More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.49

Awesome79.13%
Worth A Look: 6.96%
Average: 3.48%
Pretty Bad: 4.35%
Total Crap: 6.09%

3 reviews, 97 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Tale of the Princess Kaguya, The by Jay Seaver

'71 by Daniel Kelly

Shrew's Nest by Jay Seaver

This is Where I Leave You by Jaycie

Babadook, The by Jay Seaver

Duke of Burgundy, The by Jay Seaver

Redeemer by Jay Seaver

Force Majeure by Jay Seaver

Cub by Jay Seaver

Hardkor Disco by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


JFK
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Let Justice Be Done, Though The Heavens Fall"
5 stars

After I finished watching this movie, I asked myself: "How could this be?" I was so compelled and surprised that I started to shiver. This flick is easily one of the best and most talked about of the 90's, and probably of all time. When watching this movie, it makes you think how has history being forced to be written, and how the people that have the power have the strength to cover their wrong doings. But most of all, how does it affect our lives.

Jim Garrison (Kevin Costner in one of his few good roles) is a District Attorney in New Orleans; he is shocked when one of his aides tells him that President Kennedy is shot. The day goes on, Kennedy's dead, and they arrest Lee Harvey Oswald (Gary Oldman) just about an hour later (surprising isn't it?). Knowing through the TV that Oswald had contacts in New Orleans, Garrison tries to find out who they were, and eventually they end up with David Ferrie (Joe Pecsi in one of his best roles), who tells them nothing but a few suspected lies, he is turned into the FBI, but is released later in the night, while in the course of the day, Oswald gets shot dead by Jack Ruby. Garrison ceases the case until three years later, after finding out through friends in the government and by reading all the volumes of the Warren Commission, that thereís a "glitch" in the case. He finally roars for being asleep for three years and launches the investigation, which leads to several interviews with people in Dallas, friends of Ferrie and Oswald and all the way to the Mystery Man, Clay Shaw (Tommy Lee Jones in another superb role).

I have to give a hands-down to the acting and the directing, which were excellent, but most of all, to cinematography and editing. The editing was perfect, and thanks to it, the movie explains its parts smoothly. The cinematography helps because in most of the scenes, it gives you the moods, and the types of atmospheres of the scenery, the characters, everything. The cinematography in this movie complies with the very basic definitions of motion pictures, which is a story told in pictures, and you can see that thanks to the different camera angles that are shown in one simple scene. It never bores, in fact, it adds up to the mystery of the assassination, and keeps you on the edge of your seat.

Now, some of the information in the movie may not be all that accurate, but that doesn't matter, since the point of the movie is to tell you in a sort of in-your-face way that, there was a conspiracy against JFK, that there was a fourth shot and a second or more riflemen, and the government was involved in it somehow. And they had to be involved, because if you read through history, Vietnam exploded, if not expanded into an almost full war in which the U.S. was thoroughly involved.

Naturally, JFK wasn't a super guy; he had his share of problems, like banging away Marilyn Monroe, and making promises that he couldn't keep. But who gives a shit about that? You should stick to the point of the assassination, and thatís what the film does. And if you think that there was no conspiracy, or worse, think that Jackie Kennedy wanted him death just because of some silly love affair (try divorce), and organize that type of military style ambush between Houston St. and Elm St., then you're probably a fucking idiot. I mean Oswald would make a complete asshole of himself if he didn't shoot Kennedy coming off Houston, which was basically the easiest shot for him. Of course, many people have asked themselves and still asked themselves why was JFK killed? But again, this film just goes on, forgets whatever is around the mystery of his death, and tells its story.

The film points out the many problems that lie within this investigation. Many of us today who will do research on the Internet, or in the library about the case will find a lot of malaise, instead of the goods that we are trying to find. The JFK case is surrounded by a bunch of worthless shit that the most important parts that we look for are almost nowhere to be found, like Mister X (Donald Sutherland) explains to Garrison: "Well thatís the real question isn't it, why? The how and the who is just scenery for the public, all this shit keeps them guessing like some kind of parlor game that prevents them from asking the real question 'why'." It has always been like that. You look at history and if you try to do research in some topic, the first thing you get is just refills of how they did it, and who was involved in it. Hell, why do you need that info if what is done is done? You never get to the point of the topic, and that is asking why did they do this? And who gives a fuck if these guys were gay or not? What matters is what they did. Also, don't underestimate the three questions that X told Garrison: "Why was Kennedy killed? Who benefited from it? Who has the power to cover it up? That, in my opinion is the movie's key for the audience, especially for the ones that do research, since itís the basic point on what point of view they should start investigating.

All those points that the film points out, is storytelling at itís finest. Hell, this entire movie, all the credit goes to Stone, heís a masterful screenwriter, and to have pull this one off, itís just impressive. Sure, it doesnít rely too much on historical accuracy, but the dramatic effects are effective and incredible. His skills in directing are raw, but great, and he manages to score great, giving all the right atmospheres in all the movieís key scenes.

In the end the movie explains to you that in history kings have been killed, and how politics are played. It also tells you that you should never fully believe what the people say. Think, be smart, find out as much as you can from the topic, and then draw your own conclusions, maybe someday we will find out the damn truth. For the moment, find this movie and watch it

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1194&reviewer=235
originally posted: 02/01/01 15:54:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/19/14 owwyjtuuze USA 2 stars
7/09/14 ywupbhfvt USA 2 stars
8/01/12 Jeff Wilder Some slow to a halt moments. But on the whole a classic. 5 stars
3/22/11 angie mazzara great film.shows how corrupt government is.how bad people are 5 stars
9/18/10 montedelasanimas Absorbing, fascinating and truly disturbing, with the character "X" on top of it. 5 stars
5/18/10 anikin it sucked cuz it long and borin 1 stars
1/01/10 PAUL SHORTT QUESTIONABLE HISTORY, THOUGH ABSORBING DRAMA, BLENDING FACT AND UNCERTAIN SPECULATION 3 stars
7/06/08 James It might be Oliver Stone's opinion, but to me it's still one of the best films ever made 5 stars
6/01/08 jointz Stone's film mixes fact and fiction, new and old footage, and forms such a convincing tale. 5 stars
4/25/07 David Cohen Stone's endless paranoid rant about our most overrated president 2 stars
2/13/07 johnnyfog Loses steam at the end, with the big trial 4 stars
1/27/07 action movie fan long boring and false! new jack city was the best film of 1991 2 stars
11/06/06 Edgurado Carrochio i really think that Starksy is a fantastic police cop and so is Hutch 5 stars
10/19/06 J It is a very interesting film. Some bits are boring, but overall it is great. 4 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley A tour de force of acting, direction and editing. A tightly wound paranoid masterpiece. 5 stars
5/28/06 Boris Mostly fiction, but still an amazing, thought-provoking film 5 stars
11/29/05 R.W.Welch Diverting screwball fantasy with competent cast. 4 stars
9/20/05 John phenomenal piece of work 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake Hauntingly powerful! 5 stars
1/17/05 Nobody a very well made movie with no basis in reality. Stone purposely spreads lies throughout. 1 stars
12/07/04 Kurt Cobain Stone's most interesting movie. 5 stars
11/19/04 screb gripping 5 stars
9/26/04 Bucky Buckner Boone Just another example of something the US has to answer for and never will 5 stars
6/28/04 Noell I've done research for the J.F.K case since I was ten and this movie covered all of it. 5 stars
6/17/04 Kristen Very interesting Theory, and quite believable despite its exaggeration of nearly evidence. 4 stars
6/01/04 Big Russian a must see, anyone who rates it less than great is beyond shallow 5 stars
5/17/04 sarah paranoid and presumptious, but very watchable 4 stars
1/21/04 khjfjnfv Dramatic, intense, thought-provoking and original--just like a real movie should be. 5 stars
12/14/03 movieman there is no conspiracy its all bullshit, but good movie 3 stars
11/27/03 John cinematically brilliant and a compelling story 5 stars
5/08/03 John Lipian This movie is riveting! And I thought working for Larry Rhodes was exciting! 5 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Blah blah blah. . .blah BLAH. Ba blah ba blah. Blah BLAH blah blah. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. 1 stars
1/11/03 Desperado I am an avid believer in the Jfk conspiracy, and this movie says everything that proves it 5 stars
1/08/03 Seppo The Best of the best films ever made! 5 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby Superb and provocative. Flawlessly directed and edited. Costner is wonderful. 5 stars
10/24/02 Flounder Put quite simply...this movie is excellent! One of the most thought provoking movies ever! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum What's next? That right wing conspiracy film? 3 stars
7/12/02 KMG Awesome...and you get an added bonus: more Kevin Bacon connects! 5 stars
4/10/02 The Grinch Stone is NOT a credible source for history. He creates fantasy and presents it as fact. 1 stars
4/04/02 cat A bit slow, but the last hour makes up for the first 2. Very dramatic & graphic. 5 stars
3/24/02 entropy Excelent! Highly recomended. 5 stars
3/17/02 FlaFan Effective in generating new questions about the event. 5 stars
2/19/02 Erik North A controversial film that keeps stiring debate...in other words, a masterpiece! 5 stars
2/19/02 virginia ambrose I hated the movie 1 stars
2/17/02 Jimmy Dean eah... 1 stars
1/27/02 Lin Rainey This movie was all over the place...absorbing. Great movie making! 5 stars
1/26/02 Hank Graham technical proficiency in the service of SILLY CRAP 1 stars
1/25/02 KMAN Superb!! 5 stars
12/13/01 Dominik Duprelle Absorbing. Completely. And the cast is every "6 Degrees" players dream 5 stars
12/12/01 Kristin Nathe It was a very good movie 5 stars
12/05/01 Skip Young Revisionist history turns me off. What's so boring about the truth, Oliver? 3 stars
11/10/01 DMF Stone trying to sell claptrap by making it look realistic. 2 stars
11/05/01 Andrew Carden Very Well-Done and Scripted. Superb Casting and Very Realistic. 5 stars
9/03/01 Henry Ginsberg I can't belive that this did not win best picture at the oscars. 5 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Awesome, yes. But DANCES WITH WOLVES "sucks all ass." 5 stars
8/25/01 Dave Mortlock Asks all the right questions, and gives reasonable answers. 5 stars
8/14/01 unkle very interesting 5 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk Relentlessly engaging. This film is so well put together, that it feels like the truth. 5 stars
8/01/01 Tod Brilliant! One of the finest crafted films of all time. 5 stars
7/07/01 Mustafa Ahad It simply great. Questions democracy to its extreme 5 stars
6/27/01 Erik North JFK is a film that provokes great debate--the best kind of film in my book! 5 stars
6/23/01 Gary Oldman We Love Your Work Fun propaganda. Spooky! 5 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe The only long movie that could be longer and no one would have minded 5 stars
6/05/01 Just like a Wop . . . Me Rikeee!!! You make-a moovie? 5 stars
4/25/01 viking Far fetched, but intriguing 4 stars
3/30/01 Daniel Salinas The best film about the death and conspiracy to kill JFK 5 stars
3/27/01 Ichabod Crane Long but very fascinating 4 stars
2/21/01 John F Kennedy So, er, who shot me guys? 5 stars
1/17/01 The Terminator Easily one of the ebst of the 90's 5 stars
1/15/01 Action freak Right on Add 5 stars
1/11/01 Add Totally absorbing and 3 hours long! Great stuff 5 stars
1/01/01 Msitrab One of the best movies of all time(no Joke) 5 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla One of the best films ever made, it totally awesome!!!! 5 stars
11/25/00 The Evil Penguin another classic from Oliver Stone 4 stars
10/26/00 JC23 An Awesome film 5 stars
9/06/00 Elvisfan better than the rest of his movies even tho i don't like Kev that much 5 stars
8/08/00 General Along with Platoon, this is Oliver Stone's Best 5 stars
6/07/00 Taylor This film is awesome, great moviemaking and storytelling 5 stars
6/02/00 Add Just so good, don't be put of by it's length or that Costners in it. This is a classic. 5 stars
6/01/00 Jimmy One of the best and most important films of the 90's 5 stars
5/23/00 Jake A powerful and riveting film. 5 stars
5/22/00 Obi Wan Rocked!!! One of the best films ever!!! 5 stars
2/23/00 Jedi just a damn good movie 5 stars
2/19/00 Neil Austin Don't care if it's true or not, I'm english. What A Film 5 stars
12/25/99 Obi Wan Only film that can change narrow-minded, tight-lipped, bullshit-feeding, Congress??? 5 stars
7/05/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ***Ĺ (out of ****) Category: "Very Good" 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg I'm voting again for my FAVORITE FILM EVER. 5 stars
6/17/99 J-Dogg What the fuck!! This is the greatest film ever made and it shouldn't be treated like that! 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan The stone conspiracy movie-ten times better than nixon. 5 stars
6/04/99 Matthew Bartley Mesmerising....a modern classic 5 stars
4/07/99 Michael Grimm thought provoking, not a stone fan but the movie was riveting 5 stars
11/27/98 G if you open your mind a little this is a great movie. outstanding directing by Stone 5 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob What film can be when Directors are allowed to challenge an audience to think and follow. 5 stars
10/24/98 Vincent Flat-out brilliant (and provocative) filmmaking 5 stars
10/24/98 grunter Paranoia breeds genius; multi-layered and historic; 5 stars
10/22/98 CaptNish Fuckin' great...left the film thinking I shot Kennedy. the Director's Cut a must see 5 stars
10/21/98 Johny Stone's best film 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1991 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1992 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast