More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.66

Awesome: 7.32%
Worth A Look: 9.76%
Average: 29.27%
Pretty Bad48.78%
Total Crap: 4.88%

3 reviews, 23 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Corruptor, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Where's John Woo When You Need Him?"
3 stars

The Corruptor (** Ĺ) - Seemingly the most interesting movie to open this weekend, and while it misses the boat like any number of standard action cop-buddy flicks, I did enjoy a number of moments - namely the action scenes.

Chow Yun-Fatís previous American pic, The Replacement Killers, was a John Woo retread with a MTV director resulting in a lot of sound and fury, signifying nothing. The Corruptor is better than that, primarily because itís got a better director behind it, who really gives a nice energy to the action sequences, particularly a well-done car chase about 45 minutes in. A lot of critics are attributing a 70ís action flick flavor to this film and I think thatís justified if nothing to say it doesnít play out its action scenes like a MTV-video. And to quote my fellow film reviewer, Buzz Kilman, there are some good quality kills in the movie prompting one to go ďcoolĒ every once in a while. But, that being said, there really isnít a lot about The Corruptor to praise. Chow Yun-Fat and Mark Wahlberg always seem to deliver their lines like they are on a truth serum or something.

The plot isnít original in the slightest and I saw whatever twists (save for what I thought was a nice final touch to the film) there were coming. Which left me only looking forward to the action scenes which I did enjoy, but not enough to recommend the film. If thereís nothing on the video store shelves, when this comes out, pick it up for a look - for at least its better than The Replacement Killers.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1236&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/15/00 15:16:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/03/11 chris c Moral cop story, in somewhat style of Cop land but fascinating with its moral questions 4 stars
3/17/04 Cindy Sanoguet I love Jon Kit Lee 5 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby Splendidly crafted, but script is mediocre and Wahlberg is pallid. 2 stars
7/31/02 KMG It was so fucking boring my VCR ACTUALLY ATE THE TAPE! 2 stars
6/19/02 LyonHeart44 Chow is always worth watching, and gets an extra half-star...pity the movie really wasn't. 3 stars
6/03/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne A "what were they thinking" misfire all around. Lame and boring. Stars wasted. 2 stars
4/12/02 Dina Anything with Mark Wahlberg is a pretty decent movie, he's a good actor. I liked the movie 4 stars
9/20/00 Terrie Smith Run-of-the-mill action stuff; has potential but doesn't offer anything different. 3 stars
7/20/00 Monday Morning Not "Just Average"...this was "Unbelievably Average". Mark musta lost a bet. 3 stars
5/10/99 Hans Hadinata This is a pretty good movie 4 stars
5/07/99 Diptherio Chew young fat is nasty 5 stars
4/16/99 lucas jackson it was so shitty compared to fats old movies fuck it sucked 2 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Ryan A's review said it all 2 stars
4/07/99 agustin kinda boring for CYF but it gave asian actresses to portray more whores 3 stars
4/02/99 The Incredible Sulk How disappointing. 2 stars
4/01/99 Ah Dooey Awfully bad movie. 2 stars
3/29/99 jvt As a Chow Yun Fat fan, this movie was just painful to watch 1 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug Looks like Marky is going to have to put his fake schlong back on 2 stars
3/23/99 Bobby Luv This is movie is worth a look just to soak up the instincts of Chow Yun-Fat 4 stars
3/21/99 Daddy Rich Good action scenes. Other than that, just average. 3 stars
3/17/99 Mr Showbiz Neither Chow Yun-Fat nor Wahlberg can bring any zip to this rote cop thriller. An $8 nap. 1 stars
3/13/99 The Dude Fucking great movie---It rocks 5 stars
1/25/99 Dark Horizons I have not seen this much violence in a movie ever. Overly violent to a laughable point. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Mar-1999 (R)

UK
  21-May-1999 (18)

Australia
  06-May-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  James Foley

Written by
  Robert Pucci

Cast
  Chow Yun-Fat
  Mark Wahlberg
  Ric Young
  Jon Kit Lee
  Andrew Pang
  Elizabeth Lindsey
  Brian Cox



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast