More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 13.33%
Worth A Look56.67%
Average: 27.78%
Pretty Bad: 2.22%
Total Crap: 0%

9 reviews, 36 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Pacific Rim: Uprising by alejandroariera

Unsane by Peter Sobczynski

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Negotiator, The
[] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Why is Sam Jackson's hair kinda orange?"
4 stars

I liked it.

I liked it, if for nothing else, because of the chance to see Samuel L. Jackson and Kevin Spacey share the screen.

It's an action movie with a decent plot, something that's all too rare these days. Jackson's framed and takes hostages, determined to prove his innocence. Since he's a hostage negotiator himself, he knows the rules of engagment and asks for Spacey to work as his negotiator. Then the two team up, in a manner of speaking, and figure out who's behind it all.

It's not hard to predict what will happen, and guessing who's really trying to mess with Jackson isn't all that difficult to deduce, either.

But it's the strength of Spacey and Jackson, two of the better actors of the last decade, that makes this movie a good watch. Jackson's got the intensity that he was missing in his last two movies (Jackie Brown and the suckfest Sphere), and Spacey's not had to rebound from anything yet. These are two actors in their prime, and seeing them in the same movie is worth your money.

Also, there's two others here that are worthy of your attention. Paul Giamatti, who played Pig Vomit in Howard Stern's Private Parts and had a small role in Saving Private Ryan, brings a little bit of levity to the otherwise weighty proceedings. And the late J.T. Walsh, one of the best character actors I've ever seen, is once again somewhat smarmy in his second to last role before his unfortunate death.

So really, in this case, it truly is all about the acting.

Oh yeah, and the trailer for this movie blows.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 08/28/98 04:24:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/11/06 Agent Sands Overrated, I think. Good, though. 4 stars
10/01/05 Indrid Cold I suppose the acting elevates it somewhat above average, but nothing to write home about. 4 stars
12/13/03 R.W. Welch A tad overdone and overlong but nicely acted. 3 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby Hey, look -- it's a lame-brained rip-off of "The Fugitive"!! 2 stars
2/06/03 123 despite predictable outcome, this movie rocks, my personal fave 5 stars
9/18/02 palaboy101 This is the movie the Pasay City police should've seen! 5 stars
9/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Very clever,but it had a really dumb ending. 4 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Better than I thought it would be! Wonderfully directed by "Friday"'s director. 4 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Surprisingly good film with a great cast revolving around an interesting story. So...yeah. 4 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright ZZZ. Uninspired actioner,notable only for wasting its excellent cast.Next time, try harder. 3 stars
8/29/00 Chris Drake Formulaic plot, difficult to endure even with Jackson & Spacey 2 stars
7/06/00 Bruce Superb acting and directing, this is an action thriller that delivers 5 stars
2/16/00 Neil Austin Lovley Jubbly 4 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler suspenseful 5 stars
1/12/00 paul smart and savvy 5 stars
1/11/00 dr.d tense and taut 5 stars
12/29/99 Pitt Very good suspense. Good dialogue. Liked it alot! 4 stars
7/30/99 Matthew Bartley If it wasnt for Kev and Sam Id probably have switched off 4 stars
7/09/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
6/25/99 David Keech Great cast makes up for fairly horrid script. Good comic relief from that male hostage. 4 stars
1/02/99 tarkin666 Jackson. Spacey. Need I say more? 5 stars
12/01/98 Kirgo Excellent action flik! 5 stars
11/13/98 chi-fan It kept me interested throughout 5 stars
11/02/98 skylar i love the dialogues between kevin and sam. :) 5 stars
10/27/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! Sam Jackson/Kev Spacey hit it off !,plots a bit exaggerated though,"1 HOT MOVIE!" 4 stars
10/24/98 Ash This film kicks ass, its not the usual action flick,RECOMMENDED,the bad guys bite though 4 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Go see it just to watch Sam Jackson curse. Now Motherfucker¡ 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor The actors mostly make this film what it is. 4 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein This movie was so much better than I expected. SO much better. 5 stars
8/26/98 Chuck-D Much like strange days, this film needs to have a different ending 3 stars
8/25/98 Puppy78 (You know who i am) spacey made a deal with the devil never to be in a bad film 4 stars
8/23/98 {{{OZ}}} I can't fault this film after a summer of shite. Spacey rocks. I loved it. 5 stars
8/20/98 Johny I would have given it a better rating if the ending was more effective 3 stars
8/16/98 Miss Stress any movie where 90% of the audience comes out yawning can't be good 3 stars
8/12/98 Pumpkin Great film. Superb acting. Better than I thought 4 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  29-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004


  22-Oct-1998 (MA)

Directed by
  F. Gary Gray

Written by
  James DeMonaco
  Kevin Foxx

  Samuel L.Jackson
  Kevin Spacey
  David Morse
  Ron Rifkin
  John Spencer
  J.T. Walsh

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast