More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.11

Awesome47.37%
Worth A Look: 36.84%
Average: 5.26%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 10.53%

1 review, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Time Bandits
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"A head trip stranger than anything by the Grateful Dead."
4 stars

Let Terry Gilliam's imagination run wild, and this is what it gets you.

I remember watching Time Bandits on HBO when I was 10. I was totally hypnotized by not just the weirdness of the story, but how spectacular the weirdness looked. It came off like a head trip for kids, basically.

The story goes like this: A band of rogue dwarfs (including Kenny "R2D2" Baker) travel through time and space, using a hyperdimensional map to locate the "wormholes" in the time-space continuum. A young British boy (Craig Warnock) gets unexpectedly caught up in their adventures, and their troubles as well... a Supreme Being is trying to hunt the band of dwarves down to claim the all-important map himself. The boy time-travels to the ages of Robin Hood, Ancient Rome, the Napoleonic Wars, and some very strange fantasy lands ... where the ship you sail on can unexpectedly become someone else's hat. Along the way he runs into characters played by the likes of John Cleese, Michael Palin, Sean Connery, Katherine Helmond and Shelly Duvall.

This is Terry Gilliam at his most eccentric. Some scenes border on the surreal and the sublime. Terry achieves a sense of realism seldom seen in fantasy-type films. The ending will definitely leave you scratching your head, but you've been so blown away by everything in the film, it probably won't matter much. The song playing over the closing credits ("Dream Away" by George Harrison, if you're wondering) is quite spellbinding too.

"Mum! Dad! Don't touch it! It's evil...." *KABOOOM*

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1233&reviewer=9
originally posted: 11/04/98 02:46:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/06/17 FireWithFire Grow up, terry, you're pretentious, one-sided, paranoid,childish, and stuck in the '60s, 1 stars
2/27/10 PAUL SHORTT IMAGINATIVE WITH SOME FUNNY MOMENTS 3 stars
7/01/07 fools♫gold Yes, it's damn good (and dreamy), and you should easily forget my rating. 4 stars
3/30/07 zenshark The most original kid's movie ever. 5 stars
4/29/06 iron prince my fave 5 stars
3/14/06 Feech LaManna Wally rules!! 5 stars
9/03/05 John Aster Habig saw it again and loved it 5 stars
8/28/05 asina wonderful. 5 stars
6/19/05 Sean Lane Best childrens movie ever. No one tops the ending. Kids movies today really pale. 5 stars
3/31/05 Controlled Folly Outstanding film, masterfully executed. It is like a kid's movie, but screws kids' heads 5 stars
7/14/04 Samurai Z 1000% Mega Crap 1 stars
7/07/04 Yellowjacket Bob Bloody fantastic film. Been a fan for at least four foot two. 4 stars
4/07/04 Tara Wheeler Totally amazing. Just jaw dropping. I adore this movie. 5 stars
11/05/03 HorrorScribbler A terrific fantasy adventure. 5 stars
8/04/03 John Aster Habig How can two Pythons write such crap? 1 stars
3/12/03 Butterball Cenobite The Napolean sequence is too long; but the rest of the film is a lot of fun; recommended 4 stars
11/17/02 Tony Berow Worst movie I have ever seen! 1 stars
8/26/02 Turkish its no fear and loathing, but better for older ages to watch than youngins 4 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Not Terry Gilliam's best, but still very entertaining. 4 stars
3/26/01 Notta Dwarf Many reviews say bad things about Sean Connery's performance. I think he made a great king. 4 stars
3/15/01 Richard Wright I can review this amazing film as many times as I like!!Spread the word, it's great!! 5 stars
2/19/01 Steve in Prague the colors man the colors 5 stars
8/30/00 Michael Ashton One of my favourite films of all time. Nearly flawless. 5 stars
1/31/00 Zack Strebeck This is my FAVORITE film! It's excellent! 5 stars
1/02/00 Nice Guy Eddie This was my favorite movie for many years... one of Gilliam's best. 5 stars
12/30/99 Richard Wright Who said this was a childrens film?! This almost perfect film should be savoured by All! 5 stars
11/04/99 Karahde Khan Kinda disappointing, but not really crappy (Kinsey, never review a movie without seeing it) 3 stars
9/08/99 Jason Kinsey never seen it, but I'm sure it's good 5 stars
8/25/99 mike short great escapism with lots of humour 5 stars
2/07/99 Vick Di Brecci Interesting premise, silly ending with that showdown, Cleese cameo makes this a four star 4 stars
10/27/98 Lord Of The Dunce Dude. Midgets. 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Just misses 'F.A.', a peek at the brilliance that would become the Terry Gilliam standard 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Nov-1981 (PG)
  DVD: 01-Feb-2011

UK
  13-Jul-1981

Australia
  02-Feb-1982 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast