101 Dalamations/Flubber rut. It's said he just didn't have the darkness of Heathers within him, so he bailed to kids movies.

How much truth there is in that is debatable, but with such dark teen indie classics as Slacker and Clerks following in it's footsteps, it must be said that Heathers was an innovator, not an imitator. Required viewing.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1180&reviewer=1
originally posted: 01/26/99 21:06:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/08/13 dr.lao Not the most overrated movie ever, but definitely in the top 10 1 stars
3/02/10 PAUL SHORTT SMUG SATIRE 2 stars
1/16/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Very funny film about high school clicks. 5 stars
1/10/10 art A MOVIE TO PUT YOU IN DREAMLAND! 1 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef A dark, wild look at teenagekind, a brilliant skewering satire of the teen genre. Masterful 5 stars
11/22/07 fools♫gold Among Sarah Prinze's favorites. Aficionado, you make no sense. 5 stars
1/20/07 Phil M. Aficionado I guess I missed the point of the first half; was the second half "very"? 1 stars
10/25/06 Indrid Cold Sags a little toward the end, but still a smart, funny, John Hughes-skewering classic. 5 stars
8/19/06 Michele good 4 stars
7/28/06 Lizzie Shannen's great! 5 stars
7/27/06 Billy Heathers rox! 5 stars
7/25/06 Sandy + Stephanie (twins) awesome 5 stars
7/24/06 Joanie suicide in this film is cute 5 stars
7/19/06 Sarah cool suicide black comedy 5 stars
4/19/06 fahim soo fucking good 5 stars
11/14/05 Krisan Great twisted movie, deffinatly a classic 5 stars
3/14/05 Jeff Anderson Liam Jackson, you nailed the review perfectly! The popular sluts in my school sickened me!! 5 stars
2/17/05 kathleen4691 Classic 5 stars
6/02/04 Tom Porcella Twisted 4 stars
1/25/04 Elena This is the number 1 dark comedy. Such a perfect exagerration of high school. Love it. 5 stars
1/19/04 LIAM JACKSON J.D. is a hero. i can't stand all the popular cunts at school either. 5 stars
8/08/03 3man Hillarious movie 4 stars
7/18/03 Kyle See? Suicide CAN be funny! 5 stars
6/06/03 Gray dark and fun 4 stars
4/28/03 Rebo Valence Amazing, but not as much comedy as billed - half funny, half scary as hell in the realism. 5 stars
2/17/03 nanite has aged a bit, but is still great. BLEW ME AWAY first time i saw it 1990 5 stars
1/06/03 starphish the best film ever-simply and truly 5 stars
11/24/02 gemma the best film ever, wicked. i love jd 5 stars
7/05/02 KMG I've given this movie a chance 3 times. IT JUST SUCKS people. Like I need to relive bitch 1 stars
2/24/02 Frances The best film..well on of my favs ne way...*chokes* "corn nuts" 5 stars
1/20/02 Kelly loved it when I was 14 and it first came out. Not quite as impressive today. 4 stars
8/11/01 Christian One of the most universally loved comedies of all time 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk The best black comedy ever made. It's hard to believe you're laughing at some of the parts. 5 stars
7/16/01 Jimmy If you went to a public high school, you should love this movie 5 stars
7/06/01 SBM Shocking and very messed up! Great if you can HANDLE & UNDERSTAND dark comedy! 5 stars
6/08/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Hard candy. The darkest of satirical comedy with a maniacal, murderous twist 5 stars
5/29/01 zeitgeist "fuck me gently with a chainsaw" 5 stars
5/18/01 Bada Bing Crosby Corn Nuts 5 stars
4/15/01 GeorgE McCaul Great this movie should be the aspiration of all other teen angst movies 5 stars
3/28/01 ella EXCELLENT 5 stars
10/13/00 Josh Tybur Super!!! 5 stars
9/30/00 Jason O it was great...to make fun of 1 stars
8/16/00 Bender Vastly overrated, but still somewhat entertaining and amusing. 3 stars
5/12/00 stAcey very rad, i wish all the "so-called" cool people could be killed without anyone to blame 5 stars
4/25/00 Neil Funniest High School Movie Ever 5 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski My teen-angst bullshit had a body count, too. :-) 5 stars
1/25/00 tom lobacz The best role Slater has ever had, my favorite film of all time 5 stars
11/09/99 Jackie Best teen movie of the 80's. Christian Slater is brilliant. Shannen Doherty was good too 5 stars
10/30/99 Bozo Hilarious; if you hate this you must be a religious nut, or a moron 5 stars
8/23/99 Michael Grimm one of the best written movies of all time 5 stars
8/22/99 Biter Clever, cynical and hilarious as hell. A teen classic that should be treasured! 5 stars
6/25/99 David Keech I found this movie fairly boring and unfunny - certain death for a black comedy. 2 stars
6/15/99 Dylan oh Winona, Winona...ahem! excuse me a second while i just, um go to the lav. 4 stars
5/26/99 GothamDK Definition of black comedy. Slater thinks he's Jack, but all good beyond that. 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo Fuck the breakfast club, this was THE teen movie of the 80's! Winona Ryder is hot! 5 stars
4/08/99 Ah Dooey Better than that vile Jawbreaker movie. Shut up Dave. 5 stars
4/08/99 Dave Winona- Don't get it. No talent, UGLY, and has the build of a 10 year old farm boy 1 stars
2/18/99 Derek The truest film about my High School years out there, made the year I graduated 5 stars
1/11/99 Joe Mama WIN-O-NA! What a little minx! movie brought back high school memories...like the killings. 5 stars
11/30/98 Johny Love this 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Black Comedy cranked up to 11!! 5 stars
11/25/98 Fred Christian Slater got BLOWED UP!!!! YEAH BABY YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty ohh I cannot find words to desribe this movie.... hang on...."teen terror" in the real. 5 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob A scathing insight into teen politics! Slater ruled here! 5 stars
10/26/98 Spazmatazz I don't see why everyone loved this so much, I thought it was pretty stupid and boring. 2 stars
10/24/98 grunter blueprint for black comedy; uber-fuckin'-cool; so not '87. 5 stars
10/23/98 Negative Creep This was strangely popular with the type of kids being killed in this flick. Made no sense. 3 stars
10/20/98 J-Guy you have to be all angsty for this, angst is old. it was kinda funny, though. 3 stars
10/20/98 SBGirl^_^ Teenage angst, comedy, preps getting killed and a hot star. What more can you ask for? ^_^ 5 stars
10/20/98 {{{OZ}}} What a great film. Slater was the perfect teenage anti-hero. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1990 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1990 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast