More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.34

Awesome70.8%
Worth A Look: 11.5%
Average: 5.31%
Pretty Bad: 5.31%
Total Crap: 7.08%

2 reviews, 101 user ratings



Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"The suspense is terrible. I hope it will last."
5 stars

If the good Lord had intended us to walk, He wouldn't have invented rollerskates.

This movie was ignored in it's initial release (I only recently learned that it debuted just a few days after Shaft. Go figure.), but has since gone on to become a classic. Maybe it was too dark for kids (probably). At any rate, it's still required viewing. The book that it's based on is, too.

We all know the story about Charlie and the Golden Tickets and the Oompah Loompahs and all that, so I'll skip the summary. Point is, this is simply not a movie to be missed. It's trippy, even as a family film it plays like it's occasionally on acid, and that's part of it's charm. Gene Wilder has never really had a role like Wonka (not before or since), and he's alternately the most charming, genial man there is, and also the creepiest, most sadistic bastard around. The movie's a trip, and I can't wait to sit down with my kids one day and see the looks on their faces.
Wonka's world is wonderous (ooh, alliteration), and that's what makes the film so interesting. Chocolate mixed by waterfall, a jawbreaker that will never disappear, seven-course-meals all in one little stick of gum...it's all there, and it's fantastic. You can look past the somewhat bland performance of Peter Ostrum as Charlie, because all the other kids are a hoot and Wilder, as I said, is terrific.

Skip the latest direct-to-video Disney sequel, and show your kids this. The younger ones might not like it (they will, eventually, though), but anyone over the age of seven is probably going to be absolutely giddy.

Bubbles, bubbles everywhere, and not a drop to drink... yet.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1187&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/21/98 23:52:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 San Francisco Horror Film Festival. For more in the 2004 San Francisco Horror Festival series, click here.

User Comments

5/17/17 Louise Loved this ever since seeing it when it came out - fantastic!!! 5 stars
8/07/16 david froman stanley welles is an idiot 4 stars
3/26/15 stanley welles a creepy fable featuring ghastly performances, sets, costumes and production design 1 stars
1/02/15 Catherine H absolute genius, and do ignore the worthless remake 5 stars
7/15/11 art the only HORRIBLE things in it,was the other kids{except charlie},and those oompa-loopas! 3 stars
12/18/10 Meetuna First time I saw it, it was a really good movie. But now it's annoying. 4 stars
4/12/10 Elizabeth Rhodes This is 1 of my all time favorite movies ! its family friendly 5 stars
1/01/10 Jeff Wilder A classic. 5 stars
6/24/09 art A TWISTED FABLE!,when you EXZAMINE IT CL:OSELY! 1 stars
5/06/09 Dane Youssef After over thirty years, this landmark in family films hasn't aged at all. Eternally young. 5 stars
10/20/08 Monster A Go-Go In a word, this movie scrumdiddlyumpcious! A world of pure imagination-LOVE THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
9/21/08 Samantha Pruitt a total classic, great music, lots of fun! 5 stars
9/21/08 PAUL SHORTT WONDERFULLY COLOURFUL, IMAGINATIVE AND FUN 4 stars
5/11/08 drydock54321 the original is the best 5 stars
10/26/07 teah this movie is awsome it my mwga fav 5 stars
12/06/06 David Pollastrini lighter than the book and the remake 5 stars
11/30/06 Renee I am watching this movie for english and it is fun now i look forward to going to english! 4 stars
7/20/06 David Cohen My favorite movie as a child 5 stars
6/08/06 Peggy Doty WIERD 4 stars
1/28/06 James Tim Nina Overrated. Not Psychedelic enough. 2 stars
1/22/06 Quigley though the oompah loompahs are scary as heck, its in Gene Wilder that has the heart 5 stars
9/27/05 Carolyn Rathburn Absolutely love this one, Classic happy movie 5 stars
9/14/05 Pinkline Jones Dahl is the Rupert McCall of Children's Books 1 stars
8/14/05 Dixie Theriault i don't know why Tim Burton decicded to try to one up this classic-it is timeless. 5 stars
8/08/05 joeysquids 3 thumbs up 5 stars
8/06/05 Zack ONE OF THE WORST FILMS EVER MADE!!!!! 1 stars
7/24/05 C Vega a good movie and hasn' t showed its age one bit 5 stars
7/19/05 Brandy Harrington A classic! *blows whistle tune* 5 stars
7/12/05 Richard I loved it!! 5 stars
5/15/05 Rebecca Broughton I liked Charlie and how he didn't just think of himself and I though he was cute. 5 stars
1/18/05 chet what is the birthdate of peter ostrum in willie wonka 5 stars
12/01/04 BillH If you don't like this movie, you are a vermicious kanid. 5 stars
9/29/04 Liz Marie wonderfull timeless family film 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G I wanna fuck the blueberry bitch 1 stars
7/26/04 Sparky Either creative genius or drug-hazed garbage. Take an average 3 stars
7/20/04 Daveman For its lack of depth, the film is elevated by its sharp humor and Gene Wilder's performanc 3 stars
5/13/04 Sean Scanlan Kind of fun 4 stars
4/30/04 patience hoover worst movie ever seen!! 1 stars
4/06/04 yosharto charle is sexy man he should shart! lets bitchslap the director to china! 1 stars
3/30/04 The More You Know Still waiting for a sequel, The Great Glass Elevator, though this masterpiece stands alone. 5 stars
3/28/04 Gray has one good scene the rest is shit 2 stars
3/25/04 heyhey Some funny dialogue, diverting songs, but could have been so much better 2 stars
3/16/04 The Talking Elbow Willy Wonka is from hades, the oompa's are devil imps. But he's still kind of a nice guy. 5 stars
2/23/04 me a great film 5 stars
12/10/03 Samuel this is a fun and crazy movie!! 4 stars
11/24/03 Gi Gi Oompa Loompas are sexy 5 stars
11/10/03 KING EDWARD norma lehigh, willy wonka's coming to finish the job........................beware,norma... 5 stars
6/12/03 Ann It's like Dante's Inferno on acid, not just a kid's movie. 5 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon I hate what's-his-name. 3 stars
4/29/03 Dave The oompa loompas are annoying, but there some cool gags and Gene Wilder is superb. 3 stars
2/18/03 WestcoastPunk the shnosberries taste like shnosberries 5 stars
2/18/03 scott A AWESOME FILM GREAT 5 stars
9/23/02 Justin Great film! 5 stars
9/09/02 Movie guy A GREAT FILM 5 stars
5/18/02 Norma Lehigh Can't get no more hakey and flokey than this! 2 stars
5/15/02 Blake This movie was one of the best films I have seen in a long time. 5 stars
12/04/01 Brenna S. This movie was awesome, it shows kids and parents at their worst states...being bratty. 5 stars
10/31/01 ruth wow! 5 stars
10/20/01 ElephantShoes Richard Wright you're a full blown idiot. It's WIlly Wonka and the Chocolate Factory man! 5 stars
9/25/01 Bridgette "Pure imagination" 5 stars
9/17/01 Gary Witty script is let down by a barrage of sentimentality, but Veruca Salt was hilarious. 3 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Always brings out my childish side . 5 stars
5/18/01 Bada Bing Crosby See it, treasure it, before Eddie Fucking Murphy does his inevitable remake 5 stars
5/10/01 J Kiddie flick Schmiddie flick THIS IS FOR ALL AGES! 5 stars
4/12/01 Andrew Carden Willy Wonka is by far, the greatest children's movie ever. 5 stars
4/05/01 Hawkeye Normally I condemn good books being made into movies, but not when you do it right. 5 stars
3/26/01 zeitgeist intelligent and complex. look past the surface, kiddies 5 stars
3/15/01 Richard Wright Extremely cloying, anyone who likes it must have a higher sugar tolerance level than me. 2 stars
3/11/01 mad hatter Great movie. I heard a re-make is in the works. Why fix something that's not broken? 5 stars
2/18/01 sheena b a child's heaven( adult's too)! 5 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi You know you love it... 5 stars
2/05/01 Pubes PUBES!PUBES!PUBES!PUBES!PUBES!PUBES!PUBES!PUBES!PUBES!PUBES!PUBES!PUBES!PUBES!PUBES! 1 stars
2/02/01 Wafer this is a classic 5 stars
1/27/01 Soggy Bottom Boy The opening sequence is classic... Gene Wilder's best role to date, this is a keeper! 5 stars
1/22/01 The Bomb 69 great to watch while tripping on acid!!! 5 stars
12/22/00 Zach Harbaugh The film was inspirational and amazing 5 stars
12/12/00 Destruction Worker Fat kids drown 'cause they're greedy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/06/00 FRED BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
11/20/00 Erik E. How could you not like this movie. Its clever and poignant. Gene Wilder is amazing 5 stars
10/24/00 william arevalo excelentte veryyyy good awsome 5 stars
10/14/00 Jed Very good movie it is quite a classic. 4 stars
7/16/00 Emma I minute every love of it....wait a minute....strike that, reverse it 5 stars
4/01/00 Stephanie Flatten This is the most hot and spicy movie out there. It is my favorite! 5 stars
2/29/00 tasteslikegoat Has more in common with A Clockwork Orange than The Wizard of Oz. Depraved--I love it. 5 stars
11/21/99 Joey Great insight, dark, funny, Violet is fantastic 5 stars
11/03/99 Jacob Heule Scrumdidilyumptious and hilariously evil. 5 stars
10/28/99 Theresa Parsley Best movie ever 5 stars
10/19/99 Derek Rufer Awesome just Awesome 5 stars
8/22/99 Physh Parents: This movie will teach your kids that brats never prosper. 5 stars
7/10/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Instant classic, but Wilder is one mean sonuvabitch! 4 stars
7/02/99 Sleeper I love you Mr Wonka. 5 stars
4/30/99 Sentaia E Very cool tho the boat scene scared me when I was little 5 stars
4/10/99 Michael Grimm Everlasting Gobstopper!!!!! 5 stars
3/11/99 Bats Definitely not the usual film pablum fed to kids 4 stars
3/08/99 BabbaBooey Original, funny, GREAT music: Gene Wilder is a Genius. The book was MUCH better, though. 5 stars
1/25/99 Chloe Marie Elestenogoph (clatter@hotmail.com) This movie sucks. It makes me mad because it's so stupid. And it goes on and on, too. 2 stars
1/10/99 twisted barbie pure genius 5 stars
11/26/98 little jerry Very distinctive children's film.What makes this special is Wilder's one of a kind role. 4 stars
11/09/98 Lord Of The Dunce Dahl knew how to write a great story. Some of it is a little too Oliver, but overall genius 5 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob A fun 70's dive into the demented imagination of Roald Dahl. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jun-1971 (G)
  DVD: 21-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A (U)

Australia
  02-Feb-1972 (G)


Directed by
  Mel Stuart

Written by
  Roald Dahl

Cast
  Gene Wilder
  Jack Albertson
  Peter Ostrum
  Roy Kinnear
  Julie Dawn Cole
  Denise Nickerson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast