More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.12

Awesome51.47%
Worth A Look: 14.71%
Average: 29.41%
Pretty Bad: 2.94%
Total Crap: 1.47%

4 reviews, 44 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Murder By Death
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"I'm not a Frenchie, I'm a BELGIE!"
5 stars

Murderpoo?

Neil Simon's been kind of hit-or-miss for me. Adaptations from the stage are always kind of iffy, but this was a straight screenplay, and it's probably one of the funniest movies I've ever seen.

Five of the world's greatest detectives are invited to solve a murder at the home of one Lionel Twain (Truman Capote). Among those invited: Sam Diamond (Peter Falk), Dick and Dora Charleston (David Niven and Maggie Smith), Sidney Wang (Peter Sellers) and Milo Perrier (James Coco).

Oh, and if you haven't guessed, it's a spoof. Each of the characters represents a spoof of popular crimsolvers (Sam Spade, Nick and Nora Charleston, Charlie Chan and Hercule Poirot, respectively).

This movie predates Clue (another of my favorites) by about 15 years, but this movie also has a deaf-mute maid/cook (Nancy Walker) and a blind butler (Sir Alec Guinness).

Puns, lots of jokes and plot twists (some of them fairly impossible, but that's the fun) abound, with solid performances from a strong ensemble cast. Capote's hilarious as Twain ("Say your goddamn pronouns!"), and look for a small role for James Cromwell, who'd go on to fame as the farmer in Babe.

Bensonmum: She murdered herself in her sleep, sir. Dick Charleston: You mean suicide? Bensonmum: Oh no, it was murder, all right. Mrs. Twain HATED herself.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1188&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/22/98 00:05:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/06/16 Anne Selby Great fun! 4 stars
9/27/16 Joe Da Rold One of my all time favorites. Repeat viewings never disappoint. All star cast is superb. 5 stars
6/24/12 matthew thompson dalldorf A witty spoof 5 stars
5/30/11 zenny wait, what now? 2 stars
12/24/10 Jolly Great actors nailing every pun on the head. Terrific comedy. 5 stars
2/20/10 PAUL SHORTT ENJOYABLE, LIKEABLE SPOOF 3 stars
12/27/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess Funny as hell! 5 stars
1/17/09 Lisa Brilliant 5 stars
3/08/08 Pamela White Falk has a classic role and he pulls it off well 4 stars
11/11/06 David Pollastrini very funny 5 stars
7/04/06 Ashley Hinz Spoof, yes. Awesome, no. 4 stars
1/23/06 Zenny once you get the characters, the movie sux 2 stars
8/14/05 sale Funny 4 stars
3/08/05 wolf_cloud9 I thought it was hillarious - it's definitely a spoof 4 stars
9/25/04 Randy van Duuren A really good "WHODUNIT?", performed with great class 5 stars
9/05/04 MJM103171 Excellent....Clue so ripped this movie off (i loved that one too) 5 stars
2/05/04 Littlepurch Didn't make any sense but then what were we expecting?! Really funny! 4 stars
6/25/03 Uncle Heavy GREAT parody of mystery movies. Absolutely hilarious. 5 stars
1/09/03 George Jung Is the. IS the. What is the meaning of this. 5 stars
1/08/03 Revolverheld Itīs no chary humor, itīs funny in your face (76-style). A+++! 5 stars
8/08/02 Pernilla Brilliant spoof of the classic murdermystery genre with unforgettable acting and quotes 5 stars
7/12/02 SV Extremely funny for old or young, smart and dumb. 5 stars
6/22/02 hum eh, silly bit of fun. Im sure you need to know who the characters are but thats not hard 3 stars
3/28/02 Paul Gentle (American) Yes. The Actors/Actresses save this film. 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver True fun, but you have to know who the characters are. 4 stars
12/06/01 Todd W Great Move, Absolutly Hillarious 5 stars
11/12/01 Mike Mora Wonderful. Great cast and a lot of fun 4 stars
10/30/01 Max Extremely funny. Rewatchable. 5 stars
10/03/01 Max Awesome, allright. 5 stars
8/22/01 Enrique the Great It's great 5 stars
8/15/01 David Hart loved it. very individual, the deaf kitchen maid was perfect - give her a series on tv 5 stars
7/05/01 cory this kicks fucking ass! 5 stars
6/20/01 Elvisfan Great cast in a decent movie that should provide several laughs 4 stars
6/01/01 weldong Timeless comedy with a great plot! 5 stars
5/22/01 Richard Battaglia Great Fun - A film you can see over and over again 5 stars
5/18/01 Paul K A Gem. Maggie Smith is a riot. Watch the tv version for extra footage (S. Holmes). 5 stars
5/05/01 Martin M This movie makes me laugh my ass off everytime i watch it! A must see for comedy lovers! 5 stars
5/01/01 Quiana I've loved this movie since i was 5 years old -- it makes much more sense now, though. 5 stars
4/20/01 oil checker retarded 1 stars
4/02/01 Scott Bloody perfect! 5 stars
2/17/01 Christopher RIpley it rocks man 5 stars
11/15/00 salvo toscano Jamesir Bensonmum... gorgeous. 5 stars
2/03/00 Matthew Bartley Excellent...catch it if you can 5 stars
8/26/99 Dan McConnell Excellent movie, but who played Sherlock Holmes in the final cameo? 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1976 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1977 (PG)


Directed by
  Robert Moore

Written by
  Neil Simon

Cast
  Eileen Brennan
  Truman Capote
  Peter Sellers
  Peter Falk
  Alec Guinness
  David Niven



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast