More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.22

Awesome26.15%
Worth A Look: 15.38%
Average: 24.62%
Pretty Bad: 21.54%
Total Crap: 12.31%

3 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Duke of Burgundy, The by Jay Seaver

Redeemer by Jay Seaver

Force Majeure by Jay Seaver

Cub by Jay Seaver

Hardkor Disco by Jay Seaver

Zero Theorem, The by Peter Sobczynski

Tusk by Peter Sobczynski

Maze Runner, The by Jay Seaver

Welcome to New York by Jay Seaver

Metalhead by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Moonraker
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Klobb

"World Anhialation has never been so spiritual."
5 stars

Ok, so i'm putting my neck out here, but Roger Moore is the best James Bond ever, and this is the franchise's finest contribution to Cinema History.

Even twenty years on, this is still light years better than any of the Bond films since (and some of them have been amazing).

Well, you're probably wondering, why? It's main star was completely talentless, even in his hayday, the supporting cast all drifted into obscurity, and it does look dated in places, so how is it so much better than, say, Tommorrow Never Dies, which had eye popping effects, a decent plot, and some class one liners from a decent actor?

I'll tell you why, (but before I do, don't judge me on this next statement) I saw this film with some friends, who are always disscussing world apocalypse, in the middle of the night, after smoking some serious weed. It's not a requirement to enjoy the film, and if the director read this, he would probably be offended, but fuck him. I mean, Drax threatens to kill the world with pods full of plant seeds!

Anyway, it's just that if you watch in a similar state to me, you'll really apreciate the breathtaking scenery (and Bond goes all over the globe in this one) But what really does it, is the scene in outer space, just after they take off. Its a fitting interlude, not only with eye popping effects, but also some of the most atmospheric music ever. It basically says "Hello, we're doing the space bit now! Oh, and if Bond does'nt stop this nutter, we're all fucked"

So, take my advice and have a decent evening in, and if the cops arrest you for posession of illegal drugs, tell them it was my idea.

Bond is the ultimate icon: he shags, he fights, he cracks amusing one liners all the time, and Moore manages to express every emotion in his repertoire using just one eyebrow! That's worth the rental price alone!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1224&reviewer=96
originally posted: 05/01/99 09:17:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  
James Bond: For more in the James Bond series, click here.

User Comments

10/16/12 Dr.Lao God Awful, but still better than "Quantum of Solace" 2 stars
4/09/12 keith miron This movie is still better than Thunderball. 2 stars
1/24/11 bill norris worst Bond film ever-ever. a nonstory pile of crap 1 stars
11/10/10 Steve Benkin unwatchable. but everyone feels differently about each bond film 2 stars
10/29/10 Debra DeLeone I thought that this was a great Bond movie when it first can out: yet, compared to the late 3 stars
10/28/10 dale schmucker they dont mke them like they use to 1 stars
8/30/09 Jeff Wilder The worst Bond movie. 2 stars
1/22/09 PAUL SHORTT BOTTOM OF THE BARREL BOND 1 stars
1/29/08 Pamela White Bond has unusual mission and farfetched 3 stars
1/28/08 JV35 BOND#11: 007 Zooms into Orbit 2 stars
7/21/07 Sugarfoot Guilty pleasure for serious Bond fans. I'm no fan of Moore, but I sorta like this one. 3 stars
12/15/06 chris f my fav bond movie drax is a good bond villian 5 stars
9/16/06 ProSneakyD Bond into space is OTT, editing sloppy but great music & action makes this a worthy look. 4 stars
1/06/06 Yorkee Drax was THE worst villian - what a shocker!! 2 stars
1/03/06 Anthony Feor Bond in space=greatest idea ever 4 stars
11/20/05 chris i agree with jimmyC drax does rule!! and so does roger moore 5 stars
8/26/05 Ca-Dizzle Wow this is the cheesiest movie I have ever seen. Even Jaws couldn't save it. 1 stars
7/23/05 Nick This was the worst james bond movie ever!!! It should not even be called James Bond ! 1 stars
5/27/05 tony Is this star wars or Bond. Sometimes puzzling movie but otherwis ok(i guess) 4 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold An odd, extremely ambitious idea for a Bond movie, but Bond is always entertaining. 4 stars
8/17/04 Herolder Definitively the weakest Bond movie 3 stars
6/01/04 Nobody As I said elsewhere they should make a realistic Bond movie where he gets an STD 3 stars
5/09/04 Sean Scanlan Funny 5 stars
11/29/03 john Bond follows Star Wars into space - and it kind of works! 4 stars
10/11/03 JimmyC DRAX rules! 5 stars
8/06/03 George Williams Good candidate for Worst Bond Film EVER 1 stars
7/06/03 Paul S. Hugo Drax has the best villain`s dialogue of the series in this one 5 stars
3/26/03 R.W. Welch Essentially silly, almost a parody of the series itself, but some good stunts. 3 stars
1/29/03 Charles Tatum Great Bond, until he goes into outer space 3 stars
1/14/03 alien assassin a shameless attempt to cash in on the "star Wars" craz e. 2 stars
1/06/03 Jack Sommersby The worst of the Bonds. Dreadful and just plain boring. 1 stars
9/17/02 CVJ One of Moores better Bonds 4 stars
4/10/02 Hafriz very good 4 stars
1/25/02 Andrew Carden It May Have Been Goofy, but It Was Still An Excellent Movie. 5 stars
8/15/01 MELISSA GALLAGHER I LOVED THE WAY SHE HIT THE TINY PILOT WITH THE GASCAN-THE SPACESUIT FITTED HER PERFECT 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Kinda stupid for a 007 movie. 3 stars
6/17/01 fifu horrible, jaws is stuiped and they us ray guns at the end 2 stars
3/28/01 James Blatsis Great light-hearted fun! Jaws rules-so does Roger. One of the better Bonds! 5 stars
1/27/01 R.W. Welch Sockeroo opening, loses momentum from there. 4 stars
7/12/00 Terrie Smith Disappointing "Bond' feature; Richard Kiel good as "Jaws". 3 stars
5/18/00 Terry Fantastic! James Bond goes into space, I loved it, great special effects and great fun. 5 stars
10/06/99 strike This is definitely the worst in the Bond series. It sucked big time! 1 stars
4/30/99 Rob Mckechnie This film can be life altering, you just have to watch it in the right way. 5 stars
3/12/99 Claude Serralt Greatb Locations and great women 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Fun, if not stupid, Bond in space effort. (Holly Goodhead heh, heh, heh) 3 stars
10/25/98 Patrick888 Stunning action sequences and sets, but just too goofy to be taken seriously 4 stars
10/25/98 zeki big budget bang-wham Bond film.great!! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1979 (PG)
  DVD: 12-Dec-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1979 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast