More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3

Awesome: 14.93%
Worth A Look: 19.4%
Average34.33%
Pretty Bad: 13.43%
Total Crap: 17.91%

6 reviews, 31 user ratings



Life (1999)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"Eddie and Martin are Grumpy Old Inmates."
4 stars

"Y'all ever heard of a place called the Boom Boom Club?"

Life begins in 1932. Ray Gibson (Eddie "I'm Gumby, dammit" Murphy) is a smooth criminal with big dreams. Claude Banks (Martin "Y'all my muh-fuggahs" Lawrence) is a straight-laced man who starts a job at a bank next week. Ray owes money to Spanky (played by Rick James; I ain't gonna even go there with that name), who runs a shady Prohibition-era bar. Claude gets jacked in the men's room for all his money; he therefore can't pay the bill and is faced with getting drowned at the hands of Spanky's goons. Ray then recruits Claude to accompany him to Mississippi on a booze-smuggling run. While down in Mississippi, they get framed for a murder and are sentenced to life in prison.

And that's where Life spends most of its film life. Ray and Claude get used to life in a prison camp; they fight with other inmates; they try to escape (unsuccessfully, of course); and something of a bond forms between the two after a few decades in the slammer. A standard prison story that's saved only by the script writers, who get some good laughs in among the usual "don't-drop-the-soap" prison jokes.

Life is a finely crafted movie; it just seems confused as to whether it should be a comedy or a drama. At any rate, Eddie and Martin carry the film quite well, and are hilarious as geezers. They damn well look the part, too... the makeup artists who turned them into old guys should win an Oscar (if Star Wars doesn't beat 'em to it). It's kinda scary how Martin in old-man makeup looks just like Grady from "Sanford and Son". Also: look for a cameo by rapper Heavy D as one of the gravediggers.

Pardon the pun, but "Life" is what you make of it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1207&reviewer=9
originally posted: 04/28/99 09:34:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/21/17 Anne Selby maybe this was based on a true story??yet I loved it as a bit of farce 3 stars
9/27/12 wes Dude your never gonna get it. Its just not yout type of movie. Stick to walt Disney instead 5 stars
8/24/12 roscoe fair but did not mesh. plus, not that funny 3 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Thought this was a good film. 4 stars
8/26/05 ES Had its moments, a good watch if its on TV (at the beginning) on a lazy afternoon 3 stars
12/10/03 Samuel "FUNNY!" 3 stars
12/09/03 Baby Dee This movie was good. Not only hillarius but dramatic at times. IT IS GOOD! 3 stars
12/07/03 J Hilarious Eddy and Martin at there best! **** out 4 4 stars
6/22/03 Ghetto Smurf Hilaurious 5 stars
3/13/03 adny its the funniest movie ever 5 stars
11/01/02 Johnathan Mull I thought this movie was great! Watch it again and take your head out of your ass! 5 stars
10/16/02 Jennifer I saw the movie like 30 times 5 stars
9/18/02 Michelle I liked how they took a serious subject, and turned it into a comedy. Its a good movie 5 stars
7/29/02 Croweater Saved by Murphy too a large degree, as Martin Lawrence sucks as usual. 2 stars
1/11/02 Andrew Carden Beatty Is The Only Light In This Dark and Unfunny Movie. 2 stars
11/27/01 malcolm funny movie in a very unfunny situation. i would've liked to see more of Bernie Mac. 4 stars
9/09/01 SEDUCTION THIS MOVIE IS THE BOMB AND IF U THINK NOT ITS PROBABLY BECAUSE U ARE WHITE ..@! THANKS 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean If it was advertised as a drama instead of a comedy, I wouldn't have been disappointed.. 3 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Co-written by Matt Stone, starring Eddie Murphy & Martin Lawrence. 1 flaw: Martin Lawrence 4 stars
1/27/01 lesbi lover No one in this movie is hot. 4 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble For once Mr. Lawrence wasn't an embarassment to the black community. 3 stars
4/28/00 fire-n-ice could have been funnier....best eddie murphy in a while 4 stars
2/09/00 Jess Bennett This movie is beautiful. It has heart and his well acted. Some stuff is unrealistic. 5 stars
11/29/99 Crystal Fleming Ok entertainment 3 stars
6/29/99 Mark Reilly Best Eddie Murphy movie im a LONG time 4 stars
6/26/99 David 2 stars are great, film is a real yawner. Episodic nothingness. 2 stars
4/26/99 Daddy Rich One of the funniest movies I have seen. This is the Eddie Murphy we all love. 5 stars
4/26/99 jeff hounchell Two comedic superstars, BUT....the movie cudda have been MUCH funnier!!!!!! 3 stars
4/25/99 XenoWolf the humor is alright 3 stars
4/19/99 agustin more sad than funny 3 stars
1/06/99 The Dude Eddie Murphy is great-he has redeemed himself from Holy Man-its great 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Aug-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast