More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.49

Awesome79.13%
Worth A Look: 6.96%
Average: 3.48%
Pretty Bad: 4.35%
Total Crap: 6.09%

3 reviews, 97 user ratings


Latest Reviews

This is Where I Leave You by Jaycie

Babadook, The by Jay Seaver

Duke of Burgundy, The by Jay Seaver

Redeemer by Jay Seaver

Force Majeure by Jay Seaver

Cub by Jay Seaver

Hardkor Disco by Jay Seaver

Zero Theorem, The by Peter Sobczynski

Tusk by Peter Sobczynski

Maze Runner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


JFK
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Dark Horizons

"A fine example of great filmmaking."
5 stars

I have never been a fan of Oliver Stone or Kevin Costners work, but this is the one exception. "JFK" is a fine example of great filmmaking and no movie before or since has yet blended 'real life' TV/film footage into its narrative so well. It does this in such a way that makes it seem almost like a documentary with a fast pace and a complex theory. Stone's theory at the end is way too elaborate and full of too many holes to actually have been carried off (the Government only wishes it was that organised) but it does make for great filmmaking.

At 3+ hours its a long haul tough and aside from the great introduction by Martin Sheen, the opening hour has practically nothing going on in it and that's the only real fault. The family scenes also feel a bit strained at times too, but things do pick up quite well as it progresses. Performances are solid across the board with a HUGE amount of famous faces playing the supporting characters from the likes of John Candy as a guy who seems to only speak in fluent Jive through to Gary Oldman in a career making turn as the 'patsy' Lee Harvey Oswald. However my personal favourite remains Donald Sutherland as 'X', the character which has spawned imitators (Chris Carter says 'Deep Throat' on "The X-Files" was based on Sutherland's character) and is not only the most interesting character in the movie, but the conversation he and Costner have is the true centerpoint of the whole feature and comes up with some very logical theories.

The cinematography, the script, the production design is all spot on - it may be long but its a journey worth taking. The Director's Cut adds a few scenes, mainly resolving the argument between Costner and his main friend and showing some early moments related to the trial (the theatrical cut rushes right into it). There's also a strange bit in which it appears someone sets Costner up to appear to be soliciting sex in a mens room but he doesn't fall for it and escapes quickly. The new scenes aren't really needed, they just extended it further really and were understandably cut.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1194&reviewer=239
originally posted: 02/24/01 21:54:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/19/14 owwyjtuuze USA 2 stars
7/09/14 ywupbhfvt USA 2 stars
8/01/12 Jeff Wilder Some slow to a halt moments. But on the whole a classic. 5 stars
3/22/11 angie mazzara great film.shows how corrupt government is.how bad people are 5 stars
9/18/10 montedelasanimas Absorbing, fascinating and truly disturbing, with the character "X" on top of it. 5 stars
5/18/10 anikin it sucked cuz it long and borin 1 stars
1/01/10 PAUL SHORTT QUESTIONABLE HISTORY, THOUGH ABSORBING DRAMA, BLENDING FACT AND UNCERTAIN SPECULATION 3 stars
7/06/08 James It might be Oliver Stone's opinion, but to me it's still one of the best films ever made 5 stars
6/01/08 jointz Stone's film mixes fact and fiction, new and old footage, and forms such a convincing tale. 5 stars
4/25/07 David Cohen Stone's endless paranoid rant about our most overrated president 2 stars
2/13/07 johnnyfog Loses steam at the end, with the big trial 4 stars
1/27/07 action movie fan long boring and false! new jack city was the best film of 1991 2 stars
11/06/06 Edgurado Carrochio i really think that Starksy is a fantastic police cop and so is Hutch 5 stars
10/19/06 J It is a very interesting film. Some bits are boring, but overall it is great. 4 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley A tour de force of acting, direction and editing. A tightly wound paranoid masterpiece. 5 stars
5/28/06 Boris Mostly fiction, but still an amazing, thought-provoking film 5 stars
11/29/05 R.W.Welch Diverting screwball fantasy with competent cast. 4 stars
9/20/05 John phenomenal piece of work 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake Hauntingly powerful! 5 stars
1/17/05 Nobody a very well made movie with no basis in reality. Stone purposely spreads lies throughout. 1 stars
12/07/04 Kurt Cobain Stone's most interesting movie. 5 stars
11/19/04 screb gripping 5 stars
9/26/04 Bucky Buckner Boone Just another example of something the US has to answer for and never will 5 stars
6/28/04 Noell I've done research for the J.F.K case since I was ten and this movie covered all of it. 5 stars
6/17/04 Kristen Very interesting Theory, and quite believable despite its exaggeration of nearly evidence. 4 stars
6/01/04 Big Russian a must see, anyone who rates it less than great is beyond shallow 5 stars
5/17/04 sarah paranoid and presumptious, but very watchable 4 stars
1/21/04 khjfjnfv Dramatic, intense, thought-provoking and original--just like a real movie should be. 5 stars
12/14/03 movieman there is no conspiracy its all bullshit, but good movie 3 stars
11/27/03 John cinematically brilliant and a compelling story 5 stars
5/08/03 John Lipian This movie is riveting! And I thought working for Larry Rhodes was exciting! 5 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Blah blah blah. . .blah BLAH. Ba blah ba blah. Blah BLAH blah blah. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. 1 stars
1/11/03 Desperado I am an avid believer in the Jfk conspiracy, and this movie says everything that proves it 5 stars
1/08/03 Seppo The Best of the best films ever made! 5 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby Superb and provocative. Flawlessly directed and edited. Costner is wonderful. 5 stars
10/24/02 Flounder Put quite simply...this movie is excellent! One of the most thought provoking movies ever! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum What's next? That right wing conspiracy film? 3 stars
7/12/02 KMG Awesome...and you get an added bonus: more Kevin Bacon connects! 5 stars
4/10/02 The Grinch Stone is NOT a credible source for history. He creates fantasy and presents it as fact. 1 stars
4/04/02 cat A bit slow, but the last hour makes up for the first 2. Very dramatic & graphic. 5 stars
3/24/02 entropy Excelent! Highly recomended. 5 stars
3/17/02 FlaFan Effective in generating new questions about the event. 5 stars
2/19/02 Erik North A controversial film that keeps stiring debate...in other words, a masterpiece! 5 stars
2/19/02 virginia ambrose I hated the movie 1 stars
2/17/02 Jimmy Dean eah... 1 stars
1/27/02 Lin Rainey This movie was all over the place...absorbing. Great movie making! 5 stars
1/26/02 Hank Graham technical proficiency in the service of SILLY CRAP 1 stars
1/25/02 KMAN Superb!! 5 stars
12/13/01 Dominik Duprelle Absorbing. Completely. And the cast is every "6 Degrees" players dream 5 stars
12/12/01 Kristin Nathe It was a very good movie 5 stars
12/05/01 Skip Young Revisionist history turns me off. What's so boring about the truth, Oliver? 3 stars
11/10/01 DMF Stone trying to sell claptrap by making it look realistic. 2 stars
11/05/01 Andrew Carden Very Well-Done and Scripted. Superb Casting and Very Realistic. 5 stars
9/03/01 Henry Ginsberg I can't belive that this did not win best picture at the oscars. 5 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Awesome, yes. But DANCES WITH WOLVES "sucks all ass." 5 stars
8/25/01 Dave Mortlock Asks all the right questions, and gives reasonable answers. 5 stars
8/14/01 unkle very interesting 5 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk Relentlessly engaging. This film is so well put together, that it feels like the truth. 5 stars
8/01/01 Tod Brilliant! One of the finest crafted films of all time. 5 stars
7/07/01 Mustafa Ahad It simply great. Questions democracy to its extreme 5 stars
6/27/01 Erik North JFK is a film that provokes great debate--the best kind of film in my book! 5 stars
6/23/01 Gary Oldman We Love Your Work Fun propaganda. Spooky! 5 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe The only long movie that could be longer and no one would have minded 5 stars
6/05/01 Just like a Wop . . . Me Rikeee!!! You make-a moovie? 5 stars
4/25/01 viking Far fetched, but intriguing 4 stars
3/30/01 Daniel Salinas The best film about the death and conspiracy to kill JFK 5 stars
3/27/01 Ichabod Crane Long but very fascinating 4 stars
2/21/01 John F Kennedy So, er, who shot me guys? 5 stars
1/17/01 The Terminator Easily one of the ebst of the 90's 5 stars
1/15/01 Action freak Right on Add 5 stars
1/11/01 Add Totally absorbing and 3 hours long! Great stuff 5 stars
1/01/01 Msitrab One of the best movies of all time(no Joke) 5 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla One of the best films ever made, it totally awesome!!!! 5 stars
11/25/00 The Evil Penguin another classic from Oliver Stone 4 stars
10/26/00 JC23 An Awesome film 5 stars
9/06/00 Elvisfan better than the rest of his movies even tho i don't like Kev that much 5 stars
8/08/00 General Along with Platoon, this is Oliver Stone's Best 5 stars
6/07/00 Taylor This film is awesome, great moviemaking and storytelling 5 stars
6/02/00 Add Just so good, don't be put of by it's length or that Costners in it. This is a classic. 5 stars
6/01/00 Jimmy One of the best and most important films of the 90's 5 stars
5/23/00 Jake A powerful and riveting film. 5 stars
5/22/00 Obi Wan Rocked!!! One of the best films ever!!! 5 stars
2/23/00 Jedi just a damn good movie 5 stars
2/19/00 Neil Austin Don't care if it's true or not, I'm english. What A Film 5 stars
12/25/99 Obi Wan Only film that can change narrow-minded, tight-lipped, bullshit-feeding, Congress??? 5 stars
7/05/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Very Good" 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg I'm voting again for my FAVORITE FILM EVER. 5 stars
6/17/99 J-Dogg What the fuck!! This is the greatest film ever made and it shouldn't be treated like that! 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan The stone conspiracy movie-ten times better than nixon. 5 stars
6/04/99 Matthew Bartley Mesmerising....a modern classic 5 stars
4/07/99 Michael Grimm thought provoking, not a stone fan but the movie was riveting 5 stars
11/27/98 G if you open your mind a little this is a great movie. outstanding directing by Stone 5 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob What film can be when Directors are allowed to challenge an audience to think and follow. 5 stars
10/24/98 Vincent Flat-out brilliant (and provocative) filmmaking 5 stars
10/24/98 grunter Paranoia breeds genius; multi-layered and historic; 5 stars
10/22/98 CaptNish Fuckin' great...left the film thinking I shot Kennedy. the Director's Cut a must see 5 stars
10/21/98 Johny Stone's best film 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1991 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1992 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast