More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.49

Awesome65.28%
Worth A Look: 25%
Average: 5.56%
Pretty Bad: 1.39%
Total Crap: 2.78%

3 reviews, 54 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Aniara by Jay Seaver

John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum by Jay Seaver

Long Day's Journey Into Night (2018) by Jay Seaver

Shadow by Jay Seaver

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché by Jay Seaver

Hustle, The by Peter Sobczynski

Detective Pikachu by Peter Sobczynski

Mope by Jay Seaver

Tone-Deaf by Jay Seaver

Bolden by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pee Wee's Big Adventure
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by cheryl_ann

"Pee Wee was da man."
5 stars

Seeing this movie as a child scared the hell out of me. Watching this movie now, with all of my pothead friends, is one of our favorite things to do.

I don't know exactly where this movie fits in chronologically in the saga of Pee Wee flicks and shows, but it's definitely the best.

If you don't know who Pee Wee Herman is, you might as well go back to living under a rock. Pee Wee was da man. I don't know many other guys that got such recognition for talking to chairs, taping his face, and wearing bright red lipstick.

This movie takes Pee Wee across country looking for his one love, his bicycle. On his travels he comes across a runaway convict, a lustful waitress who wants him and her vengeful boyfriend, a spolied hollywood brat, a totally creepy truck driver named 'Large Marge', and a large biker gang who befriend Pee Wee after a great dance performance to the song "Tequila".

Behind this whole sinister scam is Francis(Holton). Francis' father said he could have anything he wanted for his birthday, and what he wanted was Pee Wee's bike. Little did Francis know, Pee Wee would stop at nothing to find his wonderful bike.

This movie made me laugh, laugh a lot. Paul Reubens has to be one of the funniest guys out there. So, go now, rent Pee Wee's Big Adventure and laugh till you can't laugh no more.

"You don't want to get mixed up with a guy like me. I'm a loner, Dottie. A rebel."

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1186&reviewer=29
originally posted: 10/21/98 06:41:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/25/14 dr.lao I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would 4 stars
1/11/11 liddie any body see the connection to de sica's Bicycle thief 5 stars
5/04/10 PAUL SHORTT STRANGE BUT AMUSING 3 stars
8/29/09 Dane Youssef A defining moment in my very childhood. Does as much for children as Mia Farrow 5 stars
2/03/08 Anne Loved the humor and innocence 5 stars
8/12/07 Bitchflaps Innocent fun, one of Tim Burton's very few good films. 4 stars
2/20/06 chris f this film rocks!!!! 5 stars
8/06/05 Zack Tim Burton's hilarious first film. Great script from Phil Hartman(!) 5 stars
8/06/05 the sliceman Im 32 yrs old and overly excited when I find this on tv 5 stars
1/25/05 Jeff Anderson TIM BURTON'S MASTERPIECE! Memorable characters & a terrific Danny Elfman score are a blast! 5 stars
10/29/04 Nitro Methane The best part is the last 10 minutes 5 stars
9/04/04 T.B. It stupid to look for a bike 1 stars
6/21/04 Daveman Wonderfully bizarre, this is Tim Burton at his most humorous, better than Beetlejuice. 4 stars
3/25/04 Lord Haw Haw Hilarious, imaginative, just plain fun. Too bad he destroyed his own career. 5 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge You'd have to be a real curmudgeon not to laugh at Pee-Wee's antics. Fast-paced cartoon fun 5 stars
1/09/04 Allison I'm proud to have this in my DVD collection! I KNOW YOU ARE, BUT WHAT AM I? Genius!!! 5 stars
11/02/03 Lorax This movie kicks ass! "NO NOTHING RIGHT NOW MR. HERMAN!" 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese I cant get past the masterbation thing. 3 stars
6/08/03 earl hoffert insanely subversive 5 stars
4/26/03 John Aster Habig Funnier than all Ernest films aside from Ernest Goes To Jail 5 stars
1/03/03 rotten s. milk Better than that stupid fucking "Big Top Pee-wee". 5 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Hilarious, even for un-Pee Wee fans 5 stars
10/08/02 Kitfo the Citizen Kane of my generation 5 stars
2/15/02 dick ryder the best movie ever 5 stars
12/17/01 SPANKSTAR Great movie. Children these days are deprived 5 stars
8/24/01 J.C. Great Flick 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Burton's debut is a childhood favorite. Still funny after all these years. 5 stars
8/07/01 Angel Fabulous Movie, a classic 5 stars
6/29/01 Elvisfan Great fucking movie.what the hell were you people watching? 5 stars
5/21/01 Ray McCoy I'm sorry, there wasn't enough momentum in the story, and the jokes were rather dry 3 stars
2/15/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Pee-Wee Hermans finest hour...don't knock it till you see it. 4 stars
1/03/01 Stefan Youngs Amazing character, great escapism. A charming film. 5 stars
11/29/00 matt ralston my favorite movie of all time! 5 stars
10/29/00 Big Al pee wees in under rated actor hes so good its scary 1 stars
9/12/00 Jed Forget Sleepy Hollow & M.A or the modern batflicks 1 & 2 this is T.B's best. 4 stars
8/09/00 rhettibus replete with brilliant gag after brilliant gag 5 stars
6/06/00 Bender So retarded, you can't help but laugh 4 stars
5/09/00 The Bomb 69 hilarious 5 stars
5/08/00 Paul Klenk Screamingly funny, side-aching laughs, juvenlie/infantile humor ever. P.W. is inspired! 5 stars
3/06/00 Jamie Funniest movie ever! 5 stars
12/18/99 SID The feel and look of the movie is so unique, I have to reccomend it. 4 stars
12/03/99 Rachel funny, cleverly stupid, slightly psychotic movie 4 stars
9/09/99 Jason Kinsey I've loved this movie since I was 7 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **½ (out of ****) Category: "Above Average" 4 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug go pee-wee, go pee- wee! 4 stars
1/25/99 Chloe Marie Ernestine (clatter@hotmail.com) This movie is one of my favorites. It's terriffic!! "Tell 'em Large Marge sent you." 5 stars
11/05/98 tom blah--pee wee makes me nauseous 2 stars
10/31/98 Silent Rob Twisted magic from the minds of Herman, Hartman and Burton. Godzilla and Santa, sheeesh! 4 stars
10/23/98 Negative Creep That 'Rebel' line is great. And So is this Movie. PAGING MR. HERMAN! 4 stars
10/22/98 CaptNish Phil's dead and Paul's career is, but damn could those two write a flick... 5 stars
10/21/98 Kwyjibo Not enough depth to fill a feature film. Some funny moments but overall boring. 3 stars
10/21/98 J-Guy I PITY THE FOO' THAT DONT SEE DIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/21/98 Johny An offbeat, extremely funny flick 5 stars
10/21/98 grunter Surreal playfulness, stylish, edgy and genuine belly-laughs; Reubens and Burton are GOD 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1986 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1987 (PG)


Directed by
  Tim Burton

Written by
  Phil Hartman
  Paul Reubens

Cast
  Paul Reubens
  Elizabeth Daily
  Mark Holton
  Diane Salinger
  Judd Omen
  Irving Hellman



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast