More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.46

Awesome: 28.17%
Worth A Look29.58%
Average: 9.86%
Pretty Bad: 25.35%
Total Crap: 7.04%

1 review, 65 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Because it's DULL, you twit, it'll hurt more!"
2 stars

What's this movie missing? Oh yeah, accents.

I saw this in the theater when it came out, because the girl I was dating at the time had a thing for both Kevin Costner and Christian Slater (the how's and why's of her ending up with me is anyone's guess). When she heard there was a shot of Costner's naked ass, she all but dragged me to the theater.

It was a stunt butt.

I laughed, and we broke up five months later.

Anyway, on to the film.

It stunk. Robin Hood isn't dark. This movie is. It's a shame, too, because the umpteenth retelling could've been good, especially with the folks involved. Say what you will about Costner, but I liked him in JFK and Bull Durham, before he got into his "I'm so great" phase. Morgan Freeman really can't do anything badly (except for choices concerning his roles, but even then he takes a sucky role and makes it memorable), and Alan Rickman, is, well, Alan Rickman.

But it doesn't work.

Costner plays the title character. Except he's got no accent. He plays Robin as a brooding, thoughtful Robin, rather than the merry man he's been portrayed as before. He's bland. And he's got no accent. There's Slater, playing Will Scarlet, a guy who's got a secret about ol' Robin. He's got more of an accent, but he's also got more of the surfer dude look, too. Freeman is alright - if a little bit bored - playing Azeem, the Moor who must pay back a debt to Robin after they escape from prison during the Crusades. But Rickman's the scenery chewing Sheriff of Nottingham, and he steals the show. He's full of venom, but he's also pretty sly and droll. He's the best part of the movie, but that comes at a cost, because it's a bit out of place. The whole tone of the film is too dark for family viewing (the openingsequence involves the decapitation of a hand).

Add in stupid dialogue....

Sheriff: Locksley, I'm going to cut your heart out with a spoon!
Robin: So it begins.

"So it begins?" Good comeback, Robin Hood, Prince of Dweebs.

It's like that. I rate this with two stars instead of one solely on the basis of Rickman.

Just watch an older version. Much more entertaining.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1184&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/21/98 23:35:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/25/12 Ionicera this is a fun medieval adventure movie, I don't know why it gets all the hate 4 stars
9/23/10 Sheriff Rottingham Cut Yer He'rt Out With Eh Spooooon! 5 stars
9/03/10 S. West Alan Rickman is the one who steals the show! 5 stars for him, but 4 for the movie. 4 stars
6/07/10 Nick Lamancha Best Alan Rickman comedy for years. I laughed every scene he starred in. Shame for Kevin. 4 stars
4/25/07 David Cohen A promising beginning but it decays very quickly 3 stars
12/12/06 R.W.Welch If you haven't seen the Flynn version this might not seem too bad. 3 stars
7/18/06 Stefan Halka Good film even though they play that annoying, most overrated theme song at the end. 4 stars
1/02/06 Wiseman this movie needs more star, If you liked brave heart youde like this one. Incredible movie. 5 stars
12/23/05 Michael Good movie ... stupid, stupid, dumb credit roll ... really out of place 4 stars
10/07/05 Klondo Good, but sort of a foreshadow to stupid movies like "Pirates of the Johnny Depp" 4 stars
9/13/05 Total Crap One of the most spectacular movies ever made. (as read on the back of the box) 5 stars
8/26/05 ES Maid Marion is a good fighter, she almost kills Robin. Why at end can only scream for help? 2 stars
8/04/05 sbpat21 THE POINT IS ROBIN HOOD IS MERRY AND CHEERFUL, MORONS 2 stars
7/24/05 C Vega rickman is excellent but why pick costner as one of englands greatest mythical heroes??? 4 stars
7/18/05 nixon mmmmmmmm 5 stars
11/18/04 chris enjoyable 4 stars
6/28/04 P.Rodriguez Ryan_A- Too dark? The darker the movies the better 5 stars
2/26/04 Kyle Should have been better, especially with the cast involved. But it was okay. 3 stars
1/22/04 LIAM JACKSON i loved it when friar tuck threw that evil priest out the window 4 stars
11/27/03 John a guilty pleasure with a capital P...fun! - and better than its reputation 4 stars
11/15/03 Ultron A solid if uninspired film. 4 stars
8/13/03 3man It was okay. Nothing special though. 3 stars
4/23/03 Liz Johnson I love this film! 5 stars
4/22/03 elizaveta alan rickman steals the show! and he has an authentic accent :) 4 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper This and "Waterworld" prove Kevin Costner should never act again. 1 stars
12/23/02 Ryback W00T! I must be one of the few who loves this movie! 5 stars
11/25/02 Nevz Fantasy gone wrong 2 stars
10/22/02 Charles Tatum The only one with the right accent is the villain 1 stars
8/29/02 Tamara Kiel Its my fav movie ever! 5 stars
8/13/02 P.Rodriguez How on earth could this movie be rated crapy? 5 stars
7/12/02 KMG Good movie...you can overlook Costner being Robin and enjoy it 4 stars
7/11/02 Frances i only watched it for christian slater. 3 stars
5/18/02 Candace Troy Powers Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio doesn't leave enough room to comment on her performance in comm 2 stars
5/01/02 Monster W. Kung Boring like hell. 2 stars
4/13/02 Jimmy James alan rickman kicks so much ass, it should be illegal 4 stars
3/28/02 NeuroManson Now if only costner combined Waterworld with Robin Hood, both would be an improvement! 2 stars
3/25/02 Jimmy Great Movie !!! 5 stars
3/17/02 FlaFan I much prefer this movie to the Errol Flynn version, which is considered a classic. 4 stars
2/21/02 Sean Raduechel Two-faced, starts out good, then turns almost comical. 3 stars
1/28/02 Adam Parker I love this Movie, an all time favorite 5 stars
1/02/02 Kevin Greeb It sucks! 1 stars
11/13/01 Charlie Griffiths An outstanding adventure realistically brought to life by Costner and particularly Rickman 5 stars
11/10/01 daniboy you gotta love alan rickman 4 stars
9/03/01 spaceworm There is no excuse for the existance of Kevin Costner's career. 1 stars
8/19/01 LawHog24 Connery's appearance at the end shows exactly what's been missing for the last two hours. 2 stars
8/02/01 KC Au Great family movie. Lots of funny bits too : "Princess Buttercup!" and a great cast! 5 stars
6/22/01 Thomas Calvert A stunning film, I loved it. And I've visited the tree that the boy hid in, too. 5 stars
6/19/01 Gabi M People moan and groan about the historical innacuracy, but that's why it's a L-E-G-E-N-D. 5 stars
1/27/01 Sandy Did they really PAY Costner for this film? Rickman is brilliant and beautiful as usual 2 stars
12/06/00 Judith Latha, I guess I'm in the minority cause I really liked it. Sean Connery at the end is a hoot!!! 4 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla the start of Costner's down fall, man, this film wasn't good. Good action scenes though 2 stars
10/29/00 E. Johnson Totaly awesome dude!!!! 5 stars
6/02/00 DREDD great movie, loved the dramatic ending with the music.... 5 stars
3/18/00 yankee good action, Freeman makes anything good, stupid bad guy 3 stars
2/28/00 Jedi entertaining 4 stars
2/08/00 Richard Wright A very good action film, good performances from all WHATEVER anyone says about Costner. 4 stars
11/11/99 Mel P One of the best movies ever made. Yes, it's culturally perverse, but so compelling. 5 stars
7/10/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ** (out of ****) Category: "Above Average" 4 stars
12/22/98 PirateGirl I agree completely with Ryan's review 2 stars
11/05/98 tom good---it's very adventury 5 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob Well, one notch above Sucks All Ass, solely due to the presence of Alan Rickman. 2 stars
10/23/98 Negative Creep I liked this. Its loads of fun, had a Great cast and Sean Connery, this movie got a bum rap 5 stars
10/21/98 Kwyjibo Without Morgan Freeman this would have died a horrible death. As it is, it all but did. 2 stars
10/21/98 grunter Uneven, but serviceable; updated the look of RH, but stuck to a cliched plot 4 stars
10/20/98 J-Guy VOMITVOMITVOMITVOMITVOMIT -- that means it's bad. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1991 (PG)
  DVD: 02-Feb-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1992 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast