More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.98

Awesome: 21.88%
Worth A Look: 13.28%
Average: 14.84%
Pretty Bad41.41%
Total Crap: 8.59%

12 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Longest Yard, The (2005)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Cochise

"A stirring sports film."
5 stars

An excellent sports film that is both exciting and humorous. It also has the distinction of being a remake that is better than the original.

WARNING - In order to review this film and discuss its meaning, I have to reveal the ending. So . . . if you don't want to know what happens in the end, please don't read this until after you have seen the film.

Adam Sandler plays the football player Paul Crewe, nicknamed Paul "Wrecking" Crewe. Crewe is now an alcoholic and a faded football superstar. He ends up in prison due to drunk driving. In prison the warden wants Crew to coach a football team of convicts to play against the guards. Crewe has the help of a convict nicknamed Caretaker and also, the help of Nate Scarborough, a former college and NFL coach. Scarborough will coach the convict team.

The original film starred Burt Reynolds in the Adam Sandler role. Sandler filled Reynold’s shoes very well. Sandler portrayed a humorous but tough character. It was this comedic element that lifted the film above the original. The original was too serious.

Adam Sandler brought a freshness to the role of the irresponsible football player who cares for no one but himself, but who, through the adversity experienced in prison, becomes a selfless person, even though this selflessness only appears in the last moments of the film. One has to gain respect for Crewe in the way he is willing to remain in prison rather than sell out his friends.

The manner in which Crewe gained the respect of the black prisoners through the punishment he endured in the one-on-one basketball game demonstrated Crewe’s toughness.

Every actor who played a role from the original did a better job. The role of Crewe’s friend, Caretaker, who was killed, was different than the character portrayed in the original. Chris Rock’s character was much more humorous, and this contributed to the overall quality of the film.

The football game, as in the original, is the highlight of the film. There were a lot of clever touches. The announcers were funny, the cheerleaders for the prisoners’ team added a lot to the film, and the huge football player was a clever addition to the team.

The ending had the usual excitement of a game in a sports-movie, with the expected victory of the prisoners.

A highlight of the film was the inclusion of Burt Reynolds in the cast. This was an excellent homage to him. (This sort of homage is popular now, as seen by the appearance of Gregory Peck and Robert Mitchum in the remake of Cape Fear.)

The guards were well portrayed, and stood out much more as individuals that the guards in the original.

The direction was excellent, especially the choreography of the game itself. I found the game frustrating until Crewe pulled the convicts together so that they would play the game and not just beat up the guards.

If you like prison movies, and if you are a football fan, then you will love this film. I did.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12361&reviewer=228
originally posted: 07/07/06 15:21:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/27/13 Zack I love this movie 5 stars
11/13/09 Homer J. Fong Who is this "Pete" Crewe you keep mentioning? The character's name is *Paul*. 1 stars
5/25/09 Brandon Allin It's a mildly entertaining comedy. 3 stars
11/28/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 4 stars
9/27/08 k. this movie was awesome 5 stars
4/26/07 eddie great very funny just brill 5 stars
4/18/07 David Pollastrini not as good as the original 2 stars
1/21/07 David A. Poor remake of a weak original. This time, the ref gets hit in the nuts with the ball. 1 stars
11/23/06 Austin Wertman HILARIOUS 4 stars
11/16/06 Steve Newman Mean Machine in 1974 the best - British version on soccer was rubbish - this is truly awful 1 stars
9/08/06 drydock54321 do you really believe they would take football that seriously 2 stars
7/24/06 Joyce Verhoeven Cool 5 stars
7/08/06 NS Not much, but funny... and with Courteny Cox. 3 stars
7/08/06 Gerry Irons Funny in parts- overall not a typical sandler movie- bette than the original- like amore ad 3 stars
5/11/06 eric banner sandler did an exelent job in the movie, it was the best movie i've ever seen 5 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor Sandler should consider retirement 1 stars
4/25/06 jeffery goodson it was so great 5 stars
4/05/06 Quigley is dum this movie isnt foul Quigley what r u a mom 5 stars
4/03/06 JRE really funny. not as good as the first one though 4 stars
1/11/06 Michael Go Team and all that 4 stars
11/02/05 Dots Funny 5 stars
10/26/05 latrice this movie was the best and nelly was so fine 5 stars
10/26/05 jake awesome 5 stars
10/16/05 Quigley a totally foul and offensive movie. I really miss when movies were GOOD! skip this crap. 1 stars
9/13/05 bbbr sounds good 5 stars
9/10/05 Tori I thought this was a wonderful movie, hilarious 5 stars
8/28/05 Tom Burns A very entertaining movie. 5 stars
7/21/05 susie this movie rocks,i love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/03/05 Vic Great movie...adam is hilarious was good even though i saw it twice in 1 day.agaisnt my wil 4 stars
7/02/05 Eddie Not the best remake 3 stars
6/29/05 Obi Wan Adam Sandler is NOT FUNNY! 1 stars
6/24/05 MICHELE FLORES THIS WAS A GREAT MOVIE, IT WAS FUNNY, SAD, DIVERSE, AND WORTH THE MONEY. 5 stars
6/21/05 Amanda Roberts Definetly not as good as I expected 3 stars
6/15/05 Julia I totally love this movie and i am an 11 year old girl!! 5 stars
6/15/05 Quigley totally disgusting offensive humor that a stupid two year old would laugh at. atrocious!!!! 1 stars
6/15/05 Parsley I don't know what you think but I thought it was cool how it stuck to the origanal. 5 stars
6/14/05 anne Turner its better than all you idiots say it is 4 stars
6/12/05 Tanya Simpson I thought it was hysterically funny 4 stars
6/12/05 Valerie Won't increase your intellect or political awareness, but great for laughs 4 stars
6/09/05 chris kohn even though dis movie was a remake of a classic it still was a hit wit da new generation"X" 5 stars
6/08/05 Drew Peltier I really enjoyed this movie 4 stars
6/07/05 Dave McCulley This movie was hilarious. This reviewer doesn't know good movies. Adam Sandler at his best 5 stars
6/07/05 John Bale Sandler miscast badly in this poor remake that lacks many laughs, but not action. 3 stars
6/07/05 KingNeutron What can I say, I liked it. 4 stars
6/05/05 Brian how many SNL has-bens does it take to make a bad movie? 1 stars
6/05/05 Josh Brogan This was a very funny movie, sandler is a comical genious, see it for yourself 5 stars
6/03/05 Christy Schultz The original was way better... 2 stars
6/03/05 deadwiz Fun for a few laughs, nothing more. 3 stars
6/03/05 Quigley i wish the ratings could go lower, because this crap-fest deserves every stinkin' bit!!!!! 1 stars
6/03/05 drgonzo7 normally i hate Adam Sandler, but this movie wasn't that bad. 4 stars
6/03/05 Hater Sandler is not funny! Can't hold a movie, better suited for skits on SNL! 1 stars
6/02/05 sandler sucks sandler sucks 2 stars
6/01/05 Josh It was awesome! It was so funny. It rocked. I would see it again and again and again. 5 stars
5/29/05 Frank Newhouse Fooooonies! =-) 5 stars
5/29/05 KCobain Sandler officially sucks now. What garbage. 1 stars
5/27/05 tomlove thanhcong 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-May-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 20-Sep-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jun-2005


Directed by
  Peter Segal

Written by
  Sheldon Turner

Cast
  Adam Sandler
  Chris Rock
  Burt Reynolds
  James Cromwell
  Nelly
  William Fichtner



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast