More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.69

Awesome40.96%
Worth A Look: 23.28%
Average: 12.89%
Pretty Bad: 9.56%
Total Crap: 13.31%

23 reviews, 343 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Star Wars: Episode 3 - Revenge of the Sith
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Mel Valentin

"Seriously flawed, but definitely worth waiting for (and seeing)."
3 stars

Before seeing "Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith", "Star Wars" fans (and casual fans) want the answer to two, related questions. First, is "Revenge of the Sith" better than its two predecessors, "Star Wars: Episode I: The Phantom Menace" and "Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones?" Second, is "Revenge of the Sith" a worthy prequel to the original trilogy? The answer to both questions is “yes,” but the answer to the second question must be qualified. "Star Wars" fans will have to look beyond the obvious flaws in the script and performances (as well as logical inconsistencies between the two series) before getting to “yes.”

After two inarguably inferior prequels which followed Anakin Skywalker from a young boy unaware of his talents or destiny to apprenticeship as a Jedi Knight and young adulthood, including a romantic relationship and secret marriage to Padme Amidala (Natalie Portman), Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith covers the fateful events that inexorably and inevitably lead Anakin Skywalker (Hayden Christensen) to the Dark Side of the Force, to his transformation into the half-man, half-machine, black-helmeted Darth Vader, Emperor Palpatine’s (Ian McDiarmid) much-feared enforcer. Together, Darth Vader and Emperor Palpatine rule the Galactic Empire with unbending, dictatorial authority.

But we’re getting ahead of ourselves. As Revenge of the Sith opens, Anakin and Obi-Wan Kenobi (Ewan McGregor) have been tasked to “save” Supreme Chancellor Palpatine from the Droid Separatist Army as a massive space battle ensues over a planet. As Anakin and Obi-Wan make their way through a droid ship, they dispatch dozens of ineffective droids. The ship, however, contains two, much more dangerous passengers, Count Dooku (Christopher Lee) and General Grievous (a wheezing, insect-like CGI-creation meant to foreshadow Anakin’s eventual transformation into Darth Vader), the military leaders of the Separatists. General Grievous escapes, but Count Dooku fares less well in combat with Obi-Wan and Anakin.

Back on Coruscant, the city-planet that serves as the seat of government for the Galactic Republic, Anakin is greeted as a hero, but after being reunited with Padme (she announces her pregnancy), he falls prey to nightmares, premonitions of Padme’s death in childbirth. Palpatine, the secret leader of the Sith Lords, eager to convert Anakin to the Dark Side, continues his silver-tongued seduction. Palpatine preys on Anakin’s over-inflated ego and his treatment by the Jedi Council (his volatile temperament slows his advancement to the level of “master”), but just as importantly, on Anakin’s fears about Padme. Palpatine offers him power as his new apprentice, but also, apparently, a way to escape or forestall Padme’s death.

Meanwhile, the conflict between the Galactic Republic and the Separatists continues, with Obi-Wan tasked with locating and defeating General Grievous. As the conflict nears its end, Palpatine uses his influence over Anakin to draw him further to the Dark Side, while also formulating and executing his plans to eliminate the Jedi Council (and all Jedi Knights). With the external enemy near defeat, Palpatine can only hold onto his emergency powers by creating a new, internal enemy. The Jedi Council, led by Mace Windu (Samuel L. Jackson) and the grammar-challenged Yoda (voiced, once again, by Frank Oz), is inexplicably slow to act and react, sealing their fates.

With the events in the original trilogy already known to even casual fans, a tragic dimension attaches itself to the central characters (simply put, knowing more than they do places us in a superior position). The Galactic Republic falls, the Galactic Empire rises, with Palpatine as autocratic ruler. The Jedis are defeated, only to rise again with Luke Skywalker twenty years later. Obi-Wan and Yoda survive, but go into decades-long exile from the center of power. Darth Vader’s saga continues, but no longer as tragic hero, but as villain (Luke becomes the hero in the second trilogy, sans flaws). Balance will be restored to the Force, but not as Yoda or Obi-Wan expected or predicted.

Coming full circle, George Lucas gives us, on balance, a barely satisfying conclusion to the prequel trilogy. The storytelling is better, tighter, more focused than that found in the first two films. Revenge of the Sith is one spectacular space battle after spectacular ground battle after spectacular space battle, a credit both to George Lucas’s visual imagination and the special effects staff at Industrial Light & Magic. But therein lies a major problem with Revenge of the Sith. Lucas shows little restraint in the overlong, action scenes, preferring epic (read: video game) spectacle over intimate, human drama. The repeated scenes and shots of CGI armies battling to the virtual death results in mind- and emotion-numbing effects, and becomes a symptom of Lucas’ distrust in his own storytelling abilities. In addition, Lucas overindulges by including one too many light saber duels (due, presumably, to Revenge of the Sith's status as the last Star Wars film he'll produce) and superfluous characters (e.g., C-3PO, R2D2, Chewbacca, and Boba Fett).

Lucas’ penchant for stilted, underwritten dialogue is still in evidence (as are the uniformly wooden performances from his dazed cast, with two exceptions, Ian McDiarmid and Ewan McGregor). As Anakin Skywalker/Darth Vader, Hayden Christensen's performance has failed to improve from Attack of the Clones. It’s also clearly evident, however, that Anakin’s (final) fall from grace meant more to Lucas than any of the events covered in the first two films. Lucas still can’t write a believable romantic scene. The romantic scenes are, in short, risible (Christensen and Portman have my sympathies), but the scenes featuring Palpatine and Anakin are among the best in the trilogy. Surprisingly, Lucas is able to wring pathos from the final confrontation between Anakin and Obi-Wan, as Obi-Wan struggles with his conflicted feelings toward his former apprentice, as well as the final scene between Mace Windu, Palpatine, and Anakin, with Windu's willful, undemocratic reaction to Palpatine's betrayal contributing to Anakin's conversion.

Besides the more evident flaws in the script and performances, Lucas was forced to tie, or attempt to tie, the loose ends between the two series. Given the events in the original trilogy occur later chronologically, Lucas had to explain, or explain away, potential inconsistencies between the two series (and within the later trilogy), e.g., Luke and Leia’s parentage (she says, at one point, that she remembers her other), and most importantly, Obi-Wan’s decision not to perform a coup-de-grace when he has the opportunity. In Revenge of the Sith, Obi-Wan’s decision might be guided by either his belief that Anakin is dead, or his inability to eliminate his former apprentice (but instead leaving him in unimaginable pain and anguish). Of course, Force powers are also an ongoing, unresolved issue. Among other abilities, Jedis and Siths have the ability to throw large objects at each other, but at crucial times, seem unable or unwilling to use that power. The extent of what Jedis can and do feel, whether reading emotions in each other or potential adversaries, also seems to wax and wane, for no apparent reason.

And, importantly, for the second trilogy, why do Padme and Anakin know only about one child and not two? Why does Anakin, the so-called Chosen One, not sense the truth about his children (they’re presumed dead) or his role in Padme’s death (and the Emperor’s obvious lie)? This last question leads to probably the most unintentionally funny reaction shot in the entire film (not what Lucas hoped for, presumably). On a deeper, more troubling level, why, after essentially committing genocide, is Anakin Skywalker ultimately granted absolution for his acts? This last question, of course, is one for the entire series, and not the prequels. Some may see this discussion as overanalytical (and possibly, joyless), but for a series of films embedded so deeply in our popular culture, close analysis is practically inevitable (and predictable).

A word about politics and Revenge of the Sith. Some, film critics and pundits alike, have attempted to treat Revenge of the Sith as politically typical. More accurately, some see Revenge of the Sith as a thinly veiled critique of the current resident of the White House. While Revenge of the Sith does contain one line (“You’re either with me or you're my enemy”) that uncomfortably echoes a line uttered by President Bush after 9/11, the prequels were in production long before President Bush was elected. If anything, Palpatine’s usurpation of power have more distant, historical parallels, to Nazism in Germany (Hitler took power legitimately, through constitutional means) or, more loosely, to the end of the Roman Republic and the rise of the Roman Empire. Here, an old adage seems fitting: good politics does not make good art, or more accurately, a film, even one with the potential to reach millions of people, shouldn’t be judged by agreement or disagreement with the filmmaker's political stance on any given issue.

Flaws, questions, and issues aside, however, Lucas comes surprisingly close to redeeming the prequels from abject mediocrity. In time, the "Star Wars" saga may be remembered as the trilogy (the original trilogy, that is) plus one, "Revenge of the Sith." Everything else is superfluous.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12284&reviewer=402
originally posted: 05/23/05 11:02:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/19/15 hhshjjsjj star wars: revenge of the SHIT 1 stars
1/08/15 vendoza worst movie of all time! 1 stars
1/14/13 austin love it 5 stars
9/11/12 austin great 5 stars
8/15/12 Michael Good film but very dark and emotional for me 4 stars
5/29/11 Shaun A This is more like it. The emotional intensity that should've been in all the prequels. 4 stars
5/26/11 Glenn Hardy This movie is definately one of my favorite. it was so GOOD! 5 stars
5/31/10 gc Without a doubt, the best of the prequels, in fact, why did they even make the first 2? 4 stars
3/26/10 JW Slightly more entertaining than a fish tank 2 stars
3/04/10 zaine KOOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/03/10 PAUL SHORTT AN IDEAL, CONVINCING FINALE FOR THIS FRANCHISE 3 stars
12/28/09 Dane Youssef Lucas gets it right. A Shakespherian story of epic proportions. MUST-SEE 5 stars
7/18/09 MP Bartley Pretty, but simply fails to engage on any emotional or intellectual level. 3 stars
4/24/09 GordonD SW Rocks. The 6 Films are > LOTR (books or movies) 5 stars
3/17/09 Liz sux?? yeah =] 1 stars
10/07/08 Shaun Wallner One of my favorite all time films. 5 stars
7/14/08 Karen great movie 4 stars
7/06/08 dan halberg Be warned, Hayden tries his best to ruin it 4 stars
4/25/08 frieda moudy a Lucas film - a must see! 5 stars
12/15/07 Jason Great movie, pacy and full of action. Piss weak protagonist. 4 stars
10/21/07 fools♫gold keeps everything fresh 5 stars
8/14/07 bob revenge of the shit 1 stars
6/09/07 Danielle Ophelia Solid ending, but I don't know...maybe I'm just not as enamored as I used to be. 4 stars
5/29/07 LUCA ONE OF THE BEST EVER 5 stars
5/03/07 henry the force sucks! 1 stars
4/18/07 David Pollastrini best of the prequels 4 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Lucas, stop with the kids stuff. watch Starship troopers. now THATS a movie. 1 stars
3/25/07 swfan must hype it up so t dont look that bad..oh wait it is 2 stars
3/17/07 Darth Binks Liked it at the flicks, hated it on 2nd viewing 2 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega The force is finally within you when you've watched this. 5 stars
2/03/07 bob LOL amazing acting,how deluded u starwars fans are!!! 2 stars
1/28/07 mets1986 Fabtastic............... 5 stars
1/26/07 jared barton the best of the "star wars" saga. Amazing acting and special effects 5 stars
1/20/07 droidshit!! should crawl back to the shallow-end of the film makeing genepool 1 stars
1/09/07 starwars was once good about 20-30 years ago..... since then its just been hanging around like a bad stink!! 2 stars
12/04/06 DasuberDing Friggin' Awesome and I am not a nerd! 5 stars
11/26/06 Kristen VERY GOOD 5 stars
11/25/06 chris f ignore the freaks who rate it bad best star wars movie since esb 5 stars
11/13/06 cody a great ending to the prequel movies, great action and just edge of seat excitement. 4 stars
11/10/06 Austin Wertman THE BEST OF THE ENTIRE SAGA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/02/06 3man THE movie of 2005. 5 stars
10/28/06 Richard It had more substance and solidity than the other prequels. 4 stars
10/24/06 basher george lucas is a shit director and starwars smells of it 1 stars
10/03/06 Basher lotr is a miles better trilogy 2 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies Fantastic!! easily as good as the original Star Wars episodes. More action the the first 5 5 stars
9/05/06 The Maz only nerds love it 1 stars
8/16/06 anthonyuk good special effects but still garbage, g lucas shame on you 2 stars
7/26/06 Quigley A very good, entertaining movie. The CG was great; the Grievous duel kicked serious butt 5 stars
7/14/06 David Cohen Unlike episodes I and II, this one deserves the name of "Star Wars" 4 stars
7/08/06 Dan Yes. Good. 5 stars
6/22/06 drydock54321 loved the movie. That yoda can fight! Hate their silly character names though 5 stars
5/01/06 Jack The First two blew mucus. This one rocks!!! 5 stars
3/31/06 adrienne this movie is soo cool, i see it again and again 5 stars
3/15/06 rupert good special effects,shame it still sux bigtime,g.lucas=faggot 1 stars
3/14/06 Eileen Good if only to make up for the 1st two. Full of problems, not as satisfying on repeats 3 stars
2/26/06 Dan Awesome movies, you either like this movie, or hate Star Wars. Simple. 5 stars
2/03/06 van zwaar LOL lucas back for another ass poke 1 stars
1/23/06 Del The Fight with Count Dooku rocked! This story wrapped up the loose ends. 5 stars
1/10/06 hunt i like this movie, especially the scene were anakin and obi wan are fighting on mustafar 4 stars
1/08/06 Quigley horrid acting and dialogue, but the CG and the action redeem this film. yoda needs an oscar 5 stars
12/20/05 kr one of the most boring movies I have ever seen slept through the whole thing 2 stars
12/17/05 rupert the force is a crok of shit more like 1 stars
12/16/05 ........... the force is strong with this one 5 stars
12/01/05 van zwaar yoda pushes stool u mean 1 stars
11/26/05 Anus REVENGE OF THE SHIT. 1 stars
11/24/05 cr great end to the new star wars movies and it action packed to very end and yoda kicks butt! 4 stars
11/24/05 dobo fuks potter revenge of the poofs arrrggh!! 1 stars
11/23/05 Guy Lucas should never be allowed near a word processor/typewriter again. 1 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard Best of the prequels. But that's not saying much. 3 stars
11/19/05 dobo fuks potter the ending was good tho:) 2 stars
11/15/05 Quigley awesome graphics on top of a lame plot with absolutely atrocious acting and script. 5 stars
11/14/05 jar jar mesa tink sttar wars sucks. except for the bits with mesa in it! 1 stars
11/13/05 cooler star wars sucks 1 stars
11/11/05 Mark Radburn This Retarded Movie should BURN IN HELL!!!! 1 stars
11/03/05 tatum Great effects hampered by "dialogue for the stupid" 4 stars
10/29/05 Jeremy Hooghy BEST MOVIE EVER MADE! ROTS ROCKS! 5 stars
10/27/05 chris best star wars movie of the newest 3 5 stars
10/19/05 Quigley the movie is a visual thrill ride, but the acting and script are horrendous. kudos to yoda 5 stars
10/09/05 Anus REVENGE OF THE SHIT! 1 stars
10/07/05 Klondo NNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!! 1 stars
10/03/05 Tim the Enchanter Finally a sequel worthy to even be mentioned with the original trilogy 5 stars
9/28/05 Phil Brilliant film! Let down by Ewan McGregor and Natile Portmans bad acting! 5 stars
9/21/05 indeed it is shit! 1 stars
9/18/05 tony SHIT!SHIT! STAR WARS SUCKS! GOD ALFUCKINGING MIGHTY! i want my money back! 1 stars
9/16/05 .... martin the fag 2 stars
9/15/05 Martin Whoa! naysayers! You obviously don't understand dramatic irony and nuance, brilliant movie. 5 stars
9/14/05 Jonathon Holmes best Star Wars movie since "The Empire Strikes Back" 5 stars
9/03/05 mcsmeger R2 stick ur c*ck in my A8s 1 stars
9/02/05 Prequels stink! Original Trilogy forever! 2 stars
9/02/05 Zack It finished the story i liked the action but the acting is horific 2 stars
9/02/05 dobi agreed 1 stars
9/01/05 dave it's Fuckin terrible 1 stars
8/28/05 Quigley this film rules visually, but the acting and script were horrendous. Good altogether. 5 stars
8/28/05 D Buckley Nooooooooooooooo!!!!! 1 stars
8/27/05 dobi or a stool pusher 1 stars
8/26/05 EZ Best Star Wars film without a doubt. 5 stars
8/25/05 dobi if ur a cock smoker 1 stars
8/24/05 Dude awesome, the best yet 5 stars
8/23/05 dobi SHIT! 1 stars
8/16/05 ES weak end, This movie is a too small band-aid for the severed artery of fan disappointment 3 stars
8/16/05 Klondo Darth Vader's mask was symettrical. ahhhh...Motif. 1 stars
8/12/05 Kelly eh it finally over!!dialouge/acting need work but the action is enjoyable 3 stars
8/06/05 van zwaar SFX=aload of blue screen bullshit/moneyshot/moneyshot after another moneyshot/lucasisafag 2 stars
8/02/05 Quigley the speical effects are truly stunning. yoda was the best actor. lucas finally got it right 5 stars
8/02/05 ALDO worst of the prequels. Jimmy Smits should have been the main character 1 stars
7/30/05 littlebill *FIRE THE EMERGENCY BOOSTERS*ummmm u muppets 1 stars
7/29/05 guy hedul a retard could star in this movie and it would still be just as fucking great 5 stars
7/28/05 SWphanny MUST TRY AND HYPE IT UP SO IT DOESNT LOOK THAT BAD..oh wait it is 1 stars
7/28/05 .... REVENGE OF THE SHIT 1 stars
7/28/05 william chandra what could i say,love it,its good,it's GOOD(with carrey style) 5 stars
7/27/05 Captain Craig A ¨B¨movie with ¨B¨actors glazed over with special effects. Ho-hum! 2 stars
7/25/05 Dan Simply awesome, helluva way to end off the fascinating series. 5 stars
7/25/05 Indrid Cold Not much better than Ep.1&2, but all 3 are better than most sci fi, you know it. 5 stars
7/23/05 Naruto I loved this gr8 movie. Even if Anakin turn bit too quickly anti-Jedi. Darth Vader rules! 5 stars
7/22/05 Quigley Incredible visual effects, but depended on style and people who can't act out a bad script 5 stars
7/21/05 William Vollmer a very good finish to the begining of the saga 5 stars
7/20/05 Sir Dude Come on, this was a pretty good movie, one of the best Star Wars easily. 4 stars
7/17/05 Brandy Harrington Once again, Lucas dumps out antoher shit-ass movie, and you nerds like it. 1 stars
7/15/05 Mike I've heard better dialogue and seen better acting at my nephews kindergarten graduation. 1 stars
7/14/05 Matthew Rudawsky This is the prequel fans have been waiting for ever since Episode I was announced. 5 stars
7/14/05 Ronald Newbold My Daughter loved it. I thought is was good but not great 4 stars
7/12/05 madison the best of all of them 5 stars
7/11/05 slanes It completes the saga and if you're a star wars fan, you have to see it. 4 stars
7/10/05 Bugz Anakin - Too cool to become the evil henchman 4 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma It would have been perfect for me if those fucking geeks didn't cheer every 20 minutes 4 stars
7/09/05 mark bihm this is the best star wars film ever! 5 stars
7/06/05 zeitgeist Better than the previous two, not saying much. Lucas is an overrated hack 3 stars
7/05/05 jim not emotional at all 3 stars
7/03/05 Jay Norris Story sped along too quickly to be believable. Anakin fell far too quickly and easily. 4 stars
7/02/05 van zwaar blue screens,shit acting and digital wankery all over the shop 1 stars
7/01/05 Worthy Slacker A masterpiece and triumph in storytelling and filmaking. Among the greatest endings ever! 5 stars
7/01/05 Tom S. A flawed masterpiece with a second half as good as any of the best movies ever made 5 stars
6/30/05 Quigley a visual masterpiece, though has some gross acting and screenwriting. 5 stars
6/30/05 Star Wars Gurl #1 I have seen the movie four times and I loved it.Ialmost cried at the end 5 stars
6/30/05 Matthew Guertler I loved it. It was sad at the end of the movie 5 stars
6/29/05 Madison I think the movie is one of my favorites and why does the HOT guy( Anikan) have be evil? 5 stars
6/29/05 Obi Wan Very good film and Lucas closes the show on a good note. 5 stars
6/29/05 .... mindless fukin shit/only the ending was good 2 stars
6/28/05 R george, to quote "Crash," you embarrass me. you embarrass yourself. 1 stars
6/27/05 Tony Nogales George Lucas is heartless. 1 stars
6/27/05 Gecko Fanfoot Biggest letdown in film history... 1 stars
6/26/05 Lucero de la Torre The best of endings for the best of film sagas 5 stars
6/26/05 bobby Loved the action sequences and the special effects. 5 stars
6/25/05 The Dark Knight 1st Hour was as bad as Ep. 1 and 2... 2nd hour was incredible! 5 stars
6/25/05 Angelos Kakos The best one since "Empire"!!! 5 stars
6/24/05 Grafik Would make a wonderful *silent film*. 2 stars
6/23/05 Inflamed Testicles A huge improvement over the last two. 4 stars
6/22/05 MICHAEL A. DEMAY FANTASTIC/AWESOME 5 stars
6/22/05 van zwaar wat are u doin son?...im going for a sith*toilet flushes* 1 stars
6/21/05 indy absolutely fantastic! 5 stars
6/21/05 R i think vader said it best: "NOOOOOOOOOO!" 2 stars
6/19/05 .... REVENGE OF THE SMELLY SHIT 1 stars
6/18/05 Ry It seems like people are getting use to mediocre films. 3 stars
6/18/05 aldo better than ep 1&2 but still doesn't has the good old touch the classics had 4 stars
6/16/05 adrian ace definatley the best. was torn between empire, but this is definatley the best one now 5 stars
6/15/05 Maalstrom better, but still needs a dialouge writer 4 stars
6/15/05 Phil Brilliant fights and a great conclusion. Definitely a good film 4 stars
6/15/05 Quigley a very awesome CG creation, but had atrociuos acting and script 5 stars
6/14/05 E-FUNK Shit. But a step in the right direction after the first two abortions. 1 stars
6/13/05 cinkcool By far best of the three 5 stars
6/13/05 napoleon dynamite it was the coolest movie ever!!! 5 stars
6/13/05 andre may betst films of the prequels.i knew you still had it george 5 stars
6/12/05 Johnny Kay Generally very disappointing and crap. I don't know what is worse 'The Phantom Mencace', 'A 1 stars
6/12/05 Brent Awesome stuff soem stuff i wished different but still a A+ film anyways 5 stars
6/12/05 Gecko Fanfoot Another cardboard adventure in Lucas mindfuck 1 stars
6/12/05 Manu Ginobli Smells like shit. 1 stars
6/12/05 Daveman The original triology is better, but this is, by far, the best of the prequals. 4 stars
6/11/05 Lucy Sexy jedis ( and Chewbacca too! ) 5 stars
6/10/05 K. Sear I fully expected to hate it and enjoyed it (almost) entirely. 4 stars
6/10/05 unknown what can i say?its bloody excellent! non stop action all the way. 5 stars
6/10/05 Paterfam001 If you don't care about the people, there's no drama, for all the CGI mastery in the world. 2 stars
6/10/05 Rock-Steady Once again lucas takes a shit on the script,and you nerds like it. 1 stars
6/09/05 senator blutarsky You people are a bunch of pomp-ass idiots. You have no heart if you can't enjoy this film. 5 stars
6/09/05 james floyd Overrated! 1 stars
6/09/05 elpintogrande REVENGE OF THE SHIT 1 stars
6/08/05 James P Amazing, awesome and fantastic. 5 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands Good: FX, music, McGregor. Hilariously bad: Everything else. 3 stars
6/08/05 Drew Peltier I had to see it twice to appreciate it fully. 5 stars
6/07/05 Jake wasn't moved at all 2 stars
6/07/05 Ronin Unlike 2 others this one at last has a soul. I was so moved by Anakin's tragedy... 5 stars
6/07/05 Shenzi Moraltin R.O.T.S. is the coolest movie ever BAR NONE. 5 stars
6/07/05 Anthony G Piece of shit, good job writing another bullshit plot lucas. 1 stars
6/06/05 X The best thing about this movie is that Jar Jar doesn't talk 5 stars
6/05/05 Dan GREAT! 5 stars
6/05/05 Ubu the Ripper What a load of crap. Lucas is such a lousy director it's painful to watch. 1 stars
6/05/05 Charlene Javier If there's a next time, please allocate budget for screenplay. 3 stars
6/04/05 Denise Gannon inane dialogue, horrible delivery of said inanity by actors, Padmé? stop blubbering! 2 stars
6/04/05 dmm bloated, self indulgent... oh wait that's just GL's ego. 3 stars
6/04/05 Mike Jozic Better the second time 'round and low on exposition but a great ride overall. 4 stars
6/03/05 dylan heiferman great movie best in the whole series 5 stars
6/03/05 deadwiz lacking the starwars feel, but overall a decent flick. 4 stars
6/03/05 Quigley awesome! great CG achievement, but pretty sick acting from Padme and bad writing by lucas 5 stars
6/03/05 ZIM Too deadly solemn for a 'Star Wars' movie; acting and screenplay is atrocious 2 stars
6/03/05 Jenny Absolutely unbelievably fantastically brilliant!!!!!! A must-see!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/03/05 JFK great resolution by george lucas. great movie 5 stars
6/02/05 Darth Sparky Rigid acting, terrible hair. Nothing new. 3 stars
6/02/05 Nadine Best movie of 2005 5 stars
6/02/05 JAMES THE CIRCLE IS NOW COMPLETE! 5 stars
6/01/05 Obi Wan Lucas got it right and sent us on our way with a bang!! 5 stars
6/01/05 Scott Reynolds When it is BAD, it's almost unbearable. But when it's good, you feel like it's the old days 4 stars
6/01/05 Jiz Better than the last two shitpiles. WTF is with that gaping plot hole at the end though? 4 stars
6/01/05 Paul S V, III, II, VI, I, IV 5 stars
5/31/05 Jon All flash, no substance. Mediocre acting, atrocious dialogue...my god. 3 stars
5/31/05 Darth Skippy oh so boring 2 stars
5/31/05 Jim Let's see ... V, IV, III, VI, II, I. 4 stars
5/31/05 Nancy Horosco Mother of Luke And Leia 4 stars
5/31/05 Alex The Sith rule! To hell with the idiot Jedi. 5 stars
5/31/05 Steve Newman I am in my 40s now - this was a class act - just like the first one almost 30 years ago!!! 4 stars
5/30/05 Joses Kickass. Better than the first two. No Jar-Jar! 5 stars
5/30/05 X better than the other two sequels 5 stars
5/30/05 Nicholas Sheldon Lucas is a hack as a writer and director. There is a specific reason EMPIRE was good. ;) 3 stars
5/30/05 Lord Jiggy Tedious and emotionally unconvincing. 3 stars
5/29/05 alex scenes with princess and Anakin together make me sick, bad acting! otherwise loved it 4 stars
5/29/05 Chris Howe Flashback - everyone thought Clones was good at the begining too. Lame-o movie. 1 stars
5/29/05 Alextron This is like the coolest film ever made! 5 stars
5/29/05 Neckface good 5 stars
5/29/05 harry mullholand good 3 stars
5/29/05 Flounder This is the best movie of the year thus far. 5 stars
5/29/05 Alyson This movie had awesome fight scenes. I'd see it again. Battle of the hot Jedis. 5 stars
5/29/05 movie samurai at last, the series has a soul again... the end of a cultural phenomenon 5 stars
5/28/05 Ben i cant wait for it to come out on dvd. i will buy it 5 stars
5/28/05 Fred Wesly You need Spielburg to tell the story correctly 3 stars
5/28/05 Michael Sorensen Lame! 2 stars
5/28/05 Jimmy James horrendous dialogue and plot incosistancies abound, otherwise a decent sendoff of theseries 3 stars
5/28/05 Mider Excellent fights. 5 stars
5/27/05 Chuckie Anakin was da bomb!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/27/05 Sabu Thaliyath "watch not ..you must.." (special Fx was good..but overdose) 2 stars
5/27/05 juli meh 1 stars
5/27/05 Christy Schultz Great connection to Episode IV. Much better than I or II 5 stars
5/27/05 Quigley one the greatest visual achievements in cinema history. some cheap eye candy, but very cool 5 stars
5/27/05 Jake Stands on it's own as a great film 5 stars
5/27/05 Pippin007 The force is strong with this one! 4 stars
5/27/05 Leon I found it great, really entertaining and the best since 4 and 5. 5 stars
5/26/05 MF It's the fourth best Star Wars film, but still better then most of the dreck the comes out 4 stars
5/26/05 Dan Great ass fucking movie!!!!$!%! 5 stars
5/26/05 nads Needs more fart jokes. 3 stars
5/26/05 John not for me. No thanks 1 stars
5/26/05 David Great fun, it makes IV, V, & VI even stronger 5 stars
5/26/05 Sir Spam-a-lot meh - okay, better than the other prequels 4 stars
5/25/05 George Lucas owes me $6.50 Had some cool moments but the lame parts were so lame that it cheapens the whole series 1 stars
5/25/05 Orbiter Nicely done. Very sad, moving, i felt guilty after seeing it. 5 stars
5/25/05 Pawn Wtf Are You Talking About ^ its Awsome... 5 stars
5/25/05 Neckface cool 5 stars
5/25/05 Master Frosh What the hell is "Star Wars?" 1 stars
5/25/05 Jake Awesome! A fitting end to an epic saga. 5 stars
5/25/05 Anna this was one of the best moveis that i have ever seen. Go see it!! Anikan is so hot!!!! 5 stars
5/25/05 Charleston Good, but another wasted opportunity in a trilogy full of wasted opportunities. 3 stars
5/25/05 JBP Absolute garbage. two and a half hours George now owes me! 1 stars
5/25/05 Benjamin Ewan and Ian McDiarmid's acting, the drama, and the SFX save this movie. Best since ESB 5 stars
5/25/05 ad distracted by acting 4 stars
5/25/05 whatevas meh 1 stars
5/25/05 You're an Idiot About as dark as a Care Bears Movie. Vader screaming "NOOOO!!"! at the end was laughable 1 stars
5/24/05 KR Dialogue/acting horrible, but what else is new? Lucas could never do dialogue. Still... 4 stars
5/24/05 brody best film in the series 5 stars
5/24/05 Tony It looked like the old cheesy Battlestar Galactica t.v. show. 3 stars
5/24/05 Uncle Salty On a positive note, at least this shit is over 2 stars
5/24/05 gray not for kids could have been better but not much 5 stars
5/24/05 haha Awesome, best of the three 5 stars
5/24/05 Ronin Don't let young children watch it... It has several heavy scenes... 5 stars
5/24/05 Chris pretty bumm and bang, that's it! 3 stars
5/24/05 NaeWar I really loved this movie! Can't stop thinking about it. Fun to go home & watch Ep. IV!!! 5 stars
5/23/05 ju great 5 stars
5/23/05 Michael Adams An all around great film 5 stars
5/23/05 Koitus WOW!!! Opening throws you right into the action! Gotta love Greivous' light saber scene! 5 stars
5/23/05 JQ ending is the only best part 1 stars
5/23/05 I-K Pretty to look at, but what clunky, unoriginal mass-market sci-fi isn't these days? 2 stars
5/23/05 chris. geez. thank god for that. 5 stars
5/23/05 jango meh 1 stars
5/23/05 Dan Da Man This movie clearly epitomizes the blurrily drawn line between good and evil. 5 Stars. 5 stars
5/23/05 Lord Richard fucking awesomr 5 stars
5/23/05 Emily Li It totally rocked out LOUDDDD!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/05 Green Gremlin Not as good as epidodes 4-5, but has some powerful moments 4 stars
5/23/05 Phil When you hear Vader breath on the big screen it sends shivers down ya spine! 5 stars
5/23/05 Josef This movie really seriously sucks cock 1 stars
5/23/05 Jeff Botting For a site that claims it "bitch slaps Hollywood", you sure do suck Lucus' dick 2 stars
5/23/05 Flounder This is the Star Wars film that we have been waiting for! 5 stars
5/23/05 Stephane Beyond all expectations 5 stars
5/23/05 thejames good ending, bad acting, doesnt save the prequel trilogoy. 3 stars
5/23/05 Dan Awesome. Helluva way to end the epic story of Star Wars. You idiots don't got a clue. 5 stars
5/23/05 Monster W. Kung Watching the new ones only makes the old ones look better. Better than I and II, but... 3 stars
5/23/05 Jamal YO STAR WARS IS OFF DA CHAIN!!!! 5 stars
5/23/05 Simba best episode yet i think, but still a star wars 4 stars
5/23/05 Neckface Underated 5 stars
5/22/05 kaz better than the last two but not without flaws. 4 stars
5/22/05 P.Rodriguez Superb!! 5 stars
5/22/05 Zefram Mann Definately worth the wait. 5 stars
5/22/05 mariano1 meh 1 stars
5/22/05 Den Cool 5 stars
5/22/05 Stephen Best Yet 5 stars
5/22/05 luke awesome 5 stars
5/22/05 Titus Better, but still not great. 3 stars
5/22/05 Shawn it's alright, not the best Star Wars. 3 stars
5/22/05 Martin Schofield I thought it was brilliant and seamlessly integrated the computer effects with a surprising 5 stars
5/22/05 Marce Definetly worth watching! If only for the shirtless Hayden about an hour into the movie ;-) 4 stars
5/22/05 Cham You know how it ends, but it's still a thrill seeing it all play out. 5 stars
5/22/05 Stefan Fitting end to the new trilogy, only suffers from moments of over the top dialogue. 4 stars
5/22/05 mariano I bow to George Lucas. BILLIONS OF THANKS 5 stars
5/22/05 Paul Garchow Tedious dialogue to endure before rewarding action sequences. Padme deserved better! 4 stars
5/22/05 Hack-SAW Shoddy acting, questionable dialouge, long fight scenes... What can I say? 4 stars
5/22/05 malcolm fights: excellent. acting: stiff. suspense: none. we've known how it ends for 15 years. 3 stars
5/21/05 maysin willie aames If CGI & bad dialogue are your bag this is your movie 3 stars
5/21/05 Deb How good is this film! Wonderful job Mr. Lucas. 5 stars
5/21/05 Brig. Gen. Ripper The empire grows within you Darth Invader 5 stars
5/21/05 Vicious Bloody excellent. 5 stars
5/21/05 Mider Masterpeace 5 stars
5/21/05 Alex No words can describe it! 5 stars
5/21/05 Tyrantis Not on par with Empire, but it blows the prequels out of the water. 4 stars
5/21/05 Chudiza AWESOME!!! 5 stars
5/21/05 Intelligent One boring crap. Worse than the second and MUCH worse than the last three. 2 stars
5/21/05 Obi Wan A Very Good Movie. Yet it had the potential for much much more! 5 stars
5/21/05 Terry Good but bloated at times 3 stars
5/21/05 Cobra Commander Better than the first 2 but no Empire strikes back 3 stars
5/21/05 Ole Man Bourbon My girlfriend was bawling, to my amusement 5 stars
5/21/05 Kellie Go when you're wide awake, because it's fun to watch but takes so long to get through. 5 stars
5/21/05 Negative Exceeded my expectations. Thanks, George. 5 stars
5/20/05 Vman I could not agree more with Scott. A great film. 5 stars
5/20/05 Christy Schultz I loved it. It connects well to the last three films. 5 stars
5/20/05 Pliego Will definetly be remembered fondly by the fans and the general audience. 5 stars
5/20/05 michaelb14 A truely great Star Wars movie, a few flaws due to bad dialogue but otherwise.......Fucking 5 stars
5/20/05 John P. One word - wow. OK, two more - almost perfect. 5 stars
5/20/05 AndersonFilms.com The Bridge from this to the Movies made 30 years ago is perfect. 5 stars
5/20/05 Heasby Fantastic! 5 stars
5/20/05 Senator Blutarsky The scene with Palpatine vs. Windu was spectacularly evil 5 stars
5/20/05 Sanosuke George rewarded our patience! Great movie! 5 stars
5/20/05 Indrid Cold Spectacular Anakin vs. Obi-Wan finale, but somehow doesn't quite find the magic though. 4 stars
5/20/05 earl hofert Finally. 5 stars
5/20/05 Jim Groff The movie was great and a close second to Empire as being my favorite 5 stars
5/20/05 Kristina Williams seeing Padme croak was worth the wait 4 stars
5/20/05 Paul wait, Darth Vader is Luke Skywalker's father?? 4 stars
5/20/05 Melina Very sad, but fulfilling 5 stars
5/20/05 Darren Shea Dark and violent, its only flaw is the awful lack of chemistry between the "loving" couple. 4 stars
5/19/05 BrianWilly Totally worth it. Awesome in every way!! 5 stars
5/19/05 Brad totally makes up for the lacklustre ep1 and 2... great stuff 5 stars
5/19/05 Devastator Given me back some faith...I can understand Lucas' vision a little more 5 stars
5/19/05 JamesVG The very top of my expectations. I can stand being a fan again. 5 stars
5/19/05 Jack Bourbon Emotionally intense. Sad to see it end when it almost seems like a reborn franchise 5 stars
5/19/05 Ahnold The best of the 3 prequels. SW 1&2 better, but definitely worth a look 4 stars
5/19/05 bullit16 George Lucas ... you are forgiven for the mistakes of Episodes I and II 5 stars
5/19/05 mitchogletree as darth vader would say--- NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! (the killins' were good) 3 stars
5/19/05 croweater888 This smokes episode 1 and 2-its a fitting tie in to the classic originals 5 stars
5/19/05 Manik The best movie I've seen in my life! 5 stars
5/19/05 Gothmog The high note of the saga. 5 stars
5/19/05 Todd Better than Empire Strikes Back. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-May-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 01-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-May-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast