More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.31

Awesome70.37%
Worth A Look: 8.64%
Average: 9.88%
Pretty Bad: 3.7%
Total Crap: 7.41%

1 review, 75 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cry-Baby
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Kelly Palma

"John Waters at his best"
3 stars

This is one of those movies, that you can find weekends and late nights on USA or TNT. Johhny Depp, Amy Locane, and Rickie Lake before anyone knew who they were! A cute little flick perfect to pass a rainy afternoon or slow evening.

It's your typical good girl likes bad boy scenario. But with a John Water's twist. If you liked Hairspray or Shag, you'll love this. It's a bit hokey, and tries to have a few songs. But the movie accomplishes its goal - to make you laugh!

as a child of the 80's cheesy movies are a personal fave! and this one is right up that alley. Everybody must start somewhere, Johnny Depp started here. Way before 21 Jump Street on FOX or Edward ScissorHands. This was when Depp was green and raw around the edges. He was still refining his craft.

the story - bad boy depp otherwise known as the crybaby is in high school, has no luck with women and ends up falling for the rich girl on the other side of town.

he is given the nickname, because no matter what - no matter how much it hurts - he will only cry one tear - no more - no less.

it is a story about how the depp and locane fall in love with a little bit of singing thrown in for good measure.

If you like cheese, check this one out! A classic 80's film, definetely worth the trip to the video store.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1189&reviewer=88
originally posted: 07/21/99 12:58:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/23/13 PAUL SHORTT CORNY, TEDIOUS AND BADLY ACTED 1 stars
5/13/11 brian Substitutes stupidity for humor, as with all Waters movies. Nice tunes, tho. 2 stars
3/23/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess Features characters and dialogue that only John Watrers could ever write 5 stars
8/21/08 staciee this movie once i saw it i instantly fell in love with it. To this day it's my fav. movie 5 stars
5/16/08 Karrie Millheim I half hate and half love it, seeing johnny cry is odd 3 stars
1/05/08 Pamela White johnny makes it all believable 4 stars
12/09/07 SamanthaP johnny's way hot in this, and the music is great! 5 stars
6/21/07 Dark Enchantress good movie 5 stars
3/22/07 courtney Best movie ever! its cute and johnny is hott 5 stars
2/28/07 Keystra Williams fun little flick 4 stars
2/07/07 Glenn Soffen Disappointing John Waters Film. It really blows 1 stars
12/19/05 Bree Just another John Waters fiasco. Gotta' love it. 5 stars
10/31/05 missjie86 Bad taste and Good Fun... This movie is hip! 5 stars
10/22/05 Katie Cry Baby is my all time favorite. Everytime I watch it, it makes me smile and cry. 5 stars
8/23/05 Alyson I love this movie<3 Johnny Depp is soo hot<3 5 stars
7/29/05 Caitlin Constant I love this movie! Johnny Depp is so hot playing a bad boy. 5 stars
7/13/05 Crissy one of THE best movies even tho im 14..WATCH IT! 5 stars
5/06/05 kylie fantastic 5 stars
3/08/05 stacey abigail this was the greatest film ever 5 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson John Waters' best since HAIRSPRAY! Johnny Depp is terrific & Amy Locane TOTALLY ROCKS!!!!!! 5 stars
12/03/04 anjelica Hinojosa romantic and sweet 5 stars
11/23/04 Brittany Lira it is funny and cool 5 stars
9/01/04 Stephanie I love this movie. It is one of the best movies i seen. its a great movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/03/04 Ermantha I think this vidio is very good I thnk he is very hot 5 stars
7/16/04 Jessica Mauk I love the songs! i listen to the sound track all the time! It's my all time fav movie!!! 5 stars
7/01/04 nikki Jordan it's brilliant and some bits even made me laugh and its a 100% flik ITS SOO COOL!!! 5 stars
6/20/04 laurie it's a fantastic family film 5 stars
4/17/04 jesslynn martin johnny depp was great hes soo hott!!! 5 stars
3/25/04 Lord Haw Haw I like Depp & Waters, but this thing blows. 2 stars
3/23/04 Agent Sands Normally annoying Waters. A couple of OK qualities, but it's the 1 Depp flick I don't like. 2 stars
1/25/04 Sandra I Love Johnny Depp AND he looks sooo Cute in this movie..and he sings pretty good.. 5 stars
9/26/03 Kayy Good fun, laughs at itself a little. Depp is yummy as always : ) 5 stars
8/20/03 Ashley i LOVE this movie 5 stars
6/08/03 earl hoffert much, MUCH better than hairspray--not quite as sappy, a little more mean 5 stars
5/04/03 sleepy great songs....great fun. 5 stars
2/07/03 natasha_theobald Depp shredding his teen persona with Waters' able help 4 stars
1/04/03 Jack Sommersby Blazing with colorful energy. Locane gives star-making performance. 4 stars
12/29/02 Michelle Recsnik Cool Movie! 4 stars
12/12/02 Chrissy This is my number one favorite movie!!! I love this movie so much...everyone should see it! 5 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum John Waters' best film; great songs 5 stars
10/08/02 Kindra Simas Great movie has it come out on dvd?? 5 stars
8/24/02 katie I loved it it was funny and i think that depp is soo cute 5 stars
8/20/02 Gina It was great! 5 stars
7/04/02 KMG "I wouldn't touch your titties with a ten foot pole" 4 stars
6/02/02 sdjfsdkjf kooky but good stuff 4 stars
4/28/02 Butterbean I love John Water's movies for their campyness, but this was awful. 1 stars
10/31/01 bay I love that movie Johnny is so adorable there 5 stars
10/25/01 Square absolutely love it, everyone should get a chance to watch this film 5 stars
10/16/01 Doowopdoll I love this movie! 5 stars
10/10/01 claire wood really good trying to buy 5 stars
10/01/01 B.B. Cheesy Grease knock off I know-BUT I LOVE IT!! 5 stars
9/09/01 J Keep in mind this is coming from a guy who can usually at least tolerate movies like this. 1 stars
9/06/01 mirella johnny depp is hottest man ever! 5 stars
8/31/01 Jen THIS MOVIE RULES...JD RULES!! 5 stars
8/31/01 Shannon Powell The best FUCKIN' movie ever!!! 5 stars
8/29/01 lacy the best movie ever!!! Definitely my favorite 5 stars
8/23/01 Pearlica great! 5 stars
8/11/01 Moonstrucked Doll Crybaby surpasses all other movies, its a classic you just can't miss!!! 5 stars
8/11/01 HepCat this movie is the best!!! you people who dont like are dumb 5 stars
7/21/01 April B Love It!!!!! I fell in love with Johnny Depp when I first saw it! I wanted to BE Alison!!! 5 stars
7/19/01 Lisa Cry Baby is the best movie 5 stars
7/10/01 Christina i could watch it over and over for the rest of my life and not get tired of it!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/21/01 kooolaidred gotta love the john waters cheez fest..... 5 stars
4/03/01 Iggy John Waters never ceases to destory any postive outlooks on Balitmore!!! 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L Depp, Traci Lords, and Hatchetface. How could it miss? 5 stars
2/21/01 louise the film is the excellent fim i have ver seen 5 stars
2/10/01 Tyrell Smith nkjsdf 1 stars
1/21/01 Sonja I think it was a good movie and jp was cute! 5 stars
12/08/00 Jenni Omigosh! I loved this movie! J.D. is so hot, and the movie rocked! 5 stars
12/05/00 Christy Stout Great Movie 5 stars
3/15/00 Chrissy T King Cry Baby, HE HE HE. Oh that Hatchetface. 5 stars
8/16/99 Iggy Man, this movie made me laugh so hard I thought i was going to throw up. It is so retarded. 5 stars
8/13/99 Sharon Great movie AAA++++++++++++ 5 stars
1/07/99 Jo Mama what the hell was this crap? 1 stars
12/10/98 Freyja Tacky. Silly. Not too darn bad, for a tacky silly Greasesque movie. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1990 (PG-13)
  DVD: 12-Jul-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1990 (PG)


Directed by
  John Waters

Written by
  John Waters

Cast
  Johnny Depp
  Amy Locane
  Susan Tyrell
  Iggy Pop
  Ricki Lake
  Traci Lords



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast