More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.42

Awesome: 22.92%
Worth A Look: 12.62%
Average: 1.99%
Pretty Bad: 8.64%
Total Crap53.82%

9 reviews, 247 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Raja Natwarlal by Jay Seaver

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Devil's Rejects, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by brianorndorf

"Rob Zombie finally gets it right"
5 stars

Rob Zombie’s “House of 1000 Corpses” was a promising debut for the rocker-turned-filmmaker, but it crumbled in the final act. “The Devil’s Rejects” is the semi-sequel that vividly brings Zombie’s full-throated vision for horror back to the big screen. A relentless, exceptionally violent, deliciously twisted road movie/torture chamber, “Rejects” is a near-perfect follow-up to “Corpses,” and a valentine to the genre from Zombie.

When the local police, led by Sheriff Wydell (William Forsythe), finally catch up to the vicious, mass-murdering Firefly family, “siblings” Otis (Bill Mosley), Baby (Sheri Moon Zombie) and Captain Spaulding (Sid Haig) manage to escape the siege and hit the road, littering the dusty southern landscape with sadistic murders as they try to find refuge. Wydell, driven by the death of his brother at the hands of the Fireflys, follows them closely, salivating at the thought of torturous revenge. Yet, can this sick trio, regurgitated from the depths of hell, ever truly be brought to justice for their heinous crimes?

Rocker Rob Zombie’s debut film, the controversial 2003 chiller, “House of 1000 Corpses,” was a patchwork quilt of Zombie’s more ambitious designs for a horror experience. “Corpses” never quite came together evenly, mostly due to Zombie’s inexperience with feature-length filmmaking, and a long gestation period that allowed too much tinkering with the finished product; however, it had spunk, and a desire to pay homage to the horror gods while investigating some new attitudes for the genre. Now, free from studio baggage and delays, Zombie has created the semi-sequel, “The Devil’s Rejects,” and he’s found a crackerjack vehicle for his particular brand of madness.

If “Corpses” was a haunted house picture, crawling with murder, mayhem, and freak-show oddities, “Rejects” is a road picture that inhales deeply from the 1970s drive-in movie genre, where exploitation and questionable morality reigned supreme. The furor over “Corpses” was found in its violent content, which convinced Universal Pictures to dump the film after seeing it for the first time; but, “Corpses” is kitten play compared to the buffet of repulsion in “Rejects.” For an R-rated film, “Rejects” pulls very few punches, violently detailing the Firefly clan’s murder bender across the American south. Peppered with a classic rock soundtrack (featuring the best use of “Free Bird” yet in a film) and liberal use of freeze-framing, the action is captured on grainy, low-tech film stocks and utterly looks like a product of the grindhouse era, which is the same type of delight Quentin Tarantino had with his “Kill Bill saga. However, “Rejects” isn’t a pulpy joyride like “Bill.” It’s a fairly sadistic film that takes immense pleasure in making the audience squirm, and plays directly to connoisseurs of horror. Those expecting a passively spooky experience should look elsewhere. Zombie is here to itemize a slow killing spree lead by morally unredeemable characters, and the claustrophobia and blood-caked imagery is relentless.

“Rejects” works extraordinarily well because Zombie isn’t playing it safe the second time around. This film is a stronger piece of directing, confident with its tone and ambition, and Zombie never lets the picture get away from him, which could’ve been so easy considering the chaotic nature of this gory opus. And, unlike “Corpses,” “Rejects” feels like Zombie is having fun behind the camera, and with his performers. If the cast list were a K-Tel album, it would be titled “Superstars of the 70s and 80s!” Not only does Zombie give actress Leslie Easterbrook (“Police Academy”) a juicy role as Ma Firefly (replacing Karen Black from “Corpses”), the supporting cast also includes the great Ken Foree (“Dawn of the Dead”), Ginger Lynn Allen, P.J. Soles (“Halloween”), Deborah Van Valkenburgh, Michael Berryman (“The Hills Have Eyes”), Priscilla Barnes, Geoffrey Lewis, and E.G. Daily; all adding wonderful color to an already vibrantly coarse film.

The real firepower of the movie is found in the film’s four main characters. Returning to the madness are Bill Mosley as the brutal, unrelenting Otis, Sheri Moon Zombie as the temptress Baby, and the hilarious Sid Haig as Captain Spaulding. Thankfully, Zombie has jettisoned the bewildering Dr. Satan subplot that stalled “Corpses,” and now just focuses on the three fleeing members of the family, giving the actors plenty more to do this time around. They all handle the growing, knife-wielding challenge superbly. On the other side of the law is William Forsythe as the relentless, revenge-obsessed Sheriff Wydell. Any casual followers of Forsythe through the decades know already that the man is never short of intensity. However, “Rejects” manages to keep him under control this time out, and the actor gives his best work in ages, carefully measuring out his rage under the watch of Zombie.

Taking dips into pure “Texas Chainsaw Massacre” torment, redneck conversation (mostly obscenities, with the occasional bestiality exchange), revenge and road picture worship, and his own unique potion of horror, Rob Zombie has met the potential of this series head-on with “The Devil’s Rejects.”

Again, I stress this film will not be for everyone’s tastes. Yet, those with a strong stomach and weak knees for terror should sprint to the theater and enjoy a second slice (after June’s “High Tension”) of horror that will (gasp!) genuinely horrify you.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12301&reviewer=404
originally posted: 07/22/05 14:32:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 CineVegas Film Festival For more in the 2005 CineVegas Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Fantasia Festival For more in the 2005 Fantasia Festival series, click here.

User Comments

7/06/12 Groucho Marx Rob Zombie fucked up my legacy. Fuck you. 1 stars
10/13/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Great homagesploitation to '70's shock classics! Sequel to 'House Of 1000 Corpses.' 5 stars
10/12/10 J.P. Ward Loud & obnoxious. The Phantom Menace meets grindhouse horror. 1 stars
7/04/10 art THE killer's reminded me of the MANSON family,THREE CHEERS for ROB ZOMBIE! 4 stars
5/09/10 eddie pointless and worthless flick 1 stars
1/19/10 TravisN It made me feel unclean. And that's coming from a guy who likes NBK and A Clockwork Orange. 1 stars
10/15/09 art ROB SHOULD STICK TO FLICK"S LIKE THIS,and not trifle with HORROR ICON"S LIKE HALLOWEEN! 1 stars
8/15/09 Leo One of the worst movies ever made. Rob Zombie is a hack. 1 stars
7/21/09 matt completely gratuitous and sadistic, but extremely well made 5 stars
6/27/09 brian Disgusting, but so much so that you can't take it seriously. Not for everybody. 3 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef Bloody brilliant. A ingenious tribute 2 '70's slasher films & serial killers the world over 5 stars
2/08/09 Kenny Still laughing- u cut that chicken's head of and awwww!! - fucking hilarious 5 stars
1/22/09 Psychotic angel Sorry, Stephen King. Psychotic angel is not filth and gore fetisist. 1 stars
9/01/08 TheTruth Anyone who likes this film is probably a virgin 1 stars
8/16/08 Jer Bear Greatest feel-good movie ever made 5 stars
6/07/08 TotallyBogus Mr. Zombie has indeed grown as a film-maker. 4 stars
5/24/08 Raytown Lol you fucks dont wouldent know good horror if it smashed you in the face. This is raw. 5 stars
3/24/08 wnm Zombie movies are all shock, he beats you over the head with violence/language till numb! 1 stars
3/18/08 Chester I'm a mong and it was really good! 5 stars
2/29/08 Tammy Kennedy Awesome best movie ever, cant get enough of rob zombies movies 5 stars
2/18/08 cdmtx Rob Zombie ROCKS ! 5 stars
1/10/08 JW If Michael Bay directed Bloodsucking Freaks... 1 stars
12/11/07 benchwarmerbenji I laughed so hard throughout Scott's review. Now I know never to see this! 1 stars
11/03/07 Total Crap Rob Zombie's a genius! This movie was awesome!! Sheri Moon's piping hott. 5 stars
9/16/07 TigerSlap Actually - it was not bad all... Pretty good entertainment. 4 stars
8/07/07 ravenmad what ever happenned to "actually" scary, where humans don't end up on the butcherblock? 1 stars
6/22/07 mitch beautifully said Scott Weinberg. this movie was junk. 1 stars
5/31/07 Dave seen better 1 stars
5/31/07 movieman bad movie 1 stars
3/19/07 Rocky Less campy and fun than HO1KC but still a wild ride through 70's Texas depravity 4 stars
2/28/07 Stanley Thai Surprisngly non-disgusting with intriguing villains but dumb victums but a better horror. 4 stars
2/21/07 Tricia Beware the weak stomached and minded! 5 stars
2/14/07 Sleez Boy Far superior than House of 1000 Corpse, Devil's Rejects is a funny and bloody film! 4 stars
2/13/07 Odog Go Otis what a legend 5 stars
2/09/07 Stray Man, that reviwer would not fare well watching cannibal holocaust... 5 stars
11/03/06 Hauzy great movie, better han the first, teenie boppor possers wont like it though 5 stars
10/22/06 gcc Not your standard horror film formula, Forsythe awesome/Zombie& wife bad actors.... 4 stars
10/21/06 Tanya Grays very good, reminded me of natural born killers 4 stars
10/16/06 jerm loved the fucking thing 5 stars
8/29/06 Jake It's sick, disgusting, disturbing, and sadastic. But it's also pretty good. 4 stars
7/30/06 Shaun Wallner awesome movie i love captain spaulding he rocks 5 stars
7/15/06 Anthony G Man, I really wanted to enjoy this movie, but at the end I was thinking WHAT THE FUCK!? 2 stars
6/02/06 LC Loved it! 5 stars
3/30/06 chris f very good enjoyable movie 4 stars
3/28/06 Y2mckay William Forsythe was the only good part of this assfest - and I'm a Rob Zombie fan!! 2 stars
3/03/06 Mungface Such a stupid movie. 1 stars
2/22/06 Josh Standlee William Forsythe deserves an oscar for playing John Quincy Wydell! 5 stars
2/22/06 Mark Johnstone THIS SHOW KICKS ASS 5 stars
2/17/06 Galliwertz I really wanted to like this, but...I just didn't. It was garbage, plain and simple. 1 stars
2/15/06 Daniel Bernardi It's Dazed and Confused meets Last House on the Left. A coming of age horror film. Great! 5 stars
1/29/06 CthulhuFhtagn A big pile of dung. 1 stars
1/28/06 Jeebuzz "I'm here to do the devil's work"...bwhahahaha...were they SERIOUS????? 1 stars
1/25/06 Runaway One of the worst pieces of trash to ever come out of the American film system. 1 stars
1/24/06 Jamie Don't you have something better to do with your time, idiot? 4 stars
1/23/06 Noodle Yes, Jamie, you do...but I would think that you'd be used to being told that by now. 1 stars
1/23/06 Jamie Well I liked it, so I guess I deserve to be shot in the face. 4 stars
1/21/06 Chappy If someone farted on a piece of celluloid, it would be more entertaining than this. 1 stars
1/11/06 Blobby When people say that they liked this, I think it should be okay to shoot them in the face. 1 stars
1/11/06 Yabbo Laughably bad. 1 stars
1/08/06 CharlieM Rob Zombie's impeccably executed majorinum on the culture of philosophical adorendums sucks 1 stars
1/06/06 Indrid Cold Zombie's take on Americana reaches its zenith ... the results are good, but not great. 4 stars
1/06/06 SlappytheFrog TEXAS RETARDS is a better title...Hey! That describes the fans of it, as well!!! 1 stars
1/05/06 maxomai A great movie for sick, twisted screwballs like me 5 stars
1/04/06 CrowTRobot Cinematic underwear stain. A bowl of snot posing as a film. 1 stars
1/01/06 Jasper Turd bomb for inbreds who like to dine on shit...and there are plenty of 'em. 1 stars
12/31/05 hibbyX brilliant movie...for retards. 1 stars
12/30/05 Agent Sands Great final scene, great soundtrack. Sid Haig is very naturally hilarious. 4 stars
12/30/05 chris f brilliant movie 5 stars
12/19/05 Mike Testani It disturbs you because you find yourself enjoying it. Very well done. 4 stars
12/16/05 raven way better than the first one 5 stars
12/11/05 Ahnold Garbage. Sadism for sadism's sake. Nothing more. 1 stars
12/11/05 MIKE Disgusting and vile 1 stars
12/04/05 JeromeBosch Compelled me to take a shower after viewing it. Trailer trash never looked so good… 3 stars
12/02/05 Jim Rusk I thought the movie was very depressing. I had to stop watching it. 2 stars
11/27/05 kendall i LOVED this movie & hope Rob Zombie has SO many more 2 come!!! 5 stars
11/23/05 Hugo cheap piece of garbage 1 stars
11/23/05 hibbyX How can anybody like this shit? 1 stars
11/23/05 tatum Nice throwback to '70's grindhouse exploitation 4 stars
11/23/05 Punker Dung snot!!! 1 stars
11/21/05 Evil Wolfie Stupid, pointless, yet strangly entertaining. 3 stars
11/21/05 skippy this movie is for fudge muffins 1 stars
11/21/05 Kibble People who make moonshine, play the banjo, and screw sheep rate this movie highly. 1 stars
11/20/05 YouLuvPoop If someone farted in your face, you'd all love that, too, huh? 1 stars
11/19/05 Mr. Durden Great movie, in the vein of 'Last House on the Left'. BTW, not a horror movie. 5 stars
11/18/05 Jabber You people have no taste. Just accept that. 1 stars
11/17/05 MrsVoorheesBabyBoy The New face of Horror 5 stars
11/17/05 Kyle Lobo is too thick to look at subtext. PS - These are all the same person. 5 stars
11/16/05 Caiphn Not nearly as terrible as everyone says, the huge hate-on everyone has is unjustified. 3 stars
11/16/05 JJ If you have no talent don't make a movie and pretend to, both movies suck 1 stars
11/15/05 lobo Yeah, you have to "get" this dumb fucking nonsense about rednecks...it's really complex. 1 stars
11/15/05 tmill I luv it. I find it cultish and it's definitely an aquired taste. you have to "get" it! 4 stars
11/14/05 Kumble Wow, a bunch of filthy shitbags killing other filthy shitbags!!!! Sign me up!!!!!! 1 stars
11/13/05 Mr.Green A movie for scum, by scum. 1 stars
11/12/05 Goober! Ifyou like this movie, commit suicide or at least don't breed (that shouldn't be a problem) 1 stars
11/12/05 nixomiff Everyone was probably thinking, "Who let these retards into the theater?!?!" 1 stars
11/11/05 jamie i really liked this! I thought it was funny! Everyone in the theatre was watching us laugh! 5 stars
11/11/05 j A cinematic abortion. 1 stars
11/11/05 Orloff One of the crappiest movies I've ever had the displeasure of sitting through. 1 stars
11/10/05 Rocky Feels like a storyline is missing between HO1KCORPSES and TDRejects... not as campy & funny 4 stars
11/10/05 jingy How can anyone like this cesspool????? 1 stars
11/10/05 BarronFuckoff I have a feeling all positive comments about this shit film are from the same twat stain. 1 stars
11/09/05 Justin I have a feeling that most of these are from the same person. 4 stars
11/09/05 Capt. Awesome God, this is the shittiest, dumbest movie ever. Horrible acting, stupid plot. Wow... 1 stars
11/09/05 Gunther What an awful, awful, awful, awful, awful, awful, awful, awful, awfully STUPID MOVIE!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/08/05 provy The monumental poopitude of this dung flick is beyond vast, with all its inept magnitude. 1 stars
11/08/05 Bumble I do believe quite certainly that this movie was exceedingly feces-like in substance. 1 stars
11/07/05 mallard I've heard that it's a national requirement that you blow goats in order to like this shit. 1 stars
11/07/05 Chappy A stupid, disgusting movie for stupid, disgusting people... 1 stars
11/07/05 Jizzstal BIG, WET, STINKY ELEPHANT FART!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/06/05 Krystal Wow. Good to know that there are such mature people on this site. :) 5 stars
11/06/05 Chip Beef People, people...let's not get personal. If cretins like this diarrhea-as-film, oh well. 1 stars
11/06/05 Hepmeyer This movie suckles at the almighty dingleberry of cinematic dung sniffers 1 stars
11/06/05 Sin-Jin Smyth I think Lauren should be raped...oh, wait, you can't rape a whore. THIS MOVIE SUCKS!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/05/05 Lauren I think Biznitch should be shot. 5 stars
11/05/05 sted-e just how much dirt and sweat and shit did it take to make this crappy movie? 1 stars
11/04/05 Biznitch People who use the term "Haters" should be shot in the genitals with rock salt. SHIT MOVIE 1 stars
11/04/05 Jeff Sorry, haters. Many people disagree with you. 4 stars
11/04/05 Lowell Finally, a movie specifically designed just for all the inbreds out there. 1 stars
11/03/05 Homechunk One of the shitties movies ever made...only a complete moron would like it. 1 stars
11/03/05 TastyTurnips A movie for drooling, farting-smelling, ass-picking, booger-eating, degenerates. 1 stars
11/02/05 mundy Another killer scumbag shitkicker movie...just what the world was clamoring for. 1 stars
11/02/05 mind dump Hey, no double posts! Oh, wait, sorry...forgot you were a retard. 1 stars
11/02/05 Devon Yeah, Crumbcake. You really showed me. 5 stars
11/02/05 shackle like being smashed in the face with a garbage bag of turds and snot for two hours. 1 stars
10/30/05 CerealKiller A putrid movie made by putrid people for an audience of putrid, shitdheaded moviegoers. 1 stars
10/30/05 Skellington The only rejects are the filmmakers...and the fans. 1 stars
10/30/05 peterspam turdbomb 1 stars
10/29/05 JesseKnobs PLEASE stop making movies about crazy rednecks killing people!!!!!!!! Not novel anymore!!! 1 stars
10/29/05 Beaner They relate to the unclean, inbred, disgusting scumbags who are on the screen. 1 stars
10/29/05 Crumbcake People who like this movie are retards...you just proved that, Devon. 1 stars
10/27/05 rhiannon worthnothing great movie;crappy review.GO ROD ZOMBIE!! 5 stars
10/27/05 Devon Like yourself, suker? Grow up. Anyways, very good movie. 5 stars
10/26/05 Suk-R-Punch Wow, it never ceases to amaze me how many stupid, stupid people there are in the world. 1 stars
10/26/05 Nick_Voro Pervasive, sickening, and quite Fun. Definitely an improvement over first Film’s flaws. 4 stars
10/25/05 Green Gremlin I'm boycotting this trash !!!! 1 stars
10/25/05 Dani Great stuff! 5 stars
10/24/05 Anthony Twat The cinematic equal of Crystal Meth. Loved it...because my brain was removed long ago. 1 stars
10/20/05 BB The cinematic equal of Crystal Meth. Loved it. 4 stars
10/19/05 Anthony Gee Me likey stuffs wid violence and poop is funny...me drooling now. Duuuuuuuuuuuuh! 1 stars
10/17/05 Crapture Good indication of how many Down Syndrome cases there are = find people who liked this. 1 stars
10/15/05 OodlesofOs DONKEY SNOT! 1 stars
10/14/05 gasp The poo-eating scene from PINK FLAMINGOES drawn out to feature-length. 1 stars
10/13/05 Johnny Cake I've seen better movies floating in the toilet. 1 stars
10/11/05 Anthony Gizum Fuck the Ones Who didn't Like this movie...'cause I'm a retard. 1 stars
10/10/05 Biz-e HAHA my name is Anthony G and I am an inbred! 1 stars
10/07/05 nick2k this movie is repulsive 1 stars
10/07/05 Max Fuck the Ones Who didn't Like this movie 5 stars
9/24/05 Anthony G HAHA my name is jakub and im trying to be funny!! To bad I failed =( 4 stars
9/23/05 Jakub One of the best movies I've seen in years...because I'm retarded. 1 stars
9/22/05 Tobias Jansson One of the best movies I´ve seen in years. 5 stars
9/22/05 ange If you put this movie next to a pile of shit, makes the shit looks actually good. 1 stars
9/19/05 mung This is what's seen as "daring" now?? 1 stars
9/16/05 drippy It's nice to have a movie like this every now and then...'cause I'm retarded. 1 stars
9/08/05 Dray It's nice to have a movie like this every now and then. 5 stars
9/07/05 Bitchum Trash cinema at it's scummiest. Liking it says SO MUCH about who you are as a person. 1 stars
9/05/05 JubJub Like some big fat guy farting directly in your face and then laughing about it. 1 stars
9/03/05 Craven Cinematic turd fest. 1 stars
9/02/05 Mailk Wow, some cretins like this...what a sad, sad world we live in. 1 stars
9/02/05 gary the best movie of the year. 5 stars
9/02/05 Edward Rob Zombie needs to go back to making shitty music. 1 stars
9/01/05 unlimited Bring on HOUSE OF 1,000 CORPSES 3: THE SHITTINESS NEVER ENDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/31/05 Vasquez House of 1,00 Corpses was complete shit. This is the shit after it's festered for weeks. 1 stars
8/30/05 Brisbane Having rotting feces smeared across your face would be more enjoyable than watching this. 1 stars
8/29/05 Blissful Johnny As appealing as festering cow turds on toast served with urine cocktails. 1 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw God, what a stupid movie. I can't believe people are actually liking it. 1 stars
8/28/05 hicks A goofy, retarded, drooling redneck movie for goofy, retarded, drooling rednecks. 1 stars
8/25/05 crazyeddieinsane This was even better than the first. If you like gruesome shooot em up movies, this is 4 u. 5 stars
8/25/05 sam this movie cuts right to the chase. that's the point. 5 stars
8/25/05 Copper Too bad the Firefly clan didn't turn their guns on the filmmakers...ZZZZZZZZING!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/23/05 bizenya made me feel so ALIVE!!! 5 stars
8/22/05 MC Serch Original? Original? ORIGINAL?!?!?!?!?!?! 1 stars
8/21/05 Buford really good. original. 5 stars
8/20/05 nads blew my mind. never seen anything quite like it. 5 stars
8/20/05 Cardigan :::sighs::: 1 stars
8/19/05 Gaston Well...it's better than "Chaos," but that's saying very little...VERY little...VERY, VERY. 1 stars
8/19/05 JiJi Truly one of the worst, stupidest, trashiest movies ever made...what was the point????????? 1 stars
8/18/05 stumblebug The song "Scumdogs of the Universe" comes to mine when people defend this "film." 1 stars
8/18/05 JeunetRocks The only strench worse than what's coming from the screen is the one coming from the viewer 1 stars
8/16/05 jacob Unapologetic trash is still trash 1 stars
8/15/05 calli I can see a family of hillbillies having a big reuion/gangbang while watching this garbage. 1 stars
8/14/05 Mr. Teal Rednecks and retards loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove this film!!! Yee-haw!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/13/05 Willard Overwhelming mediocrity passing itself off as edgy...'sorry...no cash and prizes, Zombie. 1 stars
8/11/05 SidVicious "Scum of the Earth" by Zombie describes the movie AND it's audience... 1 stars
8/11/05 AmandaGhost It's daring, it's bleak, it takes-no-prisoners...it's also a big pile of ass... 1 stars
8/11/05 celia Fascinating how people will justify crap when THEY like it... 1 stars
8/10/05 Krull What a load... 1 stars
8/10/05 Patty Interesting look at revenge and pure cruelty 4 stars
8/09/05 cactusboy Fans of this: "Me likey bang bang, poo poo, and boobies...duh...me no brain gots..." 1 stars
8/09/05 jcjs fun, fast, gruesome, pointless blood splatered for no good reason...yummy, moving 5 stars
8/09/05 Dredd Millions of starving people and they spend money on this...so sad... 1 stars
8/08/05 matt undoubtedly the worst film I've ever seen 1 stars
8/08/05 Chris Redfield I never thought I'd say this...WORSE than HOUSE of 1,000 CORPSES... 1 stars
8/08/05 Usagi Yojimbo Just because it's bleak and unapologetic doesn't mean it's necessarily good, slapheads... 1 stars
8/07/05 Jasper Being "Rejected" is something this movie should get used to...ditto the fans of it. 1 stars
8/07/05 Cass A great big pile of "What the FUCK?!?!?!?!" Cinematic flatulence... 1 stars
8/06/05 chris The movie was absolute crap. saw it yesterday and it was pointless crap. House of 1000 corp 1 stars
8/05/05 Gallic Full grown people sit obsessed with poo poo and pee pee...:::rolls eyes::: 1 stars
8/04/05 dew-e Wow...34% of people on this site have no taste...Interesting. 1 stars
8/04/05 ROY L. CAIN Tuity f****in' fruity ! 5 stars
8/04/05 Gobledygook ASS, TURD, SHIT, FECES, CRAP, POOP, STOOL, EXCREMENT... 1 stars
8/04/05 Laura Some of the most inane reviews ever written for a movie. 4 stars
8/03/05 Dormouse Ooh shocking! Ooh perverse! Ooh...I don't care anymore...:::yawn::: 1 stars
8/03/05 tadpole Wow...a lot of people like to slurp up cinematic feces, huh? 1 stars
8/03/05 Sam Smum This critic is more pretentious and annoying than the one in the movie! 5 stars
8/02/05 Kat To answer your question: a pile of junk. 1 stars
8/02/05 Buford blew my mind. 5 stars
8/02/05 Solomon Crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap! 1 stars
8/01/05 Joey Joe Joe Jr All who vote "Awesome" should be shot in the eyes with rock salt... 1 stars
8/01/05 john rough, disgusting, never figured some folks to walk out that did, horrid, yukko, oooh, gees 5 stars
7/31/05 mitchell Zombie was just barely a musician...he's even less of a filmmaker. 1 stars
7/31/05 Matt A remarkable thriller. Energetic, smart, and gruesome. Well done. 5 stars
7/31/05 e hesse this movie was a dissapointment 1 stars
7/30/05 Nick Dawson Remake of the best 70's Exploitation that I love!!! 5 stars
7/29/05 bojinks If HOUSE1KCORPSES was shit, DEVIL'S RETARDS is a big vat of runny diarrhea 1 stars
7/29/05 Holley Horror movie greatness 5 stars
7/29/05 Jim The Movie Freak Fuck this movie. Last House On The Left was more effective 1 stars
7/29/05 Ole Man Bourbon Hah hah, like the Texas Chainsaw Massacre and such aren't mindless, horrid idiocy. 2 stars
7/28/05 QUAD A complete pile of moldy, festering ASS!!! 1 stars
7/28/05 mason C'mon, she'd have been killed or beat down instantly. 2 stars
7/28/05 Samuel Loved it. Blood great and intense follow-up to the origional. 5 stars
7/28/05 cam if you like this artless trash you have no taste - deal with it! 1 stars
7/28/05 Gallywertz Pathetically bad, bad, bad, bad, B-A-D!!! 1 stars
7/28/05 DarkmanPoeX Zombie...please...just give it up, already... 1 stars
7/28/05 Johnson the Wise A bunch of retarded rednecks killing people...oh boy... 1 stars
7/27/05 Rob Don't be a puss - this is a great ADULT film 5 stars
7/27/05 Noah BORING!!! Where's the horror???Where's the suspense??? 2 stars
7/27/05 Me A great follow up 5 stars
7/27/05 negation shit 1 stars
7/27/05 maxomai Unbelievably bloody. Instant classic. 5 stars
7/26/05 Ty Spiceland I have no idea how this got an r and not nc17 4 stars
7/26/05 mason Zombie is like a guy who won the lottery and decided to make a movie, he has no clue 3 stars
7/25/05 I'm Not Neil Patrick Harris You little freckers don't understand horror. Shame on you all. 5 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Like House, a germ of an idea but bad writing dooms it. 2 stars
7/25/05 jason not for people who think too much. not for mom. not for people into "good" movies. awesome. 5 stars
7/25/05 othree Hard pressed '70s, characters lackluster then in House, great 2nd attempt, complied a + 3 stars
7/24/05 Sean Absolutely abysmal. Hopefully the last nail in Zombie's directing casket. 1 stars
7/24/05 maxomai Rob screwed up 1000 corpses, but nailed this one. Classic. 5 stars
7/24/05 Bill Turley I enjoyed the pro family themes. Much better than all the "Ring" rejects 5 stars
7/24/05 whatevr Rob should go back to heavy metal 1 stars
7/23/05 MorallySound This is the horror film we've been waiting for since the 70's ended! 5 stars
7/23/05 Mitlo05 CLASSIC 5 stars
7/23/05 mason Shame on you Mr. Zombie, horror fans were counting on you... 2 stars
7/23/05 Peter Griffin I am ther Sofa King...this movie is not. 1 stars
7/23/05 HK This movie is just wrong 1 stars
7/18/05 Steve J a real classic 5 stars
7/16/05 roy worse then house of a 1000 corpses 1 stars
6/11/05 Matt Donnally An instant classic 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Jul-2005 (R)
  DVD: 08-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Oct-2005


Directed by
  Rob Zombie

Written by
  Rob Zombie

Cast
  Sid Haig
  Bill Moseley
  Sheri Moon
  Ken Foree
  Deborah Van Valkenburgh
  Michael Berryman



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast