More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.42

Awesome: 22.92%
Worth A Look: 12.62%
Average: 1.99%
Pretty Bad: 8.64%
Total Crap53.82%

9 reviews, 247 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Alien Abduction (2014) by Charles Tatum

Nightcrawler by Peter Sobczynski

Before I Go to Sleep by Peter Sobczynski

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Devil's Rejects, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"You've GOT to be kidding me."
1 stars

Here's how to turn a somewhat talented gimmick-rock act into a desperately untalented and shamelessly pandering gimmick-moviemaker. Robert Cummings (OK, trick or treaters, sorry; it's ROB ZOMBIE) has officially become the Jerry Springer of the horror movie set, entirely willing to dish out the ugliest, loudest, stupidest, and most inept sort of garbage imaginable -- and somehow the horror freaks give the guy a free pass, just because he's not making PG-13 kiddie horror.

Astute movie geeks will be able to spot Mr. Cummings' influences and inspirations with no trouble whatsoever. For The Devil's Rejects, the hateful and horribly inept follow-up to the equally rancid House of 1000 Corpses, the filmmaker (and that's me being charitable) steals quite liberally from Wes Craven, Sam Peckinpah, and Oliver Stone, and expects us to buy it as crafty and canny homage. Sorry; I'm not buying.

The Devil's Rejects is about nothing. The story (and, again, I'm being charitable with these words) deals with a family of feral and nauseating serial killers who escape from a police raid and then ... oh, I don't know, stop at a motel to kill some people.

That's pretty much it.

So while it's obvious that a guy who re-named himself "Mr. Zombie" has a whole lot of love and affection for the horror genre -- that doesn't make him a good filmmaker. Frankly, Zombie-guy, you should have stuck to your novelty songs about inhuman women and haunted cars. Because as a filmmaker, you're just about one step better than Uwe Boll.

The guy actually seems to think that he's made a harsh, dark, and insightful horror film about the nature of evil (or something), when the simple truth is that The Devil's Rejects is not much more than 90-some minutes of shameless button-pushing and oh-so-edgy torture material. There's not one character in the movie you'll even remotely like, care about, or sympathize with. It's a carnival side-show full of thirty chicken-mutilating geeks, all of whom stare right into your eyes and chuckle while the blood and gore drip down their necks.

And save your emails, "Zombie" fans, because despite what you're probably thinking right now, you simply won't find a more rabid horror fan than yours truly. True, I pretty much hated House of 1000 Corpses, but I'm always willing to give a guy a second chance, and I was therefore actually quite psyched to sit down and enjoy The Devil's Rejects. If only Mr. Zombie had allowed me to.

This is a film in which we're asked to chuckle appreciatively and clap our hands in approval as a series of innocent bystanders are tortured, terrorized, and slaughtered. I felt like I'd been transported back to ancient Greece and asked to roar with laughter as a bunch of slaves were fed to the lions.

There's nothing even remotely scary, intense, disturbing, or exciting about this shitpile. If there were, well, I wouldn't be sitting here bashing it so loudly. Mr. Zombie has enough material here to fill perhaps one 15-minute short film, which is why The Devil's Rejects is packed with long and interminably stupid sections in which nothing happens. Occasionally the filmmaker acquires a delusion of Tarantino-esque creativity, so we are frequently subjected to conversations on "how to have sex with chickens" and "why it's so cool to stab people." I found myself laughing at the film with an alarming consistency, and whatever Rob Zombie was hoping to accomplish with this movie -- I can pretty much guarantee that he wasn't hoping people would be giggling at the desperate stupidity of the thing.

Directorially, the thing's an absolute eyesore. Zombie's "technique" involves nothing more than grainy filters, garish close-ups of rotting teeth and shit-stained underwear, and non-stop freeze frames. The screenplay sounds as if it was written by a semi-retarded fifteen year old who's obsessed with bodily functions and fully intent on squeezing the word "fuck" (or any conjugation thereof) into every single sentence.

The actors jump into the worthless material with all the enthusiasm that C-level has-beens can possibly muster, leaving a viewer to register nothing but relief when "Terri from Three's Company" or "Callahan from Police Academy" are eventually slaughtered and subsequently allowed to cash their paycheck. Sid Haig continues to humiliate himself as a disgusting clown-faced idiot, while Sheri Moon (that's Mrs. Zombie, thank you very much) is allowed to roam the movie, overacting mercilessly while creating a character you'll want to punch in the face about 14 times. But the director does manage to linger on his wife's ass-crack for minutes at a time, just so you know we're dealing with professionals.

It's not the tone, the style, the approach, or the shamelessly pandering acts of violence that turned me off to "The Devil's Rejects." This ugly, sweaty, and aggressively pointless movie is nothing more than "Zombie's Greatest Hits," in which the deluded wannabe filmmaker has taken his favorite scenes from his favorite movies and squeezed them out (not unlike diarrhea) onto celluloid so that fans can appreciate the visual ugliness of rampant murder -- only without all that annoying subtext and insight of movies like "Last House on the Left," "Natural Born Killers," and "Bonnie and Clyde." It's not smart, it's not interesting, and (most annoyingly) "The Devil's Rejects" is not even remotely scary. It's an angry little portrait of bile scrawled haphazardly onto a big piece of torn and crumpled construction paper. Hell, at least most of the PG-13 horror movies TRY to scare you a little bit. All Zombie wants you to do is hoot, holler, and cheer as each new victim gets skewered while his stunningly annoying "heroes" get away scot-free. It's pretty damn sickening, folks, and not in a good way.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12301&reviewer=128
originally posted: 07/22/05 23:56:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 CineVegas Film Festival For more in the 2005 CineVegas Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Fantasia Festival For more in the 2005 Fantasia Festival series, click here.

User Comments

7/06/12 Groucho Marx Rob Zombie fucked up my legacy. Fuck you. 1 stars
10/13/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Great homagesploitation to '70's shock classics! Sequel to 'House Of 1000 Corpses.' 5 stars
10/12/10 J.P. Ward Loud & obnoxious. The Phantom Menace meets grindhouse horror. 1 stars
7/04/10 art THE killer's reminded me of the MANSON family,THREE CHEERS for ROB ZOMBIE! 4 stars
5/09/10 eddie pointless and worthless flick 1 stars
1/19/10 TravisN It made me feel unclean. And that's coming from a guy who likes NBK and A Clockwork Orange. 1 stars
10/15/09 art ROB SHOULD STICK TO FLICK"S LIKE THIS,and not trifle with HORROR ICON"S LIKE HALLOWEEN! 1 stars
8/15/09 Leo One of the worst movies ever made. Rob Zombie is a hack. 1 stars
7/21/09 matt completely gratuitous and sadistic, but extremely well made 5 stars
6/27/09 brian Disgusting, but so much so that you can't take it seriously. Not for everybody. 3 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef Bloody brilliant. A ingenious tribute 2 '70's slasher films & serial killers the world over 5 stars
2/08/09 Kenny Still laughing- u cut that chicken's head of and awwww!! - fucking hilarious 5 stars
1/22/09 Psychotic angel Sorry, Stephen King. Psychotic angel is not filth and gore fetisist. 1 stars
9/01/08 TheTruth Anyone who likes this film is probably a virgin 1 stars
8/16/08 Jer Bear Greatest feel-good movie ever made 5 stars
6/07/08 TotallyBogus Mr. Zombie has indeed grown as a film-maker. 4 stars
5/24/08 Raytown Lol you fucks dont wouldent know good horror if it smashed you in the face. This is raw. 5 stars
3/24/08 wnm Zombie movies are all shock, he beats you over the head with violence/language till numb! 1 stars
3/18/08 Chester I'm a mong and it was really good! 5 stars
2/29/08 Tammy Kennedy Awesome best movie ever, cant get enough of rob zombies movies 5 stars
2/18/08 cdmtx Rob Zombie ROCKS ! 5 stars
1/10/08 JW If Michael Bay directed Bloodsucking Freaks... 1 stars
12/11/07 benchwarmerbenji I laughed so hard throughout Scott's review. Now I know never to see this! 1 stars
11/03/07 Total Crap Rob Zombie's a genius! This movie was awesome!! Sheri Moon's piping hott. 5 stars
9/16/07 TigerSlap Actually - it was not bad all... Pretty good entertainment. 4 stars
8/07/07 ravenmad what ever happenned to "actually" scary, where humans don't end up on the butcherblock? 1 stars
6/22/07 mitch beautifully said Scott Weinberg. this movie was junk. 1 stars
5/31/07 Dave seen better 1 stars
5/31/07 movieman bad movie 1 stars
3/19/07 Rocky Less campy and fun than HO1KC but still a wild ride through 70's Texas depravity 4 stars
2/28/07 Stanley Thai Surprisngly non-disgusting with intriguing villains but dumb victums but a better horror. 4 stars
2/21/07 Tricia Beware the weak stomached and minded! 5 stars
2/14/07 Sleez Boy Far superior than House of 1000 Corpse, Devil's Rejects is a funny and bloody film! 4 stars
2/13/07 Odog Go Otis what a legend 5 stars
2/09/07 Stray Man, that reviwer would not fare well watching cannibal holocaust... 5 stars
11/03/06 Hauzy great movie, better han the first, teenie boppor possers wont like it though 5 stars
10/22/06 gcc Not your standard horror film formula, Forsythe awesome/Zombie& wife bad actors.... 4 stars
10/21/06 Tanya Grays very good, reminded me of natural born killers 4 stars
10/16/06 jerm loved the fucking thing 5 stars
8/29/06 Jake It's sick, disgusting, disturbing, and sadastic. But it's also pretty good. 4 stars
7/30/06 Shaun Wallner awesome movie i love captain spaulding he rocks 5 stars
7/15/06 Anthony G Man, I really wanted to enjoy this movie, but at the end I was thinking WHAT THE FUCK!? 2 stars
6/02/06 LC Loved it! 5 stars
3/30/06 chris f very good enjoyable movie 4 stars
3/28/06 Y2mckay William Forsythe was the only good part of this assfest - and I'm a Rob Zombie fan!! 2 stars
3/03/06 Mungface Such a stupid movie. 1 stars
2/22/06 Josh Standlee William Forsythe deserves an oscar for playing John Quincy Wydell! 5 stars
2/22/06 Mark Johnstone THIS SHOW KICKS ASS 5 stars
2/17/06 Galliwertz I really wanted to like this, but...I just didn't. It was garbage, plain and simple. 1 stars
2/15/06 Daniel Bernardi It's Dazed and Confused meets Last House on the Left. A coming of age horror film. Great! 5 stars
1/29/06 CthulhuFhtagn A big pile of dung. 1 stars
1/28/06 Jeebuzz "I'm here to do the devil's work"...bwhahahaha...were they SERIOUS????? 1 stars
1/25/06 Runaway One of the worst pieces of trash to ever come out of the American film system. 1 stars
1/24/06 Jamie Don't you have something better to do with your time, idiot? 4 stars
1/23/06 Noodle Yes, Jamie, you do...but I would think that you'd be used to being told that by now. 1 stars
1/23/06 Jamie Well I liked it, so I guess I deserve to be shot in the face. 4 stars
1/21/06 Chappy If someone farted on a piece of celluloid, it would be more entertaining than this. 1 stars
1/11/06 Blobby When people say that they liked this, I think it should be okay to shoot them in the face. 1 stars
1/11/06 Yabbo Laughably bad. 1 stars
1/08/06 CharlieM Rob Zombie's impeccably executed majorinum on the culture of philosophical adorendums sucks 1 stars
1/06/06 Indrid Cold Zombie's take on Americana reaches its zenith ... the results are good, but not great. 4 stars
1/06/06 SlappytheFrog TEXAS RETARDS is a better title...Hey! That describes the fans of it, as well!!! 1 stars
1/05/06 maxomai A great movie for sick, twisted screwballs like me 5 stars
1/04/06 CrowTRobot Cinematic underwear stain. A bowl of snot posing as a film. 1 stars
1/01/06 Jasper Turd bomb for inbreds who like to dine on shit...and there are plenty of 'em. 1 stars
12/31/05 hibbyX brilliant movie...for retards. 1 stars
12/30/05 Agent Sands Great final scene, great soundtrack. Sid Haig is very naturally hilarious. 4 stars
12/30/05 chris f brilliant movie 5 stars
12/19/05 Mike Testani It disturbs you because you find yourself enjoying it. Very well done. 4 stars
12/16/05 raven way better than the first one 5 stars
12/11/05 Ahnold Garbage. Sadism for sadism's sake. Nothing more. 1 stars
12/11/05 MIKE Disgusting and vile 1 stars
12/04/05 JeromeBosch Compelled me to take a shower after viewing it. Trailer trash never looked so good… 3 stars
12/02/05 Jim Rusk I thought the movie was very depressing. I had to stop watching it. 2 stars
11/27/05 kendall i LOVED this movie & hope Rob Zombie has SO many more 2 come!!! 5 stars
11/23/05 Hugo cheap piece of garbage 1 stars
11/23/05 hibbyX How can anybody like this shit? 1 stars
11/23/05 tatum Nice throwback to '70's grindhouse exploitation 4 stars
11/23/05 Punker Dung snot!!! 1 stars
11/21/05 Evil Wolfie Stupid, pointless, yet strangly entertaining. 3 stars
11/21/05 skippy this movie is for fudge muffins 1 stars
11/21/05 Kibble People who make moonshine, play the banjo, and screw sheep rate this movie highly. 1 stars
11/20/05 YouLuvPoop If someone farted in your face, you'd all love that, too, huh? 1 stars
11/19/05 Mr. Durden Great movie, in the vein of 'Last House on the Left'. BTW, not a horror movie. 5 stars
11/18/05 Jabber You people have no taste. Just accept that. 1 stars
11/17/05 MrsVoorheesBabyBoy The New face of Horror 5 stars
11/17/05 Kyle Lobo is too thick to look at subtext. PS - These are all the same person. 5 stars
11/16/05 Caiphn Not nearly as terrible as everyone says, the huge hate-on everyone has is unjustified. 3 stars
11/16/05 JJ If you have no talent don't make a movie and pretend to, both movies suck 1 stars
11/15/05 lobo Yeah, you have to "get" this dumb fucking nonsense about rednecks...it's really complex. 1 stars
11/15/05 tmill I luv it. I find it cultish and it's definitely an aquired taste. you have to "get" it! 4 stars
11/14/05 Kumble Wow, a bunch of filthy shitbags killing other filthy shitbags!!!! Sign me up!!!!!! 1 stars
11/13/05 Mr.Green A movie for scum, by scum. 1 stars
11/12/05 Goober! Ifyou like this movie, commit suicide or at least don't breed (that shouldn't be a problem) 1 stars
11/12/05 nixomiff Everyone was probably thinking, "Who let these retards into the theater?!?!" 1 stars
11/11/05 jamie i really liked this! I thought it was funny! Everyone in the theatre was watching us laugh! 5 stars
11/11/05 j A cinematic abortion. 1 stars
11/11/05 Orloff One of the crappiest movies I've ever had the displeasure of sitting through. 1 stars
11/10/05 Rocky Feels like a storyline is missing between HO1KCORPSES and TDRejects... not as campy & funny 4 stars
11/10/05 jingy How can anyone like this cesspool????? 1 stars
11/10/05 BarronFuckoff I have a feeling all positive comments about this shit film are from the same twat stain. 1 stars
11/09/05 Justin I have a feeling that most of these are from the same person. 4 stars
11/09/05 Capt. Awesome God, this is the shittiest, dumbest movie ever. Horrible acting, stupid plot. Wow... 1 stars
11/09/05 Gunther What an awful, awful, awful, awful, awful, awful, awful, awful, awfully STUPID MOVIE!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/08/05 provy The monumental poopitude of this dung flick is beyond vast, with all its inept magnitude. 1 stars
11/08/05 Bumble I do believe quite certainly that this movie was exceedingly feces-like in substance. 1 stars
11/07/05 mallard I've heard that it's a national requirement that you blow goats in order to like this shit. 1 stars
11/07/05 Chappy A stupid, disgusting movie for stupid, disgusting people... 1 stars
11/07/05 Jizzstal BIG, WET, STINKY ELEPHANT FART!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/06/05 Krystal Wow. Good to know that there are such mature people on this site. :) 5 stars
11/06/05 Chip Beef People, people...let's not get personal. If cretins like this diarrhea-as-film, oh well. 1 stars
11/06/05 Hepmeyer This movie suckles at the almighty dingleberry of cinematic dung sniffers 1 stars
11/06/05 Sin-Jin Smyth I think Lauren should be raped...oh, wait, you can't rape a whore. THIS MOVIE SUCKS!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/05/05 Lauren I think Biznitch should be shot. 5 stars
11/05/05 sted-e just how much dirt and sweat and shit did it take to make this crappy movie? 1 stars
11/04/05 Biznitch People who use the term "Haters" should be shot in the genitals with rock salt. SHIT MOVIE 1 stars
11/04/05 Jeff Sorry, haters. Many people disagree with you. 4 stars
11/04/05 Lowell Finally, a movie specifically designed just for all the inbreds out there. 1 stars
11/03/05 Homechunk One of the shitties movies ever made...only a complete moron would like it. 1 stars
11/03/05 TastyTurnips A movie for drooling, farting-smelling, ass-picking, booger-eating, degenerates. 1 stars
11/02/05 mundy Another killer scumbag shitkicker movie...just what the world was clamoring for. 1 stars
11/02/05 mind dump Hey, no double posts! Oh, wait, sorry...forgot you were a retard. 1 stars
11/02/05 Devon Yeah, Crumbcake. You really showed me. 5 stars
11/02/05 shackle like being smashed in the face with a garbage bag of turds and snot for two hours. 1 stars
10/30/05 CerealKiller A putrid movie made by putrid people for an audience of putrid, shitdheaded moviegoers. 1 stars
10/30/05 Skellington The only rejects are the filmmakers...and the fans. 1 stars
10/30/05 peterspam turdbomb 1 stars
10/29/05 JesseKnobs PLEASE stop making movies about crazy rednecks killing people!!!!!!!! Not novel anymore!!! 1 stars
10/29/05 Beaner They relate to the unclean, inbred, disgusting scumbags who are on the screen. 1 stars
10/29/05 Crumbcake People who like this movie are retards...you just proved that, Devon. 1 stars
10/27/05 rhiannon worthnothing great movie;crappy review.GO ROD ZOMBIE!! 5 stars
10/27/05 Devon Like yourself, suker? Grow up. Anyways, very good movie. 5 stars
10/26/05 Suk-R-Punch Wow, it never ceases to amaze me how many stupid, stupid people there are in the world. 1 stars
10/26/05 Nick_Voro Pervasive, sickening, and quite Fun. Definitely an improvement over first Film’s flaws. 4 stars
10/25/05 Green Gremlin I'm boycotting this trash !!!! 1 stars
10/25/05 Dani Great stuff! 5 stars
10/24/05 Anthony Twat The cinematic equal of Crystal Meth. Loved it...because my brain was removed long ago. 1 stars
10/20/05 BB The cinematic equal of Crystal Meth. Loved it. 4 stars
10/19/05 Anthony Gee Me likey stuffs wid violence and poop is funny...me drooling now. Duuuuuuuuuuuuh! 1 stars
10/17/05 Crapture Good indication of how many Down Syndrome cases there are = find people who liked this. 1 stars
10/15/05 OodlesofOs DONKEY SNOT! 1 stars
10/14/05 gasp The poo-eating scene from PINK FLAMINGOES drawn out to feature-length. 1 stars
10/13/05 Johnny Cake I've seen better movies floating in the toilet. 1 stars
10/11/05 Anthony Gizum Fuck the Ones Who didn't Like this movie...'cause I'm a retard. 1 stars
10/10/05 Biz-e HAHA my name is Anthony G and I am an inbred! 1 stars
10/07/05 nick2k this movie is repulsive 1 stars
10/07/05 Max Fuck the Ones Who didn't Like this movie 5 stars
9/24/05 Anthony G HAHA my name is jakub and im trying to be funny!! To bad I failed =( 4 stars
9/23/05 Jakub One of the best movies I've seen in years...because I'm retarded. 1 stars
9/22/05 Tobias Jansson One of the best movies I´ve seen in years. 5 stars
9/22/05 ange If you put this movie next to a pile of shit, makes the shit looks actually good. 1 stars
9/19/05 mung This is what's seen as "daring" now?? 1 stars
9/16/05 drippy It's nice to have a movie like this every now and then...'cause I'm retarded. 1 stars
9/08/05 Dray It's nice to have a movie like this every now and then. 5 stars
9/07/05 Bitchum Trash cinema at it's scummiest. Liking it says SO MUCH about who you are as a person. 1 stars
9/05/05 JubJub Like some big fat guy farting directly in your face and then laughing about it. 1 stars
9/03/05 Craven Cinematic turd fest. 1 stars
9/02/05 Mailk Wow, some cretins like this...what a sad, sad world we live in. 1 stars
9/02/05 gary the best movie of the year. 5 stars
9/02/05 Edward Rob Zombie needs to go back to making shitty music. 1 stars
9/01/05 unlimited Bring on HOUSE OF 1,000 CORPSES 3: THE SHITTINESS NEVER ENDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/31/05 Vasquez House of 1,00 Corpses was complete shit. This is the shit after it's festered for weeks. 1 stars
8/30/05 Brisbane Having rotting feces smeared across your face would be more enjoyable than watching this. 1 stars
8/29/05 Blissful Johnny As appealing as festering cow turds on toast served with urine cocktails. 1 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw God, what a stupid movie. I can't believe people are actually liking it. 1 stars
8/28/05 hicks A goofy, retarded, drooling redneck movie for goofy, retarded, drooling rednecks. 1 stars
8/25/05 crazyeddieinsane This was even better than the first. If you like gruesome shooot em up movies, this is 4 u. 5 stars
8/25/05 sam this movie cuts right to the chase. that's the point. 5 stars
8/25/05 Copper Too bad the Firefly clan didn't turn their guns on the filmmakers...ZZZZZZZZING!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/23/05 bizenya made me feel so ALIVE!!! 5 stars
8/22/05 MC Serch Original? Original? ORIGINAL?!?!?!?!?!?! 1 stars
8/21/05 Buford really good. original. 5 stars
8/20/05 nads blew my mind. never seen anything quite like it. 5 stars
8/20/05 Cardigan :::sighs::: 1 stars
8/19/05 Gaston Well...it's better than "Chaos," but that's saying very little...VERY little...VERY, VERY. 1 stars
8/19/05 JiJi Truly one of the worst, stupidest, trashiest movies ever made...what was the point????????? 1 stars
8/18/05 stumblebug The song "Scumdogs of the Universe" comes to mine when people defend this "film." 1 stars
8/18/05 JeunetRocks The only strench worse than what's coming from the screen is the one coming from the viewer 1 stars
8/16/05 jacob Unapologetic trash is still trash 1 stars
8/15/05 calli I can see a family of hillbillies having a big reuion/gangbang while watching this garbage. 1 stars
8/14/05 Mr. Teal Rednecks and retards loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove this film!!! Yee-haw!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/13/05 Willard Overwhelming mediocrity passing itself off as edgy...'sorry...no cash and prizes, Zombie. 1 stars
8/11/05 SidVicious "Scum of the Earth" by Zombie describes the movie AND it's audience... 1 stars
8/11/05 AmandaGhost It's daring, it's bleak, it takes-no-prisoners...it's also a big pile of ass... 1 stars
8/11/05 celia Fascinating how people will justify crap when THEY like it... 1 stars
8/10/05 Krull What a load... 1 stars
8/10/05 Patty Interesting look at revenge and pure cruelty 4 stars
8/09/05 cactusboy Fans of this: "Me likey bang bang, poo poo, and boobies...duh...me no brain gots..." 1 stars
8/09/05 jcjs fun, fast, gruesome, pointless blood splatered for no good reason...yummy, moving 5 stars
8/09/05 Dredd Millions of starving people and they spend money on this...so sad... 1 stars
8/08/05 matt undoubtedly the worst film I've ever seen 1 stars
8/08/05 Chris Redfield I never thought I'd say this...WORSE than HOUSE of 1,000 CORPSES... 1 stars
8/08/05 Usagi Yojimbo Just because it's bleak and unapologetic doesn't mean it's necessarily good, slapheads... 1 stars
8/07/05 Jasper Being "Rejected" is something this movie should get used to...ditto the fans of it. 1 stars
8/07/05 Cass A great big pile of "What the FUCK?!?!?!?!" Cinematic flatulence... 1 stars
8/06/05 chris The movie was absolute crap. saw it yesterday and it was pointless crap. House of 1000 corp 1 stars
8/05/05 Gallic Full grown people sit obsessed with poo poo and pee pee...:::rolls eyes::: 1 stars
8/04/05 dew-e Wow...34% of people on this site have no taste...Interesting. 1 stars
8/04/05 ROY L. CAIN Tuity f****in' fruity ! 5 stars
8/04/05 Gobledygook ASS, TURD, SHIT, FECES, CRAP, POOP, STOOL, EXCREMENT... 1 stars
8/04/05 Laura Some of the most inane reviews ever written for a movie. 4 stars
8/03/05 Dormouse Ooh shocking! Ooh perverse! Ooh...I don't care anymore...:::yawn::: 1 stars
8/03/05 tadpole Wow...a lot of people like to slurp up cinematic feces, huh? 1 stars
8/03/05 Sam Smum This critic is more pretentious and annoying than the one in the movie! 5 stars
8/02/05 Kat To answer your question: a pile of junk. 1 stars
8/02/05 Buford blew my mind. 5 stars
8/02/05 Solomon Crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap! 1 stars
8/01/05 Joey Joe Joe Jr All who vote "Awesome" should be shot in the eyes with rock salt... 1 stars
8/01/05 john rough, disgusting, never figured some folks to walk out that did, horrid, yukko, oooh, gees 5 stars
7/31/05 mitchell Zombie was just barely a musician...he's even less of a filmmaker. 1 stars
7/31/05 Matt A remarkable thriller. Energetic, smart, and gruesome. Well done. 5 stars
7/31/05 e hesse this movie was a dissapointment 1 stars
7/30/05 Nick Dawson Remake of the best 70's Exploitation that I love!!! 5 stars
7/29/05 bojinks If HOUSE1KCORPSES was shit, DEVIL'S RETARDS is a big vat of runny diarrhea 1 stars
7/29/05 Holley Horror movie greatness 5 stars
7/29/05 Jim The Movie Freak Fuck this movie. Last House On The Left was more effective 1 stars
7/29/05 Ole Man Bourbon Hah hah, like the Texas Chainsaw Massacre and such aren't mindless, horrid idiocy. 2 stars
7/28/05 QUAD A complete pile of moldy, festering ASS!!! 1 stars
7/28/05 mason C'mon, she'd have been killed or beat down instantly. 2 stars
7/28/05 Samuel Loved it. Blood great and intense follow-up to the origional. 5 stars
7/28/05 cam if you like this artless trash you have no taste - deal with it! 1 stars
7/28/05 Gallywertz Pathetically bad, bad, bad, bad, B-A-D!!! 1 stars
7/28/05 DarkmanPoeX Zombie...please...just give it up, already... 1 stars
7/28/05 Johnson the Wise A bunch of retarded rednecks killing people...oh boy... 1 stars
7/27/05 Rob Don't be a puss - this is a great ADULT film 5 stars
7/27/05 Noah BORING!!! Where's the horror???Where's the suspense??? 2 stars
7/27/05 Me A great follow up 5 stars
7/27/05 negation shit 1 stars
7/27/05 maxomai Unbelievably bloody. Instant classic. 5 stars
7/26/05 Ty Spiceland I have no idea how this got an r and not nc17 4 stars
7/26/05 mason Zombie is like a guy who won the lottery and decided to make a movie, he has no clue 3 stars
7/25/05 I'm Not Neil Patrick Harris You little freckers don't understand horror. Shame on you all. 5 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Like House, a germ of an idea but bad writing dooms it. 2 stars
7/25/05 jason not for people who think too much. not for mom. not for people into "good" movies. awesome. 5 stars
7/25/05 othree Hard pressed '70s, characters lackluster then in House, great 2nd attempt, complied a + 3 stars
7/24/05 Sean Absolutely abysmal. Hopefully the last nail in Zombie's directing casket. 1 stars
7/24/05 maxomai Rob screwed up 1000 corpses, but nailed this one. Classic. 5 stars
7/24/05 Bill Turley I enjoyed the pro family themes. Much better than all the "Ring" rejects 5 stars
7/24/05 whatevr Rob should go back to heavy metal 1 stars
7/23/05 MorallySound This is the horror film we've been waiting for since the 70's ended! 5 stars
7/23/05 Mitlo05 CLASSIC 5 stars
7/23/05 mason Shame on you Mr. Zombie, horror fans were counting on you... 2 stars
7/23/05 Peter Griffin I am ther Sofa King...this movie is not. 1 stars
7/23/05 HK This movie is just wrong 1 stars
7/18/05 Steve J a real classic 5 stars
7/16/05 roy worse then house of a 1000 corpses 1 stars
6/11/05 Matt Donnally An instant classic 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Jul-2005 (R)
  DVD: 08-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Oct-2005


Directed by
  Rob Zombie

Written by
  Rob Zombie

Cast
  Sid Haig
  Bill Moseley
  Sheri Moon
  Ken Foree
  Deborah Van Valkenburgh
  Michael Berryman



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast