More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Worth A Look: 15.15%
Average: 24.24%
Pretty Bad: 21.21%
Total Crap: 12.12%

3 reviews, 48 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Summer House, The by Charles Tatum

Saving Mr. Wu by Jay Seaver

Martian, The by Peter Sobczynski

Green Inferno, The by Rob Gonsalves

Hotel Transylvania 2 by Charles Tatum

Walk, The by Peter Sobczynski

Lost in Hong Kong by Jay Seaver

Amish Grace by Charles Tatum

Sicario by Peter Sobczynski

Intern, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed

[] Buy posters from this movie
by Klobb

"World Anhialation has never been so spiritual."
5 stars

Ok, so i'm putting my neck out here, but Roger Moore is the best James Bond ever, and this is the franchise's finest contribution to Cinema History.

Even twenty years on, this is still light years better than any of the Bond films since (and some of them have been amazing).

Well, you're probably wondering, why? It's main star was completely talentless, even in his hayday, the supporting cast all drifted into obscurity, and it does look dated in places, so how is it so much better than, say, Tommorrow Never Dies, which had eye popping effects, a decent plot, and some class one liners from a decent actor?

I'll tell you why, (but before I do, don't judge me on this next statement) I saw this film with some friends, who are always disscussing world apocalypse, in the middle of the night, after smoking some serious weed. It's not a requirement to enjoy the film, and if the director read this, he would probably be offended, but fuck him. I mean, Drax threatens to kill the world with pods full of plant seeds!

Anyway, it's just that if you watch in a similar state to me, you'll really apreciate the breathtaking scenery (and Bond goes all over the globe in this one) But what really does it, is the scene in outer space, just after they take off. Its a fitting interlude, not only with eye popping effects, but also some of the most atmospheric music ever. It basically says "Hello, we're doing the space bit now! Oh, and if Bond does'nt stop this nutter, we're all fucked"

So, take my advice and have a decent evening in, and if the cops arrest you for posession of illegal drugs, tell them it was my idea.

Bond is the ultimate icon: he shags, he fights, he cracks amusing one liners all the time, and Moore manages to express every emotion in his repertoire using just one eyebrow! That's worth the rental price alone!

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 05/01/99 09:17:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  
James Bond: For more in the James Bond series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2015 Boston SciFi Film Festival For more in the 2015 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/19/15 Cal L Silly, over the top and all the more fun for it. One of the best Bond movies ever! 5 stars
10/16/12 Dr.Lao God Awful, but still better than "Quantum of Solace" 2 stars
4/09/12 keith miron This movie is still better than Thunderball. 2 stars
1/24/11 bill norris worst Bond film ever-ever. a nonstory pile of crap 1 stars
11/10/10 Steve Benkin unwatchable. but everyone feels differently about each bond film 2 stars
10/29/10 Debra DeLeone I thought that this was a great Bond movie when it first can out: yet, compared to the late 3 stars
10/28/10 dale schmucker they dont mke them like they use to 1 stars
8/30/09 Jeff Wilder The worst Bond movie. 2 stars
1/29/08 Pamela White Bond has unusual mission and farfetched 3 stars
1/28/08 JV35 BOND#11: 007 Zooms into Orbit 2 stars
7/21/07 Sugarfoot Guilty pleasure for serious Bond fans. I'm no fan of Moore, but I sorta like this one. 3 stars
12/15/06 chris f my fav bond movie drax is a good bond villian 5 stars
9/16/06 ProSneakyD Bond into space is OTT, editing sloppy but great music & action makes this a worthy look. 4 stars
1/06/06 Yorkee Drax was THE worst villian - what a shocker!! 2 stars
1/03/06 Anthony Feor Bond in space=greatest idea ever 4 stars
11/20/05 chris i agree with jimmyC drax does rule!! and so does roger moore 5 stars
8/26/05 Ca-Dizzle Wow this is the cheesiest movie I have ever seen. Even Jaws couldn't save it. 1 stars
7/23/05 Nick This was the worst james bond movie ever!!! It should not even be called James Bond ! 1 stars
5/27/05 tony Is this star wars or Bond. Sometimes puzzling movie but otherwis ok(i guess) 4 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold An odd, extremely ambitious idea for a Bond movie, but Bond is always entertaining. 4 stars
8/17/04 Herolder Definitively the weakest Bond movie 3 stars
6/01/04 Nobody As I said elsewhere they should make a realistic Bond movie where he gets an STD 3 stars
5/09/04 Sean Scanlan Funny 5 stars
11/29/03 john Bond follows Star Wars into space - and it kind of works! 4 stars
10/11/03 JimmyC DRAX rules! 5 stars
8/06/03 George Williams Good candidate for Worst Bond Film EVER 1 stars
7/06/03 Paul S. Hugo Drax has the best villain`s dialogue of the series in this one 5 stars
3/26/03 R.W. Welch Essentially silly, almost a parody of the series itself, but some good stunts. 3 stars
1/29/03 Charles Tatum Great Bond, until he goes into outer space 3 stars
1/14/03 alien assassin a shameless attempt to cash in on the "star Wars" craz e. 2 stars
1/06/03 Jack Sommersby The worst of the Bonds. Dreadful and just plain boring. 1 stars
9/17/02 CVJ One of Moores better Bonds 4 stars
4/10/02 Hafriz very good 4 stars
1/25/02 Andrew Carden It May Have Been Goofy, but It Was Still An Excellent Movie. 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Kinda stupid for a 007 movie. 3 stars
6/17/01 fifu horrible, jaws is stuiped and they us ray guns at the end 2 stars
3/28/01 James Blatsis Great light-hearted fun! Jaws rules-so does Roger. One of the better Bonds! 5 stars
1/27/01 R.W. Welch Sockeroo opening, loses momentum from there. 4 stars
7/12/00 Terrie Smith Disappointing "Bond' feature; Richard Kiel good as "Jaws". 3 stars
5/18/00 Terry Fantastic! James Bond goes into space, I loved it, great special effects and great fun. 5 stars
10/06/99 strike This is definitely the worst in the Bond series. It sucked big time! 1 stars
4/30/99 Rob Mckechnie This film can be life altering, you just have to watch it in the right way. 5 stars
3/12/99 Claude Serralt Greatb Locations and great women 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Fun, if not stupid, Bond in space effort. (Holly Goodhead heh, heh, heh) 3 stars
10/25/98 Patrick888 Stunning action sequences and sets, but just too goofy to be taken seriously 4 stars
10/25/98 zeki big budget bang-wham Bond film.great!! 4 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  02-Feb-1979 (PG)
  DVD: 12-Dec-2006


  02-Jul-1979 (PG)

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast