More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.76

Awesome: 32.18%
Worth A Look37.93%
Average: 11.49%
Pretty Bad: 10.34%
Total Crap: 8.05%

7 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lucy by Daniel Kelly

White Storm, The by Jay Seaver

Giovanni's Island by Jay Seaver

Let's Be Cops by Daniel Kelly

Frank by Jay Seaver

Dead Snow: Red vs. Dead by Jay Seaver

Land Ho! by Jay Seaver

Another Me by Jay Seaver

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For by Brett Gallman

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Ravenous
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Cannibal Film Is Grisly Fun"
4 stars

Ravenous (***) - Iím always entertained by films that relish in its violence. Not that this is always good, but the violence becomes the star of this movie and it truly is the main character. After all, this film is essentially about cannibals, and the recruitment of future cannibals.

Itís a very hard film to describe in a genre fashion. It has elements of horror, but the key elements that would make it a horror film are never justified as fact, but mere theory. Itís not really an action film, but has a terrific final mano-a-mano sequence and a wonderfully intense massacre at about the 45-minute point. These two sequences alone were almost enough for me to enjoy the film. But it also has a really sly sense of humor going for it and then prevents it from being an all-out gore fest - even though it has more blood than any film Iíve seen since Saving Private Ryan. Jeffrey Jones probably pulls off the best performance in the film as our hero Guy Pierce seems to exist in a constant state of REM sleep, yet its an appropriate mood for his cowardice character. Robert Carlyle is an easy candidate for Psycho of the Year and he has a lot of fun with his role.

Bottom line: the film entertained me. It was refreshing to see a fight sequence that wasnít so one-sided plus to watch a film that I had no clue where it was going or what was going to happen next. It also has the best final image of the year so far and its one that Iím gonna remember. The film earns its three stars on these merits alone.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1209&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/17/00 04:44:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/22/13 KayBeQueenBee It was strange and different, but I liked it. 4 stars
10/01/10 PAUL SHORTT INTELLIGENT BUT GRISLY 2 stars
12/06/08 Shaun Wallner Great Film! 4 stars
6/20/08 Anaxis Saw this when it was released, and I rated it then as destined to be an immortal cult film, 5 stars
6/03/08 mr.mike Constantly threatens to go over the top...yet never does 4 stars
1/03/07 William Goss Screwy, but watchable period cannibal thriller. 3 stars
2/25/06 Robert More misses than hits, but enough genuinely bizarre moments to be at least memorable. 3 stars
10/09/05 K. Sear Fantastic tongue-in-cheek film-making 5 stars
9/08/05 tatum Tasty! 4 stars
8/12/05 ES Terrible editing, watch when Carlyle trips on a snow patch and reveals its a sheet 2 stars
3/24/05 erebus45 This is the most underrated movie ever.!! Fantastic!!! 5 stars
12/24/04 Anne-Marie A keeper. Scenery, music, plot, gore all perfect 5 stars
5/12/04 Michael Made me wont to be a cannibal 4 stars
4/24/03 Mister Killjoy Best cavalry-cannibal-vampire-immortal-manifest-destiny movie. Besides "The Bodyguard." 5 stars
3/27/03 Jen It was gross & creepy, but i liked it still. 4 stars
1/23/03 The Grinch Pretty good...fairly original...unpredictable...oddball soundtrack, grade A B movie (USDA) 4 stars
1/09/03 Lex brilliant! A+ cast, music, most intelligent gore flick ever! 5 stars
11/16/02 .Choadushouse. holy sh*t! I loved this movie! great performances by all and great gore! eerie! 5 stars
12/04/01 sphen why is everyone turned off by it?! I think its a very well written movie.. great soundtrack 5 stars
10/04/01 Liam Markus This is a bloody awsome film 5 stars
6/03/01 DJ Smurf Creepy as hell. 5 stars
5/12/01 ExorciseTheDemons Micheal Hyman's score definatley helps an already good movie. 5 stars
4/16/01 LiL Anyone hungry? 4 stars
12/02/00 Phil Bon Apetite! 5 stars
11/07/00 Charles Heppenstall Great film. Buried on theatrical release in England. 4 stars
9/30/00 Wes Made me hungry in the theater, first dvd i bought, a great movie 5 stars
9/21/00 Terrie Smith Not a bad film at all; Robert Carlyle walks away with it. Great cinematography. 4 stars
7/12/00 Eric Much better than I expected & want to see it again! 5 stars
12/08/99 James Keough Interesting at first. After seeing it three times in a row, I'm convinced it's one to own. 5 stars
11/05/99 John Linton Roberson Half a good film is better than none 3 stars
10/08/99 Elgyn6655321 Very original and cool movie, with a great cast and weird music. 5 stars
9/16/99 Matthew Bartley Mmm,tasty. Demented fun 4 stars
7/04/99 Sketch Turner Amazing movie 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg This film is amazingly good. I was surprised that NOBODY was in the theater with us. 5 stars
6/25/99 perry mahaney kick ass movie destined for immortallity 5 stars
5/02/99 little jerry Treads a very fine line between the strangely interesting & a cult film by design. 4 stars
4/21/99 Ah Dooey Get me a burger now! 4 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Great actors, bad movie, not the first time, not the last. 2 stars
4/08/99 Big Jimmy for some reason I found myself craving a steak after watching this movie 4 stars
4/08/99 Brian M pass me another leg please 4 stars
4/01/99 f*r*o*s*t*y #1 (out of three) on my "Worst movies of all time." roster. 1 stars
4/01/99 Thanatos The character interaction in this movie was cool...and the eating people thing, too 5 stars
3/28/99 jvt A good premise not always well executed 3 stars
3/26/99 jenny this movie was so wonderful - fast paced, suspenseful, and the music was really strange :) 5 stars
3/12/99 Orgazmo The BEST FILM OF A DECADE, Cannibals are back, thank god! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Mar-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Apr-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Antonia Bird

Written by
  Ted Griffin

Cast
  Guy Pearce
  Robert Carlyle
  David Arquette
  Jeffrey Jones
  John Spencer
  Jeremy Davies



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast