More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.11

Awesome59.57%
Worth A Look: 16.98%
Average: 4.94%
Pretty Bad: 11.73%
Total Crap: 6.79%

18 reviews, 216 user ratings



Sin City
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Peter Sobczynski

"Robert Rodriguez finally makes his masterpiece"
5 stars

“There’s no settling down. There’s going to be blood for blood and by the gallons. It’s the old days. The bad days. The all-or-nothing days. They’re back. There’s no choices left and I’m ready for war.”

Read the above quote again and let it simmer in your mind for a moment for hidden within those words is the key to whether or not you will like “Sin City.” If you find them to be the most ridiculously purple of prose and sneer that no real person would ever say them aloud, then “Sin City” is simply not for you. There is no shame to that and I am sure that if you go to the screen next door, you will find dialogue more “realistic” (i.e. just as artificial, but not as blatantly so) and to your liking in the likes of “Miss Congeniality 2" or “Ice Princess.” However, if you are like me and reading those words puts a silly grin on your face and conjures up images of film noir heaven–a black-and-white world where the men are tough and broad-shouldered, the dames are tough but soft-shouldered and such dialogue, usually uttered between puffs of cigarette smoke, belts of whiskey or winces of pain, is the rule rather than the exception, then you are going to adore “Sin City” with every fiber of your being. This is the most shamelessly entertaining American movie in many a moon–at least since the “Kill Bill” saga–and at times, it feels as if Robert Rodriguez and Frank Miller have not just made a mere movie, they have somehow figured out how to tap into your mind and transferred your ultimate fantasy noir film from your dreams to the screen virtually intact.

Based on Miller’s series of hard-boiled graphic novels, “Sin City” takes three of his best-known stories and weaves them into a two-fisted trilogy of bullets, babes and bon mots, along with not one, but two prologues to boot. In the first, Josh Hartnett and Marley Shelton meet on a rooftop overlooking the vistas of Basin City and share a romantic rendezvous that does not quite go as anticipated. The second features Bruce Willis as Hartigan, an over-the-hill cop (“Pushing 60 with a bum ticker”) who, on his last day before retirement, battles a treacherous partner (Michael Madsen), an even-more treacherous heart condition and a hail of bullets in order to save 11-year-old Nancy Callahan from the clutches of a depraved pedophile/murderer (Nick Stahl) who is the untouchable scion of the Roarks, the most powerful family in town. For his troubles, Hartigan is falsely accused of abusing Nancy himself and sent to prison, though not before removing the pedophile’s chief weapon at point-blank range.

In the first full tale, the monstrous thug Marv (Mickey Rourke, looking like Rondo Hatton’s less-attractive sibling) goes on a rampage of revenge when sweet-faced hooker Goldie (Jamie King) treats him to one night of passion and winds up murdered later that evening. (This is the act that inspires the quote that kicked off this review.) The second centers on Dwight (Clive Owen), who tries to protect his girlfriend (Brittany Murphy) from an abusive ex-boyfriend (Benicio Del Toro) despite the slight complication of being, as he himself puts it, “out of my mind”; this act sends him on a blood-drenched path that takes him from the depths of the local tar pits to the roofs of the sleazy Old Town neighborhood, where another ex-girlfriend, the deadly prostitute (Rosario Dawson) is preparing, with her fellow working girls (including Devon Aoki and Alexis Bledel), to defend her turf from intruders by any means necessary. (Picture Pat Benatar’s “Love is a Battlefield” video as directed by John Woo.) Finally, Hartigan, who was falsely accused of abusing Nancy himself and imprisoned for eight years, is suddenly released from jail and, convinced that she is in danger, goes to seek her out. He tracks her down to the bar where she (Jessica Alba) is a stripper so beloved that she apparently isn’t required to actually strip. (After seeing her cowgirl routine, however, few will complain.) Nancy is delighted to see her knight in shining armor but Hartigan realizes, too late, that instead of rescuing her from danger by tracking her down, he has actually put her in it by allowing another dark figure from her past to follow his tracks.

Because it tells three overlapping stories that feature colorful dialogue, grisly violence and an eclectic cast that combines big stars and relatively overlooked performers, there will no doubt be many comparisons between “Sin City” and “Pulp Fiction,” the 1994 instant classic that revolutionized the film industry and inspired legions of clones and knock-offs. There are other points of comparison as well. One of the intriguing things about the film is the way that the various stories start off following the hoariest genre cliches, only to quickly spin off in wildly unanticipated directions. The story with Marv begins as a standard noir revenge drama but soon turns into the kind of tale that wouldn’t have seen out of place in “E.C. Comics” with the introduction of a silent-but-deadly young man (Elijah Wood) with extremely peculiar tastes. Even stranger is the second tale, in which Dwight’s psychosis leads to an unforgettable sequence (as it turns out, the very one “guest directed” by Quentin Tarantino) in which he and another character have an extended conversation that works both as a little masterpiece of humor and horror and as a sly tribute to a certain Sam Peckinpah classic (though to specify the title would be to spoil the joke). As for the Hartigan sequence, it too has its moments of weirdness once the identity of the villain in revealed, but gets most of its dramatic sparks from taking the innocent lass/grizzled antihero relationship and bringing the sexual subtext of such portrayals to the surface.

However, the most important element that “Sin City” shares with “Pulp Fiction” is the sense of exuberance and sheer joy of filmmaking. Co-directors Rodriguez and Miller are clearly in love with the material and jazzed to have the opportunity to bring it to the screen and that excitement is evident in every one of the film’s 124 minutes. Using a combination of clever editing, black-and-white digital photography (with judicious selections of color sprinkled throughout) and striking sets and backgrounds created almost entirely on computers, they have created a comic-book adaptation that comes closer to approximating the visual style of the source material than any other such film that I can recall seeing. The result is an absolute feast for the eyes–I can’t think of a single uninteresting image–and does more than any other film in recent memory has to remind viewers that there are few sights as arresting as black-and-white photography. For Rodriguez, who has been pushing digital filmmaking for several years now, “Sin City” is a personal triumph as it is the most beautiful example I have seen to date and is the first convincing argument to the superiority of digital over celluloid.

There are flesh-and-blood triumphs to be had in the film as well in the form of the surprisingly high level of performances from all of the key players. All of the actors realize that they are playing archetypes instead of regular people and respond with performances that are just heightened enough without slipping over into parody. Clive Owen is quite good as Dwight, finding a nice balance between his heroic and psychotic halves and also strikes considerable sparks with Rosario Dawson, who also contributes a memorable portrayal of a tough gal who is as deadly as she is sexy. Benicio Del Toro contributes his wildest turn since “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas” with his flamboyantly freaky work as a bad guy who seems to been equally inspired by “The Bad Lieutenant” and “The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari.” There are effective turns from actors who have never really done much of note before (such as Josh Hartnett and Brittany Murphy) as well as good, underused actors (such as Carla Gugino, Rutger Hauer and Powers Boothe) whose excitement at getting to sink their teeth into strong material is evident in their brief scenes. Even Jessica Alba, generally not considered the strongest actress working today, does good work here as Nancy, the good-natured angel who has somehow managed to exist in the streets of Basin City without losing her essential sweetness and innocence, even while dancing on a pole wearing assless chaps.

The two best performances, however, come from Mickey Rourke and Bruce Willis, two actors whose voices and personalities seem to have been custom-designed for material such as this. For Rourke, his scary and soulful turn as Marv, who is both heartbreaking in the scenes where he recalls the one brief moment of happiness in his life and terrifying when he tracks down those who stole it from him, is the role that he has deserved for a long time–one that reminds us that he is, beyond the tabloid headlines and questionable personal choices, an uncommonly gifted actor who hasn’t lost an bit of the raw charisma that made him a star in the first place. Although Willis is never quite able to visually convince us that his character is in his late 60's, it doesn’t really matter because he has the look and the attitude of a man who has seen too much in his life–most of it hideous–and, having seen, in Nancy, one bit of good, he will go to hell and back to protect it and thereby give some meaning to his life. Not many actors working today could pull this off without seeming out-of-place, but Willis is completely believable in the part and when he performs his final act to save Nancy, he takes what could have been a simple bit of nihilistic violence and invests it with a surprising heft and power that resonates long after the lights have gone up.

For Miller, who long resisted allowing his work to be sold to Hollywood after an unpleasant experience working on the “Robocop” sequels, the film is a testament to his unique vision and for Rodriguez, whose previous films (including the “El Mariachi” and “Spy Kids” franchises) have occasionally betrayed a vision fueled by wild energy and little else, “Sin City” is the high-water mark of his career and a suggestion that he can, with the proper material, deliver more than flashy bits of goofball pop cinema. Together, they have created a film that is funny, creepy, sexy, thoughtful and violent (while the latter is highly stylized, the levels of brutality are high enough to push the envelope for “R”-rated films not featuring Jesus as a central character)-a cinematic orgy for movie lovers that will leave them dazed, dazzled and ready for more. This is one of those movies where audiences sit through all of the end credits–not because they are hoping for a final bonus cookie, but because they are too overwhelmed from the entire experience to be able to even move for a few minutes afterwards.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=11918&reviewer=389
originally posted: 04/01/05 14:23:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell good not great 4 stars
8/23/16 Louise Switched off after 15 mins. Overdone and self-indulgent nonsense. 2 stars
10/10/10 R.W. Welch Graphic nihilism; interesting as a curiosity. 3 stars
4/17/10 PAUL SHORTT BLEAK AND NASTY 2 stars
2/11/10 art ROURKE IS EXCELLENT IN SIN CITY,AND WAS TERRIBLE IN the wrestler! 4 stars
11/23/09 Jeff Wilder The edgiest and best movie of 2005 5 stars
9/03/09 Placido Greeting. Nobody can be exactly like me. Sometimes even I have trouble doing it. Help me! I 3 stars
7/01/09 Therm the 'Worth a Look' 4-star label frustrates me, cuz i suppose this is, but it is NOT good 2 stars
5/06/09 art A FABULOUS R-RATED COMIC STRIP MOVIE! 5 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef "Sin City" is a modern day "Dick Tracy." Best comic book movie ever. Never a movie like it. 5 stars
12/04/08 Marco E. really good represantation of NEO NOIR 5 stars
10/02/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Cast!! 5 stars
5/29/08 MDH-Matt Best film of 2005. Period. 'Nuff said. 5 stars
1/03/08 James The best movie i've ever seen. Outstanding. 5 stars
9/25/07 aaron wow. i was completely amzing,, for i thought this would be like smokin aces but in back anu 5 stars
8/08/07 Romantic Heretic A dark and delicious piece of work. Watched frequently and much enjoyed. 5 stars
6/10/07 Danielle Ophelia Oh, yeah. YEAH. 5 stars
5/15/07 Dave I didn't really like it 1 stars
5/15/07 movieman boring 1 stars
5/10/07 Adrian One of my all time favorites. 5 stars
3/30/07 fools♫gold Cansomeone giveanexamplewhereitwas done before and better? Nope,tissomthinrathernew. 4/5 or 5 stars
3/26/07 Eric R Perfect for the genre. Hint: Not for everyone. 4 stars
3/20/07 dude compelling 4 stars
3/11/07 Roy F. Moore Donny, I don't use drugs at all. And I STILL hated this anti-Catholic flick. Trash it. 1 stars
2/26/07 Donny M How could you not like this film. Some people need to lay off the crack 5 stars
2/13/07 The chode So GOOD 5 stars
1/15/07 jeannie karlsen clive owen is to die for 5 stars
1/10/07 johnnyfog Stylish and pays attention to dialogue and character. A thinking man's bloodfest! 5 stars
12/21/06 Doug quite good. 5 stars
11/15/06 LORD DEATH this movie was overdone, trying to rely on style to hide its stupidity. so painfully stupid 1 stars
10/18/06 AJ Muller can you handle Frank Miller's world? if yes, this here be PERFECTION. nothing like it, ever 5 stars
10/02/06 Beau the plot goes no where, repetetive scenes and lost interest within the first 10 minutues 2 stars
9/22/06 matt good at first, but gets boring after a while. Some bad acting. Why is it perpetually night? 3 stars
9/20/06 Booksworm I bought "The Hard Goodbye" the day I went to see this movie. Loved 'em both. 5 stars
8/21/06 Gene Great Filmmaking 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Interesting visual FX, but borefully&too repeatitively violent, I could'nt even finish it. 2 stars
7/26/06 dan a very cool but dark film 4 stars
7/22/06 Agent Sands Pure superficial popcorn entertainment, just brisk action and violence. 4 stars
7/19/06 Trish Sucked me right in, and I have never read the novels 5 stars
6/26/06 Mr Boo Best Movie I've ever seen by far 5 stars
6/13/06 Indrid Cold Possibly the most accurate translation of a comic book ever. But is it good? Meh. 3 stars
6/07/06 GEORGE GARBAGE 1 stars
6/06/06 Dave Webber More style than substance - but sorta works in a frivious way. 4 stars
6/06/06 Thomas rubbish 1 stars
5/15/06 Diane P definitely not for me extremely violent couldn't appreciate it 2 stars
5/08/06 Reklc Best comic book adaptation EVER!!! Great movie!!! 5 stars
5/01/06 CPT Hoolie The cool look can't make up for the excessive subject matter 2 stars
4/19/06 Annie G Violent enough that I had to look away often (and I'm not squeamish). 3 stars
4/18/06 Dave A gruesome but clever picture with a storyline like Pulp Fiction. 4 stars
4/04/06 Mike Loved to see it in black and white,great movie, different,can't wait for sin city 2. 4 stars
4/03/06 Jules Good actors,no plot/character build up.bad movie. 2 stars
3/18/06 MP Bartley Great entertainment, that oozes style - but it can't cover the essential hollowness 4 stars
2/27/06 djacosta You're gonna love this, Baby 5 stars
2/21/06 Agent Sands Overrated as hell, but it's great simple entertainment. 4 stars
1/24/06 Michael Shaw I totally agree with the majprity of people on this movie it was awesome 5 stars
1/20/06 Crackhead I smoked a joint to this one and now i am in a mental institution. GooBIEFJDIFMASKLDzm,x 5 stars
1/10/06 Tony Watt Your review is as good as the flick, tough guy! 5 stars
1/08/06 MF It's worth it for the visuals 4 stars
1/04/06 Piz Was expecting better, Shut it off after an hour or so. 2 stars
1/01/06 Tanya very creative The actors were great 5 stars
12/26/05 Nicole The story is so-so, but it's incredible to look at 4 stars
12/24/05 Michele awesome 5 stars
12/21/05 JJ flash and style can't overcome the fact it has ZERO plot! 2 stars
12/15/05 Sam Bonner 3 stars
12/13/05 _|6|0// (_)773r 7r45(-) 1 stars
12/11/05 Simon worth a look cuz that style is just amazing to look at... but oh so hollow and mindless 4 stars
11/21/05 Sam Atherton Absolutely awesome 5 stars
11/20/05 JeromeBosch Damn, that’s a fine looking coat! 5 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Left me speechless. One of the greatest movies of all time, in my opinion. 5 stars
11/08/05 Littlepurch Great film. Incredibly violent, but it all helps the gripping plot. Acting fab all round. 5 stars
10/25/05 mero A cracker of a film that's saturated with STYLE 4 stars
10/25/05 Jonathon Holmes the first great film of 2005 5 stars
10/23/05 lizard181 More Please 5 stars
10/14/05 eddiejohns Not to deep as far as plot. Loved the comic book look. 4 stars
10/13/05 Wisamane Kill bill sucked! this is nothing like it! SIN CITY IS REALLY CREATIVE! GOOD MOVIE!!!!! 5 stars
10/11/05 DM Such style I didn't realize the complete lack of substance until after. 4 stars
10/10/05 Agent Sands A digrace to film noir in terms of femmes fatale, but rather entertaining nonetheless. 4 stars
10/03/05 Indrid Cold Brilliant use of immersive, artistic CGI. Oh yeah, the movie is OK too. 4 stars
9/30/05 Eden Kill Bill aside, this is the most striking film iv seen in ages 5 stars
9/27/05 David Great idea, very origional, but I still don't get it completely, maybe that's what the sequ 5 stars
9/27/05 Punk_Ass This is an awesome movie. Watched it, then watched it again, then went out and bought it 5 stars
9/24/05 ESTEFANI QUIROZ NO ME GUSTO POR QUE CASI NO SALE JOSH HARTNETT 2 stars
9/21/05 Kurt Stallings The film's heart, it's pure commitment to its own dark message, never skips a beat. 5 stars
9/17/05 Jonathon Holmes the first great film of 2005 5 stars
9/16/05 Monday Morning All style, no substance. And the style wasn't great either. 1 stars
9/13/05 bbbr awesome 5 stars
9/13/05 Sylvanthunder Just plain Awesome, film Noir at its best! Style at its best, it has never been done before 5 stars
9/10/05 Alex i guess expected too much 2 stars
9/08/05 Aaron Madtson I HATED IT! 1 stars
9/08/05 bac one of the best movies i've seen for a while 5 stars
9/08/05 Johnny Best movie of this year. 5 stars
9/05/05 erakon Great movie!! It embodies all that the graphic novels stood for and does it in a clever way 5 stars
8/31/05 Owen Imholte Unique portrayal of Noir Style, nothing to back it up, turns out a big let down in the end 1 stars
8/29/05 Mike No redeeming qualities whatsoever 1 stars
8/28/05 Tom Burns This has to be the best movie made from a graphic novel. 5 stars
8/27/05 Moctezuma A fun movie 5 stars
8/23/05 fruity wow? 5 stars
8/23/05 HardStyle Brilliant style. perf. Atmosphere. Breath taking.fascinating. too short comment section ^^ 5 stars
8/20/05 Monster W. Kung Crap. 2 stars
8/19/05 tatum What it lacks in its screenplay, it make up for with its style 4 stars
8/18/05 Hinotori Scott is right. Under all the violence is a truly uncompromising moral core. 5 stars
8/15/05 Brandy Harrington Good film, but very overrated. Since when does stylish directing make a film a masterpiece? 4 stars
8/13/05 ES I'm thinking about changing my name to Marv= As good as gold 5 stars
8/10/05 JFK Oh, man!!! I've been shot!!!! 5 stars
8/03/05 Sean D Not bad for a one-time see. Not a buyer on DVD for me. Seen better...not to many worse. 3 stars
7/25/05 John Bale Brilliant visuals wastd by excessive sadistic violence and mayhem 2 stars
7/25/05 Naka Oh. My. God. 5 stars
7/18/05 Donna A. I really loved this movie. Now waiting for the DVD to come out. I have it on my buy list. 5 stars
7/18/05 kellie Disgrace, what is up with hollywood anyway, having these sleeze dress with nothing on 1 stars
7/16/05 Green Gremlin Makes Batman look like"Peanuts" !!! 5 stars
7/15/05 Danno the Movie Manno Best film Ive seen in years... Every single frame was perfect. 5 stars
7/11/05 ty mills easily the best film ive seen all year, no contest 5 stars
7/02/05 Byzantine_101 I must admit... IT GOES INTO OVERKILL, but it works surprisingly enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
6/26/05 Paul It was RUBBISH. Walked out half way! 1 stars
6/25/05 Phil Pretty damn cool 4 stars
6/21/05 Naka Absolutely, positively glorious. Nothing less then a modern classic. 5 stars
6/17/05 Manu Ginobli Nice film 4 stars
6/15/05 KC A genre on it's own 5 stars
6/14/05 jameth burketh Easily the best film in a bad year for film. Visually sharp as its stories. 5 stars
6/14/05 Colin Smart Exellent film making and watching 5 stars
6/12/05 Monster W. Kung Meh... since when it takes good set design to be rated as "masterpiece"? 2 stars
6/11/05 Rock-Steady Fucking non stop action, I could not believe how good this was. Fuck you randy 5 stars
6/10/05 randy bickler Tarantino...another glorified slasher waste of HD 1 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands Yes, it expands on the visual techniques from Schindler's List. Otherwise, a bit overrated. 4 stars
6/07/05 Anthony G Awesome, entertained THE ENTIRE GOD DAMN TIME BIATCH!111 5 stars
5/29/05 Burnt Film Noir 2000 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake This movie is the reason CGI was even invented! 5 stars
5/25/05 The shizz This movie was awesome 5 stars
5/22/05 Cham Visually stunning, though what's on screen isn't that compelling. Mickey Rourke steals it. 4 stars
5/17/05 rfsf what the fuck was that i could habe been in a brrte movie ass FUCK 5 stars
5/17/05 Paterfam001 Dire: Bruce - how are you gonna explain this wet-dream to Scout & Rumer? 1 stars
5/09/05 K. Sear Visually stunning and faithful to the original. Very worthwhile. 5 stars
5/06/05 Mattomic Runs a bit long, but it's one of the best comic book movies to come out in a long time. 4 stars
5/05/05 Kristi i thought it would be a great movie but it dissapointed me. it was a bit BoRiNg!!! 2 stars
5/04/05 Kyle Kapetanakis A suberb experiment in masturbatory cinema - violent, perverted, a true guilty pleasure. 5 stars
5/02/05 Teri GOOD 4 stars
4/26/05 E-FUNK Balls-to-the-wall actiona and gore. Absolutely merciless. Mickey Rourke is a god. 5 stars
4/25/05 Jim Frank Miller's fingerprints are all over this bad boy, and it rocks. 5 stars
4/25/05 Koitus W-o-w... This should have been NC-17; most violent movie since Kill Bill Vol. 1 I've seen. 2 stars
4/23/05 APT2 coolest movie ever made 5 stars
4/23/05 John this movie hits one note incessently over and over again...boring. Rourke is good 2 stars
4/21/05 vagile Too literal translation from the books 5 stars
4/20/05 Dan Perfect transformation from Frank Miller's art to the screen; read the comics first. 4 stars
4/20/05 Obi Wan Wow!! Rodriguez finally gives us his MasterPiece...Great work by Rourke,Jessica & Rosario 5 stars
4/19/05 Nicole Baugh Awesome movie! And Elijiah Wood was GREAT in this. Talk about a freaky part. 5 stars
4/19/05 Al Guy I wanted to like it . . . but I didn't. 2 stars
4/18/05 Kim Anderson icy brilliance, violence balanced by anti-heros with hearts,sexy and political. 5 stars
4/17/05 MDP Pure art; genius 5 stars
4/16/05 Diego this movie was sooo cool!!!! 5 stars
4/15/05 Baghdad Iraq 1 stars
4/14/05 Billy Mickey Rourke was awesome 4 stars
4/13/05 Junior LaRoche Loved it! Better than Kill Bill and Once upon a Time in Mexico! 4 stars
4/12/05 cheetosnwine@hotmail.com A Masterpiece! 5 stars
4/12/05 Caiphn Knew nothing about this film, was very impressed, not for people who hate violence. 5 stars
4/12/05 nate plate epic is the only word that explains it 5 stars
4/12/05 Lynnaea Visually, it works. Plot/character reactions unconvincing. 3 stars
4/12/05 SuFi Weinberg says it how it is 5 stars
4/10/05 Landshark When you kick ass like this, there's gonna be hell to pay. 5 stars
4/10/05 Gray great art WAY to much tourture though 3 stars
4/10/05 Vince Nice look, but repetitive and quite dull 2 stars
4/09/05 T Fuck the playerhaters, this movie rocks the socks 5 stars
4/09/05 hannaho Has got to be the best comic book adaptation since Batman. 5 stars
4/09/05 Maalstrom Great visuals along with a few interesting plots. 5 stars
4/09/05 chris. see it with your mom 5 stars
4/09/05 Tanya Grays Loved it 5 stars
4/08/05 Lucas Fun exercise in style; too shallow to be great though 3 stars
4/08/05 luke great 5 stars
4/08/05 michaelb14 A world with no shades of gray only the hard black and white of Basin City 5 stars
4/07/05 emily fantastic mood, dialogue, stylisticly gorgeous, and badass! 5 stars
4/07/05 Mider Its nice to see something thats not craptacular. 5 stars
4/07/05 brody WOW..... 5 stars
4/07/05 drfardook Visually top notch. Actors were nicely ironic with the stiled dialog... actresses sucked 5 stars
4/07/05 Rosaline Giornelli Spectacular Adaptation! CGI used as it was meant to be used. 5 stars
4/06/05 KingNeutron Some scenes were too-obviously CGI backgrounds; but overall I'd see it again. 4 stars
4/06/05 Vicious Highly enjoyable, and the most artful violence I've seen in some time. 5 stars
4/06/05 joe so fine 5 stars
4/06/05 Alison Smart twisted, over-the-top violence 4 stars
4/06/05 dan Visually stunning...brilliant movie!! Mickey Rourke rocked!! 5 stars
4/06/05 Russell Finally a flm that does not give a shit and goes all the way. Finally. 5 stars
4/05/05 booby best r rated movie in too long 5 stars
4/05/05 killbill03 Finally a film worth the price of admission 5 stars
4/05/05 Mr. Eff Style? Incredible. Acting? Spotty. Worth seeing? Most definitely. 4 stars
4/05/05 Uncle Phucker Amazing looking, amazing characters, amazing action, and amazing women. 5 stars
4/05/05 Mary Amazing. Among the best of the comic book films. 5 stars
4/04/05 Wildcarde1 What the movie industry needed a bit of originality and style 5 stars
4/04/05 Patrick it was like watching the comic come to life, amazing. 5 stars
4/04/05 Jack Bourbon Oh come on, it wasn't that good. "Mexico" was better. Willis and Rourke good, rest blah 4 stars
4/04/05 Josh Bays Amazing Comic Book on Film 5 stars
4/04/05 Brian the best movie of 2005 already? 5 stars
4/04/05 Goggman Greatest comic book movie ever! 5 stars
4/04/05 ELI BEST MOVIE OF THE YEAR!...so far :) 5 stars
4/03/05 Brad Movie that employs a ton of special effects but has a lot of heart. And it kicks ass 5 stars
4/03/05 Heidialyssa Awesome movie. Stylistic and one that others will attempt to mimic, without success. 5 stars
4/03/05 ajay 95% awesome, there were a couple of dull moments tho. 4 stars
4/03/05 Jack Outstanding 5 stars
4/03/05 Tom Benton One of the best damn movies ever made;comical, funny ... a hell of a film. 5 stars
4/03/05 MorallySound Wow! 5 stars
4/03/05 impartial judgement I'd hit it 5 stars
4/03/05 carlton i'll be hornswoogled 5 stars
4/03/05 gromm A movie with a soul that stays true to itself 110% It doesn't get any better than this. 5 stars
4/03/05 too-much-coffee mistress Woo! 5 stars
4/03/05 Kristina Williams Oh man.....MARV! 5 stars
4/03/05 Eric a perfect marraige of hard-boiled violence and comic book sensibility 5 stars
4/03/05 Mason Near perfect. 5 stars
4/02/05 leo Wow. What a fantastically original movie. Best in years. 5 stars
4/02/05 Jim The Movie Freak It Doesn't Get Better Than This! Should Cheer Up All The Catholics Out There :) 5 stars
4/02/05 Cobra Commander "Count it!" 5 stars
4/02/05 mitchogletree see the best "comic" book adaptation ever. It'll make your April Fool's. 5 stars
4/02/05 Ted Great 5 stars
4/02/05 Average Joe This movie is incredible. As long as you have a strong stomach, see this movie. Now. 5 stars
4/02/05 jcjs holy cow, loved it to pieces...got to see again soon 5 stars
4/02/05 brody WOW..... 5 stars
4/02/05 Naka Absolutely fantastic! SEE THIS FILM! 5 stars
4/02/05 malcolm violent. hammy. melodramatic. just like it was supposed to be. 4 stars
4/01/05 impartial judgement woah 5 stars
4/01/05 BrianWilly Hot DAMN my life is better for having seen this 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Apr-2005 (R)
  DVD: 13-Dec-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Jul-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast