More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.67

Awesome82.41%
Worth A Look: 10.19%
Average: 2.31%
Pretty Bad: 1.85%
Total Crap: 3.24%

7 reviews, 174 user ratings


Latest Reviews

We Are Little Zombies by Jay Seaver

Lion King, The (2019) by alejandroariera

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

Art of Self-Defense, The by Jay Seaver

Crawl by Peter Sobczynski

Swallow by Jay Seaver

Perfection, The by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Monty Python and the Holy Grail
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Robert Collins

"A Python with a Bite"
5 stars

As the opening credits start to roll, something odd appears below the names of those helping produce the film. Straining your eyes, you can distinguish the Finnish subtitles that follow underneath their English counterparts. As the acknowledgments continue, the Scandinavian interpreter changes the subject, trying to persuade those reading to take a vacation in Sweden, and, before you know it, it results in a large number of people involved in the making of film getting sacked and a seizure-inducing Central American rendition of the credits. Realizing that the beginning credits alone have been brandished with an incredible ingenuity that many films lack in their entirety, you now know that "Monty Python and the Holy Grail" is not your average, sub-par comedy. That is why absolutely no new fare has even come close to equaling it in the past twenty-five years; the only exception, its own re-release in the summer of 2001.

On a quest to find brave knights to accompany him on his journeys, King Arthur (Graham Chapman) sets out with his trusty servant Patsy (Gilliam, who also co-directed), who gallops obediently behind the monarch while simultaneously hitting two coconuts together to mimic the sounds of a horse's trot. In their quest, they experience socialist peasants in one of the most memorable bouts of dialogue ever to reach the silver screen. They argue over the physics of heavily-laden migratory birds. And, in a match with the rather resilient Black Knight, Arthur fights to little avail. ("It's only a flesh wound!") And, all of this is in the first fifteen minutes of the movie, directly before the darkly illogical encounter with the zany Sir Bedevere (Terry Jones, in one of his few masculine roles). This, of course, is followed by a condescending God departing from the heavens and charging the odd protagonists with a rather important quest. ("Of course it's a good idea!")

While not approaching the sharp satire of the brilliant Life of Brian or the manic melancholy of the disappointing (for me) Monty Python's The Meaning of Life, Holy Grail succeeds in being undoubtedly the troupe's funniest effort, and has since created a standard no other film has been able to touch since its invention.

What stands out in Monty Python and the Holy Grail that no movie has been able to recreate since is the unflinching originality of the sketches. No matter what skit is being performed-- from the hilariously staged battle as Lancelot (the unstoppably outrageous John Cleese) storms a castle full of wedding guests to save a rather feminine prince to the scene in which Sir Galahad the Pure (Michael Palin, in one of ten roles) enters the unfortunately-named Castle Anthrax and is perilously assaulted by legions of "virgins, all between the ages of sixteen and nineteen"-- it is bound to hit a funny bone, creating such a fracture in the process that you're not likely to ever forget it.

The infectious and sophomoric humor present in the movie would occasionally accumulate in awesome amounts in the group's inspired television series Monty Python's Flying Circus, but rarely were such marvelous collection of comedy acts found throughout a solitary show. The breakneck speed of the jokes at a constant pace make Holy Grail the illustrious peak of Monty Python's prominent career. There were dazzling musical pieces on the show quite often (The Lumberjack Song comes immediately to mind.), but few ever met the lunacy of the astonishing Camelot dance number or the moment as Neil Innes's Least Favourite Minstrel warbles gut-busting lyrics much to the increasing chagrin of the dry Eric Idle's Sir Robin, the Not-So-Quite-As-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot. Nor did Gilliam's simply bizarre animations seldom reach to such great heights of wry preposterousness that flourishes in Holy Grail.

And who could possibly forget the vicious assault of the rabbit? The incredibly flamboyant Cleese in the role of the French taunter? The confrontation with the dreaded Knights Who Say "Nee!"? The argument between the three heads of a gargantuan? ("Oh, why don't you do us a favor, and cut off your own head?") The result of the collaboration of these six Oxfordian intellectuals is a completely ridiculous, totally unpredictable, and dialogue-dense comedy that has surpassed any attempts to emulate its success.

The troupe definitely consisted of talented actors, with the possible exception of Gilliam, who still aided the group with his incredible knack for visual splendor and direction. However, only the restrained Chapman, who assumes his role with a sure air of authority, could utter such hilarious lines as "Explain again how a sheep's bladder may be employed to prevent earthquakes." with complete sincerity. Still, few others could match the theatrical versatility of the other members. Cleese could be playing the exaggerated French taunter in one scene, switch to the dimwitted villager who is keen on burning witches, and then change immediately to his comparably downplayed role as Lancelot. Only an extremely talented few are able to compete with the comic maneuverability of the British comedians.

Since its debut, Monty Python has been a dependable source of deep chuckles, laughs, and chortles. Although "Holy Grail" has existed for over twenty-five years now, it still manages to be as utterly hilarious as the first time you've seen it. Wrought with nonstop hysteria, it is destined to stay around a lot longer than that, too. Strikingly original, unrepentantly vulgar and insensitive, and overwhelmingly charming, it truly is the holy grail of comedies.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1231&reviewer=316
originally posted: 09/23/02 13:23:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/07/17 Louise Those who don't like it just don't get British humour. End of. 5 stars
11/22/09 R.W. Welch Occasionally too far out but mostly pretty inventive stuff. 4 stars
8/03/09 Stephen One of the funniest movies i'v ever seen! 5 stars
7/17/09 PAUL SHORTT A MISH-MASH OF UNFUNNY, RIDICULOUS PSEUDO-COMEDY 1 stars
2/19/09 Fuck This Movie It Sucks This is the worst non funny movie ever 1 stars
4/07/08 Owl Must see, extermely stupid!! 4 stars
2/26/08 pkr there's no match to monty python in parody 5 stars
1/15/08 zenny It gets funnier every. single. time. 5 stars
10/23/07 Bitchflaps Twee, childish and not all that well timed. 2 stars
10/03/07 beaver Ni 5 stars
5/14/07 Eric Stop being a sheep and just admit that this is the worst over rated movie ever 1 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Classic Monty python that will mostly entertain on both sides of the atlantic. 4 stars
1/05/07 Anarcho-syndicalist commune YOU MUST SEE THIS MOVIE. GET UP AND GO BUY IT RIGHT NOW. 5 stars
10/17/06 Quigley the killer rabbit, the guy beating the cat on the post, the holy hand grenade = mega-funny! 5 stars
10/17/06 AJ Muller dont like it?you're stupid.now go give it another chance before I taunt you a second time. 5 stars
7/18/06 David Cohen Genius 5 stars
6/25/06 pedro one of the best movies ever, if you don't watch it you deserve to turn into a newt 5 stars
5/07/06 chienne Brilliabt, clever, witty, gorgeous to watch....amazing. And completely different. 5 stars
4/26/06 Boing She turned me into a newt!...............I got better 5 stars
11/17/05 Crystal Saw it when first came out and it still makes me laugh. Best British comedy ever made. 5 stars
11/10/05 Julia So hilarious! Defineley worth a look from anyone, I completley recsommend it! Oh, and "NI!" 5 stars
11/08/05 Mr Jak Ne 5 stars
10/03/05 Tim the Enchanter THERE ARE THOSE WHO CALL ME ... Tim? 5 stars
8/29/05 sweetgrrl1972 Brilliant 5 stars
8/28/05 asina the funniest movie ever made. 5 stars
8/17/05 ES There are some big laughs, almost unbelievable laughs, but its way over-hyped 4 stars
7/09/05 Rebecca No other comedy compares 5 stars
6/20/05 1 the rabbit scene is funny 5 stars
3/28/05 BILLY BOB JR. THE 2ND AND A 1/2 FUNNIEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME 5 stars
3/24/05 indrid cold It's fairly funny, but I it's not exactly hilarious from start to finish like most say. 3 stars
10/14/04 John Doe This is an amazing movie, watch it today 5 stars
9/14/04 Richard Zuithof The best film i've ever seen 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody This is what every comedy should be like! 5 stars
5/14/04 Agent Sands It's funny and everything, but it's NOT THAT BIG A DEAL! 4 stars
5/06/04 horror_blood Pretty good comedy, but must be approached with an open mind (which most people lack). 5 stars
4/24/04 ranger4e Side splitting 5 stars
4/09/04 Daveman Utterly ingenious. Perhaps the best comedy ever made. 5 stars
2/16/04 Anarchy Azmi ADAM>>>>A DUMB 5 stars
1/04/04 Littlepurch Very funny in a sick, disturbing kind of way. Crap ending though which ruins it. 4 stars
12/07/03 Mike Why not trei a holiday in Sweden this yer? 5 stars
12/03/03 ADAM who likes this shit...STUPID COMEDY..OVERRATED 1 stars
11/28/03 john every scene seems to be a classic - very funny 5 stars
11/24/03 Gi Gi Coconuts don't migrate!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/22/03 BOBBY COMPLETELY HILARIOUS! COULDNT STOP LAUGHING 5 stars
10/01/03 Jim bob I want a shrubery and a with picket fence... 5 stars
9/19/03 gman some call me tim... 5 stars
9/18/03 AD funny as fuck 5 stars
7/17/03 Mr. Hat Very funny, but really overrated. "Life of Brian" was wittier & more clever. 4 stars
6/22/03 John Aster Habig awesome movie but the extra stuff they put in the DVD as part of the film sucks big 5 stars
6/08/03 AshFan Ni! Ni! Ni! 4 stars
5/22/03 fartzrgood this deserves 10 stars fools!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/01/03 Johnny Boy Funniest Movie I've seen in a long time REALY!!!!!! 5 stars
4/28/03 Angolmois Classic comedy, but it has aged quite a bit. What was outrageous then now is just amusing. 4 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Very funny, but also a bit overrated. 4 stars
4/16/03 JL totally awesome 5 stars
3/25/03 Arran Best film i have ever seen, stuff your horror bollocks. Watch this 5 stars
3/05/03 autonymous collective another poke in the eye for organised religion and the state!!! 5 stars
2/18/03 Rob Thanks for your page, it rocks!! 5 stars
1/28/03 Mitsaso Why should the bunny dieeee...... 5 stars
1/18/03 Josh Lyman 5 stars
1/01/03 John Aster Habig the movie that placed MP up w/ the Marx Bros 5 stars
12/23/02 E-Rock The single greatest comedy in the history of Film. NEE! 5 stars
12/06/02 i-might-be-giant kicks ass 5 stars
11/23/02 Lindsay Burrell Not a good as 'Brian', but well worth a look! 4 stars
11/13/02 Fred Wallace Awsome! Hilarious 5 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum There are some who know me as Tim 5 stars
9/29/02 Morally Sound Funniest movie ever! "The Holy Hand-Grenade of Antioch! AHHHHHHHH!" 5 stars
9/23/02 TomF Great film, has only gotten better with age 5 stars
9/23/02 The Bomb 69 okiedokie 5 stars
8/10/02 Film Guy Funny but a little boring. NI 3 stars
8/05/02 maximal01 The Special Edition fuckin ROCKS!! Go buy a copy today, you English pig dog!!! 5 stars
8/01/02 Film Dude Simply brilliant. 5 stars
7/28/02 Jon Fechez La Vache! 5 stars
7/23/02 Bueller "Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate?" Brilliant Python comedy, at it's best! 5 stars
7/15/02 Kyle You must bring us a shrubbery! 5 stars
7/11/02 Kristin to anyone who doesn't like it I fart in your general direction & your mother was a hampster 5 stars
7/05/02 Curtis Pure insanity. That's why it's (arguably) the greatest comedy film ever made. ;-) 5 stars
6/25/02 Jiz Funniest movie ever!!! Ni! Ni! Ni! Ni! Ni! Ni! 5 stars
4/28/02 Awen Revenez!!! Vite!!! 5 stars
4/26/02 Charles Tatum Monty Python were gods 5 stars
4/04/02 Tasha Very very good it is the best comedy ever made 5 stars
3/18/02 a knight who says "ni" Anyone who hates this movie has a very narrow sense of humour 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Sheer comic perfection. The 2 disc DVD is hilarious. The Lego Knights are great! 5 stars
2/26/02 KMG I thought I had too much to drink 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Say no more! Say no more! 5 stars
2/01/02 Donnie Most Quoted Comedy Movie of ALL TIME! 5 stars
1/27/02 Mark Holmes Only a freak of nature would not find this funny. 5 stars
1/12/02 Andrew Carden People Are Gonna Hate Me For This. It Wasn't Very Good...Just My Own Opinion. 2 stars
1/11/02 Gracy Lionheart HA HA HA!!! I'M A LOONY!!! YAY for the Python Crew!!! 5 stars
12/30/01 sarafina only they can legally be that funny 5 stars
12/21/01 Leah Colven the funniest movie ever made 5 stars
11/09/01 Button Simply perfection! 5 stars
10/29/01 Mud_81 Elderberries 5 stars
10/26/01 moviegeek See the violence inherent in the system! 5 stars
10/26/01 Spock Absolutely hilarious! Deliciously illogical! 5 stars
10/15/01 Mr. Hat I like the Black Knight and the mean French guy. 4 stars
10/13/01 British Bulldog Superb film. The Monty Python team at their best. 5 stars
8/22/01 zeitgeist "blue. NO!" 5 stars
7/31/01 Henry Ginsberg Your mother was a hampster and your father smelled of elleberrys . 5 stars
5/27/01 There are some that call me....Tim You either get "it" or you don't. My sympathies to those who don't. 5 stars
5/13/01 fifu the funnest movie of all time "the black knight battle is the funnest thing" 5 stars
4/05/01 Hawkeye I direct you to whoever said that the movie was "dum." Takes brains to enjoy, but worth it! 5 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L All I can say is "Ni! Ni! Ni!" 5 stars
3/15/01 Richard Wright Very hit and miss film, great bits followed by pieces of lame humour.Not as good as Brian. 3 stars
3/05/01 Greyjack Five stars, obviously. Quite possibly the funniest comedy EVER. 5 stars
3/05/01 Kronos There are those who hate this film. They deserve our pity, not our scorn. 5 stars
3/02/01 otherwiggin awesome 5 stars
2/09/01 kay hall thought it was dum 2 stars
2/09/01 Amber Adams This movie sucked 1 stars
2/09/01 Frankie Richardson I loved this movie. It is in a class all its own. It is too bad there are no more movies 5 stars
1/27/01 elliot monty python are the kings of british humor 5 stars
1/22/01 Althaia I love this movie. 5 stars
1/15/01 Skip A real gem. 5 stars
1/04/01 jason bobby It was awsome 5 stars
12/28/00 TomServo Halarious 5 stars
12/20/00 dr.bernie the masters of comedy are at their maximum masterness in this film 5 stars
12/10/00 Pyromaniac This movie kicks ass! It's the first Monty Python I saw. It separates 'us' from 'them'. NI! 5 stars
12/05/00 edd Bloody brilliant i say!! 5 stars
12/04/00 Phil Sheridan Magnificent 5 stars
11/30/00 Joanna K Nice......... 5 stars
11/10/00 Mr. Right This is by far the greatest movie of all time. 5 stars
11/07/00 Kelly There's no way this movie CAN'T be loved! Anyone who hasn't seen it lives a sheltered life 5 stars
11/04/00 nunya what the hell!!!! 4 stars
10/29/00 Jon S. Can't say anything that hasn't been said before... 5 stars
10/22/00 Mike C. Anyone who doesn't like this film should be thrown to the killer rabbit!!! 5 stars
10/20/00 Mickey E. Suttle Back for more. This film kicks ass!! 5 stars
10/17/00 Wendy I loved it!!! All time favorite!! 5 stars
10/10/00 Breann13 "I wave my panties in your face. I will fart in your general direction" (french accent) 5 stars
10/07/00 Mickey E. Suttle One of the funniest films ever put on film. Great. Awesome. Superwow. 5 stars
10/07/00 brandon finken this was one of the best movies i have ever seen 5 stars
10/01/00 Matt What're you gonna do... BLEED ON ME???? 5 stars
9/11/00 Erin Monty Python. 'Nuff said. 5 stars
9/04/00 sevens absoluting the best comedy written and performed 5 stars
8/14/00 lordcaptain it fuckun rocks 5 stars
8/05/00 Jed Humorous but dumb in a bad way mainly for python fans. 3 stars
4/07/00 Sephiroth126 It makes me laugh just reading about scenes in rewiews.Get friends together, watch it! 5 stars
4/06/00 Moo Miester FUN! I LOVE IT! Why do reviewers always think that the most hysterical movies are lame? 5 stars
4/01/00 Tess This is THE funniest movie i've ever seen. I've watched is so many times i know every line! 5 stars
3/19/00 rikki its my all time favorite movie. 5 stars
3/17/00 Marc Silly 5 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Funniest movie. I saw it 2 months ago and I'm still laughing. Ha! Ha! Ha! 5 stars
3/08/00 chicaleah you need to watch the movie more then once to find all the comiedy 5 stars
3/03/00 vnvbnyh ghnb a bloody funny movie, bloke 5 stars
1/18/00 Jedi15 JOHN WHITE, your mother was a hamster, and your father smelt of elderberries. 5 stars
12/23/99 Wafer the most fucking brilliant movie ever 5 stars
12/20/99 Karen Gomes Being an a fan of Brit humour, I have to say that this film is on of the group's best. 5 stars
12/06/99 Ann "You can't hurt me, you bastard...you've got no arms"-how often do you hear that? funny 5 stars
10/24/99 Emily H BLOODY BRILLIANT - the only not so good thing about it is that Life of Brian was better. 5 stars
10/17/99 JOHN WHITE SUCKS 1 stars
9/13/99 Steve Damn good..... 5 stars
9/11/99 Erik Østergaard Larsen This movie has it all! 5 stars
9/04/99 jesse keifenheim it is the best movie i've ever seen! 5 stars
8/26/99 Jason Kinsey Amazingly inventive! One of the funniest comedies I've seen! 5 stars
8/23/99 Physh I quote it everyday...that good. 5 stars
8/05/99 Exhibit A Tis but a scratch you knigget!!! Excellent comedy, best of python... 5 stars
8/03/99 Will G This is a classic. No person should be denied the humor in this movie 5 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine Let me go back and face the peril! 5 stars
6/25/99 David Keech Too zany for me. I prefer their witty comedy. Watch "Life Of Brian" instead. 2 stars
6/09/99 Elizaveta Monty Python is the BEST comedy for ALL FREAKIN TIME 5 stars
6/06/99 Matthew Bartley Beware the rabbit, beware the rabbit 5 stars
5/15/99 Javachik It's Monty Python, what else can I possibly say!! 5 stars
3/05/99 little jerry The servants banging the coconuts is sheer genius.One of the greatest opening scenes ever. 5 stars
2/24/99 Beako One of my ALL TIME FAVORITES! 5 stars
2/02/99 Keith Bartelmey The only reasn you'll need to bring out your dead is because you'll die from laughter 5 stars
1/09/99 Thorn Silvertree Monty Python is one of the reasons God invented laughter. 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Ni!Ni!Ni!Ni!Ni!Ni!Ni!Ni!Ni!Ni!Ni!Ni! 5 stars
11/20/98 tom sleepy time 1 stars
11/16/98 Jules Classic, funny, and a better medieval portrayal then HW's best glam. 5 stars
11/16/98 Lord Of The Dunce Very hit and miss, with more hit than miss. Some classic lines and scenes. 4 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob The most accessable of the Python flicks, therefore just shy of 'F.A.' 4 stars
10/27/98 Christ Monkey Good late at night with a bunch of friends, I guess... 3 stars
10/25/98 J-Guy this movie makes me laugh hard. 5 stars
10/25/98 {{{OZ}}} Extremely funny, but does have some slow parts. Overall a must-see. 5 stars
10/25/98 Johny Classic comedy 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Apr-1975 (PG)
  DVD: 03-Oct-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1975 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast